BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Eager Star

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This series is a must have for all young horse lovers!

I love this series of books! These books not only teach readers information on handling horses, they also help readers discover truths about God's nature. They are easy to read and keep you interested from beginning to end. I have not found a book in this series yet tha...
I love this series of books! These books not only teach readers information on handling horses, they also help readers discover truths about God's nature. They are easy to read and keep you interested from beginning to end. I have not found a book in this series yet that I have not liked.

posted by 9858303 on October 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love these books!

These books rock!

posted by 10901475 on February 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    This series is a must have for all young horse lovers!

    I love this series of books! These books not only teach readers information on handling horses, they also help readers discover truths about God's nature. They are easy to read and keep you interested from beginning to end. I have not found a book in this series yet that I have not liked.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Book Two: Eager Star

    This is book two in the "Winnie the Horse Gentler" series. It is aimed at girls ages 8-12 and about a junior high girl who can make impossible horses into good ones. Her mother has died, and she learned how to do this from her mother.

    In this book, it's the start of the school year and her classmate, Grant, is to be riding in a barrell race. However, his horse "Eager Star" doesn't want to cooperate. She even bucks Grant off of her at one point in the book. Winnie's job is to make this horse that is frightened and nervous into a winner in one week.

    Also during the course of the book Winnie gets off on the wrong foot with her English teacher, and wouldn't you know it, but she turns in the WRONG journal this woman, which doesn't make things any better for Winnie.

    She also plans a slumber party, inviting the most popular girls in school. That doesn't go quite as expected for her.

    This was an enjoyable book even though I'm not the target age range. It is a quick read, and one that girls who love horses would be especially fond of. I am looking forward to reading the rest of this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    A great book in the series

    Another great book in the series. I enjoyed how the main character, Winnie, compares her new middle school classmates and teachers to different kinds of horses. This book had a great theme on how you can't impress God and that you don't need to impress others. I hope my daughter reads this book one day if she loves horses. I can't wait to read the next one!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    AWSOME

    I haven't even fnished it but i am in love with it you can tell winnie feels so strong that horses should be trianed the right way! if you don't know a lot about horses she explains alot of what she say about horses!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Epic - A must read

    Eager star is a great follow up book for Wild Thing. It has readers falling in love with the characters. I can't wait to see what Winnie dose next!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Hello

    This book was great read it in a day

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Fallowfern

    Were supposed to ignore Angelclaw!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2014

    Great Book! Winnie the horse gentler is still trying to fit in

    Great Book!

    Winnie the horse gentler is still trying to fit in at their new location and her Dad and sister encourage her to 
    use the new school year to her advantage as a new clean slate.  Winnie compares her classmates and 
    teachers to horses which doesn't fly when her English teacher reads her journal and comparisons.  Things start to look up for Winnie when she is given the opportunity to train the "lead stallions" horse for a race.  I love this series about Winnie and can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Velvetstar to Horseclan

    To the left of the waterfall was another ledge with a smaller cave opening. Inside, a small trickle of water made a quiet pool. The rest of the cave was lined with large comfortable nests. In the back was a separate, smaller area with a nest and a rocky shelves for storing medicines. -Medicine Den-

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Really good book

    I am a horse fanatic and i love this book and series. Anybody who loves horses wil love this book and series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Love the sceries

    I love these books and the starlight rescue. I feel for each poor animal, and pray for all of the people who are sick enough to do this, and the people who help those people, and the animals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Help

    Hey tigerpelt.

    What is going on? What is all this cat names and other rediculis stuff like refusing to get ptegnant. I will prob never join but i am just quirius

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    To lightningstar

    Umm im poolstar leader of poolclan

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Lightningstar to Lilystar

    I havd important news to give u.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Lunaheart

    Lunaheart walks in. "Are there any kits who need a mentor? And is there anyone who needs a medcat?"

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    HORSECLAN TERRITORY

    STAY OFF OR DIE

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Limecreek and skystep

    "Wait! Where did HorseClan go? We are a part of there Clan." Limecreek wailed. He and Skystep stood protectivley over there kits.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    B

    "Yes, I am fine......for now....", she whispered, thinking of what would happen if the tom with the yellow eyes kept his promise, she shook her head violently,trying to rid her of the memory.
    ~Fawnstep

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Should i get it?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2