Customer Reviews for

An Echo in the Bone (Outlander Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1427 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(905)

4 Star

(241)

3 Star

(148)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

I was duped! Yea!

I thought "A Breath of Snow and Ashes" was the end. What a pleasant surprise to find out I have another opportunity to get lost in this world again. When I bought "Outlander", the woman behind the counter at Barnes & Noble told me that the book had originally been cat...
I thought "A Breath of Snow and Ashes" was the end. What a pleasant surprise to find out I have another opportunity to get lost in this world again. When I bought "Outlander", the woman behind the counter at Barnes & Noble told me that the book had originally been catagorized as a Romance novel. While I would agree that the relationship between Claire and Jamie is incredibly romantic and then some, there's so much more to to these books. If you haven't read the first six books in this series, read those first. And to further quote the B & N sales lady, "if you're just starting out...I envy you."

posted by DGMDGM on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

74 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Letdown

If you have not yet finished the book, don't read this review!

Like most Outlander fans, I was hotly anticipating this book, but upon finishing it, I felt like I had been led on a lengthy preview of a "real" story still out there waiting. This book entwines several d...
If you have not yet finished the book, don't read this review!

Like most Outlander fans, I was hotly anticipating this book, but upon finishing it, I felt like I had been led on a lengthy preview of a "real" story still out there waiting. This book entwines several different concurrent story lines, yet resolves NONE OF THEM. The book has no conclusion.
All of the books are lengthy, but the first four in the series kept the reader completely engrossed because the actions were fast-paced with a series of mini-climaxes and revelations scattered throughout them, rather than following the traditional you-find-everything-out-at-the-end format. Now, the length is the result of too much useless detail rather than action resulting in too little development following a story twist. Once the story gets interesting, the reader is either disappointed by the extremes of an overly obvious or equally incredulous resolution or none at all. The style that made Gabaldon stand out from her peers has been lost.
Gabaldon's stories have always been somewhat realistic in their unfolding even if unrealistic in their premise. This is why her books have been so popular. In the past, we have seen how difficult it is for Jamie to grasp 20th century concepts, yet Wm. Buccleigh MacKenzie supposedly comes to the 20th century and is not at all concerned with cars, electricity, etc. and is not inclined to fight with anyone he encounters in the future? Claire loses Jamie and in less than a month sleeps with Lord John, yet in Dragonfly, she doesn't sleep with Frank until well after Brianna's birth? And speaking of frank -- she just blurts out "I know these things because I'm really from the future" to Jamie's family and they're just cool with that? My, did things come a long way in those 30 years since she was almost burned at the stake! Additionally, the reader is to believe that Fergus' parentage is suddenly established and he's a part of the French nobility? And Amanda is somehow psychicly linked to Jem? Fans were initially drawn in by the realistic depiction of a 20th century woman trying to live in the 18th century. It didn't take much to make the original story somewhat believable and that's what intrigued readers. Now, it is just too far-fetched to retain the original audience.
This book also contains too many references to Lord John's activities from her other series. How many careers does one English Lord have? Soldier, prison warden, governor, soldier again, spy . . . isn't he the jack of all trades!
Overall, I found this story to be a real letdown both in its lack of realism and its missing conclusion. I feel that Gabaldon has moved away from her original style that made Outlander unique. I waited on pins and needles for four years for this book. I'm not sure if I'll bother with the next one.

posted by DRayne on September 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 241 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Left lost

    Ok i did like this book just like the others BUT I feel like Im left hanging. I think I missed a chapter. What happened with Roger,Brie, and Jem? Did I skip a chapter. HELP IM CONFUSED

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Good one

    Good one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    HARD TO GET THROUGH! BUT GLAD I DID

    Okay, how long until the next one comes out! Awesome series.

    I had some difficulty getting through the war chapters and Lord John Grey chapters, but they all came together rather nicely. Now I have to wait for the next book! CANT WAIT!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    You won't be disappointed

    Gabaldon picks up where she left off, not only in the plot of the story going into the American Revolution, but also in weaving a tale that makes the pages fly past. Spending time with the Fraser clan and acquaintances is like coming back to visit good friends.

    However, with an expanded number of plots and characters, each one becomes less intimate. I found that where I previously felt like one of the family, now I do feel more like a friend stopping in to get caught up on events. Each story line is intriguing, yet some of the details that made the stories shine have been washed out because of following more characters.

    If you've ready the other books of the series you can't quit now, and you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    wonderful

    i love this series...thank you grandma! i have to say this book was a page turner at times i couldnt put it down but at other times i was just skimming the page before moving on. parts with william and john became dull and very boring for me. i hated the ending but look forward to another wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved it - but it left me wanting more!

    I loved it! There were a lot of storylines happening and lots of points of views, but I liked it. I didn't feel like she just cut out in the middle of the story like others did, but I was left feeling very anxious and wanting more. The book was great and it set the stage for what I'm sure is going to be an excellent next installment of the series. If you haven't read this series, then please run out and get it! You will love Jamie and Claire!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    loved the ending

    so many friends said the ending left them hanging... i loved it! i have not had enough of these characters, and the ending tells me there is more to come :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    It's really hard to give a review of the 7th book in the series. Especially a series as epic as this. It was my personal goal of 2010 to finish reading the current books in the Outlander series. I did it!

    I'm having to remind myself constantly Jamie and Claire aren't the young and feisty characters we meet in the first book. While I'm ok with that, sometimes I feel like they need reminding if that makes sense lol. But, it's good that the characters still feel the same no matter what their age. I still love them and their adventures.

    I admit, I was a little bored with this novel for the first half. I'm sensing a pattern here. The first half is all about the details and preparing the stage for what's to come. I could have done without the narratives from Lord John and William. I think I actually skimmed these parts unless they were interacting with the main characters. I'm not sure on Roger and Brianna. I don't feel like the belong in their own time. Although I did find it interesting how Jamie and Claire left them letters in hopes that they would get them in their own time. The whole idea of it is maddening really.

    I'm enjoying Jamie and Claire's involvement in the war. He seems like such a natural part of history that I feel like I should have read about him in school. I also love how real events and people are included in the story (such as Benedict Arnold). I think my favorite is Ian. He's a character I've really grown to love and I hope he's finally finding some peace and love. I was surprised at the ending. None of the other books left with such a cliff hanger. I'm hoping the next one doesn't take to long to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Leaves a bit to be desired

    I have been a devoted fan and recommender of Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. This book felt a bit disjointed, and rushed. Also, if a reader has not read her Lord John novels, there are overlapping plots that do not make sense. All in all, the storyline is a good continuation, with some quite entertaining scenes, and the ending leaves you wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Highly recommended

    Was very surprised at the end of the book. Again very good and ready for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another installment in the amazing adventures of Jamie and Claire Fraser

    This is a series that you must read in order - the story is complex with many important characters, events and subplots. Each installment is over 500 pages - and each chapter builds on the story. I was lucky enough to discover the series in 2006, so I was able to read one book after another and lose myself in the adventures of Claire and Jamie.

    The books combine time travel, historical fiction, and politics and unforgettable characters with an amazing love story. As Gabaldon tells the story of Claire and Jamie, she takes us back to 1945 and 1743 and to Scotland, France, England and "the colonies".

    What would you do if you went back in time to a place where you run the risk of being burned as a witch for by revealing what you know?

    That's what happens to Claire Randall as she finds herself transported from 1945 to 1743. Things that she'd taken for granted -- facts, history, basic knowledge are unknown to the inhabitants around her and are enough to mark her as a witch. Claire acts bravely and with care -- balances her good sense with her sense of what is right. Fortunately, Claire meets young Jamie Fraser. Claire wins Jamie's loyalty and protection even though he doesn't comprehend the mystery that Claire hides or the danger that she brings.

    I can't stress enough that the books must be read in sequence. In this installment, An Echo in the Bone, Jamie and Claire are significantly older and are grandparents several times over but they retain their charisma and vigor. A respected physician and a member of the colonial militia in 1776, the revolution (a.k.a.Rebellion) force Claire and Jamie to action. The Frasers are forced to relocate and their travels introduce us to day-to-day life of colonial America. Gabaldon weaves in historical figures and events and we are treated to memorable intrigue and adventures.

    What I enjoyed most was catching up with some of my favorite characters and those I love to hate. The best parts were the moments of tenderness between Jamie and Claire and the medical miracles that Claire pulls off with limited resources and an abundance of skill.

    If you're a fan of Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series, don't miss this latest installment! And if you haven't yet read her books, if you enjoy historical fiction and fantasy/time travel - you'll surely love the series. Be sure to approach the books in the proper sequence and be prepared to settle in for a nice long read!

    ISBN-10: 0385342462 - Trade Paperback
    Publisher: Bantam; Reprint edition (June 22, 2010), 848 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    So Much Better

    This book was so much better than the one before it in the series. Although I was unhappy with how much was left unfinished/unresolved in the end. I would recommend this one tho!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Another great addition to the series.

    After what seemed like years of waiting, we can finally read more about Claire and Jamie. By the time you get this far into the series, it feels like they are family, a part of your life, and it is hard to go very long without an update on how and what they are doing. An Echo in the Bone has some surprising twists that kept me up reading till all hours. After reading this one, it certainly sounds like another book will be forthcoming. I can't wait! I highly recommend this one to all Diana Gabaldon fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best cliffhanger of the series!

    I have loved this series from the very first book but I must say this one was the hardest to get through. The multiple story lines were a bit confusing and I grew impatient with the side stories of Lord John Grey and son. I really want to hear about Clair and Jaime not Lord Grey. However, now that my whining is over I must say this book had the best cliffhanger of any of it's predecessors. I can hardly wait for book eight. The combination of historical settings with modern settings is creative and fun to read. The drama keeps you turning the page and these time travelers pop up at the most unexpected times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    Pretty good, but not as good as Outlander

    I love Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. But this book seemed to be missing something. It was slow in the middle then picked up toward then end. I have to agree it was too many story lines at once. I want to read about Claire and Jamie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Too Much POV

    This book has way too much POVs. I understand they eventually lead to the underlying plot of the book but I only enjoyed the Jamie and Claire part, some of Ian's, and the last 100 pages. Yet...I still find it worth reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Erratum?

    'Juicy pimple...squeezing' > Mon Dieu! This disgusting yuck belongs in a teen pulp magazine, not in otherwise seriously cool literature. Please expunge it from future editions. Merci.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    not started

    i BOUGHT THIS TO KEEP UP WITH SERIES AND HAven't started it yet. Trying to finiah several other books first. BUt this author always does a great job abd I don't anticipate anything less with this book

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    Been reading this series from the beginning.

    I'm of Scottish decent and injoy the historical research done on each book. is this series never going to come to a concluson? The last novel left to many unresolved story lines. I can only assume book number eight is in the works. soon I hope. As for Lord john, He is homosexual. Fine I'm not a homophobe, However graphic discriptions of his sexual exploits are of no interist to me hense I,ve removed his series from my readind list.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Best effort in years

    Echo in the Bone is a very entertaining read. Diana's best book since book 2 or 3. Definitely worth reading; as always you must suspend belief... I'm really enjoying this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 241 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13