Customer Reviews for

Earth Unaware

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

This is a prequel to Ender's Game and is an excellent addition t

This is a prequel to Ender's Game and is an excellent addition to the Ender universe. It also functions well as a stand alone story that should appeal to both fans and those unfamiliar with Ender's Game. A compelling story with realistic, intriguing characters. I'm al...
This is a prequel to Ender's Game and is an excellent addition to the Ender universe. It also functions well as a stand alone story that should appeal to both fans and those unfamiliar with Ender's Game. A compelling story with realistic, intriguing characters. I'm already looking forward to the next installment.

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

didn't hold interest

didn't hold interest

posted by 11218116 on July 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    The aliens are coming

    The formics are coming and the world will be put under martial law

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable read

    A prequel to "Enders Game" which I read years ago, the characters are well developed, the scenario is consistent with envisioned technology of the time. I found it a good read in and of itself and stands alone as an excellent book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Not another Ender Novel

    This is better. Now we get to see the situation that generated Ender, Bean, Petra and the others. I find this to be an excellent novel and highly recommend it. After reading all the others in the Enderverse it is nice to find out why. Good job Sir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    The only problem is that it ends and the next book is $13.00

    The only problem is that it ends and the next book is $13.00

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    Great sci-fi. This review covers the audiobook. *Book source ~

    Great sci-fi. This review covers the audiobook.

    *Book source ~ Local library

    Earth’s denizens have been moving off Earth and onto mining ships to mine metals and minerals from asteroids out past Pluto.  The mining ship El Cavador has spotted something on their ‘eye’ or telescope that is approaching Earth’s system and fast. It could be a comet or some such thing, but since when does a comet slow as it approaches a system? That’s the worrying thing. However, when a corporate ship captained by Lem Jukes bumps them from their claim on an asteroid El Cavador forgets about the incoming object in their attempt to survive the damage to their ship. The destruction and death that is about to happen rests squarely on the corporate ship. If they hadn’t been greedy and bumped El Cavador then they would have had much more warning about the danger bearing down on them. 

    Meanwhile, back on Earth, Captain Wit O’Toole is recruiting for the multinational MOPs (Mobile Operations Police), taking only the best of the best. Their motto is “Prepare for any situation.” After seeing some really good faked alien invasion footage on the internet, Wit decides that an alien invasion falls under ‘any situation’, so he gets his men training. Let the First Formic War begin.

    Guest reviewers today:
    My 16-yr-old daughter A
    My 14-yr-old son T
    My 13-yr-old son K

    This is the first time we’ve listened to an audio with more than one narrator and it’s a hit. Everyone loves the narration of this audiobook, but they especially love the narrator who does Wit’s voice (though he also does a few others).

    Everyone also agrees that the beginning was slow and boring. They didn’t like all the whining Victor did about Alejandra having to go to another ship because they seemed to be getting a little to close for being cousins. However, once Lem bumps El Cavador the action picks up until the end.

    Also in agreement is their opinion that Wit is an awesome character with mad skillz and that he was pretty smart and not crazy for training his men to fight an alien invasion. They can’t wait to see the MOPs kick some alien ass in the next book.

    They believe Victor was pretty brave to take a quickship to Luna base. A & T said they aren’t ever leaving Earth (me either for that matter), but K said he’d go to outer space in a heartbeat. Well, he does love astronomy, so I shouldn’t be surprised. The 7 month trip in the quickship lead to the discussion of bone loss and zero gravity vs bone density and gravity. I hope I explained it right. We were in the car and I had no Google to consult. lol

    All-in-all a great sci-fi book. The kids are looking forward to listening to Book 2, Earth Afire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    I have really enjoyed Card's Ender books, but having read scienc

    I have really enjoyed Card's Ender books, but having read science fiction for over 50 years I could hardly get through these last two books due to the massive ignorance on the part of Card and his editors in putting out books that are so technically and scientifically wrong that anyone with even a modicum of understanding of Newtonian physics finds incredibly offensive. I did enjoy the rest of the story, but had to completely jettison my critical acumen in order to get past these horrific mistakes.


    For two books to get published without someone figuring this out speaks for the non-science fiction fan base Card has acquired with his Ender books. It is great that he has gained such appeal with other readers. On the other hand, if these had written to/for the typical Si-Fi community they would have been quickly eviscerated.

    As long as the author writes about things beyond the critique of existing science, he has been both enjoyable and plausible. But for someone to write for an educated audience about something that he obviously knows nothing about and is completely wrong becomes really pathetic.

    We can only hope that someone with get through to the author or editors and get them to fix these problems before next book comes out and adds insult to injury.

    Rewriting the first two novels would also be a really good idea so that future readers are not subjected to such disappointing errors.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Pg. 33 "Gravity is the most powerful force in the universe."

    It's actually the weakest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    A great beginning

    I love the Ender story. This is a well thought out beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    This book is a fantastic read. I can say that with confidence b

    This book is a fantastic read. I can say that with confidence because I devoured it quicker than any book I've read in years. The characters grab you quickly. The science is compelling and believable. The tension is real and doesn't let up. This is mature science fiction that isn't afraid to get into the heads of young characters - a telling precursor of events to come. I have yet to read the Ender series, and this is a wonderful first foray into that world. I cannot recommend Earth Unaware highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    Storyline excellent, but some sections drag! The author(s) spen

    Storyline excellent, but some sections drag!

    The author(s) spend 3 paragraphs on how someone felt about something, when 1/2 paragraph would have sufficed. I wished for an abridged audio version! But you need to read this book to read Earth Afire, and THAT book does not drag AT ALL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    CARD KNOWS HIS UNIVERSE

    As a prequel to the highly acclaimed "Ender's Game" series, I had very high expectations before starting this series. I can now safely say this book does not disappoint. It is absolutely a prequel in EVERY sense of the word. I was expecting it to lead right into the events of EG, but Card and Johnston took the road less traveled and set it a whole generation before EG. There is zero familiararity with the setting other than a few names and that of it taking place on Earth. Instead of dealing with the second war with the Formics, this tells the story of first contact between the humans and the formics. Earth quite literally is caught "unaware". One of the better Science Fiction novels to come out in awhile. I'm more a fan of Sci-Fi than of Science Fiction (yes there IS a difference) but I really REALLY enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    A good start to a prequel but has no ending.

    I enjoyed this book right up until it just stopped. It does not even pretend to have an ending. It is a common problem these days, it is like they are writing for television. Even though they are clearly planning a series that will be good, more effort should be put into bringing each book to some conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An entertaining prequel to Ender's game. Apparently it is based

    An entertaining prequel to Ender's game. Apparently it is based off of a comic - look into that if you're interested, it could be better.
    I enjoyed the book but found it suffered from;
     - Lower writing style than Ender's Game. 
     - The story is split across 3 books. This is only the first.
     - Incorrect understanding of space physics. For 90% of the book the author seems to think that you must be absolutely stationary to dock in space. No, you simply have to be stationary with respect to whatever it is you're docking with. If you both happen to be moving at 100 mph it makes it no more, nor less dangerous to dock. In the last 10% the author makes a note that sounds like he understands this, but apparently doesn't because he keeps doing it. Also, if you're a science fiction editor, please bring the hammer down on basics physics mistakes like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    This book is paced so slowly and provides incredibly little info

    This book is paced so slowly and provides incredibly little information. There are leaps from chapter to chapter that had me wondering if I was missing sections of the book and when I read the last page, I said to myself, "You've got to be kidding me! Is that IT!" The original was one of my favorite SF series, ever, but this book seemed like a sell-out; as though it was cranked out in the author's sleep. I was hoping that this book would be as well-written as the original and would have my appetite whetted for the next prequel volume. That was not the case at all. I will not be purchasing the second book in this prequel series. In my opinion, this book cheapens the excellent existing series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Card's brought back his A-game

    I initially read Ender's Game as a teenager, then rediscovered it with the release of the trailer for the new movie. It's a great book and I read the whole series, only to find that the subsequent stories were more philosophical and, while good, didn't have the same appeal as the original.

    Earth Unaware brings us back to the energy and action of Ender's Game with a different setting. However, rather than focusing solely on one hero-Ender, this book is presented more episodically, like a comic book. It is a fascinating read, a page-turner, and definitely worth it if you liked Ender's Game.

    Just beware that it ends abruptly, leaving you feeling a bit cheated for it's lack of catharsis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    If you read Ender's Game, you have to read this.

    I read Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow and found them very enjoyable. When I seen that there was a prequel out, I had to read it. Things that were briefly touched in the Ender's books get told thoroughly. I've also read the second book, Earth Afire. Or to be more precise, I devoured them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Fantastic!

    I have to say that Orson Scott Card is one of my all time favorites. This book is so intelligently written, so profoundly moving, so solid and humane, that it stays with you long after you have read the last line. It is believable, thought-provoking, fast-paced, moving. The characters are full-blooded, the story line - dynamic and intense. I read it in just a few short hours and have already sunk into the sequel. I heartily recommend both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    i could not put this book down. Couldn't sleep for thinking abou

    i could not put this book down. Couldn't sleep for thinking about the alien creatures! Immediately bought Earth Afire! Two of the best books I have ever read. Thank you Orson Scott Card!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    To 2 below and 3 below.

    2 below: people come here to learn more about a book, not about your sexual desires or activities.
    3 below: that's just plain inappropriate. Again, people come here to learn about a book, not that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Best Card since Enders Game

    I was completely engaged in Ender's Game but lost interest as I went through the books following the rest of Ender's life. While I enjoyed the books following Bean's life more, I thought Earth Unaware recaptured the best parts of Ender's Game. I can't wait for the next books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5