Customer Reviews for

Eat to Live: The Amazing Nutrient-Rich Program for Fast and Sustained Weight Loss, Revised Edition

Average Rating 4
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

73 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

WOW, so simple to lose weight on this plant-based diet. With t

WOW, so simple to lose weight on this plant-based diet.

With the amount of books written on diet plans, the amount of diet centers, and the endless advertising of diet pills, one would think that America would be a society of healthy people free of disease and at thei...
WOW, so simple to lose weight on this plant-based diet.

With the amount of books written on diet plans, the amount of diet centers, and the endless advertising of diet pills, one would think that America would be a society of healthy people free of disease and at their optimal weight. Instead,there has been a rise in overweight and obese peoplein the United States. Dr. Fuhrman’s research shows, “In spite of the more than $110 million consumers spend every dayon diets and "reducing" programs (more than $40 billion per year),Americans are the most obese people in history”.

Eat to Live (ETL) offers a different outlook on eating. It comesacross in a gentle way without suggesting a strict diet and exercise program to lose weight. Best of all, this isn’t a “get skinny quick” sell. It is based on doing what so many in the diet industry failed to do – give you a life plan for health AND weight loss. It also describes some of the common diets that Americans may have tried, or all still on, and why these diets are “fad diets” and DON’T WORK! These diets are for the short-term, not the long-term.

ETL showed me how the Standard American Diet (SAD) has caused only an increase in the rate of disease and overweight people, with the most common disease being heart disease. It’s so sad to think that this disease is no longer one suffered in old age – the young are also having heart attacks. This is because our children are eating processed foods and high quantities of meat and dairy products.

The new approach to a true lifestyle change introduced in this bookas the formula, H=N/C, which is Health equals Nutrient/Calories, or “health predicted by your nutrient intake divided by your intake of calories”. In other words, there is no limit to what you eat when you make good food choices, which is vegetables, fruits, and beans. That’s it. So simple – so easy.And the best part is that you don’t even have to try and lose weight with this approach, your body will normalize to its desired weight by itself and it will be maintained for your lifetime.

Now, this book is not only about losing weight, but offers an approach that will also keep you healthy or remedy an unhealthy situation that you may be living with. That is the true message - Living a long and healthy life free from common diseases caused by SAD, such as cancer, heart conditions, arthritis, and diabetes.

There are tons of documented research examples in ETL to justify why every American ought to switch to a plant-based diet. There is no denying the evidence. It is all there. The book contains an easy start guide to changing your eating style with:
-A six day eating plan
-A shopping list that you can use after your six days of detoxing.
-Various recipes that are delicious!

It’s amazing the type meals you can create without high fat protein, dairy, and eggs.

I highly recommend ETL for anyone that is suffering from a disease, or who wants to start living a healthy life. It is your choice, but I would encourage you to read this book as it will change your mind on what you consume. Dr. Fuhrman has also come out with a revised edition of Eat to Live, which is on the New York Times Best Seller list right now, because of his recent appearance on the Dr. Oz show.

So leave behind the toxicity and enjoy a long healthy life, you will be glad you did. I am.

Lovingly,

JP Richards
Founder and CEO of wwwDotMettaMealsDotcom
The Easiest and Healthiest Way to Adopt a Plant-Based Diet

posted by JP--of--MettaMealsDotcom on November 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

It does work but not realistic to keep meat out of your diet for so long. Was able to keep on diet for 3months before introducing meat back into diet. Lost a lot of weight in three months. Love the idea behind this way of life though.

posted by 6032220 on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE

    I watched Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead and discovered Dr. Furhman. I completed a 10 day juice fast and read Eat to Live during that time. I knew I was going to continue to stay healthy, and Eat to Live set me on the right path to do so. I live by Dr. Furhman's word and strictly stick to the diet suggested in the book. I have lost 45 lbs in two months and hope to remain vegan the rest of my life. Dr. Furhman cut me loose of the American diet and thank him for that.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    My life-long habit starts here

    I want to stop following traditional American ways of eating. I want to reverse cancer, inflammation, cholesterol, weight gain,depression...and I have found that this is my solution...for LIFE.
    At first, a person might get overwhelmed and feel like the book is too strict. But it really is the true way to nourish God's temple..within your body. I never feel hungry, given the fact that fruits and vegetables are encouraged in abundance.
    The first week I felt headache y, only because I missed all the salt, sugar, and caffeine I was putting into myself. But after that...I could get up for work easier,I could endure long hours effortlessly, and maintain a steady energy supply, and happier mood.
    I really recommend this book. It will change lives.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    I had changed my diet 5 years ago to more beans, veges, nuts and

    I had changed my diet 5 years ago to more beans, veges, nuts and grains. My husband made fun of me and ended up with stage 3 colon cancer last year. I got him eating more fuits and vegetables during chemo and doctors were amazed at his progress. I ordered Eat to Live. My husband made fun of me. Good thing I read it because I was getting away from nutrient rich foods. My husband has embrased this lifestyle so he will not get cancer again. Love all the information and studies. Oh, his doctors never once talked nutrition with him, go firgure!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Reader

    Every women should be following this diet. He talks about the gbomds that are so important in everybodys diet. This diet makes you think about whats really in foods we eat everyday. Great information, thank you Dr. Furhman.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    blah-blah-blah

    Saw Dr Fuhrman on Dr Oz, and since I love fruit & veggies, thot this would be a great book for me. I have to skip thru a lot of case studies (sorry, I don't care to read how 400 lb lady lost 275 lbs...whatever) and lots of scientific charts, etc. Really, anyone who wants to lose weight and get healthy has read all this info ad nauseam, we just want the nitty gritty: tell me what to eat and give me recipes. I'm still reading it, hope he gets to the point soon! I glad I had gift card to pay for this, wouldn't have wasted my $10.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    Changed my life!

    Unless you've followed the nutritional program described in this book, you cannot adequately review this book.

    I have lost 11 pounds in less than one month. BUT, the biggest change though has been a significant reduction in joint & muscle pain. My blood pressure is now running around 116/68 instead of 140/80 without any medication. I have not have my blood work done yet; that it still a few weeks away, but I'm expecting good things.

    I read "Eat to Live" to improve my health and losing weight was just a very nice side affect. This is a new way of life for me and something I can continue to live with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Life Changing

    This book has absolutely changed my life. After I completely read this book I decided to put it to the test and have lost 10+ pounds in three to four weeks, plus I have lowered my cholesterole-sugar-sodium and triglycerides levels. I have learned to eat nutritious foods, not delicious foods.
    I feel lighter, more satisfied-less hungry and healthy. I eat fish and meat (turkey-chicken) only once a week pan grilled or baked not fried.
    I recommend this book to anyone who is struggling with health issues such as obesity, high blood pressure, high cholesterole, and high sugar. But you must commit to yourself to get healthier by eating nutritious food and exercising. I hope you will read this book and let it change your life too as it has mine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great book easy to follow

    This book puts all the myths aside. Food choices are available at the grocery store. And there are no portions. Fruit, vegetables and nuts are major source of your food intake.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Not for me

    Save your money. I found some good information scattered in between him telling me everything will cause cancer.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Eating Habits

    I'm almost done reading this on my NOOK and find that I am really paying attention to what I eat. So many facts about the vegies I always loved but didn't know the goodness (vitamins and minerals) that really was in them! I'm eating more fruit than before and although I like fruit, was never a big fan. Always ate more vegies. Now tho...more fruit and even more vegies and I really do feel better. I seem to be sleeping better and some arthritis seems to be less painful. It will be a process to weed out some of the things I grew up eating without thought but it will take time and mindful thinking... I have recommended this already to others. Enjoying and highlighting lots of information!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Answer to America's Obesity/Health Crisis

    Fuhrman debunks the dairy and meat lobby's claims that consuming them is essential to robust good health. Quite the contrary - and he has the science to prove it. Very convincing. Perhaps a plant based diet is the way to go for a longer, healthier life with energy from the sun transformed through plant foods. Reading this book has changed how I eat as I continue to make changes and see first hand what a positive difference they are making in my waistline, energy, and Overall wellbeing. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Anonymous

    Everyone should read eat to live. Dr. Furhman will change your life in 3 easy steps. 1. Buy the book 2. Read the book 3. Make the commintment. It is an amazing book that changed my life. Your sucsess is garunteed! Long live Dr. Furhman!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Simplicity!

    Great book full of great info.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Read years ago

    Great theories limited recipes

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Must Read

    As I have told all of my family and friends - everyone should read this book and do what they want with the information. At least then everyone will be making more informed choices on how they are providing their bodies with nutrients.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Jaysoar

    Great! Now I feel bad for Seafleur for losing Wolfkit. Can you add a kit name Jaggedkit? He is dark brown with white paws and green eyes. He will always be with Seafleur and he was captured by the same group of cats when they attack EdenClan.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Love this book! Very informative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended!! Certainly worth a try!

    Easy read and very practical advice and even includes recipes that are healthy, easy to make, and yummy! I immediately starting changing some of my eating habits and have lost 6 lbs in 10 days! If you like vegetables and fruit....you will like this! No measuring amounts...just lots of vegetables and fruit, and some nuts! Many interesting recipes to create some satisfying different meals!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    CHECK it out!

    Great book. I have told many friends about this book, and they had the same enjoyment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Read it

    Not gonna lie it is not easy. Changing your diet never is. I just read it and am starting to embrace a diet with less meat n oils. Essentially this is a vegan diet and u have to learn recipes cause the recipes n the book arent that great. The knowledge in this book is worth reading and it makes perfect sense. Small investment compared to other weightloss programs. This is actually a true lifestyle change not a eating program.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12