Customer Reviews for

Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia

Average Rating 3.5
( 3359 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1348)

4 Star

(792)

3 Star

(540)

2 Star

(359)

1 Star

(320)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Contrived. But Still a Good Journey

I really relate to this character, because I also went through a terrible divorce at a young age, and I really felt her pain. This is the deal---she completely planned this book before she even left on the trip, which is why she got a huge advance....and in that way, I ...
I really relate to this character, because I also went through a terrible divorce at a young age, and I really felt her pain. This is the deal---she completely planned this book before she even left on the trip, which is why she got a huge advance....and in that way, I feel duped as a reader. I want to believe it is a true journey. I bet she forgot everything she learned at the Ashram as soon as she left. I did not believe that truly transformed her. However, I did love (!) the detail about Rome, since I also lived there in college, and I think she nailed it. I could have guessed she would end up with a man in the end. It is a good book for our generation, but I would caution people not to drink the Kool-Aid.

posted by TaylorVaughn on July 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

74 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

Waste of time

This was the most irritating book I have come across in quite some time. I honestly fail to understand what all the fuss is about. The character is rich, self-absorbed, and narcissistic. Yeah she was suffering, my heart bleeds for someone who has the money to traipse ...
This was the most irritating book I have come across in quite some time. I honestly fail to understand what all the fuss is about. The character is rich, self-absorbed, and narcissistic. Yeah she was suffering, my heart bleeds for someone who has the money to traipse all over the world to find herself finally lighting in paradise where she meets a rich handsome man. Give me a break, and take a reality check. It says much for our culture that the movie should be such a success, and that the book is a best seller. Honestly, the writing is not that great and the character .well what can I say? More New Age dribble and easy answers except that in this case she has the financial wherewithal to travel the world to find herself. Give us all a break.

posted by 1142135 on August 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3390 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 170
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    A Complete Disaster!!!

    What a frustrating read! It is absolutely amazing to me that this woman is making tons of money on this novel on her narcissism. I don't believe half of what she writes - I believe she wrote it all to have a paid vacation. Appauling!!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    I see there are extremes in reviews...

    and it's expected. However, I do believe that some people are being a little judgemental. I am an avid reader, and I thought that the book was fabulous. Liz Gilbert is, no doubt, a magnificent writer and has been through much. But what I think is having people not liking it is that it's an ordinary person's heartfelt story. Had it been someone famous or someone that you rip tabloids apart to read about, then maybe it would have been more interesting and appealing to you. Society is completely desensitized to 'regular 'ol stories' like this one. Also, there indeed was a tremendous hype about this book. But be easy--not every book is going to relate to every person. I have gone through nothing that Liz Gilbert has been through nor have I traveled overseas. But I bought the book with an open mind and found it to be very enlightening and refreshing. It's completely human and a sweet read. I could understand that it seems SO ordinary that you think 'what's the big deal' or 'what's the hype all about', but maybe that's because not everyone has such a tremendous opportunity paired with such an eloquent writing ability. Don't be so harsh -- applaud her journey and understand that although it seems like an every day story, she conveyed it beautifully and just wanted to inspire and enlighten. If someone paid you in advance to write up a three-part story of whatever you're going to endure for the next year, would you not take the offer? I HIGHLY doubt it. `=) Still---excellent read. I do recommend it: for the open-minded and non-judgemental.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Very disappointed - way over-hyped

    Oprah had hyped this up so much I decided to read it. That was a mistake. I finished it, but kept waiting for it to get good. It never did. I have a real problem with praising a woman who walked out on her marriage for her own selfish purposes. We have a high enough divorce rate without someone glorifying her divorce and 'journey' like this book does. I love to read, but this was the most boring book I've read in a very long time.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    Eh.

    That's kinda what this book is. A big eh. I heard SO much hype about it I thought I'd read it, and it was actually kinda a let-down. I don't get why so many of the reviews on here say that the "eat" chapter was the best/most interesting, when I actually almost stopped reading it I was so bored. I don't need to read 36 "tales" about some lady I don't know gorging herself in Italy. Furthermore, It annoyed me that in the Italy chapter at one point she attempted to explain why men didn't hit on her in Italy like they had in the past by saying that the men had changed and it wasn't because she got older, it's like she's trying to defend her attractiveness/youthfulness to the reader or something, it just makes me cringe in disgust. It's the most self absorbed part of the entire book I think, and it kinda made me judge her from that point on.


    On a happier note though, the India story is much more interesting to me personally, and made me want to explore Yogi life in more depth.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    unsympathetic Trash

    I am an English teacher. I love books, reading, and empowering women. I hated this trash that calls itself a book. The writing is so choppy and undeveloped that you feel as if you are on a boat during a storm. The main character is so unsympathetic I wanted to reach into the pages and shake her. Her life fell apart through her own doing, through her inability to make choices and decisions. This book does not empower people, it condones whiny people who only follow instead of leaders, strong women, and brilliant future makers. Her journey would be a lot more sympathetic had situations been different, but I highly doubt it would be the same book. This is an unmotivating memoir of a time in this characters life where she is lost and in search of herself. The aspect of travelling to find oneself is a common archetype in literature, and she used it well, however the situational storyline left much to be desired.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    Self-indulgent narcissism and Twinkie-like logic

    You can get narcissism and benightedness anywhere and for free. Why pay Elizabeth Gilbert money for it?

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    One word - BORING

    I have read some really wonderful books lately which I couldn't put down and finished in just a few days......but this book is torture! I hate to start a book and not finish it but this is just tooo boring. Nothing happens but her ego...on and on and on. I do not recommend this book to anyone. What a waste of time.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    What Did I Miss?

    After getting swept up in the hype from the Oprah show, I was very excited to get started on this book. After struggling to finish, I closed it thinking...'What did I miss? What was all the excitement about?' Not only was this book painfully boring, I found myself constantly annoyed with how self-absorbed this woman was. Unfortunately, all I could picture was a whining heiress complaning about life not being fair, all while kicking the dollars she uses as tissue paper out of her way. I fully support the art of making oneself happy with food, prayer and love, however that art was not conveyed well in her depiction. From the short description, a book about her sister would have been a better route.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    I do wish I had checked it out at the library instead of buying it

    Since several friends and published reviews gushed about this book I had looked forward to it, but was disappointed throughout, and and after I finished it. In fact, I had to plow thru all of it long after I found myself 'underwhelmed''somewhere in the Italy chapters' since it was my Book Club's choice for current discussion. For someone who spends as much time as she does on introspection, I did not find many lasting 'pearls' of wisdom that I could relate to. I was left feeling that it was also 'all about her' - barely any references of what she might mean or contribute to the people she meets, only what they mean - or can do for - her. It also gripes me that the author seems to call on God as she would a personal assistant or on-call healer: once again, it is mostly about what He can do for her, not about a real relationship, which requires commitment. She does write well. But I wish I has spent my $$ on a different book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    self absorbed

    I read this for my book club too, and I am glad to see that other people fee the same way I do. I just really could not deal with this woman. She was just such a complainer that I wanted to scream 'suck it up'. She obivously has never had any real problems in her life or she would not feel so sorry for herself. You would think seeing really poor people in India would make her realize that her life isn't so bad.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Maybe I'm just a Cynic

    I'm sorry- I just don't like whimpy, whiney females who are so absorbed in themselves they don't notice the world around them. Here is a woman who goes through 'enlightenment' in India, only to come out and nearly get scammed in Bali. Further, I felt that she made a very whimpy relationship choice in the end- I don't know if she really likes him. I would have hoped she would emerge from India with a stronger sense of self that would guide her to select her relationships (not be selected) and be aware of people and things around her. There are many witty parts to the book and enjoyable lines. However, don't pick up this book thinking that you are going to gain a better sense of your self.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    Do Not Recommend

    The book is split into three.. Italy, India, and Indonesia. From day one, it has been really hard to get into the book. I like books that I cannot put down and this is definitely not one of them. The Italy section was interesting and I was hoping the book would gradually get better. I am a few chapters into the India part and I cannot read anymore. I have heard good and bad reviews about this book, and I am going to have to say mine is one of the bad.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    Is it just me??

    Never have I been so disappointed in a book--after all the months as a best seller, and now a movie, it is all I can do to stay awake reading it. I'm bound and determined to finish it, but it is definitley not my cup of tea.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Feelings of worth, resilience and passion...

    Here is someone who is not wasting her time sitting on her "pity potty". She chose to change and experience her life. This is a poignant, gratifying and thought-provoking one woman journey, seeking out "her self". We all look for an escape route every now and then, fantasize about changing our lives, dream about it, think about it, and even plan it out, but..ultimately, there we sit! This is a valuable, insightful, exciting read. What really matters in YOUR life? Connection, love, compassion, reality, passion, goals, well-being.

    Another gem of a book I recently read that affected me in a similar way, (and I plan to read soon again), is EXPLOSION IN PARIS, very similar premise that makes you explode with feelings of worth, resilience and passion! Only this story is about survival, not just emotionally, but her life, no shallowness here, much to be admired!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read for Everyone

    If I could give this book ten stars I would. I first read it years back when it was first published and was in the middle of a nasty divorce. I've reread the book several times as well as purchased copies for friends I wanted to share this with.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    I Loved this book!

    I am in awe of Elizabeth Gilbert's story of her personal journey into awareness. Her courageous openness as to her feelings, thoughts, and motivations throughout, made this memoir so wonderfully easy to relate to. This is a standard that will hold up through the test of time. This will be on shelves in bookstores 50 years from now!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    It made want to try yoga.. and that is about it.

    I know a lot of people enjoyed this book however it did nothing for me. I struggled to get through the part when she was in India. It just didn't strike me as it has others. I just couldn't relate.<BR/>But now I want to sign up for a yoga class.. it was Yoga Propoganda!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Awful!

    I could not finish, so shallow, superficial.I think this book is aimed at 30 somethings who long to run away and find themselves. I just might be out of the age demigraphics for this. I am happy with who I have found.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    All the hype -- but nothing to back it up. I was excited about reading this book after seeing the author on the Oprah show (which I normally DON'T watch) but what a waste of money and time this book is. I can't get through it. So boring. How nice Elizabeth could afford to drop out of life for a while and travel and find herself. She never mentioned how much all of this cost! It is a book I don't look forward to picking up every night to read more of. I do not recommend it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    Do not waste your time............

    After reading all these rave reviews I figured I had to read this book, and boy was it a waste. Some of it was bearable, but I agree that most of it was just irritating. She got divorced, get over it. Imagine if you had REAL issues. This book is completely over-rated.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3390 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 170