Customer Reviews for

Eat to Live: The Amazing Nutrient-Rich Program for Fast and Sustained Weight Loss, Revised Edition

Average Rating 4
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

WOW, so simple to lose weight on this plant-based diet. With t

WOW, so simple to lose weight on this plant-based diet.

With the amount of books written on diet plans, the amount of diet centers, and the endless advertising of diet pills, one would think that America would be a society of healthy people free of disease and at thei...
WOW, so simple to lose weight on this plant-based diet.

With the amount of books written on diet plans, the amount of diet centers, and the endless advertising of diet pills, one would think that America would be a society of healthy people free of disease and at their optimal weight. Instead,there has been a rise in overweight and obese peoplein the United States. Dr. Fuhrman’s research shows, “In spite of the more than $110 million consumers spend every dayon diets and "reducing" programs (more than $40 billion per year),Americans are the most obese people in history”.

Eat to Live (ETL) offers a different outlook on eating. It comesacross in a gentle way without suggesting a strict diet and exercise program to lose weight. Best of all, this isn’t a “get skinny quick” sell. It is based on doing what so many in the diet industry failed to do – give you a life plan for health AND weight loss. It also describes some of the common diets that Americans may have tried, or all still on, and why these diets are “fad diets” and DON’T WORK! These diets are for the short-term, not the long-term.

ETL showed me how the Standard American Diet (SAD) has caused only an increase in the rate of disease and overweight people, with the most common disease being heart disease. It’s so sad to think that this disease is no longer one suffered in old age – the young are also having heart attacks. This is because our children are eating processed foods and high quantities of meat and dairy products.

The new approach to a true lifestyle change introduced in this bookas the formula, H=N/C, which is Health equals Nutrient/Calories, or “health predicted by your nutrient intake divided by your intake of calories”. In other words, there is no limit to what you eat when you make good food choices, which is vegetables, fruits, and beans. That’s it. So simple – so easy.And the best part is that you don’t even have to try and lose weight with this approach, your body will normalize to its desired weight by itself and it will be maintained for your lifetime.

Now, this book is not only about losing weight, but offers an approach that will also keep you healthy or remedy an unhealthy situation that you may be living with. That is the true message - Living a long and healthy life free from common diseases caused by SAD, such as cancer, heart conditions, arthritis, and diabetes.

There are tons of documented research examples in ETL to justify why every American ought to switch to a plant-based diet. There is no denying the evidence. It is all there. The book contains an easy start guide to changing your eating style with:
-A six day eating plan
-A shopping list that you can use after your six days of detoxing.
-Various recipes that are delicious!

It’s amazing the type meals you can create without high fat protein, dairy, and eggs.

I highly recommend ETL for anyone that is suffering from a disease, or who wants to start living a healthy life. It is your choice, but I would encourage you to read this book as it will change your mind on what you consume. Dr. Fuhrman has also come out with a revised edition of Eat to Live, which is on the New York Times Best Seller list right now, because of his recent appearance on the Dr. Oz show.

So leave behind the toxicity and enjoy a long healthy life, you will be glad you did. I am.

Lovingly,

JP Richards
Founder and CEO of wwwDotMettaMealsDotcom
The Easiest and Healthiest Way to Adopt a Plant-Based Diet

posted by JP--of--MettaMealsDotcom on November 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

It does work but not realistic to keep meat out of your diet for so long. Was able to keep on diet for 3months before introducing meat back into diet. Lost a lot of weight in three months. Love the idea behind this way of life though.

posted by 6032220 on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW, so simple to lose weight on this plant-based diet. With t

    WOW, so simple to lose weight on this plant-based diet.

    With the amount of books written on diet plans, the amount of diet centers, and the endless advertising of diet pills, one would think that America would be a society of healthy people free of disease and at their optimal weight. Instead,there has been a rise in overweight and obese peoplein the United States. Dr. Fuhrman’s research shows, “In spite of the more than $110 million consumers spend every dayon diets and "reducing" programs (more than $40 billion per year),Americans are the most obese people in history”.

    Eat to Live (ETL) offers a different outlook on eating. It comesacross in a gentle way without suggesting a strict diet and exercise program to lose weight. Best of all, this isn’t a “get skinny quick” sell. It is based on doing what so many in the diet industry failed to do – give you a life plan for health AND weight loss. It also describes some of the common diets that Americans may have tried, or all still on, and why these diets are “fad diets” and DON’T WORK! These diets are for the short-term, not the long-term.

    ETL showed me how the Standard American Diet (SAD) has caused only an increase in the rate of disease and overweight people, with the most common disease being heart disease. It’s so sad to think that this disease is no longer one suffered in old age – the young are also having heart attacks. This is because our children are eating processed foods and high quantities of meat and dairy products.

    The new approach to a true lifestyle change introduced in this bookas the formula, H=N/C, which is Health equals Nutrient/Calories, or “health predicted by your nutrient intake divided by your intake of calories”. In other words, there is no limit to what you eat when you make good food choices, which is vegetables, fruits, and beans. That’s it. So simple – so easy.And the best part is that you don’t even have to try and lose weight with this approach, your body will normalize to its desired weight by itself and it will be maintained for your lifetime.

    Now, this book is not only about losing weight, but offers an approach that will also keep you healthy or remedy an unhealthy situation that you may be living with. That is the true message - Living a long and healthy life free from common diseases caused by SAD, such as cancer, heart conditions, arthritis, and diabetes.

    There are tons of documented research examples in ETL to justify why every American ought to switch to a plant-based diet. There is no denying the evidence. It is all there. The book contains an easy start guide to changing your eating style with:
    -A six day eating plan
    -A shopping list that you can use after your six days of detoxing.
    -Various recipes that are delicious!

    It’s amazing the type meals you can create without high fat protein, dairy, and eggs.

    I highly recommend ETL for anyone that is suffering from a disease, or who wants to start living a healthy life. It is your choice, but I would encourage you to read this book as it will change your mind on what you consume. Dr. Fuhrman has also come out with a revised edition of Eat to Live, which is on the New York Times Best Seller list right now, because of his recent appearance on the Dr. Oz show.

    So leave behind the toxicity and enjoy a long healthy life, you will be glad you did. I am.

    Lovingly,

    JP Richards
    Founder and CEO of wwwDotMettaMealsDotcom
    The Easiest and Healthiest Way to Adopt a Plant-Based Diet

    74 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    WOW, so simple to lose weight on this plant-based diet With the

    WOW, so simple to lose weight on this plant-based diet
    With the amount of books written on diet plans, the amount of diet centers, and the endless advertising of diet pills, one would think that America would be a society of healthy people free of disease and at their optimal weight. Instead,there has been a rise in overweight and obese peoplein the United States. Dr. Fuhrman’s research shows, “In spite of the more than $110 million consumers spend every dayon diets and "reducing" programs (more than $40 billion per year),Americans are the most obese people in history”.

    Eat to Live (ETL) offers a different outlook on eating. It comesacross in a gentle way without suggesting a strict diet and exercise program to lose weight. Best of all, this isn’t a “get skinny quick” sell. It is based on doing what so many in the diet industry failed to do – give you a life plan for health AND weight loss. It also describes some of the common diets that Americans may have tried, or all still on, and why these diets are “fad diets” and DON’T WORK! These diets are for the short-term, not the long-term.

    ETL showed me how the Standard American Diet (SAD) has caused only an increase in the rate of disease and overweight people, with the most common disease being heart disease. It’s so sad to think that this disease is no longer one suffered in old age – the young are also having heart attacks. This is because our children are eating processed foods and high quantities of meat and dairy products.

    The new approach to a true lifestyle change introduced in this bookas the formula, H=N/C, which is Health equals Nutrient/Calories, or “health predicted by your nutrient intake divided by your intake of calories”. In other words, there is no limit to what you eat when you make good food choices, which is vegetables, fruits, and beans. That’s it. So simple – so easy.And the best part is that you don’t even have to try and lose weight with this approach, your body will normalize to its desired weight by itself and it will be maintained for your lifetime.

    Now, this book is not only about losing weight, but offers an approach that will also keep you healthy or remedy an unhealthy situation that you may be living with. That is the true message - Living a long and healthy life free from common diseases caused by SAD, such as cancer, heart conditions, arthritis, and diabetes.

    There are tons of documented research examples in ETL to justify why every American ought to switch to a plant-based diet. There is no denying the evidence. It is all there. The book contains an easy start guide to changing your eating style with:
    ¿ A six day eating plan
    ¿ A shopping list that you can use after your six days of detoxing.
    ¿ Various recipes that are delicious!

    It’s amazing the type meals you can create without high fat protein, dairy, and eggs.

    I highly recommend ETL for anyone that is suffering from a disease, or who wants to start living a healthy life. It is your choice, but I would encourage you to read this book as it will change your mind on what you consume. Dr. Fuhrman has also come out with a revised edition of Eat to Live, which is on the New York Times Best Seller list right now, because of his recent appearance on the Dr. Oz show.

    So leave behind the toxicity and enjoy a long healthy life, you will be glad you did. I am.

    JP Richards
    Founder and CEO of mettamealsdotcom
    The Easiest & Healthiest Way to Adopt a Plant-Based Diet

    63 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Highly recommended for anyone who is overweight or has diabetes, high blood pressure, etc

    The information in this book is wonderful. Dr. Fuhrman offers what seems like simple advice: "high nutrient" eating, but also explains what foods to eat and what foods aren't really healthy that some might normally think of as healthy. The recipes are so wonderful (so are the ones in his book about feeding children right). I have been eating like this for about 8 weeks and have lost about 20 pounds. (the more you have to lose the faster it comes off though). I am finally down to what is considered a normal BMI!... but I am staying on Fuhrman's plan for life. The six week plan is more strict than just "Eating to live" and I have read Furhman's other books too... of course he explains everything so well.. it is worth the read. Kudos to you Dr. F!

    56 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    It's been 12 months. I weighed 226 lbs. The doctor was going to put me on blood pressure medication. I now weigh 169lbs. No medication. For $9; what have you got to lose?

    45 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    I THOUGHT I KNEW HOW TO EAT... UNTIL I READ THIS BOOK

    I don't understand how a previous reviewer can just minimize this book to say that it's just about eating more fruits and veggies, and that we knew this 30 years ago. I think that's insulting to the life changing information in this book. I like many have read up over the years, and knew (or thought I knew) how to eat right. I was never a fast food/junk eater, not a snacker, didn't eat late, cooked most meals, loved fruits and veggies, etc.. But I turned to this book because what I thought I knew was not working. Since I have read this book, I have talking about it to and buying copies of this book for so many people. It is changing my health as we speak, and I want to spread the word. Yes, it does suggest a mostly vegetarian lifestyle. But that doesn't mean I will stop eating animal protein. It just made me want to eat much less, and get my protein from vegetables and beans. We are all responsible for our own bodies, and the information that Dr. Fuhrman provides gives you better guidelines in such a well written, informative, riveting format. It is a completely doable lifestyle change and you will never have to go on a gimmick diet again. This book is condusive to mindful eating, and if everyone thought more before they put something into their bodies, we would all have better health.

    42 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    It works and Fast!

    This plan is easy to follow. Eat a lot of food and lose the weight and get healthy. This plan saved my life by getting my heart and liver in a normal healthy state. I recommend this book and plan to everybody. Then information in this book is true and well reasearched and/ or proven through studies.

    36 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    This works, Highly recommend!!

    In 1 month I have lost 20 lbs. I have not started exercising so this weight loss is from the change in diet only. My health has improved, I feel great, and I have alot more energy. Sticking to this way of eating has not been hard for me at all, after a few days I adjusted and I do not crave all the unhealthy processed food that surrounds my everyday life.

    You are what you eat, and now I am full of healthy fruits and veg and I feel better than ever. I recommend this diet, it has been extremely successful and easy to follow for me.

    28 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    It does work but not realistic to keep meat out of your diet for so long. Was able to keep on diet for 3months before introducing meat back into diet. Lost a lot of weight in three months. Love the idea behind this way of life though.

    21 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Everyone Should Read This!

    You don't have to follow the diet explicitly to see results. Take the information and do research as well. There is evidence in many books to support what Dr. Fuhrman has published. People need to be aware of where their food comes from and the harm we are doing to ourselves everyday that we decide to go through McDonald's instead of eating a healthy lunch made at home. A great companion to this is the movie Food, Inc.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Save your money....

    Salad, veggies and fruit. We knew this 30 years ago. Dissapoined.

    20 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    I like the book, but not on the nook.

    The Furman plan is logical, but may be hard to "stick to". Also, it is very difficult to read the charts, tables, and graphs with nook format. I would give the book a higher rating if it were not so hard to disiminate certain content. Better to purchase the hardback.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Not realistic for me

    I really enjoyed this book and while I thought this woukd be easy to do, it was extremely difficult. No matter how much I ate (fruits/veggies) I was not satisfied without protein (meat) and dairy. I will be trying to follow the guidelines that allow for those additions and hope to still see some benefits.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Great book

    This book was recommended by a friend. Dr. Furhman provides the scientific side of food, benefits of eating clean. The scientific part was a little hard to understand but made sense in the end. He explains what your body will experience and when I started this diet it was amazing how right on he was. Of the all the diet/lifestyle change books I've tried, Eat To Live is hands down the best informative book and guideline to follow. You just have to be motivated amd stick to your goals.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    The whole truth

    This is serious stuff for serious people. It is simple and direct. A game changer. Revolutionary!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Knee Pain

    Also recommend "Treat Your Own Knee Arthritis" if you have knee pain that keeps you from exercising.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    EVERYONE SHOULD READ!!!!!

    I'm serious, this book has the power to save lives. It's information everyone should know. If you are trying to lose weight, Dr. Fuhrman teaches you the secret: get healthy. It's not about dieting, or quick fixes, or magic solutions. It's eating for optimal health. When you do that, the RESULTS are truly magical. He teaches you exactly how to eat and WHY. Knowing the science behind his plan is very powerful. I can't reccomend this book enough.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    I lost 30 pounds over a year ago just using Dr. Fuhrman's recom

    I lost 30 pounds over a year ago just using Dr. Fuhrman's
    recommendation of eating "more fruits and vegetables to crowd out
    unhealthy things". I have bought about a dozen copies for other
    people as gifts. This is just common (or not so common) sense. It's
    not about losing weight; it's about getting to a healthy state. It may
    take a while to incorporate everything he says into my life, but so far
    I have had outstanding results. I also liked the fact that he backs up
    everything he says with evidence from studies.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Great ideas

    This book had too many scientific facts, but the ideas are life changing. I started my vegan diet two days ago and dont't plan on quitting. Ever.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    A. good maybe

    This was an interesting read. But it still left me with a lot of doubt and I will have to do more research before I become a convert.

    8 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE

    I watched Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead and discovered Dr. Furhman. I completed a 10 day juice fast and read Eat to Live during that time. I knew I was going to continue to stay healthy, and Eat to Live set me on the right path to do so. I live by Dr. Furhman's word and strictly stick to the diet suggested in the book. I have lost 45 lbs in two months and hope to remain vegan the rest of my life. Dr. Furhman cut me loose of the American diet and thank him for that.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12