Customer Reviews for

Easy Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #11)

Average Rating 3.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another good read

I was surprised by the negative reviews on this one...I have been making my way through the Prey series over the last four months and have now read 1-14. I found Easy Prey to be right in there with the less...certainly no worse, no better than the rest. For those who li...
I was surprised by the negative reviews on this one...I have been making my way through the Prey series over the last four months and have now read 1-14. I found Easy Prey to be right in there with the less...certainly no worse, no better than the rest. For those who like this series, DO check this one out. Sandford knows how to make a character you care about and follow him through the case.

posted by silencedogoodreturns on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The worst book I have read in years

I am a huge fan of Sandford and the prey series but this book was a disaster from page 1 until the end. I could not believe the same guy had written the previous novels. I never look at reviews before I buy a book, if its someone I read normally I am pretty amped to...
I am a huge fan of Sandford and the prey series but this book was a disaster from page 1 until the end. I could not believe the same guy had written the previous novels. I never look at reviews before I buy a book, if its someone I read normally I am pretty amped to get started but boy, I sure wish I would have read here first. If you buy this book you will be wasting money -- save it for a gallon or two of gas. I have no idea what happened in this book but its the most boring thing I have read in many many years. He changed his whole writing style it seems for this book and boy did it show. Not only was I bored but Lucas himself is getting bored, the poor guy. I hope that the next book will be like the others - great. I give it a two because it had a pretty cover but once you open the cover a two stretching it. Avoid it unless you an insomniac who has run out of medication.

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    The worst book I have read in years

    I am a huge fan of Sandford and the prey series but this book was a disaster from page 1 until the end. I could not believe the same guy had written the previous novels. I never look at reviews before I buy a book, if its someone I read normally I am pretty amped to get started but boy, I sure wish I would have read here first. If you buy this book you will be wasting money -- save it for a gallon or two of gas. I have no idea what happened in this book but its the most boring thing I have read in many many years. He changed his whole writing style it seems for this book and boy did it show. Not only was I bored but Lucas himself is getting bored, the poor guy. I hope that the next book will be like the others - great. I give it a two because it had a pretty cover but once you open the cover a two stretching it. Avoid it unless you an insomniac who has run out of medication.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointment

    I love the Prey series (at least the first ten books), but this one was severely lacking. Sandford just seemed to slap too much onto the pages - too many characters, too many subplots, too many themes.....and too little action! This was a blip I'm sure - I'm on to #12 in the series after typing this review!! This is one you can skip.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2001

    Not the usual Sandford

    Found this to be very hard to follow. Too many characters to keep up with. Am still plundering thru but am determined to finish it. Have read nearly all of his past novels, but this one is lacking the ? Can't quite put my finger on it, but it is not his usual good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    Too much 'Easy', not enough 'Prey'

    Lucas Davenport used to be one of the more riveting central characters. He was always just on the ragged edge of violence. This internal struggle to maintain tenuous control of his violence and appetite for attractive women was the driving force behind the Davenport mystique. That's all gone in 'Easy Prey'. He's still attracted to beautiful women, but the edge-of-control leashed violence is gone. Lucas gets handed a powderkeg of a murder case, involving a promiscuous bisexual world-class model and drugs. The suspects are all wealthy, decadent art-scene types who have few- if any- redeeming qualities. Unlike most of the 'Prey' stories- where the killer is usually a true human monster- the monsters in 'Easy Prey' are the victims and the suspects (which are mostly the same people, as the story progresses). The novel winds on through a tangled web of drugs, deceit, lies, and more murders. The police are always steadily closing in on their killer, who always turns out to be the next victim. The ongoing sexual intrigue between Davenport and his host of female admirers brings a relieving bit of normal humanity into the narrative. The discovery of the killer's identity and what is intended to be the thrilling finale comes across as a hasty finish, as though Sandford lost track of where his story was going and abruptly realized he had to find an ending. I enjoyed all of the other 'Prey' novels, and look forward to the next one, but 'Easy Prey' seemed to focus a bit too much on the 'Easy' and not enough on the 'Prey'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2000

    Disappointing - Lucas is bored and so am I

    Usually I look forward to a new release by Sanford, but this time I was disappointed. Lucas seemed bored to be in this novel and I was bored reading it. Next time (and I hope there will be a next time), Sanford should really want to write the book, not just because his publisher wants it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2000

    Where's The Plot?

    Was very disappointed. I could not seem to catch the flow-and when I did, I was still lost. Have waited eagerly for this book, and ..in my humble opinion...I've never been tossed around as much as I was in this plot. Almost like he took a thousand bits and pieces of other stories and pasted them in a notebook and called it a 'novel'. Also, Davenport used to have relationships, now we are to believe that he is just a 'sex-machine' with no morals????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2000

    Disappointing

    I waited in anticipaton for another Lucas Davenport saga; Easy Prey was an easy read but I felt shortchanged... almost as if another author penned it. I agree with others, I have read better efforts from author of whom I always recommend to others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1