Customer Reviews for

The Eagle of the Ninth (Roman Britain Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    The Eagle of the Ninth, Written by Rosemary Sutcliff

    This classic tale is set in Britain in approximately 119 A.D. The Roman Legions have conquered Britain and are stationed all through the country in case a revolt is stirred by the tribesman. Marcus, our hero in the story, is injured horribly in a revolt from the townsfolk of the settlement he guards. His leg is severely wounded from the attack, and he will never be allowed to march in the legions again. Seeking shelter, for he lives in Rome, and, due to his leg, will not be able to make the journey back to Rome for some time, he goes to live with his uncle, who, after his years of service in the Roman legions, has settled in Britain. After he moves in with his amiable uncle, he meets a friend, a future wife and a loyal cub. There, he also hears of a rumor about his late father¿s destroyed legion, and its lost eagle. He decides to search for the eagle and embarks on a dangerous journey along with his faithful new ally. Though this story is extremely slow at the beginning it gathers momentum up until the very end, when the story is a true rollercoaster ride. I enjoyed this book, and I believe that it gave me a better knowledge of the Roman legions and the British tribes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    Great Book!

    This has got to be one of the best books that I have ever read! If you know nothing about Roman history or the structure of the Roman army, then you may have a bit of trouble understanding it. I found this amazing book when my class had to read it. If you think this was a poor book, then either you are not in to this kind of thing, or you just don't have any background info at all!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    Splendid!!!

    I highly recommend The Eagle of the Ninth to anyone who likes a well written book. It's interesting, thrilling and everything you could ever want in a really good story. It also gives a clever look on England, during the Roman occupation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2002

    Pretty Good for people who like ancient history

    I had to read this book for school, this book is a little confusing and hard to understand. I still liked the story and the concept of the book and the way it was written. It is hard to understand if a character was Roman or Briton. I still pretty much liked the book because i like ancient history. Recommended for ages 14 and above.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2001

    hard to concentrate on

    Ok, I have to read this for school and, even though I love nothing more than a good book, I find this one nearly IMPOSSIBLE to concentrate on. I just spend 2 hours 'reading' it but I only read 10 pages. I read a couple sentances then realize I didnt really think about them, i just looked at the words. In my opinion the author needed to spice it up more.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2001

    Eagle of the Ninth

    I had to read Eagle of the Ninth for school. I love to read, but Eagle of the Ninth was like reading the Dictionary, It was so boring!! I would not recommend this book to anybody

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    Another good book

    This is a very interesting book for someone who already has some historical background of Great Britain. I would recommend it for older children - perhaps around 15 years old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    Books are great reads especially when then involve history. To c

    Books are great reads especially when then involve history. To create a fiction book with all the historical settings takes great talent. To make it harder, have the author choose an event that has very few details and creating a story. Rosemary Sutcliff does a wonderful job doing just that in The Eagle of the Ninth.

    This book is the fiction story of a young man in the Roman army. Marcus Flavius Aquila is following in his father's footsteps. He even is assigned a legion in the wilds of Britain where his father was last seen. Years before Marcus' father marched with his legion beyond Agricola's Wall to settle unrest amongst the native tribes. The legion is never heard from again. The symbol of the Ninth Legion, the eagle, is lost. Marcus longs to bring honor to his father's name by bringing the eagle back to Rome. An injury during an uprising causes Marcus to stay with his uncle who also resides in Britain. As the body heals, Marcus discovers several new friends including that of a slave. Their friendship grows beyond normal master and slave boundaries. They find brothers.

    During a fireside discussion with a friend of his uncle's, Marcus hears of a rumor regarding the eagle of the ninth legion. It is supposed to be part of a religious shrine in the wilds for an unknown tribe. It is only a rumor, but it more than Marcus has heard in years past. He longs to go on the journey to bring it back. As his leg heals, Marcus and his former slave embark on a journey through unknown territory looking for the rumored eagle. The discoveries along the way shape them into the men they were meant to be.

    Sutcliff does a great job in creating a fictional story while keeping the setting historical. She pulls from some real life events to create this book. It seems that around 117 A.D. a Roman legion did march out into the wilds just like the one in the story. They were never heard from again. No one knew whatever became of them. In the early 1900's excavations uncovered a wingless eagle that appeared to be of Roman origin. Why was it there and how did it get so far away from the Roman occupation? Sutcliff combines these two events and creates a possibility of solution for the mystery.

    When we first got this book, I was anticipating a much harder read. It came with a reading set for my daughter's class that included such works as Odyssey and the Oedipus Trilogy. These are not light reads for an eighth grader. But I was pleasantly surprised to find a light and enjoyable read. This book would be a good read for as young as a fifth grader though it might be a slight challenge for them. If you are homeschooling, have them read it during a unit study of Roman history. It will fit in nicely.

    I give Eagle of the Ninth a thumbs up in entertainment and in historical accuracy. Sutcliff did a wonderful job in creating a connection between events that have mystified archeologists. You will walk away wanting to know more about the period and the people. That constitutes success in my book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Great.

    Great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2