Customer Reviews for

Eat to Live: The Revolutionary Formula for Fast and Sustained Weight Loss

Average Rating 3.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

The title really says it all.

Dr. Fuhrman preaches a simple rule, everything you eat should have a high degree of nutrition compared to its calories. Based on this, meats, carbs, dairy, and processed foods dont make the cut when compared to greens, beans, fruits and even nuts. Therefore, you can g...
Dr. Fuhrman preaches a simple rule, everything you eat should have a high degree of nutrition compared to its calories. Based on this, meats, carbs, dairy, and processed foods dont make the cut when compared to greens, beans, fruits and even nuts. Therefore, you can get more nutrition eating less calories through veggies/fruits/beans.

When I first read the book, I found it unbelievable and a bit depressing - everything I grew up eating and loving was essentially bad for me. Nonetheless, I gave his advice a try, and he was right on all counts. I lost weight at an unprecedented rate(with and without exercise), I slept better, my cholesterol dropped, and felt better. It also helped my best friend control his diabetes without having to take medication.

Some other reviewers think this book is extreme or too vegan. They are right.. it is both extreme and vegan - COMPARED to what we have learned to eat. The problem is that what society deems as the norm, is not necessarily what is best for us. Watch TV commercials or read print magazines and count how many times they advertise meals with veggies or fruits vs how many times they advertise meat, dairy or carbs. The latter are just very dominant and available in our culture to our detriment.

This is not an easy diet at first, but its benefits show themselves quickly and will keep you on the right track. And once you see the benefits.. you will want to share the advice with your loved ones to help them too.

posted by 588736 on January 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A Few Good Points but UNREALISTIC

This book is excellent for those interested in maintaining a Vegetarian or Vegan diet. However, for the average omnivore, even those who eat limited amounts animal protein, this diet is way toooooooooooooooooooooooo restrictive and unrealistic. Also, I found his ideal w...
This book is excellent for those interested in maintaining a Vegetarian or Vegan diet. However, for the average omnivore, even those who eat limited amounts animal protein, this diet is way toooooooooooooooooooooooo restrictive and unrealistic. Also, I found his ideal weight chart and emphasis on exercise inadequate. I did however, after ready this book, drastically reduce my consumption of animal protein and began working out more regularly. Thus far I have lost a total of 10 pounds in about 3 weeks and have only 15 more to go . . . Overall, I would ONLY recommend this book to Vegetarians or Vegans interested in weight loss . . .

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    The title really says it all.

    Dr. Fuhrman preaches a simple rule, everything you eat should have a high degree of nutrition compared to its calories. Based on this, meats, carbs, dairy, and processed foods dont make the cut when compared to greens, beans, fruits and even nuts. Therefore, you can get more nutrition eating less calories through veggies/fruits/beans. <BR/><BR/>When I first read the book, I found it unbelievable and a bit depressing - everything I grew up eating and loving was essentially bad for me. Nonetheless, I gave his advice a try, and he was right on all counts. I lost weight at an unprecedented rate(with and without exercise), I slept better, my cholesterol dropped, and felt better. It also helped my best friend control his diabetes without having to take medication. <BR/><BR/>Some other reviewers think this book is extreme or too vegan. They are right.. it is both extreme and vegan - COMPARED to what we have learned to eat. The problem is that what society deems as the norm, is not necessarily what is best for us. Watch TV commercials or read print magazines and count how many times they advertise meals with veggies or fruits vs how many times they advertise meat, dairy or carbs. The latter are just very dominant and available in our culture to our detriment. <BR/><BR/>This is not an easy diet at first, but its benefits show themselves quickly and will keep you on the right track. And once you see the benefits.. you will want to share the advice with your loved ones to help them too.

    40 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Factual and accurate and frank advise on how nutrition affects human health with emphasis on prevention and reversal of obesity, diabetes, cancer and heart disease.

    "Eat to Live" is unequivocally the best single source I have come across after a more than a decade of avid reading on the topic of health and nutrition. It can be read and understood by the non-technical reader but also has the precise writing style of scientific literature and includes citations to support every statement. I subscribe to scientific journals on this subject and look up other articles at the medical library and can attest that Fuhrman's work is accurate in every aspect and will stand up to scientific scrutiny. During my first year following the Fuhrman advice I personally lost 30 lbs. and had striking improvements in other lipid markers, specifically 50% reduction in both triglycerides and PSA. I would like to suggest that Furhman does not put adequate emphasis on the need for additional dietary omega 3 fatty acids and the widespread problem vitamin D insufficiency. So add some flax seed meal to your oatmeal and either get more sunshine or add a Vitamin D supplement to the Eat to Live recipes and expect optimum health. By the way, I am Fuhrman's best customer, having given away at least 15 copies of "Eat to Live" to friends who have chronic health conditions.

    20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    Amazing, difficult and SOOOOo worth it

    I am a potatoes, pasta and meat kina gal. That being said,it is pretty hard to do the first six weeks which is the only "vegan" part of this lifestyle change. I do not say "diet" because that is not what this is. It is an extrodinary way of life that improves your QUALITY of life. The first six weeks are the hardest as freely admitted in the book, but it is worth it. In the first 3 weeks I lost 13 lbs. I am down 25 lbs which is great, but the best part is I can breath. I have better posture. I can run with my children more and not suffer an asthma attack! It's only the begining.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    We learned a lot from this book!

    We came from a meat and potatoes type of diet and were looking for something that would help us to cleanse ourselves so that we could feel better. We were feeling tired, lethargic and just not well. We decided to commit to a 6 week program of the Eat to Live eating plan and though sometimes I got frustrated that i couldn't think of another recipe to use, we did stick it out. My husband lost almost 40 pounds and I lost 20! We began to feel better and be more regular. It truly did help us on the road to a more active lifestyle that we had been wanting. Now we have modified it a bit to add in other types of protein, for me that was tofu, and for my husband occasional chicken, turkey or fish. We continue to feel well. Have gone from total couch potatoes to people who spend 5 days per week at the gym and so far my husband has lost 60 pounds and I have lost a bit over 25.
    I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to cleanse and remove the waste and toxins from their system and who also wants a lot more energy!

    18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    changed my life

    I was a vegetarian for a few years and overweight. I foud his book while doing some research on vegetarianism and weight loss. I read the book twice before I applied any of the dietary changes. He explains the why, the how of nutrition...everything is thoroughly explained in this book. It just made perfect sense. After six months of following his teachings I lost 45 pounds (I have 5 children) and nobody believes I had any kids! I am working on my last five pounds now and I know I will get the results I want following his plan. No powdersw or shakes, no itty bitty tiny portions of food, no starving and then bingeing. Its healthy weight loss. I especially recommend this to anyone who has heart disease or diabetes (type II). It will change your life just like it did mine.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2005

    A Few Good Points but UNREALISTIC

    This book is excellent for those interested in maintaining a Vegetarian or Vegan diet. However, for the average omnivore, even those who eat limited amounts animal protein, this diet is way toooooooooooooooooooooooo restrictive and unrealistic. Also, I found his ideal weight chart and emphasis on exercise inadequate. I did however, after ready this book, drastically reduce my consumption of animal protein and began working out more regularly. Thus far I have lost a total of 10 pounds in about 3 weeks and have only 15 more to go . . . Overall, I would ONLY recommend this book to Vegetarians or Vegans interested in weight loss . . .

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Changed my life!

    This book changed my life in just 30 days! I've lost the weight that I didn't want, I feel better and I've never been hungry on this new way of eating! Get serious and loose unwanted weight!

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    look no more for another Diet Book

    all roads have have come to this book. What perfect sence. feed your body the correct foods and the rest will follow. easy to read, it is now my bible for eating. I feel amazing with energy within week 2 of following the plan and sleep better at night. try it. what do you got to loose except getting off some meds and losing weight?

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    A healthy plan!

    This book was informative and helpful. I read the book through once, and began following the guidelines outlined right away. I saw results right away: I lost weight, increased my energy level, and craved less nutrient-deficient foods. I appreciate Dr. Fuhrman's thorough research that backs up his claims. The principles he puts forth are not unrealistic, and easy to follow. I would recommend this book to anyone looking to improve their health.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    It has changed my life!

    I have not only read the book but also had the pleasure of hearing Dr. Furhman speak at a seminar. I was a die hard chicken and steak eater and I had egg whites every morning and milk products all day long. I never saw myself as becoming Vegan, but as you read all the evidence in the book, it is hard not to want to change. So I have given 6 weeks now and I feel better than ever. I was a 140 lb. woman and now I have lost 15 lbs. so far. I also struggled with acne, alergies, and stomach problems, which have all vanished as a results of giving up animal products. My skin has not been this clear in the last 15 years!!! I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to really become healthier. My roommate is hooked now too!! Thank you Dr. Furhman!!

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    I found the right path to good health and preventing disease

    I have just read and started the health plan given in this book by Dr. Furhrman and for the first time in many, many years, I feel better, have more energy and can actually feel and see the change in my health. Dr. Furhrman's writing is easy to read and understand and everything is explained to the fullest. Truly, if you are feeling badly, don't know what to do to feel better, this is the book you want to read...it will lead you to health!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Eat to Live

    Anyone thinking of losing weight should read this book. "Eat to Live not live to eat.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    Un-realistic? Effective Life Change?

    While some argue, very poignantly, that this book is un-realistic I personally believe that if you make a significant step forward following the advice of the book your life will change, for the better. After reading the book the nutritional information about how I was eating flabbergasted me but the diet seemed way too restrictive and impossible to do. However, I made significant changes. I increased the green vegetable consumption, fruit consumption and REDUCED my read meat consumption. Three months into the program eating meat only twice a week, fish only twice a week ¿ I decided to go seafood vegetarian and I thank myself for that final change. Regardless of your preference for meat it is ENTIRELY possible to make significant dietary changes after this diet. After eight months on my own version of the program which includes fat free cheeses, fat free yogurt and seafood I have lost 125 lbs. Part of that is also due to working out approximately 1 hour to 2 hours a day. I believe that the nutritional content alone make this book an important contribution to health and nutrition education in the United States and I would suggest, at least in what capacity someone can, that individuals adopt the habits in the book if not the entire diet. I also believe that if you are significantly overweight with a BMI of over 37 that you should follow this diet. It is a fast and safe way to take your life back over. You have to have the will power. The most important statement that connected with me is that the notion of ¿you have to die sometime¿ as the reason why you eat gluttonously is only a decent conceptualization of life if you choose when your life will be over. There is no need to cut short the time you have. The only criticism that I have for the book is that I wish there were a few more recipes and more description of what to look for in produce and how to cook it. The recipe descriptions are not very well constructed for younger audiences with less experience in the kitchen.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    The Real Deal

    If you are finally ready to quit dieting and get healthy, buy the book, read the book and make a six week commitment to follow it. It truly is a painless way to superlative health, weigh reduction and well-being. The information is laid out in a simple to follow format. No strange recipes to make, no powders or potions to take. Just eat fresh salads and other green vegetables and eat beans. How easy is that? In the past, I've read and tried many diets that promise quick weight loss, but there has always been a price to pay (dealing with hunger, feeling rotten, feeling deprived at mealtime) Not so here. You can get healthy, weigh your ideal weight and live. Just buy the book and tell yourself that you are worth saving and do it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    Excellent source for ANYONE interested in living a long, productive life free of disease!

    Dr. Fuhrman writes in terms that easily cross all education levels and backgrounds. This book is a concise summary of the way of eating that will afford the follower a long, healthy, vibrant life with significantly lower rates of disease. As a healthcare provider myself, I am a firm believer of disease PREVENTION, and Dr. Fuhrman is at the forefront of this movement today. This is absolutely a must read for anyone interested in doing all they can to make the most of the life they have been given and to do it with EASE and free of DIS-ease.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2003

    The Best Nutrition Book

    The is the best nutrtion book I have read and I will use it, teach from it and recommend it! Read this book if you are ready to get healthy and slim!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    America the land of extreme diets

    No wonder we are the fattest nation in the world, instead of using common sense we always want to try an extreme diet we can't stick to, when what we really need to do is simply not overeat and control our portions. This is the extreme end of Atkins. Yet people lose weight on both diets. So who is right? No one..you are cutting out entire food groups. The one thing they have in common is to consume veggies and whole grains, and that is where it ends. I lived in Europe for a year, ate balanced meals with whole grains, lots of veggies, sensible portions of meat, and rarely eat 'junk food' and stopped eating after 8 pm. I even had a little dessert every day! I was always slim and yes..I walked alot too. You don't have to be extreme to lose weight, and you won't gain it back either, because it's about changing your habits for life!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    get this book if you want to live life fully

    This book is the best way to lose weight and have health. I lost 17 pounds in 7 weeks and almost at my goal weight 10 pounds to go. I feel wonderful eating all of thes fruits, veggies, nuts. It is a lifestyle and I won't be going back to the other way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    Commen Sense At Last

    I've read and tried many diets just like everyone else. At last here is a book that explains the why's without putting you to sleep and in language everyone can understand. The fact that we are going back to foods that haven't been refined and are in their natural state makes so much sense. It makes me feel that I have control over what goes into my body...no extra chemicals of any type. Dr. Furhman gives us the basics to work with and then allows you to adjust it to your needs. I noticed a difference almost immediately. I had been following the diet for a couple of days when I was invited to a party and had little amounts of refined food. I felt like all the food was packed in my neck area instead of being digested. That was a real wake up call for me...not that I had to be convince. One other thing...I have never tasted such a wonderful refreshing salad as when I combined all the veggies I wanted and instead of dressing just squeezed lemon on it. It was great. Thank you Dr. Fuhrman for the education on how to listen to your body.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    FOOD AS MEDICINE

    I HAVE BEEN A CANCER SURGEON FOR THE PAST 15 YEARS AND LEGIONS OF PATIENTS UNDER MY CARE HAVE ASKED: "DOCTOR, WHAT DO I EAT NOW THAT I HAVE BEEN DIAGNOSED WITH CANCER?" THE REAL QUESTION THEY WERE ASKING WAS THE FOLLOWING:"DOCTOR, HOW DO I USE FOOD TO HELP REGAIN MY HEALTH." INTUITIVELY, I KNEW THAT FOOD WAS MEDICINE BUT WANTED SUPPORTIVE INFORMATION THAT HAD UNDERGONE RIGOROUS SCIENTIFIC DOCUMENTATION AND WAS "NEW AGE" IN ITS PERSPECTIVE AND PASSION. MY READINGS SPANNED THE GAMUT FROM THE DOGMATIC ANECDOTAL ACCOUNTS OF SELF-HEALED EVANGELISTS AND RAW FOODISTS TO THE WRITNGS OF INFLEXIBLE, PEDANTIC LABORATORY SCIENTISTS. STILL I WAS UNFULFILLED. FINALLY, I FOUND DR. JOEL FUHRMAN'S BOOK, 'EAT TO LIVE', AND IMMEDIATELY KNEW I WAS IN A SACRED AVANTE GARDE STREAM OF INFORMATION REGARDING FOOD AND CHRONIC DEGENERATIVE DISEASES. SIMPLY AN AWESOME PIECE OF WORK, WHICH FILLS THE GAP BETWEEN IVORY TOWER-BASED NUTRITION RESEARCH, WHICH IS DIFFICULT FOR THE AVERAGE PERSON TO UNDERSTAND, AND THE UNSUBSTANTIATED CLAIMS OF "NEW AGE" PROPONENTS OF NUTRITION. FOR ME, THIS IS A BOOK THAT DROPPED OUT OF HEAVEN. GROESBECK PARHAM, M.D. PROFESSOR, DIVISION OF GYNECOLOGIC ONCOLOGY AND PREVENTIVE MEDICINE AVON SCHOLAR FOR CANCER CONTROL UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA SCHOOL OF MEDICINE UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA COMPREHENSIVE CANCER CENTER

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5