Customer Reviews for

Easy Tarot: Learn to Read the Cards Once and for All!

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An excellent place to start or a great stop along your journey.

This is the second set of tarot I've owned but I have been away for several years and wanted to return to the tarot. I discovered many years ago that I have an affinity for the cards and this deck drew me to it. To quote a work of fiction, 'The wand choose...
This is the second set of tarot I've owned but I have been away for several years and wanted to return to the tarot. I discovered many years ago that I have an affinity for the cards and this deck drew me to it. To quote a work of fiction, 'The wand chooses the wizard' is something I find can also be true of tarot. A deck chooses its seeker and I have been most pleased with the imagery of this set. The artwork alone is rich with luscious color and depth. These cards draw the eye with their visual invitation toward a path of deeper understanding. The accompanying book I found to be most useful as well. The author takes great care to show respect to the reader and imparts much wisdom. She goes much further than simple explanations of the cards and she sets up a novice seeker with good habits. There is much care given to how the tarot can be used including ways in which a person can go wrong and abuse the tarot. The author has set up the book as if the reader has no previous knowledge of the tarot and so takes you from your first steps all the way to letting you walk on your own. She also includes some of the classic spreads and how they can be used and also encourages you to be creative and try using new spreads of your own design. I would highly recommend this set for someone who wishes to begin their path with the tarot as well as those who've shared much time with it.

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The card deck is awesome, I wasn't impressed with the book

I LOVE the card deck it is WONDERFUL,BEAUTIFUL, and ACCURATE in readings. I was Very Dissapointed with the tarot book - the interpretations of the cards seemed "off" and not very accurate. I own over 20 tarot decks and I'm realitively familiar with the major and minor a...
I LOVE the card deck it is WONDERFUL,BEAUTIFUL, and ACCURATE in readings. I was Very Dissapointed with the tarot book - the interpretations of the cards seemed "off" and not very accurate. I own over 20 tarot decks and I'm realitively familiar with the major and minor archana, and I would not use that book to interpret the cards. The cards are WONDERFUL, the book was a dissapointment - I'm throwing away the book and keeping the cards. I WOULD RECOMMEND another companion book to this deck - the Gilded Tarot companion book by Barbara Moore is one that works much better!.

posted by 1380460 on May 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    An excellent place to start or a great stop along your journey.

    This is the second set of tarot I've owned but I have been away for several years and wanted to return to the tarot. I discovered many years ago that I have an affinity for the cards and this deck drew me to it. To quote a work of fiction, 'The wand chooses the wizard' is something I find can also be true of tarot. A deck chooses its seeker and I have been most pleased with the imagery of this set. The artwork alone is rich with luscious color and depth. These cards draw the eye with their visual invitation toward a path of deeper understanding. The accompanying book I found to be most useful as well. The author takes great care to show respect to the reader and imparts much wisdom. She goes much further than simple explanations of the cards and she sets up a novice seeker with good habits. There is much care given to how the tarot can be used including ways in which a person can go wrong and abuse the tarot. The author has set up the book as if the reader has no previous knowledge of the tarot and so takes you from your first steps all the way to letting you walk on your own. She also includes some of the classic spreads and how they can be used and also encourages you to be creative and try using new spreads of your own design. I would highly recommend this set for someone who wishes to begin their path with the tarot as well as those who've shared much time with it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    I am a beginner myself and I found this book and card set to be very simple and to the point. I really love them. I would recommend them to anyone wanting to learn the tarrot. They make a great first tarrot deck.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    Great way to learn Tarot

    The book as amazing, the author helps to make the cards simple and meaningful so they become easy to remember. The reading spreads are also explained with a simple elegance that makes them easy to use. No unnecessary baggage to this book! I went from knowing nothing to successful readings in a few weeks!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent for Beginners as well as Experienced Readers

    This is one of the best written and well-organized books I have seen regarding learning and interpreting the Tarot. Ellershaw's suggested methods make the experience more meaningful and personal as one connects with the cards instead of just memorizing what someone tells you each card means. This method is useful with any deck and by any level of reader.

    The deck that accompanies this book, the Gilded Tarot, is a beautiful deck by Ciro Marchetti with colors that leap of the cards and characters that bring the meanings to life. This deck quickly became one of my top five decks as the images speak clearly and make readings enjoyable.

    The book can help you reconnect with a deck you already own or bring more meaning to your favorite deck, as well as guiding you thru the Gilded Tarot deck.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Highly recommended!

    This is the first Tarot deck I have purchased and I feel lucky this is the first one I picked. The pictures are beautiful and the cards feel good when handling. In addition, the accompanying book explains everything thoroughly without being overwhelming. Please give yourself a little time to read through it and go through the steps. I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Great introduction to card reading for yourself and others

    I have it an A.
    The book has carefully chosen content and is very well written full of personalized language that enters you into the writer's world of Tarot and how to approach the art of reading as well as developing your intuition - something I have not encountered in other books.
    There are 78 cards and it might seem like a hard task to keep a journal and experiment per the instructions, but it wasn't so difficult as I started.
    You will end up re-reading the material to retain and remind you, however on first read it's actually very interesting to read and I went back because I enjoyed it. There are maps of the spreads that you will be doing and cheat sheets on the back of the book to remind you of meanings.

    It's a great instructional book full of details, the cards which were package with my book are beautiful however little thin and not made of the greatest paper, for a beginner it's fine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Very fun gift for a young teen

    I purchased this for my 13 year old granddaughter who is an avid reader of mystery and fantasy/occult books. She found the Tarot set interesting and entertaining, however, some of the directions were a bit difficult to understand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The card deck is awesome, I wasn't impressed with the book

    I LOVE the card deck it is WONDERFUL,BEAUTIFUL, and ACCURATE in readings. I was Very Dissapointed with the tarot book - the interpretations of the cards seemed "off" and not very accurate. I own over 20 tarot decks and I'm realitively familiar with the major and minor archana, and I would not use that book to interpret the cards. The cards are WONDERFUL, the book was a dissapointment - I'm throwing away the book and keeping the cards. I WOULD RECOMMEND another companion book to this deck - the Gilded Tarot companion book by Barbara Moore is one that works much better!.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    GREAT Tarot Deck

    The book isn't too informative; but the images of this deck are amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Deck for everyone

    With its full color lively images, this deck is sure to be a hit with all of your clients and friends. Whether you use them professionally or just for fun, this deck speaks!

    I have been a professional psychic/medium for many years and have numerous amounts of Tarot decks, but this by far is my favorite. The illustrations alone make me want to jump right in them and see the meaning behind the card.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Great beginner set to get comfortable with the traditional card

    Great beginner set to get comfortable with the traditional card meanings and imagery, but you will soon want a deck that is more creative in its imagery and more intuitive to read. The meanings in the book are very one-size-fits-all, which is not a bad thing for the novice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    Art work was great

    The cards are beautiful, and the book was an interesting read. I am not sure if it was the greatest book to read if you want to learn Tarot but it was interesting. I found it hard to read completely, I kept having to stop as the person I felt talked in circles and was very boring. And even though its basically an instruction book, she made it a book, and it could have been better in my opinion, lots of unnecessary stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    The author's technique for having you learn the cards is very good but best of all is her detailed outline of the spreads she uses and recommends (including one that she created herself and that I personally LOVE LOVE LOVE; so much more intuitive than the typically recommended Celtic Cross spreads). I have not yet used the accompanying deck but it looks beautiful (I use the Universal Waite deck).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Very good

    I have always had difficulty understanding the workings of Tarot. This book with cards has made the process for me to be comfortable and educational. I also find the cards extremely pleasant to touch and look at. I highly recommend to anyone wanting to learn,understand and be comfortable with the process of Tarot readings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Wonderful set!

    The cards are beautiful and the meanings ascribed to the cards are always positive, feed thought and facilitate personal interpretation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2