Customer Reviews for

Earth Afire

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great read

This was a very action packed sequal to Earth Unaware. It gives a great deal of detail about the first invasion of earth by the buggers. A lot of background is revealed for Mazar and you see little hints at how the world changed to have a school in space training childr...
This was a very action packed sequal to Earth Unaware. It gives a great deal of detail about the first invasion of earth by the buggers. A lot of background is revealed for Mazar and you see little hints at how the world changed to have a school in space training children as soldiers, a world leadership, and the beginning of the IF. My only negative about the story is that I didn't want it to end. Now we have to wait for the next installment. At least this fall we finally get the Ender's Game movie!

posted by Anonymous on June 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The book was entertaining and I have no objection to a book bein

The book was entertaining and I have no objection to a book being a set up for a sequel, but the book should at least tell a complete story so that one is not forced to buy the next book. In short, the ending sucked. Although I was and am a huge fan of Ender's Game, I...
The book was entertaining and I have no objection to a book being a set up for a sequel, but the book should at least tell a complete story so that one is not forced to buy the next book. In short, the ending sucked. Although I was and am a huge fan of Ender's Game, I am sorely tempted to refuse to purchase the sequel to this book. If you haven't read this book, wait until you can buy this and the sequel as a set or just forgo the purchase.

posted by StupidPenName on June 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    The book was entertaining and I have no objection to a book bein

    The book was entertaining and I have no objection to a book being a set up for a sequel, but the book should at least tell a complete story so that one is not forced to buy the next book. In short, the ending sucked. Although I was and am a huge fan of Ender's Game, I am sorely tempted to refuse to purchase the sequel to this book. If you haven't read this book, wait until you can buy this and the sequel as a set or just forgo the purchase.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Great read

    This was a very action packed sequal to Earth Unaware. It gives a great deal of detail about the first invasion of earth by the buggers. A lot of background is revealed for Mazar and you see little hints at how the world changed to have a school in space training children as soldiers, a world leadership, and the beginning of the IF. My only negative about the story is that I didn't want it to end. Now we have to wait for the next installment. At least this fall we finally get the Ender's Game movie!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Was extremely disappointed that the end of the book was a "

    Was extremely disappointed that the end of the book was a "cliffhanger". I purchased the book with expactions of reading a complete story... not of having to wait for the next book to find out what happens.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Thrilling and exciting sequel...

    The second novel in Orson Scott Card and Aaron Johnston's First Formic War is a thrilling and exciting sequel. It quickly progresses and expandes on the characters of Victor Delgado, Lem Jukes, Mazar Rackham, and a few others. Some might be disappointed that it ends with a cliffhanger. But there are graphic novels telling the entire story from beginning to end. Out of the Ender series books it is a must read. Looking forward to the third and hopefully final novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    To Be Continued

    The fact that this book is "to be continued" sucks and I would not have bought it if I had known it ended that way. Just another way to try and guarantee they make more money with the next book when good writing usually guarantees that anyway. No ending undid all the joy of reading the book. I won't be buying the next one. By the time the next one is done, I won't care anymore. You just lost a huge fan.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Book was good

    The book was good but the ending sucks!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Great book. Now if only the author would stop giving interviews

    Great book. Now if only the author would stop giving interviews, so that I can continue to enjoy his books that would be great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    I loved the whole Ender series as well as the Ender's Shadow se

    I loved the whole Ender series as well as the Ender's Shadow series, but this "prequel" falls short for me. The quality of the writing just doesn't seem to be up to par, the story telling seems forced, and the plotting unlikely and unconvincing in places, something that really jerks me out of the story and spoils the experience. Also, I loved the characters in the Ender series and the Shadow series; I felt drawn to them and really cared what happened to them. I'm just not getting that with Earth Afire. It's just "okay". It answers questions left open by Ender's Game, and in that way it is satisfying; it's not terrible, but I feel it could be so much better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    I loved every minute of it. I can't wait for the third in the se

    I loved every minute of it. I can't wait for the third in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Fantastic Book!

    Card and Johnston have an impeccable grasp on the human condition. From military tactics, to governmental policies, to the thoughts and feelings individuals would have in complex situations - they truly make the story believable! I thank them for their unique contribution to science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Not another Ender novel

    Card does it in his usual Excellent way. I enjoy seeing the events that lead up to the Creation of the Battle School and the children that fill it. After reading all the other books in this series I find that it nice to be a part of tese events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Once again Card at his best

    After reading earth unaware, coming apon the series simply by chance, i couldnt wait to read earth afire. It holds strong to the ender's game storyline and bring the backround of the war with the formics to a new light. Truely captivating and a must read for anyone who is a fan of the ender story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    AWESOME!

    Loved it every bit as much as Ender's Game. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Great read and does justice to the Ender story

    Well writen and a fun read. I often worry when an author I like works with a co- author, but Johnson does a great job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    Lots of action and detail! Especially in comparison to the 1st b

    Lots of action and detail! Especially in comparison to the 1st book, Earth Unaware, which dragged in some sections. Hard to put down this one! The only negative thing is that it ends abruptly and leaving you hanging and desperate for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Awesome

    Great science fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Another great book by Orson Scott Card

    Card continues the saga he started in Earth Unaware in this superb novel. Great characters, excellent plot, and cool technology combine to make this a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    If you liked the first one this is a must read

    I give the series a solid 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Great installment

    I love Card's world, I can't wait for more of this prequel to Ender's Game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good Teen Ficton

    Second installment of the "Ender's Game" back story. Plot driven but an interesting story to follow. Looking forward to reading the third one as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3