BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

An Echo in the Bone (Outlander Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1418 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(900)

4 Star

(239)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

I was duped! Yea!

I thought "A Breath of Snow and Ashes" was the end. What a pleasant surprise to find out I have another opportunity to get lost in this world again. When I bought "Outlander", the woman behind the counter at Barnes & Noble told me that the book had originally been cat...
I thought "A Breath of Snow and Ashes" was the end. What a pleasant surprise to find out I have another opportunity to get lost in this world again. When I bought "Outlander", the woman behind the counter at Barnes & Noble told me that the book had originally been catagorized as a Romance novel. While I would agree that the relationship between Claire and Jamie is incredibly romantic and then some, there's so much more to to these books. If you haven't read the first six books in this series, read those first. And to further quote the B & N sales lady, "if you're just starting out...I envy you."

posted by DGMDGM on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

74 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Letdown

If you have not yet finished the book, don't read this review!

Like most Outlander fans, I was hotly anticipating this book, but upon finishing it, I felt like I had been led on a lengthy preview of a "real" story still out there waiting. This book entwines several d...
If you have not yet finished the book, don't read this review!

Like most Outlander fans, I was hotly anticipating this book, but upon finishing it, I felt like I had been led on a lengthy preview of a "real" story still out there waiting. This book entwines several different concurrent story lines, yet resolves NONE OF THEM. The book has no conclusion.
All of the books are lengthy, but the first four in the series kept the reader completely engrossed because the actions were fast-paced with a series of mini-climaxes and revelations scattered throughout them, rather than following the traditional you-find-everything-out-at-the-end format. Now, the length is the result of too much useless detail rather than action resulting in too little development following a story twist. Once the story gets interesting, the reader is either disappointed by the extremes of an overly obvious or equally incredulous resolution or none at all. The style that made Gabaldon stand out from her peers has been lost.
Gabaldon's stories have always been somewhat realistic in their unfolding even if unrealistic in their premise. This is why her books have been so popular. In the past, we have seen how difficult it is for Jamie to grasp 20th century concepts, yet Wm. Buccleigh MacKenzie supposedly comes to the 20th century and is not at all concerned with cars, electricity, etc. and is not inclined to fight with anyone he encounters in the future? Claire loses Jamie and in less than a month sleeps with Lord John, yet in Dragonfly, she doesn't sleep with Frank until well after Brianna's birth? And speaking of frank -- she just blurts out "I know these things because I'm really from the future" to Jamie's family and they're just cool with that? My, did things come a long way in those 30 years since she was almost burned at the stake! Additionally, the reader is to believe that Fergus' parentage is suddenly established and he's a part of the French nobility? And Amanda is somehow psychicly linked to Jem? Fans were initially drawn in by the realistic depiction of a 20th century woman trying to live in the 18th century. It didn't take much to make the original story somewhat believable and that's what intrigued readers. Now, it is just too far-fetched to retain the original audience.
This book also contains too many references to Lord John's activities from her other series. How many careers does one English Lord have? Soldier, prison warden, governor, soldier again, spy . . . isn't he the jack of all trades!
Overall, I found this story to be a real letdown both in its lack of realism and its missing conclusion. I feel that Gabaldon has moved away from her original style that made Outlander unique. I waited on pins and needles for four years for this book. I'm not sure if I'll bother with the next one.

posted by DRayne on September 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1431 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 72
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    LOVE Outlander HATE HATE HATE An Echo in the Bone

    I have loved the Outlander books from the beginning. The history, the adventure, the romance...all of it. I loved every page...until this book. It is awful. Its manipulative and the writing style is just nowhere near the previous books. Gabaldon seems to meander her way through the first 3/4 of the books confused and all over the place and then starts to verbally vomit every plot possible. Its ludicrous and enough with JOHN GREY!! and enough with Willie's wandering and really Ian fell in love in about two minutes? really? I wanted to burn this book when I finished but I will continue to read and re read all the previous books over and over and over. I won't be a spoiler but that business at the end with John and Claire was so perverse and so unbelievable. WHat a terrible way to end a book your readers have waited years for.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Everything rolled into one!

    A friend of mine asked me to reccomend a new author and I quickly answered "Diana Gabaldon." "What genre is she?" she asked. I opened my mouth to answer, but closed it again to think. Finally I said " It's like a historically acurate, time travelling, Princess Bride. Fencing, fighting, true love, torture, revenge..." It breaks all the "Genre" rules.
    I read them, re-read them, and they never get old. The passage where Jamie and Claire are reunited after twenty-some years breaks my heart every time!
    Knowing I'll be able to return to that world again, in this next installment, is a great gift.Thank you Diana Gabaldon.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Get This before it sales out BEFORE! publication

    I am a Gabaldon disciple! I have multi-read all her books! I own all of her books,(Hardcopy) along with the narrated CD's! Ive read over one hundred books and keep coming back to re-read them again. I think I just finished the 4th read. I have already pre-ordered this book! Visit her web site for a taste of this next work. You will never find a more compelling story. Diana places her characters into REAL history and places. I live in NC and can walk with the books through my back yard,(so to speak) I will get to Scotland if life allows it! You can read Worldbook to get more details on battles and the real historical people.
    I am an "excerpt reader" and I can tell you this will be as awesome as her other offerings! Brianna, Roger and kids, will expand our love for Diana's work. Can't wait to see if they come back!!??? Willaim! OMG wow! What will Lord John do? And was there something about thinking Jamie dead!!???
    Oh please come the fall! Self containment is next to impossible
    Lady Rebecca

    P.S. Don't pass up the Lord John, books. There are three. L J and the Private Matter. L J and the Brotherhood of the Blade. and L J and the Hand of Devils. He is a spin off from the Outlander books and totally worth every minute of your pleasure.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    I get butterflys thinking of it.....

    I haven't read this installment of Jamie and Claire's story but I have read the other books NUMEROUS times waiting for the NEXT one to come out. Jamie and Claire have been a part of my life from the beginning. My husband and I even traveled to Scotland to trace some of the places in the books, amazing!! I cannot recommend these stories enough.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Fantastic!!!

    I've read a lot of the other reviews and, while I certainly agree that we are left hanging at the end, I can't understand how they find the first half of the book "slow." I think Ms. Gabaldon's writing style has only improved (from what was the best writing I think I'd ever read, even from the first book). The way she develops characters is flawless. The pace and dialogue are flawless. My only complaint would be that the end did feel a bit rushed and then was over so quickly. But for those who did not like the content at the end (don't want to spoil it for those who haven't read it yet, but those of you who have will know what I'm talking about), yeah it's hard to read, but it's sure not predictable and I've certainly learned not to expect the predictable with Ms. Gabaldon's books. It's gritty and sometimes not pretty but that's what I love about this series! If I wanted a cookie-cutter romance, I'd buy a harlequin.

    LOVED IT!!! Can't wait for book 8!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Annoyed (spoilers)

    I was really looking forward to this book...I finished it on Sunday and I'm just annoyed. It felt really rushed at the end. Like the other review all of her books always left with you a satisfied feeling of closure. Not this one. You don't know where Roger is, thankfully she did finally give hints about Jem. I really don't think Jamie would be fine with John having "carnal" knowledge of his wife. And I wouldn't ever think that Claire would just accept Jamie's death so easily and completely. Sigh. On to wait for book 8 and hope that it ends with answers and isn't rushed.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    Hugely Disappointing!!!

    After such a long wait u would think it would rock. It does not! It is like a Lord John book inside of the Jamie and Claire book and it does it all very badly.
    The first half is too long and wordy and the second half starts well but opens up all sorts of questions w/ no resolution at the end.
    I am wondering if another book is coming, if ever......
    I checked her website and she is next writing a 4 book series about Roger Mac's parents.
    Who cares?? Finish this story that started so well and now has just fizzled.
    Wait for it from the library.
    Do not buy as i did 4 copies and sent to friends. Wish i had my $$ back for sure.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    True Genius

    Diana Gabaldon is a literary genius, and as an author she is one of my heros. The Outlander series is a beautifully written, rich and exciting saga with wonderful characters that keep you turning pages eagerly through the first 6 installments. Ms. Gabaldon is a true artist, writing her books with no outline, instead letting the characters guide her hands across the keyboard.

    If you have not been so lucky as to read the Outlander series, you should start from the beginning. I have recommended these books over the years to so many people--not one has been disappointed. In fact, I frequently get "thanks to you I was up ALL night with these books!" I am so thrilled to read An Echo in the Bone and can't wait until September 22. The problem with these books is that they are so good and you want to get through them to the end of the story, but at the same time you dread finishing because you know it may be the end (or it may be years until another comes along)!

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    You Can't Not Read This!

    I have been captivated by all of Ms. Gabaldon's books and have been anxiously waiting for the next in the Outlander's series. I'm a very picky reader. I demand creativity and imagination.. These books have it all. I cannot wait!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The best books I've ever read!

    You will not regret reading the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon! Her storytelling is second to none in my opinion. You will fall in love with Jamie Fraser just as Claire did when she first travelled back in time. And you will follow their story so intensly it's like you are right there with them through it all. I can't say anything negative! I've never read a book that made me laugh and cry right along with the characters.

    In case anyone is interested...the series is as follows:

    1. Outlander
    2. Dragonfly in Amber
    3. Voyager
    4. Drums of Autumn
    5. The Fiery Cross
    6. A Breath of Snow and Ashes
    7. An Echo in the Bone

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Can't Wait for #8

    I almost didn't buy this book, after reading the other 6 in this series, due to some really nasty reviews here. I decided to let Jamie and Claire just be in a happy place...... Well I couldn't resist and I am so happy I bought this book. It was just as good as the others, leading up to an ending that will lead us right into the final conclusion of the next book. I can't wait to get #8. Write faster, Diana!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a must read for everyone!

    I picked up the first book in this series because I thought it would be an okay read while I waited for another in the series I was reading to be released. I finished the book and realized it was the first in a series as well. I have since finished all 7 and cannot wait for the next one. These books are amazing. I was lost in time with Claire and did not want to come back. Unfortunately the book ended lol. I finally read the other book in the first series mentioned above. I would recommend this book to anyone who has an imagination and can go where the author wants to take you. This series has made me laugh, cry and root for the good guys.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    Boo Hiss.... what a let down.

    I have been waiting excitedly for this book and I am sorry to say it is junk! I love her other books in this series I read them every year. However, I feel that mabe Diana has spent too long writing the Lord John novels which are little more paperback romance caliber.

    The entire book was just a set up of new characters and situations for the next book. Very little actually happens for the 1000 pages you wade through.

    On top of that the characters don't even act like themselves until at least the middle of the book. All the romance, and hot scenes have been sucked out and replaced with cheap smut.

    I pushed through it but I doubt if I will ever re-read this book. I hope the next one makes this one worth it because I ended this book with the feeling that it was little more than a cash grab.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    Disappointing

    I love this series and anxiously awaited this installment. It rambled along for the first 2/3 of the book and was extremely (overly) descriptive in certain areas, such as the fort. The last 1/3 really kicked into gear and at that point I didn't want to put it down, only to be left with a cliffhanger for the next book. Will I buy it when it comes out? Of course, but I felt like I was played here, having to wade through the majority of the book, then left wanting for another year or three. Probably some kind of marketing ploy, but I didn't like it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My least favorite of the series

    Sadly, I can't say that I loved An Echo in the Bone. Unlike the others in the series (which I dearly love) I found myself constantly re-reading passages because I was simply bored and uninterested in some of the new story lines. For example, I was bored to tears by the chapters which featured LJG...and William was a close second on the boredom scale. I didn't feel like I really got to know him at all.

    (SPOILER ALERT)
    The story of Brianna and Roger is tepid, although interesting at times, especially when they read Jamie and Claire's letters (but why are they waiting to read them--who would have that kind of self control?) and the mounting tension that arises when we realize that someone is stalking the family. Then the kidnapping of Jemmy--I knew that Rob Cameron was trouble! Why did Brianna and Roger trust this guy after what he did to Brianna?

    Ian and Rachel's story certainly piqued my interest, but at one point I thought that Rachel was infatuated with William but then we come to find out that it's Ian that she really loves? However, I was glad to find that Ian (one of my favorite characters) has finally found the right woman and not to mention that auld Arch Bug has finally bitten the dust. He was making me downright nervous!

    Ok, I truly felt that there was not enough of Jamie and Claire. They are the best part about this series so why didn't we get more? Then, in the last 100 pages or so, the pacing suddenly goes from a steady build to break-neck speed, hurling the reader into gut-wrenching revelations and new crises. And holy god...What's the deal with LJG and Claire?? I felt sick at the end of the book! I am so disappointed that she slept with him. I get it, she was suicidal and drunk, but really, did that have to happen? Why would she even want to sleep with another man literally a week after the love of her life has died? And then...the story is over leaving us with too many unanswered questions and unresolved issues. Was DG in a hurry to finish the book? I daresay.

    In all fairness though, I am giving this book three stars because it was entertaining and still captured my heart with Jamie and Claire's timeless love story. I am certainly not ready to give up on the series, but sad and annoyed that we have to wait at least three to four years for the next book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    Very Disappointed..........Truly

    I gave 3 stars only because of the series itself. Was very disappointed in the storyline. Wanted more on the characters and less on the war. Not to give anything away, very disappointed on their return to Scotland and what occured there!! How could she NOT go into detail about the relationship between Ian and Jenny after all these years. How could she devote so little time on how Ian (Sr.) and Jenny reacted upon Ian (Jr.) return home. And about William......OMG.......didn't like at all how that was handled.

    There are so many things that I felt she just "brushed" over. Remember one of the "excerpts" on her website which talked about Claire being arrested (and during this time she thought Jamie was dead) and William came to the jail and tried to break her out???? What happened to that storyline. There's no way I can concieve that Claire would have married John the way she did. It seemed as if someone other than Diana was writing this book!!! Alas, I will be the next one........I'm hooked. I hope that it doesn't take 3 years and that it delves more into the personal relationships than history.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    BOOOO!

    I was so dissapointed. Normally Diana goes into so much detail with her characters, but in this book she didnt. We got political detail instead. Honestly who cares. I want to know about Jaime and Claire etc.... I got half way through the book and started complaining, I hadnt even barely read anything about any characters but Lord John and all that political crap. When we get to the characters she skims the story line. I dont want to spoil the story for anyone so Ill be vague but normally we would have had 100's of pages dedicated to the death but we get like 10. Very Very dissapointed. I dont mind cliffhangers but those should have been the story to begin with, it felt like a set up book for the next book. WHY?????

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    How old are Jamie and Claire?

    I am a faithful reader of the Outlander series....and of course anticipated the new book.....overall, I feel that the basic story continues, but feel Diana must feel that Jamie and Claire are getting old and must pursue the next generation of characters, Ian and Rachel, William, Roger and Bree to continue on with the series. I always felt when the story-line went back to Jamie and Claire that "oh good, we are back to the main story" but am not sure where Diana is going with them now. The Fergus story line is very strange and far fetched.....I couldn't care less about Lord John Grey and his escapades, and dont want to read about them in this series.....Bree and Roger of course will carry on the story with the grandkids in tow so the books can go on and on......I think that is why the loose strings at the end are just a way for DG to hopefully keep our interest until the next book. There were a couple of editing errors that were distracting also that is unusual for DG to overlook....as some of the other folks commenting have said, it feels she was pushing to end the book quickly or just lost interest. I sincerely hope the next one will be a little more put together. As I am still a devoted fan....just a little aggravated.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sadly disappointing

    I love the Outlander series and was eagerly anticipating this new book. After 250 pages, I was still waiting for the story to pick up. There was way too much detail on Lord John and William. Jamie and Claire were minor characters and it was rushed. I liked the parallel story of Brianna and Roger but felt that their part was rushed as well. I hope that she will not take 3 years for the next book and that she will return to her style of writing that enthralled so many of us.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    Another well-written Gabaldon book, but I can't believe the ending (or lack thereof).

    I have loved Diana Gabaldon's books since they first came out and have read and reread all of them. She is my favorite living author. She has a clarity and depth to her writing which is rare. Her characters and scenes spring to life in my mind with her words and I feel myself to be a part of the story. Her writing is vivid and evocative and intelligent. I own two sets of her books; the old set got loaned out so much that the books are now in pieces so I replaced them but couldn't bring myself to throw out the old ones. This book contains DG's high quality of writing and extensive background research that have been present in the rest of her books. But, and this is a huge "but", the ending is not an ending at all and gives no closure whatsoever to the book. Each of the other books in the series left me wondering a little bit about where the story could go from there, but at the same time could stand on its own as a satisfying and complete tale. Echo in the Bone is a cliffhanger and not just an "I wonder what will happen to ...". This book leaves beloved characters in very dangerous situations of high dramatic tension with no glimmer of resolution within its pages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1431 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 72