Customer Reviews for

Eat This, Not That! 2010: The No-Diet Weight Loss Solution

Average Rating 3
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

VERY Helpful and Useful!

I am a fitness trainer and aerobics instructor. A good portion of my job requires me to consult (and take classes) on nutrition. With that said, I also try to read all of these new diet books. David Zinczenko and Matt Goulding's book is a great reference. At our gym,...
I am a fitness trainer and aerobics instructor. A good portion of my job requires me to consult (and take classes) on nutrition. With that said, I also try to read all of these new diet books. David Zinczenko and Matt Goulding's book is a great reference. At our gym, we keep this on our shelves and refer to it often...and you should too.

As someone else reviewed on Barnes & Noble, I too am a HUGE fan of another book that should be read by ANYONE looking to alter their body. That book is "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow", by Vincent Cocilovo. This is a quick read, and should be the cornerstone of ALL diet and exercise endeavors.

posted by PTrainer on December 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Not as good as the first book. It is mostly restaurant information concerning what items are the better choices. It might be good if you eat out a lot. I want to exchange it for the first book as I plan to give it as a gift. I don't think the person I plan to give it t...
Not as good as the first book. It is mostly restaurant information concerning what items are the better choices. It might be good if you eat out a lot. I want to exchange it for the first book as I plan to give it as a gift. I don't think the person I plan to give it too will get much use from it. If I had seen the book before buying I would have stuck with the first edition.

posted by 2446162 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY Helpful and Useful!

    I am a fitness trainer and aerobics instructor. A good portion of my job requires me to consult (and take classes) on nutrition. With that said, I also try to read all of these new diet books. David Zinczenko and Matt Goulding's book is a great reference. At our gym, we keep this on our shelves and refer to it often...and you should too.

    As someone else reviewed on Barnes & Noble, I too am a HUGE fan of another book that should be read by ANYONE looking to alter their body. That book is "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow", by Vincent Cocilovo. This is a quick read, and should be the cornerstone of ALL diet and exercise endeavors.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Weight Loss

    The three books by david zinzenko helped me lose 145 lbs.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    Very Informative

    I think the book is very informative.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    Every one should own these books!

    Let's face it, we all can't eat all organic and eat only at home. We all have busy lives and that means we have to eat out sometimes or only buy whats on sale rather then the more costly healthy one.

    These books realize that and say "Hey, if you have to eat out, choose this over that and save 20g Fat." etc..

    It's a must read for all of us on the go.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Handy little guide

    My favorite thing about the Eat This, Not That book is that it shows things with so many pictures. They have taken the important message and shown it to the readers in a visual way. This makes the book easy and quick to read.

    Another great thing about this book is that it is set up so that you could read any chapter in any order and it won't matter. You don't have to sit down and read it cover to cover. You can just choose which chapter appeals to you right then and quickly flip through it. I think this makes it easy to be a reference book. There is so much information in here that you probably couldn't memorize it all but you can easily flip to it when you need it.

    One of my favorite books on healthy eating!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Gives great advice on nutrition in today's food choices.

    I am now taking this book to the grocery store. The sections are organized well, sometimes the products are not available. The fast food section is general and has many restaurants that are not in my area, Midwest. I like this book the best of the series because it cover some of everything includes some recipes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Disappointing

    Not as good as the first book. It is mostly restaurant information concerning what items are the better choices. It might be good if you eat out a lot. I want to exchange it for the first book as I plan to give it as a gift. I don't think the person I plan to give it too will get much use from it. If I had seen the book before buying I would have stuck with the first edition.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This little book really makes one think!

    When I first opened this book, I wondered whether it was going to be a benefit to me. It didn't take long for me to realize its usefulness. It's good for anyone who ever believed they understood fast food or restaurant cuisine. A real eye-opener.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great But. . ..

    This book is good for the normal "schmo" who likes to go out and pick up quick bites to eat, but knows that they need to make better choices when they do. It covers a wide array of food choices, and you can make inferences for restaurants that are not listed by looking at similar-style restaurants. There are some really eye-opening surprises that will really make you re-evaluate your thoughts about what "healthy" eating is. I really love it because it was not a diet book, it was a practical look at how real people can make real easy choices for better food. The sections on superfoods and ingredients that make foods good or bad was very well done. If you are looking for a book that will make you lose weight with fast food eating. .. THIS IS NOT IT!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Everyone should read this once!

    A quick and easy read that will open your eyes! Some of the information is shocking and will change how you eat. It's a well rounded book and I got a lot of good info out of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Who Knew?

    This book opened my eyes to the alternatives to all my 'fall-back' snacks and meal options. Just finding out what my options were to cut down on unhealthy ingredients and improve my food choices has made a huge difference in what I eat but I don't feel deprived. The format of the book is helpful and easy to navigate and the writing is clear and informative. I bought the book, added the info to my menu lists and then passed it on to friends so they might benefit from the material.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Keep it in the car with you!

    Wow - what an eye-opener. This book lays out easy-to-understand, sobering comparisons. Key learning: you don't know what you're eating when you eat out. You may think you're making healthy choices, but be careful! Fast food isn't all unhealthy, and a sit-down dinner isn't always healthy! I keep mine in the car, and sneak a peek before I eat out ANYWHERE! This book will help keep you on track. Consult before you eat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    Eye opening information about dining out

    A lot of useful information about what not to eat at most restaurants. Easy to look up information and easy to digest. Excellent reference material.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Help has arrived at last.

    I am tired of trying to count. With this book you can read the choices available before you go to a certain restaurant. It is very simple to eliminate the high caloried foods before you choose them. It leaves you a choice of the lower caloried foods but does not limit you to one choice. You can see the variety without having to ask the server or stand in front of a list posted on a restaurent wall--if you can find one. It's a very handy book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Great Book

    My husband and I have both examined this book thoroughly and love it for so much helpful info. Glad we bought it and will keep it by our kitchen table to refer to often. Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Eye opener

    Great read, debunked a lot of food myths for myself and my girlfriend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6