BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Echoes in the Darkness

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Echoes in the Darkness is a stunning book, alive with well resea

Echoes in the Darkness is a stunning book, alive with well researched details of a seven year long murder case. Author Joseph Wambaugh is an exceptionally good writer. There wasn’t one boring page in the entire book.

posted by Zimmerman1 on September 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Slow but interesting

The troubling fact about this book is that you never do truly know anyone even if they are working very close to the public and not to mention part of our ever changing school system. I would have to say that background checks on anyone working closely with school chil...
The troubling fact about this book is that you never do truly know anyone even if they are working very close to the public and not to mention part of our ever changing school system. I would have to say that background checks on anyone working closely with school children needs to be investigated thoroughly. It was a somewhat good read however slow and it was a little difficult trying to keep track of the character's themselves and the roles that they played.

posted by Abigail22 on July 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Echoes in the Darkness is a stunning book, alive with well resea

    Echoes in the Darkness is a stunning book, alive with well researched details of a seven year long murder case. Author Joseph Wambaugh is an exceptionally good writer. There wasn’t one boring page in the entire book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    I like Joseph Wambaugh but this was not my favorite

    In his defense, The story occurs over a long period of time with a bunch of crazy people. There are two trials and numerous developments before during and after both trials. The read is a little slow in parts because of the complexity. It is one of the most unusual crime stories I have ever read. So if you want to put up with a lot of complex stories and individuals, it is well worth the energy required. I like fast moving, adventure oriented books and this is not that. It is a detailed, interesting look at 2 very difficult investigations and murder trials.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slow but interesting

    The troubling fact about this book is that you never do truly know anyone even if they are working very close to the public and not to mention part of our ever changing school system. I would have to say that background checks on anyone working closely with school children needs to be investigated thoroughly. It was a somewhat good read however slow and it was a little difficult trying to keep track of the character's themselves and the roles that they played.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2001

    Echoes in the Darkness

    This was a wonderfully written book. This one will be hard for you to put down. It is somewhat confusing at times, so you really have to pay attention. I had to read some paragraphs several times to keep everything straight. This is an excellent book. I can't wait to read another book by this author. This book is somewhat graphic at times in both a violent and sexual nature. This true story will leave you astonished and surprised. A wonderful read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Quite frankly, other than the two innocent children, there wasn'

    Quite frankly, other than the two innocent children, there wasn't a single sympathetic character in the whole situation. Smith and Bradfield were surely twisted, damaged people and the motley crew of idiots who allowed and participated in their outlandish behavior leading up to the crime exasperated this reader. Not being familiar with Wambaugh's work, I wonder are all of his narratives this disjointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    OakPelt

    Trots in to watch for any signs of commtion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Pinky

    She walked quickly until she reached the river. It was overflowing, and it looked freezing. 'I bet the cats are past it,' she thought. She backed up a few steps, ran, and jumped. Her paws just grazed the ice-cold water. She landed, and shook out her fur, soaking wet from the rain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Lionheart

    Looked out across the river and smelled. He then looked into the river and faster than lightning he stuck his paw in amd came out with a medium sided trout. Smiling to himself he left sents along the border and troted on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Ice

    Ice danced into this result. But very quietly. Her ears were listening for any sound other then river water. And she found she could only scent a few water voles and squirrels. With a shrug m she continued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    The Other Side of the River and Border

    About ten fox-lengths from the other side of that lazy river, there is a border. This is the border with a friendly clan, but all the same, mark it daily. If the river is too high, do not come here. <br>
    ~$ilverstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    I'm a huge Wambaugh fan and this is his best work ever.

    I'm a huge Wambaugh fan and this is his best work ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    Crazy educators!!

    A well written book, even if some of the lunacy of this case was either left out or embellished a bit. The fact is that our community still knows NOTHING about this case. Wambaugh was truly relentless in his pursuit of the info. of the case .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1