Customer Reviews for

Eating Animals

Average Rating 4.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

I'm halfway through this book and...

I already know I won't ever eat a chicken again. Now, I'm working on getting eggs out of my diet as well. Even if you think you've read and heard it all about how our factory farms operate, read this book anyway. You will learn something new. I've been an on again, o...
I already know I won't ever eat a chicken again. Now, I'm working on getting eggs out of my diet as well. Even if you think you've read and heard it all about how our factory farms operate, read this book anyway. You will learn something new. I've been an on again, off again vegetarian, (like the author) and after I'm finished with this book, it will be very hard to be even a casual meat eater. It may just turn me vegan! I also love the fact that he takes both sides of the argument by including letters from the people that work at factory farms, but really, I don't believe feeding the world has to destroy it. Americans eat too much meat, plain and simple. That's why we have a lot more disease and obesity in this country than anywhere else in the world. The Western diet is the most unhealthy, disease promoting diet on the planet, and yet people are so unwilling to change. Find out the facts and do what feels right to you. I think it's funny to live in a country where if you mention you don't eat meat, people get angry with you and wonder what your problem is. Now I know those people just feel guilty or feel like I'm quietly criticizing them.

We have to be conscious eaters or we will be unhealthy. Mr. Foer has done loads of research and all we have to do is read this book. Highly recommend this book!

posted by phishy73 on December 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Informative

Most of us have read, seen, or heard people talk about Food, Inc. This book is on the same wavelength. The author investigates farming factories to learn how animals are raised, processed, and packaged. What he uncovers is quite disturbing, sad, and disgusting, hence...
Most of us have read, seen, or heard people talk about Food, Inc. This book is on the same wavelength. The author investigates farming factories to learn how animals are raised, processed, and packaged. What he uncovers is quite disturbing, sad, and disgusting, hence my current vegetarian status. Everyone should learn about American factory farms, what's happening to these animals, and what our bodies have been allegedly absorbing, all starting in the late 80's, early 90's and increasingly worsening into the present day. The downside to this book is his memoir style of writing that looks into the food culture of his past and his values for his nutrition and his family's. I couldn't help but ask myself on many occasions, who cares? But, I guess it's good to see his motivation and passion. The bottom line is that the book presents practically inarguable facts that should be life changing, if you're willing to go there.

posted by Erica_Elle on January 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 117 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Do you want to know the truth about what's on your plate?

    Unlike many others who write about this topic (Alicia Silverstone, I'm looking at you), Foer does not set out to convert anyone to vegetarianism. He simply wants people to understand where their food comes from, and how the attitude of "cheap at any cost" is harming our economy, environment, and our health. His tactics are not based on turning your stomach like a PETA ad, and he does not attempt to falsely pass off the worst possible conditions as the rule. The beef slaughterhouse problems, for example, happened on an announced inspection. If the workers have no problem allowing the inspector to see these things, what else is going on that the inspectors don't see? Foer makes every attempt to present a balanced viewpoint by visiting the farms and slaughterhouses with the best conditions, but reinforces with his readers that these are the exceptions, not the rule. If we want our meat to come from acceptable sources, we all have to be willing to make the change.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    eating animals by jonathan safran foer

    eating animals was so on top of information concerning sea life, farm animals, things that you don't ever think of when ordering a plate of shrimp. now, at least the numbers are out there. we can all pause a moment and possibly think first. it's an eye opener.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Eye-Opening

    I cried more than a few times while reading this book.Definitley tuned me into new revelations about our food chain. I thought I knew a fair amount about the subject of farmed-foods, but now I am more informed and on the verge of changing my eating habits in a large way. Eye-opening to say the least and I think every American should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    This is an excellent book for anyone concerned about the animals we eat every day and the contamination of the processed product.

    This is a mind boggling book! i knew some things about how animals were slaughtered, dressed and packed. This was overwhelming. It is not a book for people with weak stomachs, and yes, I would love to become a vegatairan again, but I was one for 2 years for health reasons in my family. I will not do it again, but I will purchase pasture fed animals from local farmers in my area. Yes, it is more expensive. Ple3ase read thi sbook, it is easy to read, and maybe we consumers can change these practices., if all complain to the powers that be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Foer's Eating Animals has changed my life.

    I got this book from the library after hearing the last minute or two of a radio interview with the author. Halfway through the book I realized I had to buy it. I had to own it. I had to be able to refer back to it in the future, and I had to be able to loan it out, to encourage others to read it. I knew, long before I finished the book, that it would change my life. I knew I would either have to make drastic lifestyle changes, or come to terms with a self-image different than that I'd had all my life, a not inconsequential 60 years. If I could find a way to justify eating as I had before I'd read Eating Animals, then I would have to accept that I'm not the person I thought I was.

    I found myself going to the internet frequently for a fact-check, and could not in any instance find a single thing to refute the facts as Foer presented them. His research seems to have been impeccable, his writing style engaging, and the stories he tells inspiring, amusing, and stimulating, in turn.

    Oh yes, I must add, some of the stories he tells are grotesque and very hard to read. But they're real, and it's important that we know them. And then make a conscious choice about what we each, as an individual, will do with that knowledge.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Creating our own stories

    I have been a vegetarian for several years and I guess that my surprise about the facts in the book is that most people aren't aware of them. The difference in this book for me was the approach that Foer takes: What we eat tells us about ourselves, not about what we eat. And, what I feed and do to my child is much more important than what I do for my parents or for myself. As you get past the cruelty of preparing animals for slaughter, his writing about how we create the stories of our lives was the most important part of his book for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    A Shocking Wake Up Call

    This book is an honest and eyeopening analysis of the disgusting practice of animal farming in America, where the animals are stuffed with antibiotics and growth hormones, caged in small waste-infested areas, genetically altered to the point where they are incapable of reproduction, then finally subjected to a savage, brutal, painful death. Anyone will be appalled by the current way we produce our meat products and the utter lack of compassion and care for living creatures by the corporate farmers. The fact that most Americans are entirely oblivious to this situation is also very unsettling, and I highly encourage any thinking, compassionate person to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Loved!,

    Great info delivered in a fun engaging manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    A must read!

    This is a great book for anyone who wants to learn about where their food comes from. I was already a vegetarian before I read this, but if I wasn't, I would have been after reading it. I thought there could have been a little more focus on the dairy industry. Overall this book shines a light on the dark side of the food industry, and the pain and torture inflicted on the animals. As well as the potential harm it will do to humans. It's the type of book that makes you think and question your choices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    An incredibly important manifesto.

    I believe this book should be required reading in all US schools. It's fantastically written and researched, and completely transparent. I couldn't put it down, although at times, I really wished I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 117 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6