Customer Reviews for

Eastern Ambitions (Compass Brothers Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly emotional...

My Review:
Tissue alert is right...Wow, poor Sam. He is having to deal with a lot in this book, but mmmm, there is just something about a tortured hero that is so appealing. This is book #3 of the Compass Brothers series and was about Sam, one of the twins who are the ...
My Review:
Tissue alert is right...Wow, poor Sam. He is having to deal with a lot in this book, but mmmm, there is just something about a tortured hero that is so appealing. This is book #3 of the Compass Brothers series and was about Sam, one of the twins who are the youngest of the brothers. He's only 25, but has already made a big name for himself on Wall Street until his girlfriend betrays him at the company where they both work. Quickly on the heels of that betrayal (like the same day), Sam finds out that his beloved father is dying, so he heads home to the Compton ranch.


Home, he finds some things have changed, most specifically the new woman that is handling the ranch's bookkeeping...Cindi. Although Sam has too much on his plate to try to initiate and commit to a relationship, he forms a friendship with Cindi and her allure is intoxicating and so tempting.


Overall this is a highly entertaining read and another great installment to this series. I had a few slight issues with the book, but I personally think that they were simply subjective issues for me and would not be problems for others. The twins have always been presented as teens, because they were the youngest. I had a hard time, in this book, moving Sam out of that context and into the adult world in my mind. Also, Cindi has some kinks, as does Sam, that they aren't sharing with each other. I don't have an issue with the kinks, but the way that they came out in the story just seemed a little odd to me. That scene made me uncomfortable and I can't even tell you why because it is something that I usually enjoy in my erotic romance. These were my only problems with this book, and like I said, both of them are VERY subjective.


Personally, I like the surprise that came with Cindi's background. I enjoyed getting to spend more time with this family. I love these brothers and the relationship they have with each other. There are some really sad moments happening in this book with their father's health decline, but they are offset wonderfully with humor and love between the boys and their parents.


This is a great series about a family that I am REALLY enjoying. I cannot wait to read Sawyer's book. We got a small glimpse of him as he has been off with the Navy and has no idea what is happening at home. A fact that he is NOT going to be happy about. It promises to be a great book although I have a feeling that it may be even more heart-wrenching than this one was.

posted by SmittenWithReading on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ugh

Nope. Not good. The other two books i liked, this one was too much. I like explicit sex as much as the next, but when the female lead is doing 6 guys and the hero walks in and loves it and helps? My first thought is sluuuuut. Anyway, not hot!

posted by 9394860 on December 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Ugh

    Nope. Not good. The other two books i liked, this one was too much. I like explicit sex as much as the next, but when the female lead is doing 6 guys and the hero walks in and loves it and helps? My first thought is sluuuuut. Anyway, not hot!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly emotional...

    My Review:
    Tissue alert is right...Wow, poor Sam. He is having to deal with a lot in this book, but mmmm, there is just something about a tortured hero that is so appealing. This is book #3 of the Compass Brothers series and was about Sam, one of the twins who are the youngest of the brothers. He's only 25, but has already made a big name for himself on Wall Street until his girlfriend betrays him at the company where they both work. Quickly on the heels of that betrayal (like the same day), Sam finds out that his beloved father is dying, so he heads home to the Compton ranch.


    Home, he finds some things have changed, most specifically the new woman that is handling the ranch's bookkeeping...Cindi. Although Sam has too much on his plate to try to initiate and commit to a relationship, he forms a friendship with Cindi and her allure is intoxicating and so tempting.


    Overall this is a highly entertaining read and another great installment to this series. I had a few slight issues with the book, but I personally think that they were simply subjective issues for me and would not be problems for others. The twins have always been presented as teens, because they were the youngest. I had a hard time, in this book, moving Sam out of that context and into the adult world in my mind. Also, Cindi has some kinks, as does Sam, that they aren't sharing with each other. I don't have an issue with the kinks, but the way that they came out in the story just seemed a little odd to me. That scene made me uncomfortable and I can't even tell you why because it is something that I usually enjoy in my erotic romance. These were my only problems with this book, and like I said, both of them are VERY subjective.


    Personally, I like the surprise that came with Cindi's background. I enjoyed getting to spend more time with this family. I love these brothers and the relationship they have with each other. There are some really sad moments happening in this book with their father's health decline, but they are offset wonderfully with humor and love between the boys and their parents.


    This is a great series about a family that I am REALLY enjoying. I cannot wait to read Sawyer's book. We got a small glimpse of him as he has been off with the Navy and has no idea what is happening at home. A fact that he is NOT going to be happy about. It promises to be a great book although I have a feeling that it may be even more heart-wrenching than this one was.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Disturbing

    I have liked the first two books and the story line that continues with each book is good but this book is not good. The Cindi is a slut who has gang sex. I like mommy porn aka romance novels but this was not good. The only reason I finished was to see if JD died.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    Umm.. it was okay...

    The first book was good.. the second was incredible.. funny... sexy... and downright enjoyable... this book was okay... I like that it tried to push the menage idea a little further but it did not seem to come together.. no pun intended... it seemed a little forced... I'm keeping my hopes up for the next one...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Previous books are better

    I'm hoping the final book is better than this one. The previous books had better character development, sensual scenes that weren't gratuitous, and more realistic story and conflicts.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Can you say slut?

    I really did not like Cindi at all. I have no issues with menages or multiple partners but her needs seemed excessive to me. Continual gang bangs with the entire staff is just too much. She didn't even seem to have a viable explination for her need, she just seemed like a slut. The connection between her and Sam seemed forced to me. How did they fall in love? We didn't see any of it. While I enjoyed the other two books I just found myself rushing through this one to get to Sawyer's. How can they build a life on a close knit farm with a wife screwing most of the men on staff? What do you tell your children when they come across a gang bang in a barn? Once in a while indulgence is fine but Cindi seems like she's addicted to sex.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    The worst and most ridiculous short book of the series. Sam is s

    The worst and most ridiculous short book of the series. Sam is shallow snob but a millionare at 25. really? Cindi is a gangbang weirdo but a billionare so that makes it all ok. really? There was no explanation how she ended up in nowhere usa and what warped her into that lifestyle that everyone thought was normal. stupid, delete!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    praise for these authors

    i love this series!!! these books are for open minded people and hold nothing back and i love that my other favorite thing about this series repeats some in each book but from each brothers perspective which makes loads of difference. i don't like to read the same thing over and over and in this series you will not. I do not give away book details to ruin it for others so alls i will say is thank God for cowboys!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    More Compass Brothers

    I tried to decide if this was a 3 or a 4 so it's really a 3.5 for me and I usually go with the lower number in the stars themselves but because I love the series I went with 4 stars.

    I enjoyed the story but for some reason Sam and Cindi both didn't reach me with the same emotion as the characters in the rest of the books so far. Both of them come full of baggage and secrets and both seem reluctant to reveal themselves. Even when they get together it still seems like they are not as close as the other relationships in the story. I was expected to need tissues with installment like I have with the rest but it didn't happen. It might be because the impart of Dad being sick and then fining out how bad it was had already happened in the previous stories. I just felt less connected reading this installment.

    I'm looking forward to the final installment when we finally met the final Compton brother.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Must read

    I've been following this series and have enjoyed every book so far. This one is another great story of finding oneself and having your family there to help. Sam is one of my favorite characters because he went his own way but found there is nothing like family and home. Of course finding your true love in the process only makes it better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Loved it

    Its a reminder of what is really important in life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Good Read

    This book was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Worth the price..

    I recommend you start with the first book and read all four. The story keeps you interested and dam good hot sex.. highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Bloodshed

    The sun set on the highlands. Willowfur, a tan she-cat with a white underbelly, once well-groomed and fed, emerged from around a thistle bush, her pelt now ragged and thick, mangled up. Her underbelly was severely scarred from a fox attack, thus resulting in her becoming barren, unable to have kits. Her dark blue gaze locked within the rivers. A black tabby tom with dark ginger paws slid around the corner. "Willowfur?" he meowed, "is that you?" The strong, thick-furred, well-muscled she-cat replied, "Yes, it is. Now come out of there. It is time for battle-training."Her voice was a soft, silky growl like that of a half-woven spider web. Willowfur's claws were reinforced with dogs' teeth, just like her mate, Scourge, the leader of BloodClan. The black tabby tom emerged, but before he could say anything, a golden-brown tabby tom emerged from the bushes. "Willowfur," he growled. Willowfur's eyes narrowed to slits as she whipped around. "What do you want, fool?" she growled in her soft snarl for a voice. "I may be a fool," he mewed,"but at least I have loyalty left inside of me. You're a great fighter, that's true, but bloodshed is all you crave. Misery and torture. And revenge to satisfy your unquenchable bloodthirsty nature," he rasped. Willowfur slipped into the shadows. "I'll be back," she hissed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    multiple cowboys!--HOT!!

    This was a great story if you like multiple partners at the same time. This was the third book in the series and has many integral parts to the whole story. Cindi could have had anyone she wanted but loved Sam from the first time she saw his photo. She was a part of the family from the beginning, the ranchhand family as well as the Compton's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    highly recommend

    You fall in love with the Compass Brothers in previous 2 books. It is time to learn more about Sam. He is a sexy cowboy, who wears a business suit. He realizes that the Compass Ranch and family is calling him home. He has to learn how to reconnect to the ranch and it's family, which has grown, while he was away. He also learns how he can use his business sense to help the ranch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    good book

    good book although the first two were better. I cryied. Have some tissue ready!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    highly recommended

    i love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    I just love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6