Customer Reviews for

An Echo in the Bone (Outlander Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1452 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(924)

4 Star

(242)

3 Star

(150)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(63)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

I was duped! Yea!

I thought "A Breath of Snow and Ashes" was the end. What a pleasant surprise to find out I have another opportunity to get lost in this world again. When I bought "Outlander", the woman behind the counter at Barnes & Noble told me that the book had originally been cat...
I thought "A Breath of Snow and Ashes" was the end. What a pleasant surprise to find out I have another opportunity to get lost in this world again. When I bought "Outlander", the woman behind the counter at Barnes & Noble told me that the book had originally been catagorized as a Romance novel. While I would agree that the relationship between Claire and Jamie is incredibly romantic and then some, there's so much more to to these books. If you haven't read the first six books in this series, read those first. And to further quote the B & N sales lady, "if you're just starting out...I envy you."

posted by DGMDGM on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

75 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

Letdown

If you have not yet finished the book, don't read this review!

Like most Outlander fans, I was hotly anticipating this book, but upon finishing it, I felt like I had been led on a lengthy preview of a "real" story still out there waiting. This book entwines several d...
If you have not yet finished the book, don't read this review!

Like most Outlander fans, I was hotly anticipating this book, but upon finishing it, I felt like I had been led on a lengthy preview of a "real" story still out there waiting. This book entwines several different concurrent story lines, yet resolves NONE OF THEM. The book has no conclusion.
All of the books are lengthy, but the first four in the series kept the reader completely engrossed because the actions were fast-paced with a series of mini-climaxes and revelations scattered throughout them, rather than following the traditional you-find-everything-out-at-the-end format. Now, the length is the result of too much useless detail rather than action resulting in too little development following a story twist. Once the story gets interesting, the reader is either disappointed by the extremes of an overly obvious or equally incredulous resolution or none at all. The style that made Gabaldon stand out from her peers has been lost.
Gabaldon's stories have always been somewhat realistic in their unfolding even if unrealistic in their premise. This is why her books have been so popular. In the past, we have seen how difficult it is for Jamie to grasp 20th century concepts, yet Wm. Buccleigh MacKenzie supposedly comes to the 20th century and is not at all concerned with cars, electricity, etc. and is not inclined to fight with anyone he encounters in the future? Claire loses Jamie and in less than a month sleeps with Lord John, yet in Dragonfly, she doesn't sleep with Frank until well after Brianna's birth? And speaking of frank -- she just blurts out "I know these things because I'm really from the future" to Jamie's family and they're just cool with that? My, did things come a long way in those 30 years since she was almost burned at the stake! Additionally, the reader is to believe that Fergus' parentage is suddenly established and he's a part of the French nobility? And Amanda is somehow psychicly linked to Jem? Fans were initially drawn in by the realistic depiction of a 20th century woman trying to live in the 18th century. It didn't take much to make the original story somewhat believable and that's what intrigued readers. Now, it is just too far-fetched to retain the original audience.
This book also contains too many references to Lord John's activities from her other series. How many careers does one English Lord have? Soldier, prison warden, governor, soldier again, spy . . . isn't he the jack of all trades!
Overall, I found this story to be a real letdown both in its lack of realism and its missing conclusion. I feel that Gabaldon has moved away from her original style that made Outlander unique. I waited on pins and needles for four years for this book. I'm not sure if I'll bother with the next one.

posted by DRayne on September 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 924 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 47
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    There is never too much Jamie and Clair

    I loved the characters the author created in these books, she makes them come alive with emotion and great humor. I have read and reread them all many times. I was somewhat disappointed at the ending of this novel, the author went to great pains so the story would evolve naturally and then at the end she seemed in such a rush to tidy up all the story lines in a few short chapters. She also left the fate of two major characters up in the air, I hope she completes the next novel in the series soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You either love it or you hate it.

    I fall under the love it category! It's my favorite in the series after Outlander...Love the flashbacks, they energize (if that's even possible) Claire & Jaime's relationship, which gives a nice backdrop to the new relationship between Ian & Rachel, which promises to be interesting to say the least. I can't wait to find out how Jamie actually processes the news about Claire & John Grey, & how this will right itself, because right itself it must! The sad part is that I got into the series last year so reading the next installment required a trip to the bookstore & voila...instant gratification...now I'm going to have to wait another 3 years to get my next fix:0(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    An excellent instalment

    Diana Gabaldon does not disapoint in her latest instalment in the Outlander series. She has managed to keep the characters fresh, and as always the historical context is fascinating. One might quibble about the coincidences that abound in her work (the characters are always running into people with links to previous story lines) but this is a small defect. The ending is a bit of a cliff-hanger, but at least this indicates that there is another instalment to look forward to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read for the Outlander series fan!

    Wow! We've waited so long for this and Diana made it a good one. I loved the back and forth from current time to the past. I had a hard time putting this book down (just like the 6 books that came before it) It's great that she has brought Jamie's son and Sir John more into the action as major characters; it adds to the complexity of the story. At first the ending made me a little frustrated, but my imagination has been running like crazy ever since. Diana is keeping us wanting more! Fingers crossed that she has #8 coming up very soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I really hope I don't have to wait 4 years until the next book!

    To be honest I had to go back and re-read the previous 5 books before I started A Breath of Snow and Ashes and An Echo in the Bone. I had bought A Breath of Snow and Ashes when it came out but just never got around to reading it. And I'm really glad I did, not that I don't think I could have picked up A Breath of Snow and Ashes to continue with the story it just felt good to reconnect with the characters and the story line.

    With all that said I finished An Echo in the Bone last night and can only hope that I do not have to wait another 4 years until the next book arrives. I saw on Diana's website that it takes her 4 years to complete a book and I hope in this case that doesn't happen since she ended this book with a lot of cliff hangers ugh...

    From her first book to this one Diana has been consistent with telling us a story filled with romance, drama, action and a touch of humor. The characters are so human and believable regardless of whether we are in the future with Brianna and Roger or in the past with Jamie and Claire you feel as if you have been a friend of theirs for a long time.

    As with all the Outlander books Diana has incorporated historical figures and some facts so you feel as if you are in fact a part of what has happend.

    If you haven't read any of the Outlander books and you do really have to start with the first "Outlander" and continue with Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, Drums of Autumn, The Fiery Cross, A Breath of Snow and Ashe do so now! You will not regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    An Echo In The Bone - I want more!

    I truly love these characters & the whole storyline of the life & time traveling Fraser family! Jamie & Claire will always be my favorite characters in the series but it was interesting to follow her daughter, Brianna & her family after they returned thru the stones. It was very interesting to 'watch' Roger & Brianna go through every day things with the knowledge that Jamie & Claire were left behind in the 18th century, enduring the Revolutionary War with the knowledge of how it will turn out! Then they read the letters passed through time, one by one!
    There are quite a few storylines left open so as to continue them in the next book so I truly hope Diana has been working on the resolution of those stories & that the next book comes out as soon as possible! I read this one as slowly as I could to make it last:-) What a great hero & heroine, along with their family! Such strong & resilent people! It brings some of my own ancestors. (who were living & fighting in the same area), to life for me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What will we do when this series concludes?

    I read/listen to the series via audio book in my car. It makes the trips to and from work very enjoyable and relaxing.

    I enjoy the stories, the wonderfully developed characters and the narrator's wonderful Scottish accent which really makes it even better. Although I am not compeletely finished yet, I know I will be ready for the next book... and I disdain those who say this book isn't as good as the others. I am enjoying getting to know more about Ian, and the sequence in 1988 with Roger and Briana, and the kids is wonderfully developed. I like to read the letters that Claire and Jamie left for them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    Not quite up to the standard of the previous books.

    This seventh book in the series started a little slowly but eventually picked up satisfactorily. I do think the writer left a few too many loose ends at the conclusion of the book. I sure hope she gets the next book in the series out quickly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Once again- a hit

    The Outlander series is my favorite series of all time. I totally get lost in the 18th century and am truely sad when the book ends. Ms. Gabaldon does an outstanding job on her writing and I can't say enough in priase to her. It's gotten so I can't wait for the paperback to come out and buy the hardcover right away. I can't say that about any other author. When I get it I drop everything and start to read. What a ride!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    An Echo In The Bone

    In usual Diana Gabaldon fashion, she has outdone herself. I truly enjoyed this book as much as the others in the series. Hopefully this story will go on and on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    superb

    This may be one of my top 2 favorites by Gabalden. It left me satisfied, but I absolutely cannot wait till the next installment!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    Addictive historical magical romance

    My friends and I regularly re-read this series of adventures in the past. We wept at the conclusion of A Breath of Snow and Ashes, believing the end had come. How great was our joy when we realized there was more to come. The characters and situations are more believable than in any time-travelling novel I have read. I have read a lot of them. I want to be a part of Claire and Jaime's family. I have read passages to my nieces and nephews to bring history alive for them. The quality of Diana Gabaldon's superb story-telling and attention to detail has not diminished from the first book to this installment. Must we truly wait three years for more?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Worth my wait...

    Overall, I liked the novel. Yes, there were points I did and did not like, but for such a saga, I found it worth my wile. I was more interested in Jamie and Claire, but realize that the scenes showing Lord John (who I didn't feel a need to have read any of his series) and William were necessary in developing characters that will perhaps play out in the next novel. I did like the way the author brought in chacaters, concepts and motifs from previous novels--a positive effort in tying all of the stories together. I did enjoy the story and possibilities set up with Breanne and Roger and their children, and the possibilities of how she is going to logically and to the satisfaction of her readers end the story. Yes, I would have liked more of Jamie and Claire; they are why I read the stories, but I am still taken in by all, including the historical allusions, and appreciate Diana's writing style in this format she has chosen. Any reader coming in to the novel with this edition would be a bit lost (given what I know), but would still have a worthy read. I look forward to the next, perhaps concluding, part of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    For anyone who has read any of Diana Gabaldon's books, this is one of her best. I love the characters and the development of the story. I read the book, then read it again right away and still felt like I had never read it before. I love the ending, but I won't give it away! Actually reading this book has rpomted me to reread the whole series again!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    An Echo In The Bone catches your attention right away, but this is a series book and you need to read the other books also to really appreciate where Jamie and Claire have been and what they have gone through.

    This is a very interresting, intertaining, historic, romantic book to read. It's very hard to put down. I've been reading Diana's books for the past i guess 15-20 years. I always hope she writes another book to continue the series. The characters are so funny and endearing it makes you wish you where right there with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    an echo in the bone

    seemed like it started out a bit randomly but soon I became enmeshed in the story. Gabaldon amazes me in regard to the complex subplots and characters she can incorporate; she is my inspiration for writing a novel. I am afraid that the series will end and was a bit surprised when the book ends with more stories to unfold in the next one (how long must I wait for it?).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Another masterpiece from Diana Gabaldon

    Diana Gabaldon writes the most wonderful, informative, imaginative fiction! Her use of language is so beautiful with such extensive and colorful vocabulary. Her characters are unique; I love the way that they have developed over the series. I also like the way things circle back to the situations in earlier books. In reading the Outlander series I have learned so many interesting and personal details about life in the 18th century. It is a true credit to Gabaldon that she can give such believable individuality and humanity to each of the many characters in this saga. I am sure that the book stands alone, but reading it in sequence after all the others in the series would be the most rewarding, enriching experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    What a Great Book

    I waited for this to be released and now I am waiting for the next in the series......I am reading this again for the 3rd time.......
    I have had people stop me when they see me with this book....They are asking how did I like it.........I read this is 1-1/2 days.....could not put it down and it went every where with me..........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Diana Gabaldon shines again

    Another great book on the continuing saga of Jamie, Claire and family. I didn't want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    An Echo in the Bone

    Awesome. This book did not disappoint. It kept me involved from the first page. I felt the author really recaptured some of the momentum the first books in this series had; it is a real page turner. I really liked the fact that you could get a feel for how daily life went on for the ordinary people during the American revolution, because if you think about it logically, I'm sure not all of the people of the time were aware they were living in such a crossroads in history, nor did they realize they and their times would be such a part of the history books. Diana Gabaldon captures so well that there were ordinary people, living their ordinary lives in spite of the extraordinary things going on around them. I also found it personally enjoyable to see how Claire and Jamie's relationship has grown and matured as they have aged- wouldn't all of us love to find such a deep, rock-solid connection with another! The story is full of fascinating interpersonal scenarios that make it clear the author knows a bit about what makes people tick. Her characters are so real and rich exactly because she puts in scenes like the one where Claire, with the revolution, war, death and fear going on all around her, has a time of great personal joy because she gets fitted with bifocals and can see well again! I will say that as much as I love Claire, though, I had a few moments of personal frustration with her that she glossed over her meetings with people I would have given my eyeteeth to meet in person, such as Ben Franklin. Her character is not nearly as interested in meeting historical personages as I would think someone from our time period would be, and yet the beauty of her response is that it more closely reflects how people of the time probably treated and thought of our founding fathers. The title is perfect- it so reflects the response at some level that people in that time must have felt with life altering events that echo through our marrow to this day. Heart's blood and all that they had to give are what the every day people gave to that battle, and they gave it every day and not just on the fourth of July or Thanksgiving, like many of us do in our modern time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 924 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 47