Customer Reviews for

Eat and Run: My Unlikely Journey to Ultramarathon Greatness

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Inspiring

    I don't run ultramarathons but I love running. I always get asked why I run marathons and why do I choose to "torture" my body. I always find myself trying to find the right words to articulate how running has become a part of who I am. Scott Jurek does a wonderful job describing his love for running and sharing his own personal battles and accomplishments. I first learned of Scott, like many others, through reading Christopher Mcadougal's "Born To Run". His story resognated with me and inspired me to continue running and to expand my food knowledge. I love how at the end of each chapter he includes a recipe and a story about how that recipe came about. "Eat and Run" is a book that runners and non runners can enjoy. If you have ever struggled with overcoming obstacles, have goals you want to reach, want to start running, or just looking for yummy healthy recipes - this is a great book to read. Be ready to be inspired and have your eyes opened to a whole new world.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    I read this book after finishing Born To Run - another book I hi

    I read this book after finishing Born To Run - another book I highly recommend - and enjoyed it greatly for it insight into running and its inspiration. Simply put, it's a must read for anyone who runs or has an interest in becoming a runner. I credit this book for giving me the motivation to sign up for my first 5ks and 10ks, half-marathons and marathons, Tough Mudders, etc. Before, running was something I just did when I could. Now it's beginning to become a lifestyle much like eating and sleeping. Get this one for your library!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Great read that can change your life

    The book is not just about running and being a vegan. It is about Scott's journey to figure out why he runs. Not sure if he quite has it figured out yet but traveling through his life is worth the read. Plus he oncludes some great recipes that will have you exploring new foods.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    I enjoyed this book from beginning to end. So much helpful runni

    I enjoyed this book from beginning to end. So much helpful running and eating advice intertwined with his life story. I admired him before I read the book but I have a whole new level of respect and admiration for him now. What an amazing athlete and person.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Not just a running journal but an examination of the connection between food, vitality, the earth and broader meaning and purpose. Covers the spectrum of human emotion.

    Thoroughly enjoyable read, a definite page turner. I enjoyed the constant break-aways from an exciting run to a recipe for healthy eating. If you liked "Born to Run" you'll enjoy this book also. Related to many of the questions the author examines in the book. Made me just a little happier to be a runner, part of a running community.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    A book for everyone, not just runners!

    This book is very inspirational and motivational. Jurek's dedication to his sport and his lifestyle is commendable, and has made me want to BE better and DO Better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Awesome!

    This is a great book about the abuse ultrarunners seek and the pride that lives forever. The recipes are a great addition, but the race reflections and stories are amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    I have an ultrarunner for 2 years and was looking to get to the

    I have an ultrarunner for 2 years and was looking to get to the next level. This book made me understand how much the diet count to achieve my goal. Scott Jurek is an inspiration; what he went through in life and how altruist he is, is great. I read Born to run after Eat and Run and I think the 2 books complete each other even if I have a little preference for this one. The funny thing is I am a meat guy and now I totally understand where Scott come from. I am becoming a new me, a better me thanks to Scott. Thank you 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Great book, great stories. Delving into the mind of an athlete

    Great book, great stories. Delving into the mind of an athlete like no other. Joining him on his rise to success as well as a fall from grace.
    This is the first book that I read that I was able to apply the nutritional information. He makes you want to be a better athelete and a better person by example.
    No preaching, no "how to". Just a bunch of "This worked for me".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    To Bruce

    Sorry next res!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Really enjoyed the book.

    Has made me consider veganism.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Runninglight's Challenge chapter one

    Leapkit dashed out of the nursery almost knocking over the medicine cat. "Sorry Feathersong!" He called over his shoulder. He foucsed on Leafkit. His sister was ahead by two tail-lengths. They where racing to the other end on camp. He put on a burst of speed and over took her. "Hungry?" He asked her smiling. Leafkits brown pelt was covered in leaves from when she tripped earlier. Her green eyes flashed confusion. "No why?" "Your gonna eat my dust!" He yowled. Leapkit turned his head just to see the wall of camp before he slammed head first into the rocks. Then all was black.••• Leapkit groaned. His head hurt as well as his chest. He took in a breath and felt pain in his chest. He looked around. He was in a mossy nest with three others next to him. They were all empty. Next to him was a small pool. A pile of moss sat next to it. Suddenly their was a snap then a cat muttering angrely. Feathersong emerged. Thats when Leapkit realized he was in the medicine den. "Oh Leapkit! Your awake!" the grey she cat exclaimed. She set down a small white herb tht she had been carrying. "Feathersong what happened after i..." he trailed off. Feathersong sat down. She started sorting herbs that had been sitting at the enterence to the medicine cave. "Well Leafkit came to get me. Your mother carried you in. And thats pretty much it." She meowed. She pawed a pile of srong smelling herbs to the side. "What happened to me?" Leapkit asked curiously. He winced at another breath. "Well you have to broken ribs. From when you fell. And a bit of a broken jaw and nose." She looked away from him. "And wel....you will ve to.....miss your.....apprenrice ceremony." Leapkits head fell to his paws. He ignored the flash of pain it gave him. He had waited all his life for this. And now it was delayed.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A wonderful human being with a great character and extreme athletic abilities this book is a must read for everyone. It inspires healthy lifestyle and a journey which is meaningful and it rightly beigns under your own feet. Scott has done an exceptional job in sharing his journey of life and all the beauty associated. Thanks Scott!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Viperfang

    Oh.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Next reslut

    Evershine..

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    We are enjoying this inspirational and motivating story. Recipes

    We are enjoying this inspirational and motivating story. Recipes are great. Especially enjoying the mushroom-lentil burgers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Love this book!

    Very enjoyable and informative-great recipes too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Interesting Read

    Slightly self indulgent, yet informative and thought-provoking

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Awesome

    This guy is so damn inspiring and gives great running advice from beginning to end. Really like how many different aspects of preparing he used to get that much more of an edge for races

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Good bio/cookbook

    If your runner you will enjoy this book, if your not a runner you can enjoy this book. The story of his relationship with food is told well, and though I did not toss the eggs, milk, beef from my fridge I've added soy food, and more veggies to my diet and now eat less meat products.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2