Customer Reviews for

The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things

Average Rating 4.5
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!!! READ!!!!

This book is wonderful. It keeps you interested and you never know what will happen next. Throughout the book it shows the struggles that an overwieght teenager overcomes. She has to deal with mean classmates, family drama, and her mother stressing her about her wieght....
This book is wonderful. It keeps you interested and you never know what will happen next. Throughout the book it shows the struggles that an overwieght teenager overcomes. She has to deal with mean classmates, family drama, and her mother stressing her about her wieght. This book is not really for anyone below the age of 12 years old. It has some interesting parts in it that are not appropriate. I love this book because i can relate to it. The Earth My Butt and Other Round Things really caught my eye, by the name of course. I was so glad that i picked it up. At times i couldnt put the book down. I really reccomend you to read this. It is an amazing book.

posted by AEFG on January 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The earth, My butt and Other big Round things

The book, "the earth, my butt and other big round things was a captivating book that lures the reader in. An overweight girl named Ginny has some issues with finding herself during her sophomore year of high school. Ginny is forced to overcome many tough challenges invo...
The book, "the earth, my butt and other big round things was a captivating book that lures the reader in. An overweight girl named Ginny has some issues with finding herself during her sophomore year of high school. Ginny is forced to overcome many tough challenges involving her older brother, now a freshman in college, her weight issue, her sister out of the country and her absent parents constantly trying to push her to be something she is not. With her best friend in Washington, she feels like she is alone, so she resorts to her friend Froggy, who in his own ways makes her feel better every Monday. That soon ends, but her best friend has just invited her to go and spend thanksgiving with her family, Ginny's parents say no, but instead Ginny revolts and buys her ticket anyways. While with her best friend she goes on to die her hair purple and pierce her eyebrow, clearly revolting against her normal, typical life style. When returning home her mother reacts harshly, barely speaking to her, while in school she receives much praise for her new change. At the end of the book, Ginny finds herself and who she wants to be. This book is solely about one finding the courage to stand out and be different, even if you may be self-conscious. The book portrayed the life of a teenager going through the tough years of high school very well, with the rumors and the "popular group", but when at the end of the book, Ginny begins to stand out it happens quite fast and this seemed surreal. She all of a sudden had all this confidence when in reality she had been quiet and shy just a couple days before. Though the book was not as realistic as it could have been it was a great book and taught many valuable lessons about high school and finding you initial self, this book is a fascinating and entertaining book to read.

posted by 2257517 on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!!! READ!!!!

    This book is wonderful. It keeps you interested and you never know what will happen next. Throughout the book it shows the struggles that an overwieght teenager overcomes. She has to deal with mean classmates, family drama, and her mother stressing her about her wieght. This book is not really for anyone below the age of 12 years old. It has some interesting parts in it that are not appropriate. I love this book because i can relate to it. The Earth My Butt and Other Round Things really caught my eye, by the name of course. I was so glad that i picked it up. At times i couldnt put the book down. I really reccomend you to read this. It is an amazing book.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You have to read this!!!!

    I was at my school library and I picked this up because the cover was pink and grey and I am the type of person that picks up a book if it has a pretty color. I really wasn't planning on reading this book but one day I had no choice because if we didn't take something out to read we were going to get in trouble so I started reading this and I didn't put it back down! No one had ever read the book, I was the first one and so I had like 2 other girls asking me to lend them this book when I was finished! This book was really popular among girls in my 6th grade year!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Great read

    I love this biok i can realy relate because i have a wieght problem my self ( and i have a big butt)

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    Living in a thick world?

    Imagine that your life is full of perfect people, people who dress proper, have million of friends, always have something interesting to say or are simply on top of the world day after day but yet you don't seem to fit in. That's the story of Virginia Shreves, a high school girl whose family is very successful considering her dad is an executive ogle who searches for thin woman on TV and her mom is a psychologist who is obsessed with weight. Her brother Byron and her sister Anais are both successful and fit but she feels like she is the fly in the soup or more like it, a fat cockroach. Virginia is thicker than most average high school girls. Although she is quiet and very shy she has a secret crush on her friend Froggy Welsh the Fourth. They sneak around in her room sometimes after school but even after all that time she's always been terrified by the simple thought of him looking under her shirt. Virginia has a weight problem therefore she lives under the "Fat Girl Code of Conduct." She lives depress as she feels ostracized from everyone around keeping in mind that her best friend moved away to Walla Walla. It's obvious that no one has stopped and thought about her well being and everyone lives in their own world. Until one day something changed everything abruptly and the perfect family picture came crushing down. It was then when she realized that she don't have a weight problem, people have a problem with her weight.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    YAY! I LOOOOOVE THIS BOOK!

    Virginia Shreves is a larger-than-average teenage girl who invented the "Fat Girl Code Of Conduct." Her best friend Shannon, one of her only friends, moves to Walla Walla, Washington and Virginia has to deal with lots of struggles while she is gone. In the book Virginia Shreves hates going to school because everybody in her school is super skinny, and she is bigger than the rest of them. Shannon, her best friend moves to Washington and buys Virginia a shirt. Froggy Welsh is one of her guy friends. He is a really big jock. All the girls like him, and Virginia and Froggy has things going on. Virginia is afraid that Froggy will get up her shirt. Virginia's mom is a very successful adolescent physiologist and her Dad is always jet-setting in Connecticut, so her parents are never home. Her parents are always driving her brother and her sister places and never has time for Virginia. The family was going great until Virginias brother called home and said he was kicked out of school. =]This book was really good, especially for teenagers because they might relate to this book. This book was so amazing! I loved it a lot. This book is really funny. It truly kept me hooked in the book and I don't like reading. It was hard to put the book down and stop reading. I've never done that with a book before.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Anonomous

    Awesome book!

    read this now!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    I do not see why this is banned

    I have read an interview with the author, and she seemed quite upset. In our world where society forces girls into thinking they are ugly and fat, this book is a refreshing read about a girl who is happy in her own skin. Screw the people that banned this, it is perfect.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    I LOVE THIS BOOK

    Don't be turned off by the first chapter or two. The story starts off with Virginia fooling around with a boy she hardly knows, however that is not at all what this story is about! I absolutely loved this book and literally could not put it down. I read it all in one night! I recommend this book to any teenage girls (probably 13+ because of the relationship part of it). This story is very easy to relate to for girls with low self esteem or family lives that don't seem ideal. This book is an absolute must read, I would read it again in a heartbeat!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    WOW

    I would reccomend this book for 13-and up. It's funny and interesting,2 things that I love in books!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    Great book!

    I loved this book. It's a funny girly book. I think every girl with any sort of sell esteem issue should take the time to read this book< I found it to be a real eye opener.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    go Virginia!

    I'll confess. I bought this book because of it's amusing title. But I'd read and enjoyed a couple of Mackler's other books so I pretty much knew what to expect. I was not disappointed.

    The heroine of this story, 15 year old Virginia Shreves, is overweight and has major self confidence issues. She doesn't fit in with the rest of her family, who are slim and popular over-achievers. Everything changes for Virginia when she learns that her older brother, who she worships, is suspended from Columbia University for doing something pretty horrible. Virginia's earth shatters but she learns a great deal about her family and herself.

    This book really comes from the heart. Virginia is a character a girl could really sympathize with. Publisher's Weekly says, "The heroine's transformation into someone who finds her own style and speaks her own mind is believable - and worthy of applause." When I read this it was just what I was in the mood for. A nice quick read with a happy ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    i loved this book!

    ¿ The Earth, My But, And Other Big Round Things,¿ is a very well written book that explains some of the troubles that a teenage girl goes through. Carolyn Mackler wrote about main character, Virginia Shreeves, who is over-weight and has deal with ridicule throughout her life. She¿s not accepted by the kids at school, her brother is rude to her, her mom wants a perfect family, her dad never pays attention to her, her sister is never around much, and her best friend Shannon moved away. On top of that, she has to deal with sneaking around her parents so she can be with a boy named Froggy every Monday after school. Eventually Virginia breads free of her struggles when she goes to visit Shannon in Walla Walla, Washington where she gets her eyebrow pierced. It makes her feel independent and more self-confident. Through this, Virginia overcomes some of her biggest insecurities and learns to accept herself. Virginia writes what she calls that ¿Fat-Girl¿ code of conduct. This basically excludes her from anything such as nice clothes, and a social life. When her friend Shannon invites up her up to Washington her mom refuses to let her go. Virginia gets very mad and eventually buys the non-refundable plane tickets with her own money so she can up to see Shannon. Her mom is furious. Virginia decided on her trip with Shannon that she was going to break free of the Shreeves family ¿reputation¿ of having a perfect life by piercing her eyebrow, while Shannon pierces her tongue. Once Virginia comes back, her mom sees her eyebrow and is extremely mad. Virginia however, refuses to take it out. ¿I¿ll tell you what¿s ¿ fun in my life.¿ (Mackler 184) Virginia refuses because she really wants to have fun being her own person even if her mom can¿t approve. At this point, Virginia finally learns to accept herself just the way she is. Another violation of Virginia¿s fat girl code of conduct is to never talk to a popular girl. Once Virginia gets her eyebrow pierced, and goes back to school, the popular girls finally start talking to her. ¿People who I never thought¿been happening at all.¿ (Mackler 181-182) Suddenly Virginia has new friends who can accept her for who she is and not what she looks like. Popular people finally will talk to her as well as Froggy, who now talks to her in public. Virginia feels so self-confident that she makes her own web page called ¿Earth Quack.¿ This is a web page where students can express how they feel on any subject. In the end, everything works out for Virginia, and Froggy finally notices her. This book teaches you to become comfortable with the way you are. I really enjoyed this book because it teaches you to accept yourself and not care so much about what other people thin of you. You should try to be your own independent person, and not goes go with the crowd. We all have things about ourselves that we don¿t especially like, but if we learn to accept them, like Virginia did, then you can become comfortable with who you are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Lol

    Lmao

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    So true

    I feel the same way & i feel that guys & girls should read it! It shows us that we try to be diffrent but we should just be ourselves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Have it

    I have this book and i guess i judged a book by its cover because the first page was not wat i was excpecting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Mike

    I lied go to taking people with you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    FAVORITE

    Ths is my favorite book. In the end it makes me feel good about myself. Virginia rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Great!

    The main character is so easy to relate to, no matter your background

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    I love this book!

    I love this book always have and always will!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Great book!

    I am 11 years old, just finished the sample and cant wait to read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8