Customer Reviews for

Echo Park (Harry Bosch Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Definitely a good read!

I recommend any book by Michael Connolly. I've read them all and very few authors keep me on the edge of my seat like he does. I have yet to read one of his books that I wished I hadn't. I buy each as soon as it comes out. You won't regret reading anything by this autho...
I recommend any book by Michael Connolly. I've read them all and very few authors keep me on the edge of my seat like he does. I have yet to read one of his books that I wished I hadn't. I buy each as soon as it comes out. You won't regret reading anything by this author.

posted by SuspenseJunky on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment!

Having read several books by Connelly, I bought this one expecting something a cut above the usual crime thriller genre. Although the plot is somewhat interesting, the characterizations are weak and there is just too much tough cop talk and unbelievable heroics. The n...
Having read several books by Connelly, I bought this one expecting something a cut above the usual crime thriller genre. Although the plot is somewhat interesting, the characterizations are weak and there is just too much tough cop talk and unbelievable heroics. The narration is not very good, and the personification of the girlfried FBI agent is absolutely grating. The love story is trite and contrived. I did finish it, but it was a chore to get through. Definitely not recommended.

posted by Anonymous on October 20, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely a good read!

    I recommend any book by Michael Connolly. I've read them all and very few authors keep me on the edge of my seat like he does. I have yet to read one of his books that I wished I hadn't. I buy each as soon as it comes out. You won't regret reading anything by this author.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Harry's back and Persistent as ever.

    I was a bit disappointed in the last few Bosch novels but after reading "Echo Park" Michael Connelly and Harry Bosch are back with this excellent and well told tale.

    Harry Bosch has returned from retirement and is now working in the Open Unsolved Unit. The book opens with Harry working on a case that involves the murder of a young beautiful girl. Harry still remains a believable character. He has his flaws but overall he is a pretty decent fellow. In other words he's the same old Harry that I have always enjoyed reading about. Echo Park continues Harry's journey into the dark side of men and once again he gets knocked around, but his persistence keeps him faithfully at doing his job.
    In summary, I give Echo Park a enthusiastic endorsement.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    I got this book after reading the Lincol Lawyer for a school paper.

    It was very suspensfully and excellent ending. I will get another vehicle.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    Good Story

    Yep. I thought I had it solved too. But didn't. My first Connelly book. Dialog was real. Harry was real. Couldn't put it down. More Connelly in my future.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ABSORBING PLOT - TERRIFIC NARRATION

    Lucky Listeners! Whether your preference is for an Abridged editon or the Unabridged version of Michael Connelly's latest electric thriller, both are read by estimable stage, film and television actor Len Cariou. A Tony Award sits on his mantel for his incomparable performance in Sweeney Todd, and his film credits include such hits as About Schmidt, Shall We Dance, and Secret Window. His television perforamces are both acclaimed and numerous - The West Wing, The Practice, Law and Order, and more. It has been said that in suspense author Connelly has no superiors - Len Cariou has none in the dramatic arts. With 'Echo Park' Detective Harry Bosch is back, much to the joy of fans. It's his 12th thriller and neither time nor familiarity has dulled his appeal. One more tribute to Connelly's talents! It's a cold case, the murder of Marie Gesto, one that Bosch hasn't been able to forget. Now, it's obvious that another detective has an interest in the Gesto case. In addition, a man is willing to plead guilty to her death and a number of others in order to avoid the death penalty. Case closed? With Connelly and his pen at the ready - no way. It's a circuitous, fascinating trip to the finish - don't miss it. - Gail Cooke

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    A Great Read...

    I am fairly new to Michael Connelly's books, maybe 18 months or so. However, the Harry Bosch series are my favorite. Although I didn't start them in order, it doesn't seem to matter. I am loving every one of them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Unique twist in the plot with a bit of a surprise at the end.

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading Echo Park. It's one of those books that you don't want to put down. The plot had a unique twist to it and there was a nice balance of drama and comedy. The characters were believable and the reading was easy. I'd never read anything by Michael Connelly before, but I really like his style.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    Does not give credit to the superb story line.

    You can't go wrong with the Harry Bosch series. This is one of the best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Good Detective Murder mystery with a little romance on the side.

    Very compelling story and characters. Would read more from this author along these lines. I like the strong detective with a measure of angst on the side. Sort of the misfit, but the hero that still has a sensitive, romantic side. I like the author's complex development of characters that really adds depth to the stories he tells.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Echo Park rings true!!!

    This my 4th Michael Connelly novel and I enjoyed it very much. The thing I like most is that the plotting is so meticulous; there is no pat ending just because he reached the requisite number of pages. It is plausible and realistic. As you read, you can easily see how Harry and you the reader are thrown by the very cleverly crafted red herrings. The dialog is delighful; these are characters you care about. Read this book. You won't be disappointed.<BR/>If you like books that are well written, edgy and a little out of the main stream, try 18 seconds and samaritan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2006

    What a disappointment!

    Having read several books by Connelly, I bought this one expecting something a cut above the usual crime thriller genre. Although the plot is somewhat interesting, the characterizations are weak and there is just too much tough cop talk and unbelievable heroics. The narration is not very good, and the personification of the girlfried FBI agent is absolutely grating. The love story is trite and contrived. I did finish it, but it was a chore to get through. Definitely not recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2015

    Karl

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2015

    Furytail

    The she cat pads in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2015

    Artic

    She yawned. (

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2015

    Can I join?

    "I'm Bluefur, can I join?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2015

    ThunderClaw

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2015

    MYSTERY

    A tom pads in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2015

    Bluemist

    "Me." She purred.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2015

    Crescendi

    Gtg bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2015

    To juniper

    What is it called?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14