Customer Reviews for

Eadric the Grasper

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love it.

    I'm not done reading it but I hate putting it down. It sort of grates on me with what I would consider....wishy washyness of Eadric bit I assume that is the point. It is nice to get an escape from the everyday. I hope the series continues.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Great book

    :-) GOOD BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Interesting Read

    The historical records of this time period are foggy at best and remain open to speculation. However, I must admit that I found the Golden Cross to be disconcerting. Yes, there have been warrior queens and women have often fought against invaders to preserve themselves and their families, but I have never heard of one doing so under an alias. I tend to think that it would not happen like that. I did find this book interesting and entertaining. I wanted to keep reading to find out what happened. Some improvement in the editing would have reduced coonfusion during the reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    Nice

    A bit depressing, but other than that it was good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Great book

    I was't able to put this down. I loved him and hated him at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Interesting alternate history

    This book is an interesting alternate take on history. The contrast with this story (while using the same facts as used by other authors) shows how differently the same events can be interpreted, and why it's important to remember that history is written by the victors. But, beyond the historical aspect, this is a great story including war, assassination, political struggles, and true love.

    Full disclosure: I won this in a giveaway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    A Great Read for Lovers of Books Set in the Dark Ages/Middle Ages

    I loved the 10 short stories that built the setting and background of the main characters. A fast read and great hero/villian development. A wonderful lead in to The Forever Queen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Good engaging historical novel

    The author developed the characters very well. They all played their roles well against a backdrop of intrigue, treachery and medieval politics. I was fascinated to learn that many of the events in the novels are true. An interesting angle on one of the most villianous character in English history. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Haters

    You+shouldnt+criticize++this+work+out+of+misintrepretation.%0A%0A%0A%0A%0A%0A%0A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Same+old+story...diifferent+characters.

    I+thought+this+would+be+a+tale+of+bravery+and+battle+during+the+Middle-Ages+in+England%2C+but+turned+out+to+really+be+a+love+story.++Eadric+was+endowed+with+strong+feminine+traits%2C+making+him+an+unlikely+war+hero%2C+but+making+him+seemingly+irresistable+to+women.++You+can+tell+this+is+not+a+story+for+those+looking+for+%22blood+%26+guts.%22++%0A%0AWoods+tells+a+story+that+has+been+told+many+times+before...boy+gets+girl%2C+boy+loses+girl%2C+boy+gets+girl+again%2C+boy+loses+girl+again...The+End.++Dispersed+throughout+this+storyline+are+the+exploits+of+Eadric+in+his+effort+to+outsmart+the+Vikings+and+give+England+lasting+peace.++He+goes+about+it+in+an+unmoralistic+manner+and%2C+therefore%2C+must+pay+with+his+love+for+his+wife%2C+and+his+life.%0A%0AOn+the+whole%2C+I+found+the+book+tedious+to+read+because+the+story+was+uninteresting+to+me.++It+used+many+Old+English+and+Viking+names+for+people%2C+places+and+things+that+had+me+constantly+clicking+for+the+Nook%27s+dictionary%2C+Wikipedia%2C+and+Google%2C+and+used+the+same+languages+for+naming+people.++These+last+two+caused+several+interruptions+in+reading%2C+effectively+disrupting+the+%22flow%22+of+the+story.++Also+regarding+the+old+names%2C+there+were+several+names+quite+similar+to+others+so+some+confusion+occurred+while+I+figured+out+who+was+who.++Additionally%2C+some+sort+of+typo+appeared+about+every+seven+pages+so+I+had+to+stop+to+think+what+the+words+were+supposed+to+be%2C+and+%22night%22+mode+did+not+work+properly+after+the+first+few+pages...instead+of+white+letters+on+dark+background+it+was+black+letters+on+dark+background.%0A%0AOverall%2C+I+did+not+find+this+book+very+enjoyable%2C+but+long+and+tedious+to+read+for+a+short+book.++I+don%27t+think+I+will+continue+the+series+when+the+next+book+comes+out+Sept.+2011.%0A%0ARon+K.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Interesting, but poorly developed characters.

    Let me start by saying that this book was entertaining. I did enjoy it. However, the character development was really lacking. In her effort to fill out the characters and give them depth by relating their inner conflicts, she just made them all seem like wishy washy cowards. Even Eadric, the title character, ostensibly wiley and silver tongued, seemed like a sniveling dolt after th 100th time thinking over his conflicted feelings and yet doing whatever he was going to do anyway. After a strong showing as a spirited character, he never again manages to do anything the least bit brave. Even the proud heroine manages to seem like a simpering, lovesick idiot half the time. A simpering, lovesick idiot who is also a terrible mother. Add this to the 10th grade vocabulary and uneven editing, and I will not likely buy a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    a must read

    LOVED it ~ =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    Excellent!

    I read all the Lost Tales of Mercia, followed by Eadric. Eagerly awaiting Godric!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3