Customer Reviews for

Earth Unaware

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

This is a prequel to Ender's Game and is an excellent addition t

This is a prequel to Ender's Game and is an excellent addition to the Ender universe. It also functions well as a stand alone story that should appeal to both fans and those unfamiliar with Ender's Game. A compelling story with realistic, intriguing characters. I'm al...
This is a prequel to Ender's Game and is an excellent addition to the Ender universe. It also functions well as a stand alone story that should appeal to both fans and those unfamiliar with Ender's Game. A compelling story with realistic, intriguing characters. I'm already looking forward to the next installment.

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

A total ripoff

If you are a fan of Mr. Card, as I have been until earlier this year when I felt cheated by the disastrous final book in the Bean series, be prepared for more of the same with Earth Unaware. This latest book is being hyped as a prequel to Ender's Game. It is far from it...
If you are a fan of Mr. Card, as I have been until earlier this year when I felt cheated by the disastrous final book in the Bean series, be prepared for more of the same with Earth Unaware. This latest book is being hyped as a prequel to Ender's Game. It is far from it, although it might get by being hyped as a preprequel to the prequel to Ender's Game in that it alludes to Mazer Rackham. The entire rest of the book has no real link to the story I was led to believe I was buying. Furthermore, this is not a stand-alone volume that tells a complete story on its own, as the writer of the above glowing report would have you believe. It is a cliff-hanger that abruptly stops before it becomes an actual prequel. Only after receiving this book was I made aware that it is actually the opening volume in a series, for which I might not have signed on. The publisher and vendor of this volume should have made it clear that who knows how many more volumes there will be in the offing before the series comes to a conclusion.
Given the writing style used in Earth Unaware, I even doubt Mr. Card actually wrote the book. I should have expected as much when I learned (after being conned into buying it) that this book was co-authored by a writer of whom I never heard before.
The bottom line is that Earth Unaware is a total ripoff to any unsuspecting buyer who is expecting the advertised prequel to Ender's Game in a single compact, fast-paced volume for which Mr. Card was justifiable famous in the past. Having been burned twice in less than a year, I have decided to swear off all future offerings by Mr. Card. Sayonara, Scott.

posted by hariseldenAB on July 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    This is a prequel to Ender's Game and is an excellent addition t

    This is a prequel to Ender's Game and is an excellent addition to the Ender universe. It also functions well as a stand alone story that should appeal to both fans and those unfamiliar with Ender's Game. A compelling story with realistic, intriguing characters. I'm already looking forward to the next installment.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is an adult science fiction novel. It is the first book in

    This is an adult science fiction novel. It is the first book in a prequel series to Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card. In the future, a whole family will inhabit a mining ship and work asteroids far from earth for precious metals. El Cavador is one of those ships. Then an unidentified object is discovered that concerns the crew. When another family's mining ships are subsequently found destroyed, El Cavador investigates to find disturbing information about other intelligent life in the universe.

    In short, I thought Earth Unaware was phenomenal. The character development was good. The storyline was intriguing. This was a book that I just did not want to put down until I finished it and then when I did, I was disappointed it was over. I eagerly await for the next books in the series. The only thing that could have made this book better was if it were longer yet still captivating.

    I am surprised this book received so many bad reviews, especially from fans of Ender's Game. I am obviously in the minority here. In addition, I don't know how so many people did not realize it is a series. As soon as I saw it announced, I researched as much as I could about it and immediately found out it will be a series. Even if I had not known it was a series, as soon as I finished I would have looked it up before writing a review.

    There were criticisms that we get hardly any feel for what earth is like and what led up to the Earth of Ender Wiggin. It's only the first book. There are allusions to what earth is like, enough to whet your appetite. And of course the book doesn't come to a nice, final conclusion- there's more to come.

    There were also criticisms about the inaccuracy of details such as travel speed. First, it's science fiction. The fiction categorization kind of implies it is not necessarily going to be 100% accurate. Second, I read for enjoyment. I don't contemplate every little detail and let that determine the enjoyment factor of a book. That's sort of like people who watch a movie about a giant bug that is killing people and commenting that at that size the exoskeleton would crush the bug and therefore the movie is unrealistic. Duh! It's a giant bug. Whatever happened to temporary suspension of disbelief?

    If you are concerned about wasting your money on a book you may not enjoy, maybe you should rediscover the library card. That's what I did and I am definitely purchasing this book for my personal library. 5 stars!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    I couldn't put it down!

    My only complaint is that it was over too quickly. I was engrossed from start to finish. What a wonderful way to learn the history of the Ender universe. I would highly recommend.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    A total ripoff

    If you are a fan of Mr. Card, as I have been until earlier this year when I felt cheated by the disastrous final book in the Bean series, be prepared for more of the same with Earth Unaware. This latest book is being hyped as a prequel to Ender's Game. It is far from it, although it might get by being hyped as a preprequel to the prequel to Ender's Game in that it alludes to Mazer Rackham. The entire rest of the book has no real link to the story I was led to believe I was buying. Furthermore, this is not a stand-alone volume that tells a complete story on its own, as the writer of the above glowing report would have you believe. It is a cliff-hanger that abruptly stops before it becomes an actual prequel. Only after receiving this book was I made aware that it is actually the opening volume in a series, for which I might not have signed on. The publisher and vendor of this volume should have made it clear that who knows how many more volumes there will be in the offing before the series comes to a conclusion.
    Given the writing style used in Earth Unaware, I even doubt Mr. Card actually wrote the book. I should have expected as much when I learned (after being conned into buying it) that this book was co-authored by a writer of whom I never heard before.
    The bottom line is that Earth Unaware is a total ripoff to any unsuspecting buyer who is expecting the advertised prequel to Ender's Game in a single compact, fast-paced volume for which Mr. Card was justifiable famous in the past. Having been burned twice in less than a year, I have decided to swear off all future offerings by Mr. Card. Sayonara, Scott.

    8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Recommend, very well written

    This is a wonderful prequel to the Ender's series. It is very well written as to be expected from Orson Scott Card. The book has a wonderful array of characters that are very likable and well built.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Card at his best

    150 pages in and i cant slow down wonderful

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    First time Card reader..... I loved this fist of A SERIES

    I have not read the Ender series yet. Several comments seem to think this is a stand-alone book. I read the book and can honestly say it was a great sci-fy read, excitement, great characters, and a cliff hanger ending. Does anyone know the name of the next book and when it is scheduled to be released?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    didn't hold interest

    didn't hold interest

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Not up to Card's usual standards

    I am a huge fan, but found this to be disappointing from start to finish. The plot, the character development, the dialogue all seemed amateurish.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Excellent book

    Really looking forward to the next one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Fantastic first book of the trilogy planned as prequels to ender

    Fantastic first book of the trilogy planned as prequels to ender's game.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Woo hoo

    I want to have sex with Mackenzie Perry, Ariana Peterson, Katie Boney, Dakota, And Brittney Spears

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Excellent

    Enjoy the ride. Can't wait for the next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Earth Unaware provides the reader with the basis for critical ba

    Earth Unaware provides the reader with the basis for critical background elements for Ender’s Game. There are hints of the “Little Doctor”, the beginnings of the Hegmony and even a quick intro of Mazar Rackham, but none of those teasers are well developed and the main story is drawn out without a payoff at the end.

    Earth Unaware is a good background novel but it is not good enough to be a standalone novel without a tie to an already well established series.

    I eagerly await the next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Read It For Yourself

    This was a great book. I couldnt stop reading it and am thankful to get to experience the story that took place before Ender. Wonderfully built world and character development that made me care for the characters and feel immersed in a futuristic environment. Worth reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Book incomplere

    Very good story but not finished. I have read all of the Ender books and thought they were super. What happens to all the people who were left hanging?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Action. But not concluded.

    The afterword mentions that this part of a marvel comic series - dont see it on bn though. The story is at about the mid point when this ends. But it dosnt get slow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Great book! Syfy should make a Tvseries out of this

    This book is intense and moves at a great pace, I could hardly put it down! I haven't loved every book in the Ender and Bean series', but I can't wait for a follow up to this. Like my title says this could easily become a movie or tv show. Even if you haven't read Enders Game this is a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Excellent book!!!

    This book opens the past for the Ender series. Its a great start for a series leading up to the Enders series. Enders always left question as to why it all happened.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5