Customer Reviews for

Eaters of the Dead

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beowulf for modern audiences

It would seem the other reviewers failed to read the author's notes. Ibn Fadlan did write an account of his trip to Russia to see Vikings in A.D. 921 but Michael Crichton (on a dare!) fused that into a fictional retelling of Beowulf to make it exciting and accessible fo...
It would seem the other reviewers failed to read the author's notes. Ibn Fadlan did write an account of his trip to Russia to see Vikings in A.D. 921 but Michael Crichton (on a dare!) fused that into a fictional retelling of Beowulf to make it exciting and accessible for modern readers. The fictional, pedantic manuscript we read is his artistic device. The majority of the book is not an ancient manuscript but a clever novel masquerading as an ancient manuscript. But all in all, I loved the book and the movie!

posted by Anonymous on September 28, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Why Rehash Beowulf?

I was looking forward to reading a history, made into a story, that would cast a new perspective on an ancient race. Instead I was stuck reading a rehashed version of Beowulf. Very disappointed

posted by MsSea on November 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    Not Bad

    This book was not a great book but it was worth reading. The book as always was I thought better than the movie which wasn't that bad of a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2000

    as always

    This book has a deep history information about my fathers but its not good enough to be a bestseller because its feels like a history book not a thriller as the old books of michael crichton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2000

    Thank GOD I saw the movie first

    Eaters of the Dead is an incredible story! I loved reading about how ibn Fadlan with his middle eastern culture and sense of morals interacts in the society of the northmen which is all so new and primitive to him. I can hardly believe the movie came from the book! The action and adventure were exciting but the most interesting was the northmen culture. It's too bad they left it out of the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2000

    This book left me wanting a sequal--soon!

    Usually I read the book first, then see the movie. Not this time. I was not disappointed. 'The 13th Warrior,' movie starring Antonio Bandaras stays very faithful to the book by Michael Crichton. Both are based on a true story taken from the writings of an Arab courtier Ahmad Ibn Fadlan who, back in A.D. 921, was sent by the Caliph of Bagdad to be an ambassador to the King of the Bulgars. Ibn Fadlan had the bad luck to have caught the eye of a beautiful Arab woman who was the young wife of an old and very rich merchant. The merchant complained to the Caliph and wanted Ibn Fadlan banished to some far off and hostile land. While on his way to his new post, this highly refined, educated Arab poet encounters a band of Viking warriors and gets caught up in a horrific quest traveling to Scandinavia with them to save the people of a remote kingdom from a terrifying enemy. The movie and the book give a wonderful look at the contrasts of these two utterly different cultures. Bandaras delivers a stellar performance as the Arab scholar trying to maintain his dignity under some extraordinarily difficult circumstances. Ibn Fadlan finds the Vikings' crude, vulgar, violent and sometimes blatantly sexual customs and personal habits almost more than he can endure, but he does so with a quiet and sometimes comical dignity that makes him all the more likeable. He comes to respect and even like these giant Northmen, especially their brave leader Buliwyf. Once Ibn Fadlan and the Northmen begin their journey together, the action is almost nonstop. The book is done in Ibn Fadlan's voice in narrative style. It is a rather matter-of-fact diary of his travels. But don't let that deter you. It is a fascinating read and one of the earliest and most accurate eye-witness accounts of ancient Viking life. The greatest shock comes at the end of the book when we finally get a detailed description of 'the Eaters of the Dead.' I hope Crichton is planning a sequal about this remarkable and resourceful Arab poet, Ahmad Ibn Fadlan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2000

    Great Book!

    This was a great page turner, that is amazing because it is true. It also was an insight into the Vikings lifestyle, traditions, and how they viewed life. READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    Very interesting.

    I read this book some time ago. It got me very interested in Arabic literature and the history of the Khazars. Ibn Fadlin's trip to Scandinavia is not histtorical. The movie 'The Thirteenth Warrior' is based on this historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    A masterpiece

    This book is the best that I have ever read. I usually start to get tired when I read, but this was so good that I would stay up all night to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2000

    Timeless Classic

    This is the best book i ever read and the cool thing is all of the story is true. If you like adventure books this is the book for you. It's about an Arab named Ibn Fadlan who encounters Vikings and must go to their home country and he must fight an enemy that comes without warning. You can't describe how you feel while you read this because the feeling is indescribeable. It is rather violent though, so don't be suprised if you think it's rather gruesome. This is the best story ever written and that's nothing but the truth, if i was 100 years old I would read this, it is an incredible story. Read this book you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2000

    Awesome adventure

    This book was very addicting, i think that i read it in like two hours total i highly recomend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2000

    Timeless Classic

    An incredible book, if you like adventure books you'll love this. This is a masterpiece. Even the intro about the history of the manuscript is interesting. It's about Ibn Fadlan and how the Northmen take him back to their country to battle the nameless evil that lurks in the mist and eats humans and animals alike. The cool thing is this book is all a true story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    Best Book that I have read

    This book was outstanding it was one of my favorites and the movie was just as good after you just reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2000

    Great Book

    I thought this book was awesome, it had alot more than just the movie, which was great! Lots of detail. Good Book. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2000

    'FEAR PROFITS A MAN NOTHING!' from the book.

    Besides being a well written book I was fascinated by the fact that Michael Crichton based his work on a translated manuscript of Ibn Fadlan's travells and adventure to the North lands. The most compelling aspect of this manuscript was the description of the wendel, which closely matches those of Neanderthal. Lastly, I highly recomend seeing the movie version and see how Ibn Fadlan finds meaning in his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2000

    The Best.

    Michael Crichton's 'The 13th Warrior' is the greatest book I have read. I loved the movie, and what really got me was the fact that it was based off of an actual manuscript. Michael Crichton is a master story-teller and by far the best author on the market today, this is a must-read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    hasn't anyone noticed....

    This was one of Chricton's earlier works, and one I'd avoided reading. BIG mistake! Although it moves a little slowly at the beginning, it doesn't disappoint. What I've found interesting is no one has noticed that this story is Beowulf!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2000

    WOW

    The best adventure ever. If you want to travel the world read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 6