BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook: Great-Tasting Recipes that Keep You Lean!

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The plan is simple

I am so glad there's now a cookbook for anyone who wants to eat 'clean'. After I read Tosca Reno's first book I felt like clean-eating made so much sense, but I was a little panicked, thinking, 'Ok, but what CAN I eat??'. I've tried lots of recipes in this book, and the...
I am so glad there's now a cookbook for anyone who wants to eat 'clean'. After I read Tosca Reno's first book I felt like clean-eating made so much sense, but I was a little panicked, thinking, 'Ok, but what CAN I eat??'. I've tried lots of recipes in this book, and they have all been good and the plan is simple: Eat 5-6 small meals daily, every 2-3 hours. Combine lean protein and complex carbs in each meal. Drink a minimum of 2 liters/8cups of water daily. Don't skip meals, especially breakfast. Carry a cooler loaded with Clean-Eating foods for the day. Avoid all over-processed, refined foods (white sugar, white flour), all trans and saturated fats, alcohol, calorie-dense foods with no nutritional value, sodas, colas, and juices. Eat fresh fruits, vegetables, and healthy fats. Eat proper sized portions. I hope she writes another book with another batch of them! My wife and I have been eating clean for almost a month now, and we feel so much better, our clothes fit better, and we've each dropped a few pounds. Eating this way is very time-consuming, but so worth the effort! Hattely

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good recipes, could be better

This book has some very appealing recipes. I'm a cookbook collector, usually of the gourmet variety, but there are several recipes in this book that are calling my name already. The only major problem I have found with it is the lack of serving sizes.

All of them sa...
This book has some very appealing recipes. I'm a cookbook collector, usually of the gourmet variety, but there are several recipes in this book that are calling my name already. The only major problem I have found with it is the lack of serving sizes.

All of them say how much the recipe yields, but very few of them say "6 -1/2 cup servings." They just say serves 6. Am I really supposed to weigh the finished product, divide it by 6 so I know that the portion size is 1/2 cup and I know how many calories I'm eating?

This is a diet book. The Eat Clean Diet talks about portion control. Even those who aren't counting their calories, knowing how much to eat is necessary. How can you not include the portions to everything? Huge oversight and a huge, annoying flaw with this book.

posted by Azizeh on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    The plan is simple

    I am so glad there's now a cookbook for anyone who wants to eat 'clean'. After I read Tosca Reno's first book I felt like clean-eating made so much sense, but I was a little panicked, thinking, 'Ok, but what CAN I eat??'. I've tried lots of recipes in this book, and they have all been good and the plan is simple: Eat 5-6 small meals daily, every 2-3 hours. Combine lean protein and complex carbs in each meal. Drink a minimum of 2 liters/8cups of water daily. Don't skip meals, especially breakfast. Carry a cooler loaded with Clean-Eating foods for the day. Avoid all over-processed, refined foods (white sugar, white flour), all trans and saturated fats, alcohol, calorie-dense foods with no nutritional value, sodas, colas, and juices. Eat fresh fruits, vegetables, and healthy fats. Eat proper sized portions. I hope she writes another book with another batch of them! My wife and I have been eating clean for almost a month now, and we feel so much better, our clothes fit better, and we've each dropped a few pounds. Eating this way is very time-consuming, but so worth the effort! Hattely

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I must say that I was actually disappointed by Tosca's previous book 'The Eat clean diet' as there was practically not much new that I hadn't already read somewhere else... Therefore my approach to this book was on a cautious side. I went to the bookstore to have a good look at it before I decided to buy it. Well, I bought it, so this fact actually speaks for itself. I found several dishes that I wanted to try on my own and so far I am pleased with the results. I am rather demanding when it comes to eating and this also translates into my cooking. So far I made one chicken dinner and two fish dinners, and they were just great! And the many photographs are also inspiring. A good book that I also recommend from the point of proper food combination and other great nutritional tips is Can We Live 150.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    Love this cookbook!

    I had hit a platau with my weightloss and thought I would never get past it. 2 weeks after using the Eat Clean cookbook I lost 3 pounds and the food is great. I also love the pictures because the food looks so yummy that I'm trying new things and expanding my palete.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Great Book!

    I purchased "Eat-Clean Diet : Fast Fat Loss That Lasts Forever!" prior to this book, which was more informational. This book has more recipes. I use it almost daily!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Eat Clean Diet

    Very informational. Perfect for those trying to change their eating habits. This book makes it very easy to do than said!!! Give it a chance, their recipes are very delicious!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    Awesome resource for healthy recipes

    My husband and I have been eating "clean" for over 4 years now, and this cookbook is by far the best that I have found for variety of recipes, overall simple recipes (a few are a little too complicated to try), and a great resource for trying new things. I have cooked several of the side dishes and main dishes and they were all great tasting. I would highly recommend this book for anyone who is trying to change their eating habits, struggle with pre-diabetes or is trying to eat well and lose some weight. I am planning to give this book as a gift for several people for Christmas!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    LOVE IT, GOOD TASTY FOOD

    I WANTED TO LEARN TO MAKE GOOD TASTY DISHES, BUT HEALTHY AS WELL. WHEN I FIRST BOUGH THE BOOK I KNEW I WAS GOING TO ENJOY COOKING, AND I DID. I LOVE THE FOOD AND EASY STEPS, THANK YOU MUCH FOR THIS BOOK. I EVEN BOUGHT 4 MORE COPIES TO GIVE TO MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS.. THEY ARE ENJOYING THE FOOD AND ARE RECOMENDING THE BOOK TO FRIENDS, CO-WORKER AND MORE. THANK YOU AGAIN.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    The Eat Clean Diet

    This book is great. The receipes are a little blan for my husbad but he just adds additional spices. I love this book. I am trying to eat healthy and this helping meet that goal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    Best ever!!

    I have all of Tosca's books and this is my very favorite! Full of yummy recipes and practical tips for healthy clean eating... this is my clean eating bible! After looking through it all three of my coworkers ordered their own. If you only buy one of her books, get this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No more excuses

    With all the recipes and tips that Tosca offers, there is no excuse not to eat clean! This book is not just a diet, it is a way of life to keep you and you loved ones healthy! The pictures inspire you to try the recipes and the food is so fresh and tasty! I love it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Refreshing and delightful recipes

    Absolutely wonderful easy to make recipes. A true treat and must have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Excellent

    The Eat Clean Diet cookbook is excellent. This is not really a "diet", but, is instead, a way of living, that makes one feel in control of their life. The book has great simple to use recipes with every day ingredients. Not only does the book have great recipes, but, it also has information on the eat clean diet, and a thorough question and answer section. As Tosca Reno says, "By eating foods that are fresh and from their natural source, you can feel better, look better, and surely have more energy." I agree with this statement whole heartedly. After using the eat clean principle, personally, I do feel that my skin has become fresher, and more dewy. This is an excellent book, and I would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    The Eat Clean Diet is wonderful to use

    This book is great to use. The recipes call for everyday ingredients that are healthy & easy to find at a regular produce section at my supermarket. Presented in very positive & appealing style. I love using it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    The Eat Clean Diet Recharged and The Eat Clean Diet Cookbook

    I think the books are awesome! I purchased the first Eat Clean Diet Book and followed the Family Diet plan and dropped 23 pounds in a month. My newly purchased Recharged book and Cookbook have allowed me a multitude of options, so food is never boring. I feel wonderful, I look better, and have been able to workout without all of my previous knee and heal pain. This is not a diet book, this is a lifestyle book. It is not pushy, it just lays everything out and it is up to you to put your best foot forward. I'm not knocking all of the other "diet" plans out there, but with eating clean you do not have to count calories or be afraid of healthy fats and best of all you eat up to six times a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2