Customer Reviews for

Earth Abides

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Earth Abides

This tale of diaster challenged rather that scared me ... I stayed awake at night wondering what choices I would make in the remaking of a new civilzation. Not only is there the problem of survival and emotional recovery, but also of ethics, morality, and predjudice. ...
This tale of diaster challenged rather that scared me ... I stayed awake at night wondering what choices I would make in the remaking of a new civilzation. Not only is there the problem of survival and emotional recovery, but also of ethics, morality, and predjudice. I reccomended it to my bookclub and to my teen-age grandsons. I loved "Clan of the Cavebear"but this tale is relevent.

posted by 265910 on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

At first, I thought this book was great and fascinating. I love

At first, I thought this book was great and fascinating. I love post-apacolyptic stories. Then the auther has the lead character take a poke at Robinson Crusoe and subsaquently Christianity all in one shot. The book continues on for a while and about half way through th...
At first, I thought this book was great and fascinating. I love post-apacolyptic stories. Then the auther has the lead character take a poke at Robinson Crusoe and subsaquently Christianity all in one shot. The book continues on for a while and about half way through the book the author's opinions towards religion really start to flow. It's as if this book represents the author/s athiestic fantasies of society being washed away and humanity being reborn without silly religions messing everything up. I'm finding it harder and harder to finish; but i'm giong to anyway. If my opinion changes at the end i'll write another review and recant this one (if i can make it to the end that is).

posted by yarnspinner on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2000

    one of the classic apocalyptic novels

    Stewart's Earth Abides has long been considered a classic in the sci-fi genre and a classic apocalyptic novel (it even helped to inspire Stephen King's The Stand). And it is no wonder why. Stewart has a highly believable, excellently written story here. Though it does lose something in the the third part of the book, when Ish is an old man. One you should definately pick up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Interesting premise.

    An okay book. Lengthy in some areas. Unbelievable in other areas. There are better books in this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    Earth Abides is one of the earliest post apocalyptic novels (a l

    Earth Abides is one of the earliest post apocalyptic novels (a lady wrote the first EOW novel back during the civil war but I dont rremember her name right off the top of my head).  But despite the vintage (it predates WWII) the story is spot on, and represents some very advanced thinking for the time.  

    This book has influenced a number of top books in ththe apocalyptic genre including The Postman by David Brin, Lucifers Hammer by Niven & Pournel, and Calizona by R.Rotten.  If you like EOW [end of world] stories then all of these are essential reading.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Great read

    This book could have been written today. The foresight of this writer is amazing. He wrote about things in 1949 that are all worried about today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    interesting post-apocalyptic work from an almost non-technological perspective

    This is an early work of post-apocalyptic fiction based on a pandemic wiping out a large portion of humanity. The protagonist is a reclusive type, a young university student of some type, who spends long periods of time in his remote cabin. As the scene opens, he is bitten by a rattlesnake, and falls very ill, though he survives. He soon discovers, on re-entering town, that he survived an illness more than just snakebite, and finds everywhere he goes, including his parents' house, devoid of people.

    What is fascinating about this book is that it was first written in the 30s or so, before much technology was in place (just radios, though electricity and cars are also part of the plot), so it is a neat perspective on what it is like to survive as infrastructure slowly decays and the natural state of Earth takes over. The author deals with a wide variety of thought-provoking topics, such as plants, pests, pets, infrastructure, the role of laws and society, relationships, and even time itself. It is a good read, though it can be slow in a few places, the topics vary enough to keep you going and interested to see what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    The storyline of this book wasn't altogether bad. Everything els

    The storyline of this book wasn't altogether bad. Everything else was.
    The author was a poor writer in almost all senses. Don't read it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An all time Sci-fi classic

    I am so glad that the publisher reissued this book. George R. Stewart wrote this book back in the fifties and it was set around year 2000. I first read this book in 1995 and was amazed how well the places he describe in the book was fairly accurate in our time. The fact the story takes place in our time makes it all the more realistic. Each time I read this book, I walk away feeling strong about being human - that we can survive many many catastrophes and come out winning.

    All of George R. Stewart books are well written and "Earth Abides" is one of my favourite. I highly recommend it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended -- A classic of the genre

    Since getting my nook, I've found myself reading much more than I had been. Usually non-fiction, but I'm starting to mix in some fiction as well. Earth Abides is one of the fiction books I've recently read, as I try to read some of the "classics" of the sci-fi genre.

    The book itself is very well written. The characters are believable, and you'll find yourself immersed in their situation. You'll follow the story of mankind's transition through the eyes of one man after some disease wipes out most of humanity. And it's not simply the story of mankind, rather, it's the story of nature itself and how nature slowly transitions after mankind's control over it subsides.

    A great novel overall -- one of those that you have to stop and think about once you finish; it'll stay with you for a while....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    recommed highly

    only on ch 8 ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    This Book Will Go To My Grave!

    I first read this book in 1967 and have re-read it some 25-30 times since! This is the book Stephen King read before he wrote The Stand. I have left instructions to my family to put my first edition of Earth Abides in my casket with me when I die! The other book in there will be Ken Grimwood's 'Replay'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    This is an Awesome

    Earth Abides is a litteral life in a post-apocalyptic and is a lot like the book I have been writing, Yet I discovered the book about two weeks after I began writing my book. George R. Stewart is a must read for any high school student.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2004

    Did you know that...?

    When I heard of the book, Earth Abides, I had just finished listening to an old radio shop by the same name. It was a two hour program and very enjoyable. But I am trying to find the book again. If anyone finds out what happened to the radio show, let me know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    Stewart Abides

    Earth Abides along with Miller's A Canticle for Leibowitz, is quite simply the best of it's genre. For all of you who raved about The Stand this book is several times as good, both in story and literary content. Stewart is not a name familiar to many I'm sure, but he should be. All his stories were about man and his environment and this one was the best of them. If you enjoy post-apocalypse stories as much as I do, don't pass this one up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2000

    an awesome must read for all

    This book came into my possession in the early 70's when apocolyptic thrillers like Omega Man, No Blade of Grass and the Planet of the Apes Trilogy were in the headlines. As vivid today as it was when I first read it 30 years ago, its an incredable odyssey of survival, sacrifice, redemption and ultimately triumph, not just of life, but of mankind, and the human race's determination and tenacity to overcome all odds, and survive at all costs. It's a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2000

    Makes you think, 'what would you do?'

    I read the book some 15 years ago and still have not gotten the book out of my head. I am always wondering, what would I do and where would I make my stand to re-start life again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4