BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

An Eagle Named Freedom: My True Story of a Remarkable Friendship

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Best book

    Best book ever i could not put the book down most meaning full book ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This has to be one of my favorites. Its a truly remarkable friendship.I read this book and it took me about 3 days because I just couldn't put it down. A great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    SUGAR RUSH

    HE HE HA HE HE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    A very powerful tale

    I purchased this book after watching the short clip of Jeff and Freedom on this site. Moved, I wanted to know how this event came to pass, and while Jeff shared this tale beautifully, he actually gave much more. Jeff and Freedom and the committment/caring/healing/communication that they share were central to the tale, but the book as a whole also encompassed the tales of the larger group of unique and incredible individuals that provided the setting in which Jeff and Freedom came together. This was an amazing look into the lives and experiences of some enlightened and caring individuals and the 'wild ones' who intersected with them to share some portion of their respective journies together. Jeff Guidry shares the very rare and incredible gift that he has been given, but it is easy to see that he earned every bit of that and more. It was a great joy to read about the better parts of humanity as they reached even greater heights and how the vastness of nature opened up to these efforts and responded in kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you love animals...

    I'm a sucker for animal stories so, of course, the picture of a magnificent eagle (along with author Jeff Guidry) that adorns this book jacket drew my attention immediately. What I received upon reading this book more than I bargained for. I not only learned about wild animal rescue, but I also entered the private world of Jeff Guidry. The story he tells is simple in words but profound in experience. It traverses the spiritual world, the customs of Native Americans, and the companionship of individuals who devote their lives to helping wild animals in distress. In a sudden bout of misfortune, Guidry also tells of being diagnosed with cancer and having to endure its gruesome treatment. I marveled at how an eagle named Freedom became the symbol of life for the author.

    Maybe I'm a bit too sensitive, but I was getting teary-eyed at both the happy parts of this book as well as the sad parts. I loved the color photographs of the more interesting "patients" (and their humans) at the Sarvey Wildlife Care Center in Washington State. My only wish for this book would have been to have the few specific animal terms (for example: bating, green, flight--when used to mean a cage) explained when first used.

    To animal lovers and those who respect the natural order of the world, I must say that you're in for a treat with what Guidry has chosen to share. My hope is that this book will evoke your compassion and a bit more understanding of wild animals and help you to make some good decisions should you encounter any wild animals in distress in the future. In the meantime, grab a hankie and begin to read.

    (My copy of this book was from the Early Reviewers program at LibraryThing)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1