Customer Reviews for

The Eagle Has Landed (Liam Devlin Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    really?

    shut up. you're supposed to be reviewing the book; not the pricetag. don't buy it if it's too expensive.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    This is crazy. Hitler kidnapping a british politition? I never h

    This is crazy. Hitler kidnapping a british politition? I never herd of this in history class? Why do they cover this things up, because the truth would scare to many peoploes. I love history storys, and will read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Good, not great

    It was an enjoyable read, but I had a hard time getting into it. It jumped around a lot and made it a little difficult to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Loved this book

    I enjoyed the entire book, aside from a couple slow parts at the beginning, and will be readimg the rest of the series, even though they aren't WWII books, which I always enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Great book and great fun!

    Many have seen the movie but not read the book. The book is much better as many readers can guess for this is the usual case. The book has more twists and characters that are not in the movie and gives a better sense of the time that just was not conveyed in the movie. It is just a fun book to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Great book

    Watch the movie too. Although not true to the book the movie had an all star cast. If you think the price of either is too high then don't buy it. Remember it all began as a joke an insane joke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    i think it looks good..........

    it looks good i read a book called a girl named eva and i bet it is as good as that.......... i think we should all learn about th history of our contry,and other countrys

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    Older book?

    It says published in 2011, but I think this is one of the author's first books and was published in hard copy many years ago.

    I recall enjoying the book, but subtarcted a star because this impies it is "new"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    loved the book

    think 10 bucks is a bit steep for a book published in 1975

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    35 year old book at full price?

    I don't think so!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    Incredible Book

    When I first started this book, I got sick of it, fast. I read reviews, and saw that it was one of the most exciting and action packed novels ever. Since it was my first time reading a Higgins, or Higgins-esque novel, I wasn't aware of the background at the introductions. However, after finally reading through the introduction, it turned out I was wrong. The book kicks off action not that deep in, and doesn't stop until the last word. By far my favorite book I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    historical thriller to make you wonder

    This book is an exciting historical thriller with charcters that you will respect and enjoy, from the hilarious Liam Devlin, to the intellgent and honorable Lt. Kurt Stiner, who is the commander of a squad of WWII German paratroopers sent to kidnap the prime minster of England. These soliders earn the respect of the people of studly constable, after the end. This book was an incredible story that you won't be able to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    Couldn't put it down!

    I'm a bit of a slow reader, but this book had me completely glued to the pages. Two days! This book was simply awesome. The beginning made me laugh with excitement and the ending just made me wonder more. The book is a flurry of action with politics and a bit of romance thrown in. I enjoyed how it showed the human side to the German soldiers and respected them for more of what they really were instead of the stereotypical German soldier of World War 2 that the world has come to accept. The character development was great, and may I say that these guys were all hardcore, and the plot is something to behold in and of itself. I highly recommend this book to all history lovers, and look forward with great enthusiasm to buying the movie as well. READ THIS BOOK! YOU'LL LOVE IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    Book & Movie were excellent

    I read the book back in the late 70's when I was in the U.S. Army..I was serving with the 10th Special Forces Group. My unit was specifically trained for unconventional warfare such as the type depicted in the book and movie. It was very realistic and is probably one of the best examples of what the U.S Army 'Green Berets' do for the United States military...The movie was quite true to the book story line..which doesn't happen very often..I highly recommend reading this book...then rent the movie DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    Excelent Book!

    Wow, what a great book. I was browsing through books at B&N when I saw this book and reconized the title. I had seen the movie 2 weeks earlier and decided I wanted to read the book. Turns out the book is better! If you like fictional WWII books, get this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2001

    A great book for anyone who likes historical fiction

    This book is one of the best books I have ever read. I picked this book becuse of the feature film 'The eagle has landed'. The book was much better than the movie and it is a real thriller. I read many historical fiction books and I think this is one of my new favorites. If you want a book that has romance, action, and a very good plot, choose this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2000

    An excellent work of historical fiction

    This book is an excellent example, if somewhat slow paced to begin, of historical fiction. From the meeting where the plan was conceived by Hitler to the final confrontation at the end, this book is one that takes you through the typical stereotype of German soldiers to an excellent tale of German paratroopers on a mission to capture Winston Churchill. The story starts out slow and comes to an exciting conclusion that is not to be missed by anyone enjoying other works of Jack Higgins or the historical fiction genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3