Customer Reviews for

Eat What You Love: More than 300 Incredible Recipes Low in Sugar, Fat, and Calories

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Good for Cooking but not Prescriptive Purposes

This is an up-to-date and interesting look at diet and recipes of today. The author provides the reader with methods and objectives, and tells the reader what to avoid in managing care and relationships with food. While it does filter some of the misinformation that's s...
This is an up-to-date and interesting look at diet and recipes of today. The author provides the reader with methods and objectives, and tells the reader what to avoid in managing care and relationships with food. While it does filter some of the misinformation that's seen on TV and heard on the radio, the book is filled with unreferenced and unsubstantiated health-altering factoids all throughout. It also fails to attempt to solve the world's real food problem from a personal and collaborative standpoint. Therefore, a far better choice is Naheed Ali's "The Obesity Reality: A Comprehensive Approach to a Growing Problem".

posted by LibrarianAmandaRicheirt on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not so good...

Unfortunately every recipe I tried failed to turn out and the Beef Stroganoff didn't sit well with me at all. I figured that it was beginners luck so I tried several other recipes, but they all failed to be appetizing. I had high hopes for this cookbook, but I ended up ...
Unfortunately every recipe I tried failed to turn out and the Beef Stroganoff didn't sit well with me at all. I figured that it was beginners luck so I tried several other recipes, but they all failed to be appetizing. I had high hopes for this cookbook, but I ended up taking it back.

posted by CarolW on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good for Cooking but not Prescriptive Purposes

    This is an up-to-date and interesting look at diet and recipes of today. The author provides the reader with methods and objectives, and tells the reader what to avoid in managing care and relationships with food. While it does filter some of the misinformation that's seen on TV and heard on the radio, the book is filled with unreferenced and unsubstantiated health-altering factoids all throughout. It also fails to attempt to solve the world's real food problem from a personal and collaborative standpoint. Therefore, a far better choice is Naheed Ali's "The Obesity Reality: A Comprehensive Approach to a Growing Problem".

    44 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Eating What I love.

    The first recipe I tried was for the baked onion rings. They were yummy. Didn't miss the fried ones at all. My niece who is a very fussy teenager couldn't believe how good they were. I teamed them with turkey burgers as well as the Pudding Milkshakes. It was a hit. I am having company tonight and I can't wait to make the Spinach Artichoke dip.

    She gives you great ideas for cutting down the sugar, even if you don't use Splenda. She lightens up recipes that are not hard to do. It's about making the small changes that have the greatest impact on your diet. I don't even notice the "stuff" that is missing. I'm aleady down 10lbs. This is an added bonus.

    I like the fact that if you are on Weight Watchers she gives you the points information, along with all the other important nutritional information. I plan on giving this as a gift to a friend who uses Weight Watchers and is a cookbook collector like me.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Health Recipes and Delicious Too!

    I have had the book about 2 weeks and have tried several recipes. The recipes are easy to follow and to make. They have been very tasty and so much healthier than similar recipes. It is amazing how tasty these recipes have been with the sugar and fat so reduced. The pictures are great and certainly make you want to try them. My dishes have come out looking very similar too. Overall this is a wonderful cook book that I would reccomend. It would make a great gift for all who like tasty food while still being healthy.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Definitely a good purchase!

    I bought this cookbook for my mom but decided to test out some recipes before I gave to her to see if she'd actually use it. I have no idea if she uses the book but I loved the food so much that I bought a copy for myself. I've made tons of the recipes so far...sure, some don't come out perfect but most things are great and I would highly recommend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good...with reservations

    Good for some....I didn't like that the ingredients used were not necessarily healthy. but good in a pinch. I think for others who are not necessarily as health concious it would be good. And great to learn portion control. Easy to follow and nice recipes.Overall, good - though not for me personally.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Love this cookbook

    I saw this on QVC and they had prepared many dishes, the cookbook doesn't disappoint, family foods we are used to just better for you

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Got for the fact that it inclueds the nutritional info plut Weight Watchers Points (old system)

    Nice to find a book that has the Weight Watchers points included...although in this book they are for old Points system not the new POINTSPLUS system. Hope her new book has the new system in it.

    As a diabetic, need all the nutritional information, not just what the points value is. Also, need the sodium info.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Sample

    Would love to see at least one recipe on the sample.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    This book was agift to my daughter

    My daughter loves this cookbook. She counts calories everyday. She's getting married soon, and she's been very happy with the way this cookbook gives the calorie count.She tries at least 2 or 3 recipes a week.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I love this book!!!

    I heard about the author and so I wanted to see the book for myself. I loved it just browsing at it in the store. I have tried many of the receipes and my family loves them. I will always use it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    My 'go-to' cookbook

    Absolutely love this cookbook! Awesome recipes, even though they are low fat the taste is not sacrificed.. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    If you can only buy one cookbook, buy this one!

    If you hate buying cookbooks where there are only a couple of recipes in them that you like then get ready to be pleasantly surprised. Not only is this cookbook easy and fun to use, but it is family friendly with lots of fun recipes that everyone will like. There are no weird ingredients, you probably have most of them in your kitchen right now. Everything has a healthy little twist to it, for example, using white whole wheat flour in cookies instead of plain white. A sneaky little way to get something good into your kids while giving them something good tasting as well. The nutritional ingredients are also listed as well as Weight Watcher Points. An incredible cookbook.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    You will love this cookbook

    I just love this cookbook. This cookbook uses items that you already have, you don't have to buy things that you will never use again. They also supply the weight watchers points. I was so surprised that I liked the recipes using splenda because I do not like splenda in my beverages, but it taste great in the recipes. I can't even choose my favorite recipes. I use this bookbook everyday.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Not so good...

    Unfortunately every recipe I tried failed to turn out and the Beef Stroganoff didn't sit well with me at all. I figured that it was beginners luck so I tried several other recipes, but they all failed to be appetizing. I had high hopes for this cookbook, but I ended up taking it back.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Love!

    I have made many of the recipes and love them!!! My family even gave the Peanut Butter Mousse a 6 out of 5!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Fabulous and Enjoyable!

    I have had this book for about a month and love it! I am the puckiest eater I know, but I love so many of the recipes. I recommend!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Awesome cookbook

    I love this cookbook and highly recommend it! Every recipe I have tried has been yummy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Wonderful

    I absolutly love this book. My boyfriend loves fried foods and it just to much for me so i started cooking at least three meals a week from this book something different every week and he loves the food. What he loves most is that he doesn't feel weighted down after. My the cheese cake for a family gathering tonight and they couldn't believe that it was made healthy. This is the absolute best cook book i have ever bought and i have a big collection of cookbooks
    A MUST HAVE IN THE KITCHEN EVEN IF YOUR NOT A HEALTHY EATER THE FOOD TASTE GREAT AND YOU'RE MISSING OUT IF YOU DON'T HAVE THIS BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love this cookbook.

    I love this cookbook.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    Recommend

    This is a great cookbook for cutting calories and sugars.
    The best part of the book is it has everyday favorites with a fraction of the calories yet no one knows the difference.
    It also has all the nutritional value and weight watcher points given on each recipe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3