Customer Reviews for

Easy Bake Coven

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This is the first book I've read by this author. EASY BAKE COVEN

This is the first book I've read by this author. EASY BAKE COVEN is a engaging light-hearted story about twenty-something Selene Warren. She's a witch and with her best friends from college, who also are witches, formed their own coven. They only dabble in witch craft, ...
This is the first book I've read by this author. EASY BAKE COVEN is a engaging light-hearted story about twenty-something Selene Warren. She's a witch and with her best friends from college, who also are witches, formed their own coven. They only dabble in witch craft, nothing serious in their minds. Everything changes when a handsome brooding stranger shows up and tells Selene that she's in danger. He also tells her that she is part elf. What?
So begins the story of Selene and Cheney and their complicated relationship. I was enjoying the story when I thought she was only a witch, but throw in half-elf and you have my full attention. The author does a great job of fleshing out these two along with a delightful cast of characters. The dialogue was witty and I found myself laughing throughout the book. Each chapter revealed something new and kept me turning the pages. The twist at the end was fantastic.  It's a quick, easy and most enjoyable read. I can't wait to read the next book to find out what Selene and Cheney will be up to next. Recommended.
I received a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

posted by debralmartin on March 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sorry to say, but I just could *not* get into this book. It was

Sorry to say, but I just could *not* get into this book. It was slow and repetitive, and I felt no emotional connection between the supposed romantic leads. I finally gave up after a hundred pages. The only character I really liked was the sekhmet (bounty hunter); now a...
Sorry to say, but I just could *not* get into this book. It was slow and repetitive, and I felt no emotional connection between the supposed romantic leads. I finally gave up after a hundred pages. The only character I really liked was the sekhmet (bounty hunter); now a book about *her* could be interesting. -- lyradora

posted by grisaille on January 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book I've read by this author. EASY BAKE COVEN

    This is the first book I've read by this author. EASY BAKE COVEN is a engaging light-hearted story about twenty-something Selene Warren. She's a witch and with her best friends from college, who also are witches, formed their own coven. They only dabble in witch craft, nothing serious in their minds. Everything changes when a handsome brooding stranger shows up and tells Selene that she's in danger. He also tells her that she is part elf. What?
    So begins the story of Selene and Cheney and their complicated relationship. I was enjoying the story when I thought she was only a witch, but throw in half-elf and you have my full attention. The author does a great job of fleshing out these two along with a delightful cast of characters. The dialogue was witty and I found myself laughing throughout the book. Each chapter revealed something new and kept me turning the pages. The twist at the end was fantastic.  It's a quick, easy and most enjoyable read. I can't wait to read the next book to find out what Selene and Cheney will be up to next. Recommended.
    I received a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Liz Schulte is an amazong author. She has a way of writing that

    Liz Schulte is an amazong author. She has a way of writing that makes you desperately want to meet her characters in person and really feel like you know them. Easy Bake Coven is about a woman who believes herself to be a witch. She grew up with a telekenetic ability that her grandmother made her suppress as much as possible. Selene had always felt that her grandmother thought that he ability was bad. She used religion to hide her true feelings in order to keep Selene hidden from those that would use her for their evil means. In reality, Selene is so much more than a human who can move things with her mind. She has abilities that she never knew she had because she had suppressed them for so long. She also had no idea that there was a gorgeous elf named Cheney just waiting for her to grow up. Why you might ask? Well Selene is actually a changeling and Cheney the man she had loved before becoming one. Liz Schulte gives you an idea of what a changeling could be without the traditional belief that a woman's baby is killed in the process. Look up changelings and you will see what I am talking about.

    I will be honest, I am 93% finished with the book, but it is not because it is hard to read or anything like that. I have been doing a lot of work in my house that has prevented me any time to read or write really. I will have finished this story in the next 24 hours because I am having a tough time putting it down! I desperately want to know more about Selene and Cheney! Thank goodness Hungry, Hungry, Hoodoo is out so I can actually read more about them.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Quirky, funny, and fast paced PNR are among my favorites and Liz

    Quirky, funny, and fast paced PNR are among my favorites and Liz Schulte always manages to deliver all three. You'll get sucked in and when you're done, you can't help but want more.




    Selene is a witch with a past she doesn't even realize she's missing. The whole mystery revolves around her forgotten memories that she would rather leave in the past. After all she has the perfect life, with good friends, a successful business, and a charming, safe fiance that she adores. Who would want to leave all that behind?




    Cheney, that's who. When this mysterious, yet delicious pops into her life, Selene feels threatened. He acts and talks like he knows her, but she has no idea who he is. When her friends can't even see him, it adds to her suspicion. But when her Grams is attacked, all the perspective in the world won't prepare her for what she will learn, face, and live through as she continues on her journey.




    Half-elf, half-human Selene will need to chose between the perfect and safe life of what her humanity knows, or jump into the unknown to save the people from the tyrant King that just happens to be Cheney's father, and something else, but that would be a spoiler :P




    It's smoking, sexy, and full of paranormal/UF fun. If you enjoy this genre, then pick this baby up. I can't wait to read the next book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Selene Warren is a yoga instructor by day, and a witch on the si

    Selene Warren is a yoga instructor by day, and a witch on the side, who in their right mind could want more?  Certain not Selene, especially since her amazing boyfriend just proposed to her.  However, her life isn’t as simple as she has always believed.  It’s true that she’s telekinetic, but she’s done a pretty good job repressing any urge to use that ability.  But that’s about to change.  Her elderly grandmother was injured and a stranger can’t believe that she doesn’t remember him.  Now, it’s up to Selene to get to the bottom of this strange situation while finding out that her past life is back to haunt her in more ways than one.
    This was the first Liz Schulte’s book that I’ve read, and I’ve got to tell you it is amazing.  The plot is extremely well thought-out.  There are plenty of twists and turns leaving the reader glued to their e-reader.  The characters are complex, especially Selene, and funny too.  Ms. Schulte even includes cameo appearances of Olivia Martin and Holden from the Guardian Trilogy, and Femi from “Sweet Little Lies”.   Without a doubt this is one of the most exciting series I’ve read.  Selene has issues, but she doesn’t spent half of the book whining about them, nor does she find an easy fix to all of her problems. 
     My main issue with the series is that I have to wait until September to read the third book, Pickup Styx.  Other than that it was worth every penny. :D

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Very good read!

    I liked this book but the ending could of been a little better but i am going to read the second one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Fun!

    Little confusing at times but it's a different story. Wasn't thrilled with ending. It's good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Amasing

    Can you say FANTACTIC i can read this book and make the world a better place!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Easy Bake Coven

    This was a really good book and I cannot wait to find out what happens next! It was a pretty quick read while being a longer book, about 715 nook pages.
    I am usually not a fan of books with so many supporting characters because it's hard to keep straight who is who, but I felt they were written well enough that it didn't affect the story for me. Selene took a little while to grow on me, but she ended up being a strong and smart protagonist. The fact that she can't remember her past and people seem to be keeping information from her adds an air of mystery and suspense to this fun and fast-paced story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    What a Captivating Series

    This is the first book that I read by this author and I'm really glad that I discovered her books. The storyline and plot twists keep the reader engrossed in the story, while the paranormal details and characters are fascinating. The romance is sizzling hot and enviable. I definitely recommend this book and series. You will be hooked and hurrying to buy the next book, I promise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Very good read. Did not want to put the book down.

    Story was exciting to the very end. It had an nice flow which made reading it vert enjoyable. The book was 700+ psged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Amazing

    I was not expecting to love this story but i do! So sad when i finished as i didnt want it to end....off to buy the next two i go :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Loved it

    This book grabbed hold of me and wouldnt let me go! It kept me wondering what was going to happen next. Starting on book two now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Great introduction to this author

    Enjoyed the book enough to buy the next two books right away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Good book!!!!

    This is a great book! I bought the second and third books in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    The book is funny

    You should read the book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    Unexpectedly Great

    This book surprised me. After the first few pages I thought the character was going to be another ditzy girl who made life choices that made me want to smack her upside the head. But in less than the first chapter, the whole plot shifted into a new direction, bringing me firmly along. While some of the character flatness and stupidity stuck around through the second chapter, most of it had disappeared by the middle of the book, at which point I was loving the plot, the characters, the conflict, and the rollicking read.

    However, the book could have benefited greatly from better description of it's backstory. There are many points of politics and intrigue that, though essential to the story, I'm still a bit iffy on -- and I finished the second book, too. While reading this book, I basically skimmed through the parts that I didn't understand about the political backstory, as they were only minorly central to understanding the character's personal conflicts, the major part of the story. It was odd to me that the main character understood the political explanations that left me rather confused (since I love books about political intrigue and am rarely confused), and was even able to explain it to her friends -- however, without a convenient re-explanation for the reader. Which means that while some parts were explained by the plot over time, some parts I just gave up on.

    These confusing bits lent a lack of credulity to the character due to her fully accepting her situation with only bits of explanations. However, as I mentioned, those flaws were mostly fixed as the story went on.

    The worst part of this book is the ending. It's a cliffhanger. (Even though I recognize that it's also a legitimate stopping point, it's a really bad cliffhanger.) However, the second book is lots of fun, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    And then what happens

    Great read. So when does the story continue?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Fun book

    Good, fun story. Suspenseful. Thanks to the author for a free nook book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Thought this book would be cheesy from the cover and title,but suprisingly good.

    I really loved this book and recomend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Very much enjoyed.

    Easy to read yet engrossing characters. Fun and enjoyable. Looking for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3