Customer Reviews for

Eating Animals

Average Rating 4.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

I'm halfway through this book and...

I already know I won't ever eat a chicken again. Now, I'm working on getting eggs out of my diet as well. Even if you think you've read and heard it all about how our factory farms operate, read this book anyway. You will learn something new. I've been an on again, o...
I already know I won't ever eat a chicken again. Now, I'm working on getting eggs out of my diet as well. Even if you think you've read and heard it all about how our factory farms operate, read this book anyway. You will learn something new. I've been an on again, off again vegetarian, (like the author) and after I'm finished with this book, it will be very hard to be even a casual meat eater. It may just turn me vegan! I also love the fact that he takes both sides of the argument by including letters from the people that work at factory farms, but really, I don't believe feeding the world has to destroy it. Americans eat too much meat, plain and simple. That's why we have a lot more disease and obesity in this country than anywhere else in the world. The Western diet is the most unhealthy, disease promoting diet on the planet, and yet people are so unwilling to change. Find out the facts and do what feels right to you. I think it's funny to live in a country where if you mention you don't eat meat, people get angry with you and wonder what your problem is. Now I know those people just feel guilty or feel like I'm quietly criticizing them.

We have to be conscious eaters or we will be unhealthy. Mr. Foer has done loads of research and all we have to do is read this book. Highly recommend this book!

posted by phishy73 on December 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Informative

Most of us have read, seen, or heard people talk about Food, Inc. This book is on the same wavelength. The author investigates farming factories to learn how animals are raised, processed, and packaged. What he uncovers is quite disturbing, sad, and disgusting, hence...
Most of us have read, seen, or heard people talk about Food, Inc. This book is on the same wavelength. The author investigates farming factories to learn how animals are raised, processed, and packaged. What he uncovers is quite disturbing, sad, and disgusting, hence my current vegetarian status. Everyone should learn about American factory farms, what's happening to these animals, and what our bodies have been allegedly absorbing, all starting in the late 80's, early 90's and increasingly worsening into the present day. The downside to this book is his memoir style of writing that looks into the food culture of his past and his values for his nutrition and his family's. I couldn't help but ask myself on many occasions, who cares? But, I guess it's good to see his motivation and passion. The bottom line is that the book presents practically inarguable facts that should be life changing, if you're willing to go there.

posted by Erica_Elle on January 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'm halfway through this book and...

    I already know I won't ever eat a chicken again. Now, I'm working on getting eggs out of my diet as well. Even if you think you've read and heard it all about how our factory farms operate, read this book anyway. You will learn something new. I've been an on again, off again vegetarian, (like the author) and after I'm finished with this book, it will be very hard to be even a casual meat eater. It may just turn me vegan! I also love the fact that he takes both sides of the argument by including letters from the people that work at factory farms, but really, I don't believe feeding the world has to destroy it. Americans eat too much meat, plain and simple. That's why we have a lot more disease and obesity in this country than anywhere else in the world. The Western diet is the most unhealthy, disease promoting diet on the planet, and yet people are so unwilling to change. Find out the facts and do what feels right to you. I think it's funny to live in a country where if you mention you don't eat meat, people get angry with you and wonder what your problem is. Now I know those people just feel guilty or feel like I'm quietly criticizing them.

    We have to be conscious eaters or we will be unhealthy. Mr. Foer has done loads of research and all we have to do is read this book. Highly recommend this book!

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    This book goes to the heart of the debate about how we treat ourselves , animals and the earth at large.Eating Animals is characteristic of Foer's ability to both show empathy and clarity in what could be a diatribe.

    I highly recommend this book for anyone. Even those who already think they are on the writers side will be moved. Hopefully this book will wake up others to the dire problem we are living in.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Informative, but told like a Story.

    I can't tell you how surprised i was that in the beginning Foer dedicates a whole chapter to the story of his childhood and his grandmother. I'm nearly done with the book, and i actually finding myself wishing it would be longer. What i like about it is that he mingles with the gritty facts a witty humor and pairs them against touching stories and truthful insights. He shows the story from all sides. He looks at the subject of eating animals as a verb (the action of our eating them) and as a adj+noun pair (the animals that we eat). And he asks the vital questions in non-confrontational ways. We can eat meat...but does that mean we should? He guides you through his mindset of how he became a vegetarian with facts. Its almost like you're sitting there with him as he tells the story. Uncovering the methods of factory farming is something most of us would rather not do. I have been a vegetarian for a little over 4 months now, and i'm more convinced than ever. Farming used to be an honorable thing. My grandparents did it in their backyards. But just the combination of the words "factory" and "farming" should be enough to show how the scales have been tipped. We are eating mutants, plain and simple. Turkeys can't even reproduce naturally. This book educates you without making you hate the people responsible. Foer interviews many, including ranchers and slaughterhouse managers. He shows the story from their side. He presents us with the question of, "Is it possible to be a conscious omnivore?" (To eat meat that was not factory farmed.) He goes on to say it IS possible, but extremely difficult. All in all, it is a novel much more complex than you would assume. Vegetarian or staunch carnivore, it should be read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    Phenomenal.

    This book was very educational in more ways than one. Not only giving the view point on an animal's life but the view point on the farmer's, too. The research was great and the facts are original, probably the best I've seen in a book. Which is why I would recommend this book to anyone, even if you're not for animal rights just because it is that interesting.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    Pretty Informative

    Most of us have read, seen, or heard people talk about Food, Inc. This book is on the same wavelength. The author investigates farming factories to learn how animals are raised, processed, and packaged. What he uncovers is quite disturbing, sad, and disgusting, hence my current vegetarian status. Everyone should learn about American factory farms, what's happening to these animals, and what our bodies have been allegedly absorbing, all starting in the late 80's, early 90's and increasingly worsening into the present day. The downside to this book is his memoir style of writing that looks into the food culture of his past and his values for his nutrition and his family's. I couldn't help but ask myself on many occasions, who cares? But, I guess it's good to see his motivation and passion. The bottom line is that the book presents practically inarguable facts that should be life changing, if you're willing to go there.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    fabulous read

    Eye opening! I have not eaten meat since I read this book a few months ago. Not for the weak stomach. Some details are horrifying.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Still don't know where your meat is coming from?

    Foer deftly draws the picture of factory farms in 21st century America, and if you've somehow managed to miss all the newspaper articles, news reports, tv shows, websites, etc., about this institutionalized cruelty, do yourself a favor and buy this book. Every American has a right to know about where our food comes from and how that "food" is treated during its life. What I particularly enjoyed about this book is that Foer includes interviews of and essays written by people in the industry; by hog farmers, by slaughterhouse workers, by people raising organic meat - and they make good arguments, too (though I don't mean to mislead you - it's always clear what Foer's opinion is about the matter at hand).

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    Know your food!

    Thank you, Jonathan Safran Foer! My eyes are wide open! I have heard horror stories about factory farms for years, and have always tried to purchase free range family farm products but this book is a real wakeup call for me and hopefully many others. I began reading "Eating Animals" with the intention of learning more about where our food comes from and hopefully learn some ways to use my dollar (as a consumer) to combat the horrific treatment of animals raised for food. What first struck a chord with me is the notion that we are cognizant beings with a choice as to what we eat. Animal flesh is not necessary for our survival but rather a cultural, social, and automatic response for many of us. It goes hand in hand with feelings of acceptance, togetherness, and taste. I had no idea that by the end of this read I would be changing my diet because of it. The information presented is stunningly graphic, uncensored, and real. But, ultimately it is really important and will change the way you think of food. Through education and awareness, we arm ourselves with the tools to make a switch in the way the farming industry in America (and the rest of the world) operates.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    WHAT THE CORPORATE INDUSTRY DOES JUST TO PROVIDE US MEAT TO EAT IS HORRIFIC!

    I'm an animal lover and it was very hard for me to read this book but it has changed my life. I would recommend this book for everyone to read just so they know how unreputable and corrupt the meat industry is.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    I have been vegetarian off and on throughout the years, just lik

    I have been vegetarian off and on throughout the years, just like the author, but it will be hard to ever enjoy meat again. Before I picked up this book I had already set my mind to become vegetarian again, and now my goal now is to become vegan. but this book reveals the horrid disgusting truth about factory farming and makes you really think about the decisions you make with the food you eat. It is a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    A driving force behind your next meal choice... I’ve read

    A driving force behind your next meal choice...
    I’ve read quite a few books on the animal welfare movement, and Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer is one of my favorites. This book, in summary, analyzes how animal products in the United States are produced and sold to consumers. The author presents the reader with facts about the meat-packing industry, and presents possible solutions to the horrendous conditions exposed in his studies. Unlike many books that address the idea of vegetarianism and veganism, Eating Animals does not brainwash the reader into giving up meat and dairy products. This book is the perfect balance between offering an argument and presenting the facts to go along with it. Safran Foer does not make the reader feel guilty for eating meat, but rather gives them the inspiration, and assistance, to make a change. The amount of evidence that Foer gave to defend his arguments absolutely blew me away. There was no shortage of graphic worker testimonials (those were the driving force behind why I gave up meat), references to government law, and shocking statistics from various censuses. It is quite obvious that the author spent a great amount of time researching and writing this novel. I highly recommend this book to anybody who has a passion for animals and a desire to do their part on the issue of animal rights and animal welfare. It is a must-read for vegetarians and vegans alike, but beware, many situations exposed in this book are very graphic and require a tough stomach. However, the author’s willingness to expose these harsh truths of the food industry is one of the main reasons to read this book. All omnivores definitely should educate themselves about where their meat and dairy products are coming from, so they can make informed decisions that affect the well-being of themselves, their family, and planet earth. This book really opened my eyes- I highly recommend it to anybody who is willing to read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Great Read!

    The very beginning of this novel had me intrigued. I had never really thought about why I ate any sort of animal. It was more or less something taught to me from my parents sort of like putting on a coat before you go out in a snow storm. I thoroughly enjoyed the humor and honest revelations Foer sets out to conquer in this book. I was also surprised at what really goes on behind the scenes in the food industry.

    I found this to be an intriguing read. It really makes you think. I've also walked away with a greater knowledge from both sides of the spectrum.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book but...

    We need to keep in mind one thing. As with any other industry/business, there are good and bad ones. I say that because my own family owned a poultry farm, working for a much larger company (so they would provide the birds/food and come back to pick them up 42-45 days later).

    Compared to the book, it is indeed very accurate BUT at least on our own place, with 7,000 birds, things were definitely not as described (meaning horrendous) as in the book. It was actually pretty good and I would let anyone in to see how the birds were raised/treated. What happend later at the slaughter house, I have no idea and cannot comment on that.

    The main point is simple: if human beings want to eat for no money at all, on the really cheap side, there is no other way to do without the big farming operations. It gets down to you, to decide if you want to pay a premium (like I do) to get your food from small, local producers that raise their animals (poultry, pork, beef) the way it was done 60, 80 years ago.

    What I liked the most is the author, even though he is a vegetarian, does NOT try to brainwash you to become one; all he wants is to show you the facts of farming in America. He leaves it up to you to decide what to do once you have all the information.

    It is a great reading and will definitely make you think twice when shopping at your big chain grocery store.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    The same basis as all other vegetarians

    Over the years, as an avowed omnivore, I have heard many different variations of these arguments. This book simply re-iterated them, and had no other premises. While the writing and research were good, I don't think that this book, or any others like them, will ever force me to change my opinions to becoming a leaf-eater. I do enjoy veggies, but meat is an essential part of the human diet. And personally, if it's cheaper, I don't care where it came from.

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    Should be required reading for all Americans!

    This book was very well written and a big eye opener. I haven't eaten red meat in 12 years and thought I was only eating the "lesser of two evils". This book really opened my eyes to the horrific treatment of all animals, poultry and fish and how we "forget" what we're eating so we don't feel bad about it. I am actively moving to complete vegetarianism after reading this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great

    This book opened my eyes and gave me reasons to be vegan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    This book does not at all fit the description - almost the entir

    This book does not at all fit the description - almost the entire books discusses factory farming and slaughter practices. It only touches briefly on his life and childhood and his relationship with food. I would not recommend this if you ever want to eat meat again. I will likely not eat chicken or turkey again after this and while that is a personal choice and probably a good one, I wish I had come to the choice on my own and not out of pure disgust after reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    A must read for anyone who cares about anything, from your health and your family's health, to the world and its enviroment!

    As i progressed through the book i became increasingly amazed at how rounded the author's evidence is. Not only did his testimonials offer manny dufferent point of views on the subject of the meat industry, but he provided information on so many things related to the meat industry that most people rarely consider. This take on the health risks and enviromental impacts of what we eat is truely thought proviking. I've reccomended ths book to lots of friends and coworkers and especially my family, it really makes you take an informed lifestyle and moral decision.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Powerful

    Heartfelt yet factually supported argument against the status quo

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11