Customer Reviews for

Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia

Average Rating 3.5
( 3357 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1348)

4 Star

(790)

3 Star

(540)

2 Star

(359)

1 Star

(320)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Contrived. But Still a Good Journey

I really relate to this character, because I also went through a terrible divorce at a young age, and I really felt her pain. This is the deal---she completely planned this book before she even left on the trip, which is why she got a huge advance....and in that way, I ...
I really relate to this character, because I also went through a terrible divorce at a young age, and I really felt her pain. This is the deal---she completely planned this book before she even left on the trip, which is why she got a huge advance....and in that way, I feel duped as a reader. I want to believe it is a true journey. I bet she forgot everything she learned at the Ashram as soon as she left. I did not believe that truly transformed her. However, I did love (!) the detail about Rome, since I also lived there in college, and I think she nailed it. I could have guessed she would end up with a man in the end. It is a good book for our generation, but I would caution people not to drink the Kool-Aid.

posted by TaylorVaughn on July 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

74 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

Waste of time

This was the most irritating book I have come across in quite some time. I honestly fail to understand what all the fuss is about. The character is rich, self-absorbed, and narcissistic. Yeah she was suffering, my heart bleeds for someone who has the money to traipse ...
This was the most irritating book I have come across in quite some time. I honestly fail to understand what all the fuss is about. The character is rich, self-absorbed, and narcissistic. Yeah she was suffering, my heart bleeds for someone who has the money to traipse all over the world to find herself finally lighting in paradise where she meets a rich handsome man. Give me a break, and take a reality check. It says much for our culture that the movie should be such a success, and that the book is a best seller. Honestly, the writing is not that great and the character .well what can I say? More New Age dribble and easy answers except that in this case she has the financial wherewithal to travel the world to find herself. Give us all a break.

posted by 1142135 on August 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 540 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Maybe I'm just a Cynic

    I'm sorry- I just don't like whimpy, whiney females who are so absorbed in themselves they don't notice the world around them. Here is a woman who goes through 'enlightenment' in India, only to come out and nearly get scammed in Bali. Further, I felt that she made a very whimpy relationship choice in the end- I don't know if she really likes him. I would have hoped she would emerge from India with a stronger sense of self that would guide her to select her relationships (not be selected) and be aware of people and things around her. There are many witty parts to the book and enjoyable lines. However, don't pick up this book thinking that you are going to gain a better sense of your self.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    It made want to try yoga.. and that is about it.

    I know a lot of people enjoyed this book however it did nothing for me. I struggled to get through the part when she was in India. It just didn't strike me as it has others. I just couldn't relate.<BR/>But now I want to sign up for a yoga class.. it was Yoga Propoganda!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't live up to all the hype

    (3.5 stars)I thought this was going to be a book about eating, spirituality and love. As it turns out, it's all of that and also about making mistakes, forgiving yourself and starting over. Gilbert's writing style is open and honest as she shares her journey of finding balance and contentment in her life. She does this through completely immersing herself in three different cultures. Italy is all about the food and the intimacy of sharing meals with friends, not denying yourself simple pleasures and giving yourself permission to do nothing. India is the spiritual part of her journey. Here she conquers the art of meditation and learns the meaning of some inspirational Sanskrit phrases. This part is especially interesting for those who practice yoga or meditation. And then there's my favorite section of the book, Indonesia. Its breathtaking beauty is the perfect backdrop for finding balance and love. Gilbert writes with a delightful mix of humor and wit in a style that is easy to read and flows nicely. However, there are several sections that are slow and slightly tedious, with too much descriptive detail and no movement in plot. In short, anyone struggling with divorce or feeling disconnected to their life will easily relate to and take comfort in reading this book. Travel journal enthusiasts will also find it delightful and a great escape or those on their own spiritual journey.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Eat, Pray, Read Another Book

    Eat, Pray, Love was just okay. I get that people might have to go on a spritual journey to find themselves after a painful divorce. However, as a divorced woman, I found the book a bit self indugent and I am not a spritual person. Therefore, I found the sections about Gilbert's guru wierd. I wouldn't recommend this book to women going through a divorce. I found journaling about my divirce more calming than reading this book. Eat, Pray, and don't waste time reading this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    Eat Pray Love

    Eat, pray, love by Elizabeth Gilbert. This book is about Elizabeth traveling trying to find herself. The first stop is Italy where she is looking for pleasure; the second stop is India where she looks for the Pursuit of devotion through meditating. The third stop is Indonesia where she looks for balance between the two. One major message in the book is finding oneself. Elizabeth took a big step in quitting her job to travel around the world for a year by herself. Another big message in the book was overcoming ones struggles. Elizabeth had two things that she was struggling with; depression, and loneliness, "Depression on my left, Loneliness on my right. They don't need to show their badges. I know these guys very well. We have been playing a cat-and-mouse game for years now." Many people today struggle with loneliness and depression thererfore to see elizabeth fight trough it, gives people courage to keep trying. The things that i liked about this book were, when she got down and depressed she never gave up she fought through it. Also the "fairytale" ending when she finds herself someone to love was great. The short chapters made it easy to just read a chapter here and there. I didn't like when she was in India learning how to meditate, and the same thing happened over and over again. Also Elizabeth really gets into detail sometimes and it just gets boring. if you were looking for a book that will make you laugh but also pushes you to evaluate your life than this is the book for you to read. If your someone that doesn't like others opinions, or like reading things with lots of detail than this book is not for you. Overall I would recommend many people to read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    I really wanted to finish this book before the movie came out. L

    I really wanted to finish this book before the movie came out. Life got in the way and it took me a loong time to finish. It started out great as I most enjoyed the Eat part of the book but my interest started to wane by the time the end came around. In fact, I was so bored by the end, I didn't even care to watch the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    This was a nice break from reading the classics, but I¿m pretty

    This was a nice break from reading the classics, but I’m pretty certain Elizabeth Gilbert could have saved herself a bundle of cash and accomplished everything in Little Italy and Texas. You can gain weight and eat amazing food in New York. And why go to India to get a Texan to teach you yoga? 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    When I first heard about this book, I thought it was perhaps the

    When I first heard about this book, I thought it was perhaps the greatest thing known to mankind. But after reading it, all I can say is that it's a good read and I recommend it to those in search of self. WARNING: DO NOT LEAVE YOUR SPOUSE ON THE COUNT OF THIS BOOK. LOL

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting, Annoying, Typical

    This book starts off with the main character explaining her frustrations in her marriage, which leads her to start the journey of a lifetime. She decides to take a year long journey traveling to Italy, India, and Bali and leaving her marriage and her post marriage relationship behind.

    I was very interested in her travels and her quest of enlightment along this journey and the author had a way of keeping me engaged in her story. She described the people she met and the situations with a way of creating an image in your mind. You really felt as though you were traveling with her and eating the pasta and meditating in the compound.

    At times, as I read the story I definitely was read to pull my hair out. The author has such a personal struggle learning to cope with herself, that instead of being interested in the story I wanted to skip parts of it that I felt were more like self therapy instead of things that could add to the story.

    By the end of the book, you realize that the author has taken you on a journey that ultimately ends right back where she started- happy in the arms of a man. So, although she traveled this route trying to find herself, it seems as though this book followed a typical route and it left me feeling depressed that she feels she went on this amazing journey around the world and yet the most amazing part was just finding a new replacement for the men she had left.

    Overall, it is worth reading, but be prepared for what happens. Enjoy the light humor and interesting aspects of the author's travel tales and ignore the typical ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Feeling the "Love"

    Elizabeth Gilbert starts out strong in "Eat, Pray, Love." In the "Eat" portion of her book, she was funny, entertaining and I could practically taste her pizza. Things started to slow down in "Pray." She offered interesting insights, but dragged me through about 50 unnecessary pages. When she finally managed to get around to the "Love" section, sheer stamina made me finish the book. All in all, I think she's a good writer who ran out of things to say.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    Don't we all wish to be so enlightened in our 30's

    I wanted so badly to be enlightened somehow by this 'number 1 best-selling book' but all it made me feel was 'this is what is wrong with the world, especially America.' This book is all about a self-indulgent woman 'okay she had a few breakdowns in her bathroom, cry me a river'. America to me has always been about family, caring about others and not all absorbed in oneself. When did this change? I am not old. I'm close enough in age to identify with the author and yet somehow I understand that it is our duty as humans, servants of God, to care for others more than we care for ourselves. Of course most people don't care for themselves as much as Liz does for herself but then, has she ever raised children, cared for the elderly, served up the homeless? It's not so easy Liz. I love God too, I just don't have the luxury to travel across the world to find a cave where I can meditate.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    reviewer, middle-aged woman

    I got excited by the hype on Oprah & bought this book, even after reading the reviews. Wish I had not wasted my time & money. It had it's moments, but overall I personally, didn't get much from it. I get what she's saying--that we all need to slow down & find ourselves, but most people don't have the time or money to do what she did. I also get really sick of hearing the 'funny' quotes about the downfall of the world because of the Republicans. Give me a break! Might do better to just read some basic self-help books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Good, but what's the big deal?

    I liked it just okay but did not see what the big hoopla was all about- and I read it before Oprah had it on her show. After that I thought I missed something but no I don't see what I missed. I feel guilty for thinking that she was being selfish but it was her life and not mine so I shouldn't judge on the fact that I have what I've always wanted: a husband, a home, children and the motherly duties that come with it all. All in all it was okay/good reading but it wasn't one of those books that I couldn't put down. I'm glad she experienced everything that she did in Italy, India & Bali. It definitely makes you think but I still didn't see 'the big deal.' Sorry!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    testg

    testg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    disappointed

    I enjoyed the movie and could not even finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    It was okay

    A cute read about an adventure that covered many countries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    A little self-absorbed writing

    Well written, though at times boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Good book

    Ok....just needs more dialogue



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Damilola

    I agree this bookk is very diif from the moive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting read....Enjoy the book

    Interesting read....Enjoy the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 540 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27