Customer Reviews for

Eat Right 4 Your Type: The Individualized Diet Solution

Average Rating 4
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

this does work

i bought this book four years ago at the recommendation of a friend. i found the diet to be quite an adjustment at first. i am type O and i should be a meat/fish/poultry eater which was not a problem, but i had to cut out wheat, corn, vinegar, pork, wine, coffee and man...
i bought this book four years ago at the recommendation of a friend. i found the diet to be quite an adjustment at first. i am type O and i should be a meat/fish/poultry eater which was not a problem, but i had to cut out wheat, corn, vinegar, pork, wine, coffee and many other thigns that i love but were on my avoid list. i tried the diet for one year and had tremendous results. i lost weight, felt energized and generally well balanced. i also participated in martial arts training like kickoxing prior to the diet, but dr. d'adamo actually said that martial arts is one of the best exercises for type o's. then i got married and completely fell off the diet and exercise regimine. needless to say i gained weight, fought depression, eliminated my libido, etc. i am now getting divorced, due to other circumstances, but i felt the need to improve my current situation in light of this. i recently reread dr. d'adamo's books and committed to going back on the diet. i also began going to my martial arts classes after a four year hiatus. after two weeks back on the diet and exercise program i am feeling much better. again, more energy, and mental clarity. and the best part is i have already lost seven pounds. i recommend that everyone at least buy the booka nd have an open mind. try the diet for one month. i promise the results will compell you to stick with it. i just wish i had had the sense to stick with it once i got married. but, hey it's never too late to get with, or back to , the program.

posted by Anonymous on August 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

A ridiculous book!

This book seemed ok at first glance. The idea that I would need to eat differently than somebody else made perfect sense to me. Then I started to read the book and realized how terrible it really was. Most of the blood types do not get a complete and healthy diet by ...
This book seemed ok at first glance. The idea that I would need to eat differently than somebody else made perfect sense to me. Then I started to read the book and realized how terrible it really was. Most of the blood types do not get a complete and healthy diet by what is outlined in the book. I showed this to my doctor and he warned me against this type of diet saying that it might provide the temporary weight loss however long term it was not a healthy idea. Nothing beats good old fashioned exercise and reducing your caloric intake. I ended up going to Weight Watchers and lost all the weight I wanted to lose AND learned how to eat nutritiously. The nutrition you need does not hinge on your blood type.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    this does work

    i bought this book four years ago at the recommendation of a friend. i found the diet to be quite an adjustment at first. i am type O and i should be a meat/fish/poultry eater which was not a problem, but i had to cut out wheat, corn, vinegar, pork, wine, coffee and many other thigns that i love but were on my avoid list. i tried the diet for one year and had tremendous results. i lost weight, felt energized and generally well balanced. i also participated in martial arts training like kickoxing prior to the diet, but dr. d'adamo actually said that martial arts is one of the best exercises for type o's. then i got married and completely fell off the diet and exercise regimine. needless to say i gained weight, fought depression, eliminated my libido, etc. i am now getting divorced, due to other circumstances, but i felt the need to improve my current situation in light of this. i recently reread dr. d'adamo's books and committed to going back on the diet. i also began going to my martial arts classes after a four year hiatus. after two weeks back on the diet and exercise program i am feeling much better. again, more energy, and mental clarity. and the best part is i have already lost seven pounds. i recommend that everyone at least buy the booka nd have an open mind. try the diet for one month. i promise the results will compell you to stick with it. i just wish i had had the sense to stick with it once i got married. but, hey it's never too late to get with, or back to , the program.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Life Changing Book

    I had been struggling for years with my diet. I'd crave protein and nuts which would completely blow my conventional diet but I found this was due to eating the wrong foods for my blood type. Moving to the O blood type diet I dropped 10 pounds in the first 15 days and it was right from my stomach and back BUT the most important thing is my memory came back!!! I am post surgical menopause and I have been in a fog for years. I had chalked it up to be over 45 and had come to terms that this was now my life, NOT SO! My head is clear and I am recalling things at a snap. It has renewed my life and well worth the price of the book.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    I'M LIVING PROOF IT WORKS!

    I FIRST BOUGHT THE BOOK IN 1997, LOST 50 POUNDS, AND ABOUT 10 YEARS OFF MY AGE. I WENT BACK TO EATING ALL THE WRONG THINGS, GOT DEATHLY ILL, GAINED 89 POUNDS AND LOOKED AWFUL. A YEAR AGO I DECIDED FOR MY NEW YEARS RESOLUTION TO DO SOMETHING FOR ME. I WENT BACK TO EATING FOR MY BLOOD TYPE, LOST 67 POUNDS AND ALL MY HEALTH PROBLEMS. I HAD BEEN DIAGNOSED WITH FIBREMIALGE. SEVERE OSTEO-ARTHRITUS, AND SEVERAL INTESTINAL DISEASES. I AM NOW IN EXCELLENT HEALTH, AND LOOK 10 YEARS YOUNGER THAN I AM (43). I AM LIVING PROOF THAT ALL DR. DIADAMO'S RESEARCH IS CORRECT!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    amazing

    Only two weeks after purchasing this book and the encyclopedia, starting the first week by omitting the avoid foods 50%;second week getting serious, I am here to report the results are truly amazing. I am AB and my husband and his twin boys are O. They came into my life 8 years ago.I am the pleaser, so I proceeded to cook all the good stuff for them! They longed for Meat and they got it and so did I. Only to wind up with cholesterol level at 319 a year ago! My doctor put me on synthroid, six weeks later I was down to 235. But my good cholesterol was twice as high. So no more concerns on part of my doctor. I was still sluggish and had to endure the aches and stiff joints associated with a malajusted thyroid. Thanks to this diet I have no pains, stiffness after only two weeks. I can not wait for my next blood test in 10 weeks! I wish more health professionals where open to the possibilitys of this plan for a healtier being. My eating habbits before this new family of mine almost coincided with doctor D'Adamos diet. I grew up in northern germany, where my diet concisted of 6 days fish and one day meat! Later I lived in hawaii, my best girl friends husband being a commercial fisherman supplying me with ample amounts of fish! Fresh vegetables from the chinese market rounded my diet! Bottom line, I am turning into the energetic, happy woman my husband and the twins met 8 years ago! I dont have much weight to loose, but the health benefits are enormous for me. Thanks Dr. D'Adamo!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    It changed the way I ssee food.

    This book is great! It all makes sense now. A lot of the food that I was eating and weren't going well with my digestive system are all the foods noted that are not beneficial for my body. I have been following this diet for a month and two weeks. As a result, I have no more migraines or headaches that last three days, my allergies have significantly subsided and I have lost more than seven pounds (although I wasn't trying). I get compliments on my skin and I am more alert. I do cheat from time to time but pay the consequences afterward by either getting sick or breaking out in hives. Moderation is key but it's worth it. It changed my life for the better.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2006

    What a difference a book makes !!

    This book was recommended to me because of a discussion about how I like some foods BUT some foods don't like me. (My reaction to those foods were extreme.) I started reading this book and couldn't put it down. Now... I know why my system reacts the way it does. I am type O, and I stopped eating wheat products,cheese & changed to pineapple juice instead of O.J.: What a difference!! By altering my diet, I feel so much better. Very glad I took the time to read this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Review of Eat Right 4 Your Type

    Loved this book, and am telling all my friends about it. I've been following the diet pretty faithfully, and have lost 9.5 pounds in 15 days! It gives a lot of variety in each blood type plan.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    Working For Me.

    I am overweight and that is the main reason I purchased this book. After I started reading it, and doing what it says...I began to FEEL better. I tend to have stomach upsets very frequently and I had decided that it was something I was just going to have to live with, but I haven't had one since I have been using the guidelines in this book. Feeling better has lead me to having the energy to workout more, and although this is not a "weight loss" book, it does give advice about foods for your blood type that are good for weight loss as well as exercises that are best suited for your blood type and how often you should engage in them. It is not a diet you do for a few weeks, it is a lifestyle change. If you are looking for a typical diet where you only drink lemon juice for a week, this is not the book for you. If you want to change your life, even if you are not overweight, but if you have a general unhealthy demeanor this is the book for you.
    The only down side is you should expect to have to cut out some foods you like, I'm sure there will be some...there certainly are for me, but I had reached a point where I felt horrible all the time and my weight was becoming a problem. Following the guidelines has even helped my asthma. The pros outweigh the cons by a long shot for me. Being able to go hiking with my husband, (who played college football) and actually keeping up is fantastic!
    If you are tired of feeling bad all the time or being overweight I highly recommend this book. I hope it works as well for you as it has thus far for me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Learned A Lot about Food Sensitivities

    This book starts with a fascinating history and overview about how blood types evolved and the culture related to blood types around the world. I found that all blood types have their strengths and challenges and there are amazing tendencies on food sensitivities that can make a big difference on over all fitness. Making chances to read other authors and cross references points of view, helps me find what works for me. <BR/><BR/>I was surprised that in the past many have looked down on my blood type, O which is common on both sides of the family and quite rare and ironically otherwise, many of my characteristics are more modern. It clearly explained the difference between evolved characteristics as opposed to genetic innovations. I'm O+ and that explained a lot about why some of my challenges show up as they do. I knew before I read the book that I would break out if I ate about a half dozen chocolate oatmeal cookies, and one of the first things that jumped out at me was peanuts can be trouble for people with O blood. This boosts my interest to study more about nutritional healing, and it's fun to find healthy ways to satisfy my sweet tooth and enjoy the rest of the balance of my diet, too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Read it, used it, gave it to my Doctor

    Tremendous - struck just the right cord for me. Felt benefits from diet within 1 week. Lost 20 lbs in 4 months, lowered cholesterol 30 points. Bad numbers went down about 1/3, good numbers up about 10%. My Doctor was amazed at the improvement in blood work up, took me off Zocor Rx and asked for the name of the diet. I have kept the weight loss off for an additional 6 weeks.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    Be skeptical, but read and do it anyway!

    My husband had terrible allergies and stomach problems and had tried all sorts of medicines. Nothing worked. In addition to homeopathic remedies, we have adopted the eating plans this book describes. What a difference it has made!!! I never thought my husband could do this diet (he is a big football player kind of guy) but he has found new things to eat and has given up some of his old eating habits. Now, we both find that if we 'splurge' for foods not recommended for us, we notice it! We feel so much better now that we're following these eating guidelines. Give it a try! You'll be amazed!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2002

    Don't Knock It Till You Try It!

    I thought the idea of this diet was a bunch a baloney when I heard about it, but after suffering with IBS, Acid Reflux, and having my gallbladder removed, all before I was thirty, I was willing to try it! I've been told by Dr's to increase fiber, eat more cereals, more H20, take stimulants like Fibercon and Milk of Magnesia, and YUCK, none of it worked. I tried the Atkins diet and felt as if I might die! I've tried a series of digestive enzymes and still, no help. I was at a loss. I already had a restricted diet due to my allergies of MSG, Caffeine, alcohol, dairy and others that make me feel ill. Low and behold, then I read the food list for type O and almost all the foods that irritate me were foods that O types should not eat! After 1 week on the diet I lost 5 lbs. lost the bloating, my synthroid levels had gotten better and where is the IBS? GONE! I don't know how much of the science behind this book can be proven, but I do know it worked for me and I'm eating HEALTHY. I would recommend anyone to give this book a try!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2001

    This is the answer!!!!!

    My mother got me started on the Eat Right 4 Your Type Lifestyle. It is not just a diet.... it's a way of life. My mother has lupus. This 'diet' helped her get off of all the medications she was on. Eating right and taking the right supplements was all she needed to manage her illness. My son developed diabetes about a year ago. It was hard to control his sugar levels being as he was only 16 months old at diagnosis. He also had continous ear infections. When the doctor suggested tubes Mom suggested I check into changing his diet. So I did....And it has worked wonders. I think everyone should educate themselves about bloodtypes and allergies. Get off all the antibiotics and such! If they really worked....would you have to keep taking them??? Just check it out!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    What a life changer this book has been for me. Since my teens I

    What a life changer this book has been for me. Since my teens I had been dealing with IBS. Instead of finding the cause of the problem every doctor that I have been to prescribed medications and told me to eat a diet rich with grains. Isn't this ironic? As a type O I have an intolerance to wheat and most grains, so instead of feeling better it just made my situation worse. When I eliminated those items listed as avoid for my blood type, all my health problems disappeared. No more yo-yo dieting, no more calorie counting, I'm not hungry all the time, and I now have lean muscle mass.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Great info-it works

    I have been on this type of diet for about 3 weeks now. Have lost 8.5 lbs!!! More important is the fact that my stomach doesn't hurt anymore! Feel so much better eating what I should and not all the other things that were hurting me

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Life changing, when I let it be!

    After a friend recommended this book, it took a while for the theory to soak through my wheat, gluten and sugar addled brain. Once I started following the type O plan, I basically melted. Only when I relapse and revert to bad eating habits does weight gain, brain fog, and generally bad health return. What sold me was the number of avoids and goods listed for my type that were already known to me for various reasons. I developed a strong sensitivity to raw citrus in my 30's after years of craving it. No citrus, no uncontrollable sleep reaction, burning or sores. Amazing! Little to no pasta and cheese, little to no offensive gas and the associated pain. Only sorry I didn't know about this when there may still have been a chance to avoid many of the problems that led to infertility and pain that ended up with a medically necessary hysterectomy at 42, after nearly bleeding to death!
    My siblings, both parents and many relatives are type II diabetics and suffer from other weight and health problems. I haven't avoided all of them, because I didn't start this life change until my 40's, but at 58, still have no sign of developing diabetes and great cholesterol levels, as well as clarity of thought unless I over-indulge in glutens and sugars. Truly a life saver for me!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Great

    Fast, informative, helpful. Makes perfect sense, and makes diet choices simple. For the first time in my life i am not bloated after meals.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Excited!

    I own the actual paperback and was very happy to see i can travel with my book now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    The best and natural way to properly heal your body without complication.

    When I was offered this book I did not make a big deal of it. When I was done with the book however I felt empowered with a new set of tools that gave me a chance to choose. The best feeling of it all was that I knew what I was eating and why.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    My last diet

    Dr. D'Adamo is a genius!! I would like to thank both him and his father. There are so many things I love about his book. Though Dr. D'Adamo is Type A, he is unsparingly honest about the dangers faced by Type A people, and that intrigued me enough to try it. I threw it aside in disgust, though because he said that Type B (myself and half my family) shouldn't have Chicken/Pork/Shellfish/Tomatoes/Wheat/Corn (The staples of my entire eating life!) I got back on Atkins, and lost for a while, but ran into a brick wall. In despair, I picked up Eat right 4/for your Type, and in THREE DAYS THE AGONIZING PAINS I ENDURED FOR TEN YEARS WERE GONE. Amazing!! I've taken off 77 lbs and everyone I know is begging for my secret. What I like is that the Blood type diet is 4 lifestyles in one, and it cleared up so many mysteries, like why I like golf, and swimming, and hate contact sports with a passion. I went out for volleyball and basketball in school and failed dismally, leaving emotional scars. Who would have thought one book would clear up so many questions. Check out his books on diabetes, arthritis, and cancer, and his hilarious emails on his website.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4