Customer Reviews for

The Easy Way to Stop Drinking

Average Rating 3.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Grace!

This book literally fell into my hands as an answer to prayer! I had struggled with alcohol use & abuse for over 35 years, and was certain that AA was not a viable option, nor was 'treatment'. I took the book home from the library on Thursday, began reading it on Friday...
This book literally fell into my hands as an answer to prayer! I had struggled with alcohol use & abuse for over 35 years, and was certain that AA was not a viable option, nor was 'treatment'. I took the book home from the library on Thursday, began reading it on Friday, finished it on Saturday, took my last drink of alcohol @ 7pm that evening, and have had NO DESIRE for alcohol since! It has been over 1 1/2 years, and I am free!!! What a blessing!!!

posted by Anonymous on June 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

If only there was an easy way to stop drinking, perhaps it is just as well there isn't really one. It's not simply about putting down the drink, it is simply about changing your way of thinking, your attitude and ultimately your life. As a woman who has been in recove...
If only there was an easy way to stop drinking, perhaps it is just as well there isn't really one. It's not simply about putting down the drink, it is simply about changing your way of thinking, your attitude and ultimately your life. As a woman who has been in recovery for almost 4 years, I hate to think that this book or others like Rational Recovery could fool a person into thinking that there is an easy way. In the meantime you could kill yourself or someone else.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Amazing Grace!

    This book literally fell into my hands as an answer to prayer! I had struggled with alcohol use & abuse for over 35 years, and was certain that AA was not a viable option, nor was 'treatment'. I took the book home from the library on Thursday, began reading it on Friday, finished it on Saturday, took my last drink of alcohol @ 7pm that evening, and have had NO DESIRE for alcohol since! It has been over 1 1/2 years, and I am free!!! What a blessing!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Changed my entire perspective on drinking...

    Easy way is a must read for anyone who thinks they may be drinking too much or has a friend or family member who might be drinking too much. I used to think I needed alcohol to have fun until I realized how it was destroying so many aspects of my life, health, job and finances. If you've ever thought for a minute that you or someone around you might be drinking too much, you have to read this book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    Truly life changing book

    I had struggled with whether I was drinking too much, stopped a few times for a little while, but was never able to really stop. I didn't want to go to AA as that seemed too extreme for my alcohol use as well as with a seeming fanatical twist that my intellect could not accept.

    This book fundamentally shifted how I thought about giving up alcohol and what alcohol "does" for me (nothing good). I have not had a drop of alcohol and only missed it on rare occasion (when I pick up the book again) in nearly seven months. I am enjoying tremendously the clarity of mind, more even emotional health and general positive direction of my life as a non-drinker.

    I can not recommend this book highly enough for anyone who even thinks they may not be in control of their drinking. Let it open your eyes!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    Logical Book

    This book does a nice job of looking at the myths surrounding alcohol. After reading it, I am excited about my new, booze-free life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    After reading all he reviews I still decided to read the book.  

    After reading all he reviews I still decided to read the book.  And had to twice.
    I decided it was only going to help me get in the right mindset for out patient
    treatment. (My daughter wanted me to do in patient and we'd talked about it many times).
     I considered myself a functional alcoholic.  I work full time but the
     minute I got home I was heading for a drink.  Half a fifth a night and a half
    gallon with a 12 pack of beer on the weekend.  Standard routine.  I could go 48
     hours max without a drink but I was so on edge I was unpleasant to be
    around.  I'm only 4 months sober so not the one year that one reviewer  felt
    was sufficient time....but I've made it through the holidays...parties (two at new
     years) and even have been to a bar with a designated driver...without a drink.
     I have a fully stocked liquor cabinet I havent touched and I think I need to throw
     out the beer because apparently they have "best if consmed by" dates?!  
    Who knew?
    I don't even crave one.  The only thing I have struggled with is my perception
    of myself and transforming the party girl that I was, to who I am now.  I am still
    on my path of learning who I am without booze.  But I'm free.  I can think clearly
    .  And I am grateful to my friends who have tolerated me when I was drinking
     and have accepted my choice to quit.  A book did this!  A book!?!  For the first
    time in years a can see myself living without alcohol.  Easily.  My daughter
    agrees that going into treatment now would be a waste of time and money.  Even
    one AA meeting would focus more time and energy on alcohol then I've spent
    since quitting.  I'm moving on to lifes next adventure...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    If only there was an easy way to stop drinking, perhaps it is just as well there isn't really one. It's not simply about putting down the drink, it is simply about changing your way of thinking, your attitude and ultimately your life. As a woman who has been in recovery for almost 4 years, I hate to think that this book or others like Rational Recovery could fool a person into thinking that there is an easy way. In the meantime you could kill yourself or someone else.

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    Allen Carr, author of the international bestseller The Easy Way to Stop Smoking, applies the same principles ¿ see the poison for what it is and put it down ¿ to help people deal with alcohol dependency. Carr says alcohol, like nicotine, is an addictive, poisonous drug that offers no benefits, only illusions. He forcefully disputes the long-held Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) belief that alcoholism is a fatal, incurable disease. In fact, he maintains that this fundamental AA tenet, largely supported by society and the medical profession, helps perpetuate alcoholism ¿ which he calls a 'plague on this planet.' Instead, he says, you can cure your alcoholism, and he can tell you how. We recommend this book to those who want to know more about this strategy for putting a drinking problem behind you forever.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    I bought this book to help me and other family members understand what alchol can do to your body, and why it is a bad idea to have alchol as a habit. It is very informative and has good stastics about health and well being without the use of alcohol

    The way Allen Carr presents this book is very easy to understand. He made it clear of the effects of alcohol on your body and aging.Now I look at alcohol in a whole new prespective. When he talked about the medias role he was so on target. I started listening to the radio and watching tv shows much closer. When I could see how easy it is for kids to think that alcohol is cool because of the media I am now much more selective on what I let my kids watch. We had a long talk with our kids to explain advertising and how things my not be what they seem. He points out what long time alcohol abuse can do to you, and if you have health problems already you dont need more.
    Allen Carr also put a lot of humor in this book and I think thats why it is a easy read. He does not make it out to be over shawdowing , you actually look forward to continuing this book. And if you do drink alot he does not condeem you, he enlighten you. When your done with this book you will deintly keep it for reference and to look back on.
    I am not a heavy drinker but after reading this book I found I can defintly live without alcohol.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    I was drinking 10 -- 14 drinks of pure vodka every day for years

    I was drinking 10 -- 14 drinks of pure vodka every day for years and thought I would never be able to quit. That was three and a half years ago. This book was invaluable in helping me finally stop. Thank God i chose this path instead of endless AA meetings!

    I don't miss drinking and I have never felt deprived. Allen Carr helped me recognize the truth behind my drinking and see how to quit without willpower.

    It worked for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    This book costs as much as a martini. Read it.

    This book blew my mind. I am not a fall down-can't keep a job-angry drinker. At all. I love to go out with friends and every once in a while (okay maybe once a week) drink a little too much. The night usually results in a lot of laughter, over indulgence in pizza and ice cream and a lot of money spent. Never been in a fight, never been arrested, no DUI's but every time I wake up feeling anxious and depressed the next day, I think to myself "why do I keep doing this"? Lo and behold, the next "big night out" comes and I repeat the cycle. I can honestly say I HAVE NO DESIRE TO DRINK AGAIN. EVER. Willpower does not work. I have tried that. And it sucks. These are straight facts and they have changed my life. If you are even reading this review right now, chances are you should read this book. As I said in the header, it costs as much as a martini (in NYC at least). I. am. FREE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Be free YIPPEE!

    Prior to reading this book I read Allen Carr's The Easy Way To Stop Smoking. I quit smoking after finishing the book on 7.28.08. Now I read this book too and I quit drinking on 2.22.09. I have never been happier and more proud! I advocate Allen Carr's method because it works. I've recommended these books to my friends and family and five of em' have also read/quit! Like myself all five had many previous failed attempts at quitting and each of us spent more than ½ of our lives smoking or drinking. Now we're thrilled to be free and it was EASY! You can be free too, easily, and there are only infinite gains ahead of you with nothing to loose! Yippee!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Unrealistic

    This book was very unrealistic and extremely redundant. Basically every chapter is more and more repetition of the same simple idea. In the end, the last chapter, which is supposed to reveal the "secret", is even more simplistic. Sort of like "How to Be a Millionaire in 5 Days." I would NOT recommend it - a total waste of time. Also, the author plugs his workshops throughout......

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Inspiring and life-changing.

    I couldn't put this book down, and it has changed my life. I haven't drank since I read it after 40 years of drinking. I gave it as a gift to a friend's son who has recently been in court for a DWI. I hope he reads it, that is all it takes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Skip the first half

    When he finally gets to the meat it is fairly informative. The first half is prosylityzing, preachy, and filled with assumptions not based on statistical data to back them up. Not convinced that the once a month glass of wine makes one an alcoholic . That would make delighting in a box of chocolates on Valentine's day a chocoholic?





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    RUBBISH.  NOTE THAT THE POSITIVE REVIEWS ARE FROM NON-ALCOHOLICS

    RUBBISH.  NOTE THAT THE POSITIVE REVIEWS ARE FROM NON-ALCOHOLICS,  I dare anyone to stay sober for just 365 days who uses this method and does not attend AA meetings.  Addition recovery is a lifetime goal.  There is no medical basis for becoming un-addicted -- but you can learn to live and be happy without giving in to your addition by learning the truth at AA meetings.  I have been happy without any drugs at all since 1996 thanks to AA..

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    All-or-Nothing Guide to Stop Drinking

    I purchased this book as a source of information on how to reduce my drinking. However, this is an all-or-nothing approach to drinking. The only option, (as presented in this book), to drinking is to stop drinking completely. While it offers many insights into drinking as a bad habit, it does not offer ideas on how to reduce consumption without stopping altogether. As I do not consider myself an alcoholic, quitting all alcohol consumption completely was not my objective in purchasing this book.

    This book offers some insights into drinking, but ultimately guides the alcoholic to therapy (also offered by the author in one of his many clinics). It is a highly readable book, but is geared to the hard-core alcoholic who may need further assistance from professionals. It is a good read for people in need of complete cessation and is valuable for this reason, but not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    Utter waste of time

    B&N wouldn't let me publish what I really think of this book. If you really have a drinking problem you'll be ill-served by this rubbish. That is unless you primarily drink alcohol to "quench your thirst." He's big on that. Don't give any of your money to this pseudoscientific, shameful, and predatory organization.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Usefull psychology

    Once you get past the strained analogies and extreme repetativeness, this book really does get to the truth of the matter. It could have been a nice essay of moderate length, but I get you need a couple hundred pages to sell a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    the first no bull book written on the subject

    read it follow it understand it and then go back and do the same thing over and over till it totally sinks in, its up to you.Its helped me a lot but everyones different

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Really effective way to end your alcohol addiction.

    If you are ready to get your life back this is a great resource. Helps you to get past the brainwashing that traps people into alcohol addiction. Informative and interesting, the book implores you to continue to drink while you read and study, then stands with you as you take your last drink.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4