Customer Reviews for

Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia

Average Rating 3.5
( 3352 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1346)

4 Star

(790)

3 Star

(539)

2 Star

(358)

1 Star

(319)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Contrived. But Still a Good Journey

I really relate to this character, because I also went through a terrible divorce at a young age, and I really felt her pain. This is the deal---she completely planned this book before she even left on the trip, which is why she got a huge advance....and in that way, I ...
I really relate to this character, because I also went through a terrible divorce at a young age, and I really felt her pain. This is the deal---she completely planned this book before she even left on the trip, which is why she got a huge advance....and in that way, I feel duped as a reader. I want to believe it is a true journey. I bet she forgot everything she learned at the Ashram as soon as she left. I did not believe that truly transformed her. However, I did love (!) the detail about Rome, since I also lived there in college, and I think she nailed it. I could have guessed she would end up with a man in the end. It is a good book for our generation, but I would caution people not to drink the Kool-Aid.

posted by TaylorVaughn on July 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

71 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

Waste of time

This was the most irritating book I have come across in quite some time. I honestly fail to understand what all the fuss is about. The character is rich, self-absorbed, and narcissistic. Yeah she was suffering, my heart bleeds for someone who has the money to traipse ...
This was the most irritating book I have come across in quite some time. I honestly fail to understand what all the fuss is about. The character is rich, self-absorbed, and narcissistic. Yeah she was suffering, my heart bleeds for someone who has the money to traipse all over the world to find herself finally lighting in paradise where she meets a rich handsome man. Give me a break, and take a reality check. It says much for our culture that the movie should be such a success, and that the book is a best seller. Honestly, the writing is not that great and the character .well what can I say? More New Age dribble and easy answers except that in this case she has the financial wherewithal to travel the world to find herself. Give us all a break.

posted by 1142135 on August 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1346 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 68
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    Absorbing and Inspiring

    I never wanted Liz's story to end! It made me want to experience each step of her journey and find myself. She writes with such honesty that the reader finds herself laughing out loud and at other times crying. A must-read for all women and a beautiful gift for all best friends.

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Simply Inspiring

    When I began reading this book I was living abroad in Amman, Jordan. So I could very much identify with the traveling aspects of the book as well as the spiritual journey. I was not planning to go on a spiritual journay while in Jordan but while living there with inescapable sounds of call to prayer from the five mosques within a one mile radius four times a day it seems almost inevitable that you would think about your spirituality. I had just begun meditating again and wasn't quite sure what I was going to do with my life after I returned to the US. I was a nanny for my brother's new baby boy and I had a lot of time on my hands to contemplate my life. When I found this book it was almost as if the planets had aligned at the perfect moment to send me the perfect gift for exactly what I was going through. Elizabeth Gilbert's journey not only helped to get my own journey in motion but helped along the way. It reawakened in me the need to tap into my own spirituality, something I too had been lacking for quite a few years. I think Gilbert's personal, ethnographic style of writing is very compelling and hard to put down once you start reading. Even if you are not exactly going through the same types of things, her ability to talk openly and humorously about her life helps to open those rooms inside all of our souls/minds that may have been closed or forgotten about. And if nothing else her writing is inspirational to get out there and make positive changes in your life or simply to get out and live. As I have entered a somewhat stagnant stage of life, I've decided to go back and reread this book for another healthy dose of inspiration and hopeful dose of personal enlightenment.

    Here is to you finding inspiration in her words....

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thoughtful and Inspiring

    As I started reading this book I was sure that Eat would be my favorite part of the book; then as I continued reading, Pray was equally satisfying. By the time I read Love and finished the book, I realized that the author wove a wonderful story with each section building on the others, just as in life. I found the book inspirational and took from it the fact that we each know what is best for us and we must all be our own guides through life.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    A delicious, life changing book!

    This book, from the first couple of pages, is so compelling . . pulls you right in! Liz Gilbert has a rare gift, in my opinion, to reach the reader in a very personal way. It's one of those books that seems to have "something for everyone" - men and women alike.<BR/><BR/>I'm grateful for the brief chapters, because this is a books that I didn't want to be done with- I carry it with me everywhere and savor each chapter as a gift. It's funny because every time someone sees me reading it, it's always "Oh, don't you LOVE that book? It really spoke to me . . "<BR/><BR/>Thank you, Elizabeth Gilbert- this book has made reading fun again, and offered me a spiritual guide without ever preaching to me. The humor and travel insights make it a well rounded read.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    I see there are extremes in reviews...

    and it's expected. However, I do believe that some people are being a little judgemental. I am an avid reader, and I thought that the book was fabulous. Liz Gilbert is, no doubt, a magnificent writer and has been through much. But what I think is having people not liking it is that it's an ordinary person's heartfelt story. Had it been someone famous or someone that you rip tabloids apart to read about, then maybe it would have been more interesting and appealing to you. Society is completely desensitized to 'regular 'ol stories' like this one. Also, there indeed was a tremendous hype about this book. But be easy--not every book is going to relate to every person. I have gone through nothing that Liz Gilbert has been through nor have I traveled overseas. But I bought the book with an open mind and found it to be very enlightening and refreshing. It's completely human and a sweet read. I could understand that it seems SO ordinary that you think 'what's the big deal' or 'what's the hype all about', but maybe that's because not everyone has such a tremendous opportunity paired with such an eloquent writing ability. Don't be so harsh -- applaud her journey and understand that although it seems like an every day story, she conveyed it beautifully and just wanted to inspire and enlighten. If someone paid you in advance to write up a three-part story of whatever you're going to endure for the next year, would you not take the offer? I HIGHLY doubt it. `=) Still---excellent read. I do recommend it: for the open-minded and non-judgemental.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Feelings of worth, resilience and passion...

    Here is someone who is not wasting her time sitting on her "pity potty". She chose to change and experience her life. This is a poignant, gratifying and thought-provoking one woman journey, seeking out "her self". We all look for an escape route every now and then, fantasize about changing our lives, dream about it, think about it, and even plan it out, but..ultimately, there we sit! This is a valuable, insightful, exciting read. What really matters in YOUR life? Connection, love, compassion, reality, passion, goals, well-being.

    Another gem of a book I recently read that affected me in a similar way, (and I plan to read soon again), is EXPLOSION IN PARIS, very similar premise that makes you explode with feelings of worth, resilience and passion! Only this story is about survival, not just emotionally, but her life, no shallowness here, much to be admired!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read for Everyone

    If I could give this book ten stars I would. I first read it years back when it was first published and was in the middle of a nasty divorce. I've reread the book several times as well as purchased copies for friends I wanted to share this with.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    I Loved this book!

    I am in awe of Elizabeth Gilbert's story of her personal journey into awareness. Her courageous openness as to her feelings, thoughts, and motivations throughout, made this memoir so wonderfully easy to relate to. This is a standard that will hold up through the test of time. This will be on shelves in bookstores 50 years from now!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    IT'S TRULY IS A ADVENTURE OF A LIFE TIME

    IT'S TRULY IS A ADVENTURE OF A LIFE TIME, AND SHE TOOK ME WITH HER. IT FELT LIKE I WAS THERE. GREAT BOOK, GREAT WRITING, JOY TO READ.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Read again

    Loved this book. Made me laugh, cry, and wishful.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    :) EAT PRAY LOVE IS LOVED BY MANY.

    So far, I am only on the first chapter but i did see the movie and the movie was amazing....usually the book is always better than the movie so in my opinion the book is probably amazing too! I loved the movie though so if i were you i would definately buy this book! I will write a new review when i finish the book but the movie was great! Go see the movie too!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    One of my favorite books ever

    This book was one of my beach reads for the summer and I loved it!! I enjoyed her stories, the characters she meets on her travels and her unwavering wit.
    I just finished this book a few days ago and can not wait to read it again!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    Love Gilbert's Writing Style

    I needed a book to read for my trip to Peru and had this book on my list. It was so appropriate for me because I was traveling to unwind my mind and spirit in Peru. I felt this book corresponded to my journey in Peru, although not 3 months, which was transformational.
    Gilbert is funny, honest & enlightening & insightful. She's courageous in that she writes about the "facade" of what a life is supposed to look like, especially here in the U.S. She was brave in detailing her journey to find out who she really is!
    Good for you Elizabeth for finding true happiness and for sharing your story!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    Seriously Folks...

    This is her story not yours...she has every right to complain, moan, loathe, love, question and over-eat. What bothers me is that until you write your own personal story you judge everyone elses.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2014

    After a tough divorce, Elizabeth Gilbert decides to go on a jour

    After a tough divorce, Elizabeth Gilbert decides to go on a journey of self-discovery. She goes to Italy for pleasure, India for prayer and meditation, and Indonesia for a balance between the two. I thought that this book was a quick and interesting read that had me wanting to read more. The writing can be very witty and funny at times but also makes you think at other times. I liked reading about the many experiences she went through, the people she met, and the many lessons she learned at the end. She is able to go from being depressed and lonely to learning that happiness can be found within. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    Must Read for the Human Heart

    Great story. I don't know a woman who wouldn't want to go on the journey this book takes you on. Super story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    Loved this book

    I really enjoyed this book. It has hit a chord with me. I was in this place of needing to find the spiritual side of life, several years ago. How I wish this book had been around then. Very good read..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bonding through shared experiences

    When I glanced through the pages in the bookstore, I found something I could relate to immediately in almost every chapter of "Eat, Pray, and Love." I bought the book, read it, enjoyed it, and have no regrets. It is what is is, a pleasurable, well written book.
    Gilbert begins with a description of the origins of rosary beads, the japa malas..of which I also wrote about in my book, so I felt an immediate connection with the author. I even have my own hand-made set of beads from seeds I acquired in Katmandu. I understood immediately her idea of breaking the stories up into 108 vignettes, little glimpses into hearts, minds, and memories of herself and of others. Thailand was my home for several years. I left just a few weeks before the tsunami she wrote about. Reading about that event was very mournful and nostalgic for me. I was hyper critical of how the author handled this, looking for ways I could fault her but honestly I feel she handled it very well. Maybe when we have shared experiences, we also have a bond of understanding between us. At least I feel connected with this author. I feel her writing style is readable and enjoyable, capturing the best essence of people and places she knew. Isn't that what good, pleasurable writing is all about?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Oakly

    If u feel like u wasted youtr money on a book you should have read the summery on book firsti read it and understould what itsabout and people im 14 this is sad you people need to leaen to suck it up and stop whineing ......boo who shoukd have read the description about it..............have a nice day :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Such a good book!

    I love how spiritual this book is. Also, I love the transformation she went through from depressed to happy. This book is an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1346 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 68