BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Easy Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #11)

Average Rating 3.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent hard-boiled Davenport tale

Successful Supermodel Alie¿e Maison never had a normal childhood since her avaricious parents parleyed her beautiful looks into making them a fortune. She is now one of the richest models in the country and now Alie¿e only works those fashion jobs she wants as she seeks...
Successful Supermodel Alie¿e Maison never had a normal childhood since her avaricious parents parleyed her beautiful looks into making them a fortune. She is now one of the richest models in the country and now Alie¿e only works those fashion jobs she wants as she seeks pleasure and excitement in her life. At a Minneapolis party hosted by Sally Hanson, Alie¿e enjoys the drugs and sex that flow so freely.

That ends when Alie¿e is found strangled to death in a guestroom and nearby another victim is killed by a blow to the head. Minneapolis Deputy of Police Lucas Davenport heads the investigation that has media and political attention due to Alie¿e being the victim. For a cop this case becomes a living nightmare due to the media¿s sensationalizing what happened at the party. However, the case turns uglier when Alie¿e¿s parents, her female lover, and her former boyfriend are killed. Lucas has numerous suspects, but the investigation twists again when one of his own crew is almost killed by the clever perpetrator.

The Davenport books are all hard hitting, hard-boiled, and hard edged police procedurals that turn up the adrenaline pump to extraordinary levels for the reader. EASY PREY starts off in the stratosphere and never comes down even at its climax. The charcaters are fully developed and the subplots that tie back to the fast-paced story line bring them to life even as it adds fuel to the speed of the novel. Lucas remains a complex but enigmatic protagonist and fans of the sub-genre will enjoy his exploits tremendously. John Sandford is worth the price of hard cover as he proves that reading is still a pleasant experience even with the coming of Play Station 2.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The worst book I have read in years

I am a huge fan of Sandford and the prey series but this book was a disaster from page 1 until the end. I could not believe the same guy had written the previous novels. I never look at reviews before I buy a book, if its someone I read normally I am pretty amped to...
I am a huge fan of Sandford and the prey series but this book was a disaster from page 1 until the end. I could not believe the same guy had written the previous novels. I never look at reviews before I buy a book, if its someone I read normally I am pretty amped to get started but boy, I sure wish I would have read here first. If you buy this book you will be wasting money -- save it for a gallon or two of gas. I have no idea what happened in this book but its the most boring thing I have read in many many years. He changed his whole writing style it seems for this book and boy did it show. Not only was I bored but Lucas himself is getting bored, the poor guy. I hope that the next book will be like the others - great. I give it a two because it had a pretty cover but once you open the cover a two stretching it. Avoid it unless you an insomniac who has run out of medication.

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    The worst book I have read in years

    I am a huge fan of Sandford and the prey series but this book was a disaster from page 1 until the end. I could not believe the same guy had written the previous novels. I never look at reviews before I buy a book, if its someone I read normally I am pretty amped to get started but boy, I sure wish I would have read here first. If you buy this book you will be wasting money -- save it for a gallon or two of gas. I have no idea what happened in this book but its the most boring thing I have read in many many years. He changed his whole writing style it seems for this book and boy did it show. Not only was I bored but Lucas himself is getting bored, the poor guy. I hope that the next book will be like the others - great. I give it a two because it had a pretty cover but once you open the cover a two stretching it. Avoid it unless you an insomniac who has run out of medication.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    BORING

    I just got the free sample of the book to test it out when i finished the sample i didn't even want to buy the book and i read books within 2days it took me aweek just to get through the sample the book was so BORING

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2003

    What a dissapointment!

    What a dissapointment! When I bought the book I could hardly wait to read it and then... God! I kept turning the pages hoping it would get better but no way. But I haven't lost faith in Sanford...It's just his worst outing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Another good read

    I was surprised by the negative reviews on this one...I have been making my way through the Prey series over the last four months and have now read 1-14. I found Easy Prey to be right in there with the less...certainly no worse, no better than the rest. For those who like this series, DO check this one out. Sandford knows how to make a character you care about and follow him through the case.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointment

    I love the Prey series (at least the first ten books), but this one was severely lacking. Sandford just seemed to slap too much onto the pages - too many characters, too many subplots, too many themes.....and too little action! This was a blip I'm sure - I'm on to #12 in the series after typing this review!! This is one you can skip.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    'Easy Prey' and hopefully an easy 'A'.

    Easy Prey was the first novel that I have read of John Sandford and I wouldn¿t have had it not been for the Minnesota author report due in my Critical Reading class at Lake Superior College in Duluth. I found that because it was the first `Prey¿ novel I had read and it was in the middle of a series, it was a little hard to follow who some of the characters were. I also thought it was kind of slow up until about the tenth chapter, but once Sandford picked up the pace, I couldn¿t put it down. I really liked that Sandford¿s character of Lucas Davenport is this straightforward kind of cop who will do anything to get his job done and cases solved. I love Sandford¿s description of the crime scenes and how it brings all the senses of the reader to life. There were lots of twists that made it difficult to figure out the killer until the end of the book. All things considered, I really enjoyed the book and I¿d definitely read another of Sandford¿s Prey Novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    Zach C. an avid 'Prey' novel reader

    This was the first prey book I read and it impressed me so as to that I wanted to read more of them. now that I have read sudden prey and have started eyes of prey I realize that it is not his best works. But I encourage you to not give up on sandford if this is the only book you've read. They only get better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    What a tedious read this was

    If it were not for the $7.99 I had invested in this book i would never have finished it. I could only read a few pages at a time and had to put it down due to boredom. It certainly was not a page turner nor something i looked foreward to diving into at night after work.It was tedious and far fetched. By the end i really did not care on little bit 'who done it'!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2001

    Not the usual Sandford

    Found this to be very hard to follow. Too many characters to keep up with. Am still plundering thru but am determined to finish it. Have read nearly all of his past novels, but this one is lacking the ? Can't quite put my finger on it, but it is not his usual good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2001

    I liked it

    This was the first PREY novel that I have read and I really liked it. I found it a little hard to follow who some of the characters were at times, but that only made me want to read his other works so I will be more familiar with them next time. The plot was great with a twist at the end. I am now half way through Certain Prey and I am enjoying this one too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent hard-boiled Davenport tale

    Successful Supermodel Alie¿e Maison never had a normal childhood since her avaricious parents parleyed her beautiful looks into making them a fortune. She is now one of the richest models in the country and now Alie¿e only works those fashion jobs she wants as she seeks pleasure and excitement in her life. At a Minneapolis party hosted by Sally Hanson, Alie¿e enjoys the drugs and sex that flow so freely. <P>That ends when Alie¿e is found strangled to death in a guestroom and nearby another victim is killed by a blow to the head. Minneapolis Deputy of Police Lucas Davenport heads the investigation that has media and political attention due to Alie¿e being the victim. For a cop this case becomes a living nightmare due to the media¿s sensationalizing what happened at the party. However, the case turns uglier when Alie¿e¿s parents, her female lover, and her former boyfriend are killed. Lucas has numerous suspects, but the investigation twists again when one of his own crew is almost killed by the clever perpetrator. <P>The Davenport books are all hard hitting, hard-boiled, and hard edged police procedurals that turn up the adrenaline pump to extraordinary levels for the reader. EASY PREY starts off in the stratosphere and never comes down even at its climax. The charcaters are fully developed and the subplots that tie back to the fast-paced story line bring them to life even as it adds fuel to the speed of the novel. Lucas remains a complex but enigmatic protagonist and fans of the sub-genre will enjoy his exploits tremendously. John Sandford is worth the price of hard cover as he proves that reading is still a pleasant experience even with the coming of Play Station 2. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS AND ALL SANFORD'S "PREY STORIES"

    Lucas Davenport, (head cop in all the Prey Books, is as good as
    Alex Cross is for James Paterson.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    Easy Prey left me high and dry

    In my opinion, Easy Prey left me waiting for a climax that did not occur. The final resolution was a cop-out and left me with the feeling that the book was purely superficial, meaning that there were no hidden depths- nothing to think about or explore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2001

    Not quite the same Sandford

    This latest novel 'Easy Prey' was enjoyable to read, but it seemed to be lacking something. Should one be drawn to the same formula and style therefore expect it story after story? After reading so many Prey novels its easy to notice that this one definitely had a different feel to it. I enjoyed the book, but missed Sandford's usual style of letting us, the readers, get into the mind of the killer. This change in style took a little of the psychotic edge off the book that I usually enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    Are you sure John Sanford wrote this novel?

    Hard to believe this is one of Sanford's Prey novels. Not near as good as any of the others. I was very disappointed. Hopefully, a new prey fan will not read this first, as he/she probably would not read another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2001

    My first Prey book, and not what I hoped for.

    Lucas Davenport is an interesting character and the story line was pretty good, but I can't help feeling that the something was missing. It was almost like I walked in during the middle of a movie and had missed something important. I attribute that to the fact that this was my first Sandford book, but a LITTLE background on the characters would have helped. Maybe this book would have seemed better if I had read some of his others first. Maybe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    Too much 'Easy', not enough 'Prey'

    Lucas Davenport used to be one of the more riveting central characters. He was always just on the ragged edge of violence. This internal struggle to maintain tenuous control of his violence and appetite for attractive women was the driving force behind the Davenport mystique. That's all gone in 'Easy Prey'. He's still attracted to beautiful women, but the edge-of-control leashed violence is gone. Lucas gets handed a powderkeg of a murder case, involving a promiscuous bisexual world-class model and drugs. The suspects are all wealthy, decadent art-scene types who have few- if any- redeeming qualities. Unlike most of the 'Prey' stories- where the killer is usually a true human monster- the monsters in 'Easy Prey' are the victims and the suspects (which are mostly the same people, as the story progresses). The novel winds on through a tangled web of drugs, deceit, lies, and more murders. The police are always steadily closing in on their killer, who always turns out to be the next victim. The ongoing sexual intrigue between Davenport and his host of female admirers brings a relieving bit of normal humanity into the narrative. The discovery of the killer's identity and what is intended to be the thrilling finale comes across as a hasty finish, as though Sandford lost track of where his story was going and abruptly realized he had to find an ending. I enjoyed all of the other 'Prey' novels, and look forward to the next one, but 'Easy Prey' seemed to focus a bit too much on the 'Easy' and not enough on the 'Prey'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2000

    Good Read

    Although this Prey was a little different than the rest I thought it was a good read. It did get a little commplicated at times but you gotta love Lucas Davenport!! Look forward to the next 'Prey'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2000

    What happened?

    I have enjoyed all of John Sandford's previous Lucas Davenport novels but as I read 'Easy Prey,' I repeatedly wondered, 'Did John Sandford really write this? What happened to the superb skills that kept a reader on edge through an entire mystery?' My main disappointment was that Sandford lost touch with the Davenport character that had remained consistent from novel to novel in previous 'Prey' books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2000

    Disappointing - Lucas is bored and so am I

    Usually I look forward to a new release by Sanford, but this time I was disappointed. Lucas seemed bored to be in this novel and I was bored reading it. Next time (and I hope there will be a next time), Sanford should really want to write the book, not just because his publisher wants it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5