BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Echo Burning (Jack Reacher Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 402 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

It had me at Page One. This is another great Jack Reacher and I am obsessed with them. The character is moral, strong, true, good but ready to take on evil and destroy it. Not your typical tough guy, Jack Reacher doesn't offend my sensibilities.

I haven't read these books in any given order and I don't think it matters since the plots don't carry over or leave one hanging. That's a gripe I have with other of series. I've read about five of the Reacher novels and each time I have a hard time putting the guy aw...
I haven't read these books in any given order and I don't think it matters since the plots don't carry over or leave one hanging. That's a gripe I have with other of series. I've read about five of the Reacher novels and each time I have a hard time putting the guy away. I want to read another and another just to be around him ... so to speak. He's a unique character - a drifter I can admire. Echo Burning is about a young, possibly battered married woman in trouble in a small town where the law may as well not exist until she finds Jack Reacher hitch-hiking as usual away to "anywhere". One is quickly led all over Texas from one interesting character to another until the mystery is solved. I can usually figure out who-done-it before the end of a novel but not these. It's always a surprise. Reacher never does what the reader has come to expect from these types of novels. He doesn't sleep with her just to get some. His language is clean - he's obviously educated, even refined in his own way. An ex-military cop, Reacher has the moves that take out the bad guys fast. He describes what he looks for and what to avoid. It's interesting to see how he "reads" people and it's all so true-to-life. Warning: don't start reading just before bed-time!

posted by CassieNY on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

All the Jack Reacher books are excellent and different plots. Recommend reading all of them.

posted by Conrules on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    It had me at Page One. This is another great Jack Reacher and I am obsessed with them. The character is moral, strong, true, good but ready to take on evil and destroy it. Not your typical tough guy, Jack Reacher doesn't offend my sensibilities.

    I haven't read these books in any given order and I don't think it matters since the plots don't carry over or leave one hanging. That's a gripe I have with other of series. I've read about five of the Reacher novels and each time I have a hard time putting the guy away. I want to read another and another just to be around him ... so to speak. He's a unique character - a drifter I can admire. Echo Burning is about a young, possibly battered married woman in trouble in a small town where the law may as well not exist until she finds Jack Reacher hitch-hiking as usual away to "anywhere". One is quickly led all over Texas from one interesting character to another until the mystery is solved. I can usually figure out who-done-it before the end of a novel but not these. It's always a surprise. Reacher never does what the reader has come to expect from these types of novels. He doesn't sleep with her just to get some. His language is clean - he's obviously educated, even refined in his own way. An ex-military cop, Reacher has the moves that take out the bad guys fast. He describes what he looks for and what to avoid. It's interesting to see how he "reads" people and it's all so true-to-life. Warning: don't start reading just before bed-time!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Jack Reacher travels the country with the clothes on his back and a folding toothbrush in his pocket. Hitchhiking through Texas, he's picked up by Carmen Greer, a beautiful Hispanic woman. Although Carmen's husband Sloop Greer is from a rich family, she only has $1.00 in her purse. Her husband's in prison and Carmen hopes he stays there but Sloop's worked out a deal with the federal authorities and is expected home. Carmen's been cruising the streets, looking for someone she can talk into murdering her husband because he physically abused her before he went to prison and she's afraid he'll kill her once free. Reacher agrees to go with Carmen to Sloop's ranch to protect her but tells her he will not commit murder. Just hours after Sloop's home, he's found in his bedroom, shot to death by Carmen's gun. Carmen's arrested and Reacher teams up with a lawyer from the legal mission to find out who really shot Sloop Greer.

    Reacher is one of the best characters written today; a strong man who is comfortable with himself and his own personal scruples. He's a cultured man with intelligence who lives a nomadic, asocial lifestyle and can be brutal without remorse if he feels it's deserved. In Echo Burning, there are plots and subplots which Child ties together nicely, providing a boatload of suspense along the way.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Jack Reacher Stories Always a Pleasure

    Each Jack Reacher Story is different from all the others and stands alone as a great read. Echo Burning is an excellent example.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Yes, I highly recommend this and all Reacher books.

    If you enjoy mystery and suspense, you will enjoy Jack Reacher series.
    They are very entertaining.
    Sometimes they are a little slow getting started, but soon enough you
    can't put it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    3 Stars

    Not my most favorite Jack Reacher Book. Thought it lacked the usual excitement and plot was so much like others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2001

    I Felt the Heat!

    This is Lee Child's best thriller yet. He captures the heat and desolation of southwest Texas in every page. It's the perfect backdrop for Jack Reacher--army major-turned-drifter--to mete out his own brand of absolute justice. Jack Reacher is clever and tough, but it's his hint of vulnerability that keeps him interesting. I loved watching him try to saddle a horse (not his forte) as much as I loved watching him match wits and fists with the shady characters he meets throughout the book. If you're new to the series, start with this one. You won't be able to put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    I started reading the Jack Reacher series from most recent book

    I started reading the Jack Reacher series from most recent book backwards; first time I ever did that. Must say I am glad I did because although I have enjoyed every single book, I find the very first books to be exceptional!!! Could not put the book down it was just so great. Can't wait to read Jack Reacher book #4.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    All Jack Reacher novels are great!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    TO ALL

    STOP FU?CKING ADVERTISING AT HUMAN RPS!!! ADVERTISE AT WARRIORS!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    As always, a very good reading experience.

    Reading a Lee Child book is very satisfying. Reacher is a good man, but strong and mean when he has to be. And moral, which we rarely see. I'm glad I found these books after Mr. Child had written a few, so I didn't have to wait so long to read another. Now I'm caught up, Oh, Dear.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Very Good

    Couldn't put it down, exciting right to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Very Good!

    All the Reacher Series books are great reading. Childs, while a stretch at times, is always exciting and an excellent writer capable of putting out one page turner after another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Echo burning

    Very good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    A great series.

    Too spendy for a book you can buy at any garage/library sale.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Great Read

    Great read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Great book

    I am truly enjoying the Jack Reacher series and this book is awesome. The author creates a vivid picture of the characters and you can't help falling for Reacher. He's a no-nonsense hero!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    highly recommend

    Lee Child is one of my favorite authors, and Jack Reacher does not disappoint once again. This book keeps you guessing...definitely couldn't put it down once I got started.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    one of the best

    This was the first in the "Jack Reacher" series that I had read. Totally captivating and exciting. I love the character. The series is compeling..fast read..and you will find it difficult to put down once you begin. Jack is fiction, but you get so involved, that he becomes believable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Loooooove Lee Child!

    This is one of my all-time favorites novels. I love the setting, the characters, the writing style, everything about it. Jack Reacher is definately one of my favorite series characters; I just adore his personality and the scenarios he finds himself in. Persuader is my favorite Lee Child novel, followed closely by Echo Burning. Running Blind was the first one in the series I read (out of order) and I was instantly hooked. Now I eagerly await each new installment and I read that Child is publishing two books this year! Other authors you might enjoy include: Ross MacDonald (The Big Chill, The Way Some People Die), John D. MacDonald (the Trav McGee series), Ian Fleming (the James Bond series), and Ruth Rendell (End in Tears, Not in the Flesh).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10