Customer Reviews for

Eating Animals

Average Rating 4.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

I'm halfway through this book and...

I already know I won't ever eat a chicken again. Now, I'm working on getting eggs out of my diet as well. Even if you think you've read and heard it all about how our factory farms operate, read this book anyway. You will learn something new. I've been an on again, o...
I already know I won't ever eat a chicken again. Now, I'm working on getting eggs out of my diet as well. Even if you think you've read and heard it all about how our factory farms operate, read this book anyway. You will learn something new. I've been an on again, off again vegetarian, (like the author) and after I'm finished with this book, it will be very hard to be even a casual meat eater. It may just turn me vegan! I also love the fact that he takes both sides of the argument by including letters from the people that work at factory farms, but really, I don't believe feeding the world has to destroy it. Americans eat too much meat, plain and simple. That's why we have a lot more disease and obesity in this country than anywhere else in the world. The Western diet is the most unhealthy, disease promoting diet on the planet, and yet people are so unwilling to change. Find out the facts and do what feels right to you. I think it's funny to live in a country where if you mention you don't eat meat, people get angry with you and wonder what your problem is. Now I know those people just feel guilty or feel like I'm quietly criticizing them.

We have to be conscious eaters or we will be unhealthy. Mr. Foer has done loads of research and all we have to do is read this book. Highly recommend this book!

posted by phishy73 on December 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Informative

Most of us have read, seen, or heard people talk about Food, Inc. This book is on the same wavelength. The author investigates farming factories to learn how animals are raised, processed, and packaged. What he uncovers is quite disturbing, sad, and disgusting, hence...
Most of us have read, seen, or heard people talk about Food, Inc. This book is on the same wavelength. The author investigates farming factories to learn how animals are raised, processed, and packaged. What he uncovers is quite disturbing, sad, and disgusting, hence my current vegetarian status. Everyone should learn about American factory farms, what's happening to these animals, and what our bodies have been allegedly absorbing, all starting in the late 80's, early 90's and increasingly worsening into the present day. The downside to this book is his memoir style of writing that looks into the food culture of his past and his values for his nutrition and his family's. I couldn't help but ask myself on many occasions, who cares? But, I guess it's good to see his motivation and passion. The bottom line is that the book presents practically inarguable facts that should be life changing, if you're willing to go there.

posted by Erica_Elle on January 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    Phenomenal.

    This book was very educational in more ways than one. Not only giving the view point on an animal's life but the view point on the farmer's, too. The research was great and the facts are original, probably the best I've seen in a book. Which is why I would recommend this book to anyone, even if you're not for animal rights just because it is that interesting.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed the read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Great Read!

    The very beginning of this novel had me intrigued. I had never really thought about why I ate any sort of animal. It was more or less something taught to me from my parents sort of like putting on a coat before you go out in a snow storm. I thoroughly enjoyed the humor and honest revelations Foer sets out to conquer in this book. I was also surprised at what really goes on behind the scenes in the food industry.

    I found this to be an intriguing read. It really makes you think. I've also walked away with a greater knowledge from both sides of the spectrum.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great book, but ebook needs to be improved

    Notes are not linked in the text. Great read though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    just starting...

    ...But already hooked! The first 15 pages flew by (trial version) and I immediately bought it after so I could continue. Can't wait for more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Progress

    Being a huge fan of Jonathan Safran Foer's fiction, I will admit that when I saw his latest title was non fiction and had to to with vegetarianism--I was less than excited. Yet, I decided to give it a try and I will be thankful I took the time for the rest of my life. I had been exposed to the Vegetarian culture earlier in my life, but never imagined I would follow. The way that Foer mixed his own family's stories in with factual evidence created a very convincing case. I brought the book home and my wife and I (both being gigantic animal lovers) decided to make the change. I have never been healthier!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Groundbreaking, but a good introduction

    This book is not groundbreaking, it's not revolutionary, and it won't tell you much more than you already know if you're immersed in the vegan or animal rights movements. However, I think it has a good introductory tone and it will touch people in ways that other, more direct books will not. Safran speaks in a stream of consciousness approach at times, and I often found it a bit tangential, but he eventually makes his way back. He is honest and forthright with his emotions and reactions, and his honesty is appreciated. It's an easy, quick read, and I suggest it for anyone interested in animal rights. You might not learn anything new, but it's always good to brush up, right? It's also a good book for anyone just entering into the realm, so it would make a good gift for that specific someone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    A definite eye-opener

    Jonathan Safran Foer is an incredibly engaging writer. His arguments can appeal to everyone - even members of the anti-PETA crowd will rethink their consumption of animal products, especially those from factory farms, after reading this book. A stunning combination of the environmental, ecological, health and animal welfare impacts of factory farming. I most appreciated that the book was not an attack on meat-eaters, but gave options across the spectrum of adjusting your diet to be more conscious of your environmental footprint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    KNOW THE ORIGINS OF THE FOOD YOU'RE EATING...

    "Eating Animals" is an eye-opener as far as the modern food industry and our own health are concerned. The writer asked himself a simple question "Where does our food come from?" and realized that getting an answer was not as simple as he was expecting. Then he obviously did an extensive and detailed research in order to get the facts together and offered the world an informative and well written book about one of the most crucial aspects of our lives as human beings - eating and the way we do it these days.

    And to say that the facts are shocking might just be an understatement. They made me seriously re-think my supermarket choices (cheap usually means it's NOT good for you), they elevated my ecological awareness and slapped me in the face with monstrous stories about the inhumane treatment of farmed animals. The book also explains the true meaning behind such terms as "all-natural", "wholesome", "organic", "cage-free", "free range" etc. It reveals the huge, state-sponsored machinery behind the food production in America and the way it affects the health and lives of millions of people.

    We are what we eat, someone said before. So read this book and be mindful of what you're feeding yourself and your family with...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    A real eye opener

    This book really makes you think about your food choices. Some deeply disturbing images of how are food is produced.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4