Customer Reviews for

Easter Island

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Impressive first effort by a new author, this is writing of a very high quality. It is a delicately woven narrative of several voices, intricately intertwined like fine lace, beautifully done. This book is still the most gracious I¿ve read, decidedly feminine. The chara...
Impressive first effort by a new author, this is writing of a very high quality. It is a delicately woven narrative of several voices, intricately intertwined like fine lace, beautifully done. This book is still the most gracious I¿ve read, decidedly feminine. The characters are first presented in careful detail. It may even seem too slow until the travels and adventures begin. Then you understand the value of having learned so much about them while they lived in familiar surroundings of polite society. Then their paths and those of the other voices in the story begin crossing. The plots do twist, in ways at which I will not even hint. The book is filled with botanical details and colorful history about this most fascinating place. Easter Island is still a location to which few ever travel. Its mysteries, like those of these characters, come to life yet remain unresolved in the end. Highly recommended for the excellent quality of the writing, if for no other reason.

posted by L.Emerson on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

OK - but dragged on

I like the writer's style and the book was easy to read. The island was described well and the people's thoughts were well-felt. However, the story (actually stories) dragged. I never felt they joined that well together and was disappointed in the endings. It wasn't...
I like the writer's style and the book was easy to read. The island was described well and the people's thoughts were well-felt. However, the story (actually stories) dragged. I never felt they joined that well together and was disappointed in the endings. It wasn't a bad read, but not my favorite. I just kept waiting for something more to happen.

posted by puzzled66 on April 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OK - but dragged on

    I like the writer's style and the book was easy to read. The island was described well and the people's thoughts were well-felt. However, the story (actually stories) dragged. I never felt they joined that well together and was disappointed in the endings. It wasn't a bad read, but not my favorite. I just kept waiting for something more to happen.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Impressive first effort by a new author, this is writing of a very high quality. It is a delicately woven narrative of several voices, intricately intertwined like fine lace, beautifully done. This book is still the most gracious I¿ve read, decidedly feminine. The characters are first presented in careful detail. It may even seem too slow until the travels and adventures begin. Then you understand the value of having learned so much about them while they lived in familiar surroundings of polite society. Then their paths and those of the other voices in the story begin crossing. The plots do twist, in ways at which I will not even hint. The book is filled with botanical details and colorful history about this most fascinating place. Easter Island is still a location to which few ever travel. Its mysteries, like those of these characters, come to life yet remain unresolved in the end. Highly recommended for the excellent quality of the writing, if for no other reason.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    Good book for a rainy day by KyScot

    Easter Island by Jennifer Vanderbes is a good read for somebody that is fascinated by history and sciences of all natures. It is set up in a strange format, different than anything else I have read before, but it really adds depth to the historical fiction standpoint. The novel is set up mainly in two different points of view, divided by chapter, but the strange thing Vanderbes does is she adds a third point of view every five chapters or so. These extra sections are only between a few paragraphs to a few pages long, but they add a tremendous amount of information and historical value (the downside to this is that it also makes different parts of the book a little confusing. It takes you out of the characters mind when something important is going to happen). The majority of the story fallows the point of view of two separate women. Both on missions to crack open a secret that Easter Island has been holding deep within its soil and culture, as well as opening their eyes and hearts to new experiences and new loves (I can not really say much more than this without giving away major details of the plot). <BR/>For a first book, Vanderbes really nails down the mechanics as well as the imagery that you would expect to find in Pulitzer Prize winner (but that is would you expect from a novelist that graduated from Yale). Sentences like ¿In the darkness, the ropes lashing the corer to the horse¿s back looked like the threads of a giant cobweb floating in front of her,¿ which appear various times throughout the book, appeal to your sense of sight, but also adds deeper meaning worthy enough to be compared with the poetry of Dickinson. <BR/>The story overall flows very nicely, and has a rhythm hidden within the text. This is not a novel you can fly though. It is one you have to take at a steady pace to comprehend what is really happening. The story itself is not very long (around 300 pages), but I guarantee that it will take the same amount of time to read a Stephen King novel. <BR/>This is not a novel for people that like hard-hitting action and conflict that drives the story. The book starts off fairly slow, with the first 100 pages just introducing the characters and their past experiences and relationships as well as their emotional and most personal thoughts. After the first 100 pages small conflicts start to develop thought the rest of the book, but there is never really a main central conflict that drives the book forward (this is also something I have never read before).<BR/>Overall, Easter Island is a good book to save for a rainy day when you have a lot of free time on your plate. It is not a story driven by conflict. It is a story driven by experiences that may lead to conflict. Jennifer Vanderbes has proved herself to be a talented and gifted writer, but she needs to figure out who her audience really is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    BUNNY'S WARREN

    Where the easter bunny makes easter eggs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    Disappointing

    I read many great reviews about this novel and feel that the story fell quite short of the masterpiece it was stated to be. Although Ms. Vanderbees obviously was very thorough in her research, as related to botany and Easter Island; I felt the focus on the technicality of botany was tedious and was taken too far; afterall, this was a novel, not a text for a grad school course in botany. I anticipated the development of the story lines for Greer and Elsa, and felt cheated in the end due to the lack of resolution. Perhaps that was Ms. Vanderbees point; just as there is no answer to the mystery of Easter Island, there is no answer to the outcome of Elsa and Greer's paths. It is a novel that leaves you making many assumptions in the end. A well-researched novel and great characters, but the plot falls a bit flat 3/4 of the way through; therefore making the characters and their story boring and inplausable in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    Perfect For Bookclubs

    This novel provoked the most interesting discussion so far this year for our club. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    A Page-Turner

    To me, Easter Island was a page-turner. Vanderbes's research, both for botannical accuracy and Easter Island's history, was impeccable. The characters were beautifully drawn, and the plot was interwoven masterfully, switching between the two protagonists with ease. I identified with both Elsa and Greer, not only in their searches for meaningful relationships, but also in their devotion to intellectual pursuits. They will live in memory as my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2003

    I loved it!

    This was a beautifully written story. I had no trouble going back and forth between the two stories of the past and present, though they had similar threads running through their individual stories, each was fully developed and unmistakeably of it's own time. The historical details were interesting and poignant, but what I truly enjoyed was the main theme of the entire book which seemed to me to be about choices. Specifically, how our lives mold our decisions, and when we make the wrong decision...how that affects our life. These women, Elsa and Greer, both made unfortunate choices in their love interests, but they learned to live with and accept their mistakes and go on to lead good lives. It was a wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    Absolutely loved it!

    This book was suspenseful, intelligent and heartfelt. I was completely drawn in to the relationship between Elsa and her younger sister Alice, who travel to Easter Island in 1912 with Elsa's new husband, Professor Beazley. Greer's story provided a very interesting contemporary parallel, and the challenges she faced as a scientist with her older, academic husband illuminated the ways in which women had made (and not made) progress towards equality by the 1970s. The writing throughout was beautiful (I particularly liked the descriptions of the island). A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    Easter Island

    ho-hum..was highly recommended but seems very tedious and little passion ultimately. the writing seems forced and even steely at times. intersting setting for a novel, bbut the characters were ultimately bound as if corseted in their minds AND their waists. skip all the hype and go for ZZ packer's dazzling debut instead for more meat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    Easter Island

    I have to admit, i was very much anticipating this book for the summer but just finished it last week and have to say it was over all a HUGE disappointment. The ending (while I won't give it away here) is completely unbelievable and leaves one of the main characters fully unresolved. I much more cared for the other thread of the story involving Elsa and Alice. I feel cheated b/c I waded through pages of background of Greer for no reason, nothing to advance the plot with. The romance between Alice and another character is written almost comically. It feels cold, and oddly un-sensual, making me wonder did the author include this at the last minute? Sigh. I was really hoping for more, esp. since I heard so much about it. It starts off promisingly, but i wouldn't recommend this to anyone living outside of Easter Island.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1