Customer Reviews for

Echoes

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2006

    And.... What happens next?

    The first part of the book is a nice love story and very intense development of the family network, but what happens to Beata, Daphne, and her parents? We got to know them so deeply, but then they vanish? Amadea was unfortunately a very shallow character. Then ending was so abrupt I had to check to make sure it was the last page. Nicely written, but shouldn't we have had a real ending with the main characters? Danielle, please tell us that you are writing a sequal for this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2005

    A wonderful novel, but...

    the end left me with a sense of dissatisfaction. There were stories left unanswered by the end of the novel. I felt like I should sit down and start writing the sequel so that we know the complete story. Other than that it was a wonderful novel and a qucik read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2005

    It was alright...

    This is my first Danielle Steele book. I dislike how she describes the characters as though they are thinking these things about themseleves...the characters should develop themselves through their actions, not tell the reader. I didn't like how Beata and her daughter just drop out of the storyline...I know that it is to develop Amadea's character, but I think that some resolution should have been brought in, like her getting a telegram or something saying their fate. Also, their friends who harbored Amadea should have been mentioned later on, as to their fate as well after her escape. To fit almost the entire lives of two women into 400 some pages is a bit unrealistic. Ms. Steele didn't develop the characters to completeness, and their hardships seemed very limited and of very good fortunes. She just says that someone dies, without mentioning the feelings of the characters in more than a word. The book was a good read, but there is more that should have been done to develop the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    Vibrant - Suspence - Wonderful - Real

    Daneille Steel - another wonderful can't put down book! Her timing was perfect with what the world was hearing at that time, my husband has told me about the places from when he was in WWII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2005

    What happened next!

    This was an excellent book and kept me very interested. I felt that the story ended to early and wanted to know what happened next. I would have given this book a 5 star rating if I was told she was writing a part 2 of this book. I really hope she does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    Sound of Music?

    Can some body ask Steele for me if she found her inspiration from the movie Sound of Music? This was my first DS and I am not planning to read one again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    Great Book

    I love this book, it kept my attention the entire time but I agree with some of the others about the ending. It did leave you with unanswered questions, but overall an awesome book. I love books about the war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    Echoes is a excellent book

    I just finished reading Echoes and i loved the book so much. Danielle Steel writes so beautifully and truthfully about every topic she covers. I couldnt put the book down i was so engrossed in it. Danielle Steel is my favorite author and the best at everything which she has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    What About The Ending?

    I love Danielle Steel and read almost every book she comes out with. I have never been disappointed with any of her endings. She has always tied things together, giving an overall feeling of closure and completion (satisfaction). This book's ending left me cold and wondering about an important aspect of her family (I can't say more without ruining the story for someone who wants to read it). Therefore the end ultimately left me with a sense of dissatisfaction. I would love to get feedback if anyone else felt the same way. I still love DS's books and will keep reading them. However, because of the ending I only gave it 3 stars. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    I enjoyed this book

    I found this book really easy to read and get into. I have never read Danielle Steele prior to this, and I do enjoy historical fiction. I don't know alot of specific details about the time period this book was set in, so maybe that is why I liked it. If you know alot about this time period, I am sure you would find inconsistencies and situations that would not be realistic, etc. I did notice a lot of reptition, several times on the same page it would say the same thing... but I still enjoyed the book and read it pretty quickly. I thought the storyline fizzled out near the end, and was disappointed that we never heard from two of the main characters again... but, that was what the people of that time period experienced too... not knowing what happened to loved ones, so that made it more real for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    one of the best

    I am a great fan of Danielle Steel. I have read every book she ever wrote. This one astounded me! Although I am Jewish and have read many books on this horrible period of time I never read one written by a Christian before. I was wondering how she would handle this story and was not surprised that she did a superb job. I couldn't put this book down. I recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2005

    Had given up on Danielle Steel

    I use to love Danielle Steels books. One out of three that is. I decided to try Echoes and couldn't put it down. This is one of her best along with Jewels, Silent Honor and Ghost. Of course as I get older, the light stories do not appeal to me as much. This is a winner! Don't miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    One of the best

    I've read several of Danielle's book. This is certainly the best I've read. It's different from her other work, but the best!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    a great storyline/repetitiious dialogue

    after hearing about this book, could hardly wait to read it, love books in the WW2 era. Steel could have made this book more enjoyable if she weren't so repetitious. (probably a shorter book too) There were the same stories repeated over and over, did this annoy anyone else besides me? I think Steel should have spent as much time on Amadea towards the end of the book as she did on her mother in the beginning of book. I had trouble putting it down towards the middle of book; riviting. I would recommend this book, but I don't want to read another one so repetitious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    I'm a fan again!

    I had given up on Danielle Steele for many years. But reading the review for this book, I was intrigued. I'm so glad I read this book...absolutely fabulous. I'm a fan once again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    Better than ever

    I loved this book. The last few years Steels books have been subpar but with this one it seems she is back on top again, I was about to give up on her....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    Good Story

    I am not a realy a Danielle Steel fan but this is a really good story. I have read a few of her books and never thought they was much to them. This is a different story, very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2004

    GREAT BOOK

    THIS HAS TO BE THE 'BEST BOOK' DANIELLE STEEL HAS WRITTEN. BESIDES THE STORY LINE IT WAS A HISTORY LESSON. I WOULD RECOMMED THIS BOOK VERY HIGH ON MY LIST TO OTHERS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2004

    Echoes - A gripping historical novel

    Danielle Steel delivers a compelling story of historical significance of World Wars 1 and 11. It shines with realism and in Steel fashion will delight all of her readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2005

    A MUST READ!

    Not only is this the BEST ever from Danielle Steel, it is now my FAVORITE novel of all time. It is a page turner that is full of history and romance. Bravo Danielle Steel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4