Customer Reviews for

East

Average Rating 5
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

East vs. Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow : So I know that lots of peo

East vs. Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow :
So I know that lots of people confuse these books with each other and many think they are practically the same story. I also thought this until I read them one right after the other. While EAST begins with the tale of a superstitiou...
East vs. Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow :
So I know that lots of people confuse these books with each other and many think they are practically the same story. I also thought this until I read them one right after the other. While EAST begins with the tale of a superstitious mother who wants to birth each of her children at a different point of the compass ( except for north, because she was told by a fortune teller that her North born child would die), SUN and MOON, Ice and Snow begins with a girl being born into a family where the mother doesn't want her and refuses to name her. Both Rose (from East) and the nameless girl (from S.M.I.S.) have a loving favorite brother that they spend time with, but while EAST is told from more than one character's perspective, S.M.I.S is told from only the nameless girl's perspective. Because EAST is told from more than one perspective, I feel as though you get to know the characters better, and I also thought that the writing in EAST is much better than the writing in S.M.I.S. In S.M.I.S. the nameless girl is able to speak to animals (because a white Reindeer kissed her after giving her the gift of a name - a name in which we do not find out until the end of the book), which is why she is able to communicate with the bear that whisks her away. In contrast, the bear in EAST is able to communicate with all people. In both books the girl's family's are promised something if the girls will go and live in an Ice Castle with the bear for 1 year. In both cases, the girls leave home to live in an Ice Castle, but while the girl with no name is allowed to bring her beloved pet wolf, Rose isn't allowed to bring anything. Although both leading ladies befriend the bears and understand there to be some sort of enchantment, nameless girl pesters the bear and others, constantly searching for the answer, while Rose is quiet and tries to figure out things on her own. While at the ice castle both girls encounter servants, but while Rose encounters two trolls, nameless girl encounters many servant creatures including a fawn. Rose and nameless girl also are given a chance to return home for a short visit, but while Rose returns for a moth to visit her family, nameless returns for about five days (and only because she thinks her father is dying). At the Ice Castle at night both girls also have a visitor that sleeps beside them although they cannot see it and do not know what it is.SPOILER. Eventually both girls give into their curiosity and use a candle to look at their nightly visitor, realizing it is a handsome prince. Even though both princes are taken away from the girls to marry a troll princess, Rose sets off immediately to find her prince with help along the way from a lady and her daughter, a sea captain, and a Eskimo, while the girl without a name sets off to find her prince with the help of three old ladies, and the North,South,East, and West winds. A white Parka plays a major role in S.M.I.S. while there isn't even a white parka mentioned in EAST. The endings in both books are rather the same and both stories are a bit edgy because of the element of the unknown bedside partner. The stories both remind me of Beauty and the Beast, but I have to say I would choose EAST over S.M.I.S. because I thought that it had more depth and the writing was at a higher level than the other book's writing. Although S.M.I.S did have many more elements contributing to the story to make it more interesting; Both books were good reads. There were quite a few more small elements that separated the Books from each other, but sadly, I didn't have enough room to write about them : )

posted by pinkfairytale on August 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rose’s mother (Eugenia) had a superstition that a north bo

Rose’s mother (Eugenia) had a superstition that a north born child would face a life that was wild and uncontrollable. Rose was a north born child, but her mother tried to hide it and say she was east born. An east born child was said to live a peaceful and tame...
Rose’s mother (Eugenia) had a superstition that a north born child would face a life that was wild and uncontrollable. Rose was a north born child, but her mother tried to hide it and say she was east born. An east born child was said to live a peaceful and tame life.
When Rose is asked to travel with a white bear in exchange for her sister to become well again, she decides it is best to travel with him to the north. However, when they are in the north Rose breaks a “condition”, and the white bear turns back into a man. Once the bear turned back into a man he was taken away by a queen. Rose immediately sets out on foot to find him, and eventually finds him east of the sun and West of the moon. Together they fall in love, and create their destination from there.
I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about fairy tales. I personally did not like this book at all, but I also learned that I don’t enjoy reading fairy tales. This book is full of adventure, and makes you think while you are reading. It also represents a lot of themes that are important in everyday life.

posted by schsreader0 on April 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    East vs. Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow : So I know that lots of peo

    East vs. Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow :
    So I know that lots of people confuse these books with each other and many think they are practically the same story. I also thought this until I read them one right after the other. While EAST begins with the tale of a superstitious mother who wants to birth each of her children at a different point of the compass ( except for north, because she was told by a fortune teller that her North born child would die), SUN and MOON, Ice and Snow begins with a girl being born into a family where the mother doesn't want her and refuses to name her. Both Rose (from East) and the nameless girl (from S.M.I.S.) have a loving favorite brother that they spend time with, but while EAST is told from more than one character's perspective, S.M.I.S is told from only the nameless girl's perspective. Because EAST is told from more than one perspective, I feel as though you get to know the characters better, and I also thought that the writing in EAST is much better than the writing in S.M.I.S. In S.M.I.S. the nameless girl is able to speak to animals (because a white Reindeer kissed her after giving her the gift of a name - a name in which we do not find out until the end of the book), which is why she is able to communicate with the bear that whisks her away. In contrast, the bear in EAST is able to communicate with all people. In both books the girl's family's are promised something if the girls will go and live in an Ice Castle with the bear for 1 year. In both cases, the girls leave home to live in an Ice Castle, but while the girl with no name is allowed to bring her beloved pet wolf, Rose isn't allowed to bring anything. Although both leading ladies befriend the bears and understand there to be some sort of enchantment, nameless girl pesters the bear and others, constantly searching for the answer, while Rose is quiet and tries to figure out things on her own. While at the ice castle both girls encounter servants, but while Rose encounters two trolls, nameless girl encounters many servant creatures including a fawn. Rose and nameless girl also are given a chance to return home for a short visit, but while Rose returns for a moth to visit her family, nameless returns for about five days (and only because she thinks her father is dying). At the Ice Castle at night both girls also have a visitor that sleeps beside them although they cannot see it and do not know what it is.SPOILER. Eventually both girls give into their curiosity and use a candle to look at their nightly visitor, realizing it is a handsome prince. Even though both princes are taken away from the girls to marry a troll princess, Rose sets off immediately to find her prince with help along the way from a lady and her daughter, a sea captain, and a Eskimo, while the girl without a name sets off to find her prince with the help of three old ladies, and the North,South,East, and West winds. A white Parka plays a major role in S.M.I.S. while there isn't even a white parka mentioned in EAST. The endings in both books are rather the same and both stories are a bit edgy because of the element of the unknown bedside partner. The stories both remind me of Beauty and the Beast, but I have to say I would choose EAST over S.M.I.S. because I thought that it had more depth and the writing was at a higher level than the other book's writing. Although S.M.I.S did have many more elements contributing to the story to make it more interesting; Both books were good reads. There were quite a few more small elements that separated the Books from each other, but sadly, I didn't have enough room to write about them : )

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    A lovely tale of adventure and love.

    This story.is beautifully written and imagined. The enormous research and dedication of the author is evident in even the smallest topic she introduces. She weaves an authentic picture of each culture and region through the eyes of realistic, lovable characters.

    It is, however, far from fast-paced. Pattou's style kept me reading, but there are some significant lulls in the plotline. The pace is relaxed and plodding, but somehow also addictive.

    Highly recommended for a cold winter day by the fire!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Wonderful!

    A unique and unexpected twist to Beauty and the Beast. Not your typical fairy tale retelling, which is why I enjoyed this book so much!! In the nook version, there were some typos; but it wasnt so bad that i got annoyed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Great Adventure

    This was a great adventure story, but lacked a little in the romance department. I wish there were more "love" moments between Rose and the White Bear. I was glad it had a happy ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    good but i am suspicious

    its great and you wont want to put it down but it is really very similar to "sun and moon, snow and ice"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pattou knows her craft very well and makes a perfect example in "East".

    "East" is a book that you will want to read again-I know I did. I found it on a dusty shelf in the junior high library when I was but a youngster, I being one of the only students to traverse the exciting world of books. After reading it, I swore to purchase my own copy one day so that I might enjoy it whenever I desired.

    Five years later, I did just that when I accidentally discovered it on sale at our beloved B&N. I reread it to experience the ride all over again. And what a ride it was.

    Pattou tells her story from the narrating points of multiple characters: the protagonist, Rose, her favorite brother (she has many siblings) and father, the White Bear depicted on the book cover, and even the Troll Queen, a character whose interference in the storyline becomes known over time.

    By taking the stand point of many characters, Pattou had created a completely sound, full storyline. Not to mention, the detail put into the novel is clearly shown in the knowledge spent on the father's map industry and his love for wind roses. There is also the timeless addition of magic that makes this book one to fly through.

    The topic of finding one's place in the world is introduced, causing the reader to internally ponder. As the reader journeys with Rose, they begin to see a wonderful world unfold and also the awkwardness with which a teenage Rose tries find where she belongs. Rose's mother remains a stumbling block in her daughter's quest for self-realization, asserting that Rose is not to be one of the wandering children that we've all come to know and love for their adventurous side.

    "East" is exciting, mysterious, and even romantic. This novel does not stand out as the everyday teenage read, but it should be found on young adult bookshelves everywhere. Pattou's book is all you need to find a truly astounding fiction novel with a splash into the world of magic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Steelfur

    "I'd like deputy of EastClan, but don't you want to get to know me first?" He smiled wryly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Great book

    I like the book alot. I likd how the book had sevarel probles

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    for those fantasy explorers

    this is a wonderful fantasy novel. it transports you into a different world that you wish you were a part of. the characters are interesting and are very much the star of their own stories. strong plot and characters make this version of the old tale very unique. I also loved how it was told from multiple characters. it make the reader feel like they were getting the full story and not just the main character's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    EAST

    This story is about as girl who knows nothing about the mysterious circumstances of her birth, but as you realize it, you notice it effects her life as she is taken from her family by an unlikely guest, finds her true love in her "captivity", and realized she will have to fight for him after a big mistake.
    Edith Pattou tells this touching and exciting story from many different characters' points of view as this tale of a "white bear" and the "North girl" comes through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    Satisfaction

    This book will defiantly be a thrill ride to anyone who reads it. It's full with mystery, romance, and lessons. The one flaw that I found was that the author pretty much waits for the last few pages to give you the ending that you want. Other than that, this book was amazing. I do recommend kids to read this book at least once because you wont be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    Great read

    This book is a great read for anyone who enjoys adventure stories mixed with fantasy. It's refreshing to see females as the hero trying to save the male and is quite reminiscent of Beauty and the Beast. The beginning started off a little confusing and slow but after a couple chapters (and they're all very short), the action picks up right away and there doesn't seem to be a dull moment from then on. The characterization of the trolls was well done and everything seemed believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2007

    very spicey

    This book is very spicey.I think enyone who likes fairy tales should read it. Also it has much drama but it turns out good in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2007

    Great book

    East is one of the best fantasy books that I have ever head the privilege to read. I would highly recommend this book to any Fantasy Lover. If you love the fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, or the Narnia Series, this book is very similar to those classic tales. Although the book has a tendency to have its boring spots 'I skipped about 80-100 pages in the middle' it is very well written and definitely one of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    Great

    This book was great. It wasn't the best, though, because I thought that the majority of the book was just about staying in some weird castle that Rose actually put up with, which amazed me. She didn't question the actions of the bear. She didn't care if she was being held prisoner away from her family. Also, she didn't spend much time in the Troll Queen's castle. Half the book was about Rose in the castle, a third about her journey to save Charles, and the rest about her saving him. Other than that, it was well written and an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    pretty good

    this book was a really good book and had a lot of interesting turns. i would definitely recommend this to everone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    Nice...

    I liked reading this book because it was fantasy/romance. It is a sweet twist on the story 'Beauty and the Beast', but with a much more exciting climax. It wasn't the best book ever, but fantasy lovers will all enjoy it. I especially enjoyed the way she wrote from different characters' points of view. That was cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    This book was great!

    'East' by Edith Pattou is an extremely good book. It is written in short chapter form from the eyes of one of the characters in the book. Each small 'chapter' is titled with the name of the person who is writing it. The book is about a girl named Rose who goes on a miraculous journey to far away places. Some things she encounters are very outr of the ordinary, such as the white bear and the place that lies 'east of the sun and west of the moon'. Overall, this book was well written and kept me very interested, and I'm hoping to read some of Edith's other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2