Customer Reviews for

Eclipse

Average Rating 4.5
( 11271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8752)

4 Star

(1489)

3 Star

(544)

2 Star

(205)

1 Star

(281)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

great

I just love all of Stephenie Meyer's books. As a fan I would recommend them. can't wait to read the next!!!!!

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 119 people found this review helpful.

Summer Fluff and Poor Writing

I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. ...
I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. I flew through this series because the author's writing is mediocre at best. As a girl who once had a high school crush, I will admit I found myself sucked in by Edwards high school appeal, but Meyer's simplistic writing style quickly started to get on my nerves. How many times must we be reminded how cold Edward is? Can Bella be more small minded and whiney? Why do we have to suffer through 200 pages of fluff to actually get to the plot in each book? Once the plot is revealed the last third of the book is spent quickly resolving the issue and reminding us how cold, handsome, and mesmerizing Edward is how hot, hairy, and egotistical Jacob is and how co-dependent, whiney, and ackward Bella is. Please....If my fictional writing professor read these stories she would tell Meyer to refine her writing skills. I won't even go into the numerous holes in the story that even in a 'Vampire and Werewolf...I mean shape-shifter world' make no sense and run contradictory to her own plot writing. If anything, this book showed me that you don't have to be a great writer to be successful or to write a teenage Harlequin series.

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 11329 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 567
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the series

    Love the series

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Must read!

    Go team Edward!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Very good story line. Keeps you on your toes. The back and for

    Very good story line. Keeps you on your toes. The back and forth with Edward and Jacob is classic.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    This is an awesome book

    This the best book ever!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good book

    Tthis book is good id recomend it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Read this

    This third edition to Twilight is way better than the first two. If Meyer had started with this one,it would be a lot more interesting. It had me from page one and had a whole lot more to it than twilight and new moon. Way better plot than Twilight and New Moon, i especially liked how the vampires and werewolves teamed up to fight Victoria. This book is definitly the best in the Twilight series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Terrible

    Read all of them, and I loved them, not caring what anyone said about them. Went back to read them again, and I suddenly realized how bloody boring they are, how creepy Edward is, how Mary Sue Bella is, and how silly I was for liking it in the first place.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    PASSIONATE

    I have read all of the Twilight Series...twice.. Eclipse hooked me from the first chapter. It is Passionate and Tender. I cannot imagine anyone reading this book and not wondering where all of the Edwards are in this world...??? Gone with the passing of time I suppose. People just do not have that kind of devotion to one another anymore!!! WOW!!! Can't wait for Stephanie to complete Midnight Sun...

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    I just don't get it

    I have now read the first three in the Twilight series, and I don't think that I can bring myself to read the fourth. I know that it is fiction and shouldn't be taken too seriously, but most adolescents are remarkably short sighted, and a book whose characters are willing to sacrifice themselves for their "soulmates" seems rather foolish. Plus, the character of Bella is so whining, and frankly bores me with her endless self rumination. I suppose that millions of readers disagree with me, but then, I don't like American Idol either.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Eclipse is an awesome read.

    In my opinion this book is wonderful. Ms. Meyer shows once again why her books and she have become a household name. This book provided us with turmoil and danger. There is the heroine caught between two heroes. Her struggle to make the choice while both do everything within their power to keep her alive is heart wrenching in its detail.

    This book is one that I have already read twice since purchasing it, and know that I will read it again and again.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Great read to pass the time

    Expect all the page turning frenzy as you get with the first two in the series. This is one of my favorite series to reread, a great escape.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    Best of all 4 books in the series!

    You must not underestimate the fact that the plot did thicken as the books unveiled and approached a bit of an older audience and maturity, thus, some young fans will not find this and the last book as amusing and entertaining as the first. To the advantage of the more mature readers of the series, this is by far the best of all. Filled with the divinely addictive romantic and growing relationship of Edward and Bella, options and doubts and the ultimate sacrifice for eternal love. In the end, what was meant to be is what must be...the nail biting last chapters and the satisfaction of the last chapter in the terms of Bella and Edward's commitment will keep you hooked to the last word, ready to open Breaking Dawn just to know what happens next.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    That's what I'm talking about!!!!!!!!!!!

    I really, really liked this book. I missed Edward and I was so happy he was in this book a lot more then in new moon. This book might be my second favorite, after Twilight. I love how Bella and Edward are going to get married. I also liked learning more about Rose and Jasper. I want to know a little more on Emmet though. I really dont mind if the whole turning Bella will end her and Jakes friendship. But I'm sure that he will be in the next book. It was very good and much better than new moon!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    my experiance with the book

    my best friend began reading the first book Twilight during the summer>>i nagged her for weeks that she was obsessed>. i finally read twilight within a two day period< New moon passed even quicker. Now that i have finished Eclipse and have no time to buy Breaking Dawn im going crazy. iv read eclips prob threee times now, i wo9uld recomend this book to anyone and everyone. its brilliant and adventurous. i think it gives everyone a litle fantasy to escape to:).

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    READ THIS POST AND LISTEN TO IT!!!

    First off I want to say is: WHY IN THE WORLD DO SOME OF YOU PEOPLE OUT THERE THINK JACOB BLACK IS ANNOYING. YOU GUYS ARE ANNOYING ME!! JUST BEACAUSE HE HAPPENS TO LIKE BELLA ALSO OR JUST BEACAUSE HE ISN'T A VAMPIRE YOU HAVE TO HATE THE GUY!! I HAPPEN TO LIKE HIM AND ALL OF THE OTHER CHARACTERS IN ALL OF THE BOOKS( YES INCLUDING EDWARD AND THE OTHER CULLENS). I LIKE BOTH EDWARD AND JACOB AND YOU PEOPLE SHOULD TO. YES I KNOW YOU HAVE A RIGHT TO YOUR OPINION AND GUESS WHAT FOLKS SO DO I!! DON'T BE MAD AT JACOB AND/OR BELLA BECAUSE SOME OR SHOULD I SAY MOST OF YOU PEOPLE WANT EDWARD FOR YOURSELVES. SERIOUSLY GUYS YOU'RE THE ONES WHO ARE WHINNING!!!!!!! NOW WITH THAT SAID: I thought this book was really good just like the others. One of my favorite parts being the scene when Jacob, Bella, and Edward were in the tent. That was funny yet serious. I unfortunely have to say my least favorite was Breaking Dawn, proably because most everyone in the book got what they wanted but hey it was alright. I recommend you see the movie before you read the books. The movie was good but not as obsessive and ADDICTING the books are. In conclusion: TEAM EDWARD and JACOB

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    This just keeps getting better and better!

    I never in my wildest dreams thought that any other book series to come about would ever be a match for Harry Potter, but I was completely wrong! The thing that makes Meyer¿s novels so awesome is the fact that she successfully creates this freakishly strange, but delightfully whimsical world that her readers can become completely engaged in. No author has successfully done that since J.K Rowling. Anyway, it was an awesome plot, I completely loved it. I began to realize while reading this book that Edward wasn¿t as bad as I thought he was, in fact, he¿s pretty decent. But I still strongly dislike him. I don¿t even completely know why I hate Edward so much, it isn¿t completely rational. I guess it¿s just because he seems more like a robot than a person. I like Jacob so much more than Edward, because to me Jacob is so much more `real¿ than Edward. He is so much more relatable. Anyway, Bella isn¿t a bad person by any means, but I think she is the one who causes all the trouble. She has hurt, and is preparing to hurt, so many different people. The whole situation is just sad, and I felt so bad for Jacob in the epilogue. Like I said, it¿s not completely rational, but I just wish the best for Jake and I just want Edward to get lost. But it doesn¿t look like that¿s going to happen any time soon. I really hope that the ending is good, because the ending of a series is always the crucial book, just because of the mere fact that it is the end and the readers will never become so absorbed in the story again. I really wish that Edward would leave and Bella would marry Jacob. That will never happen, although I wish it would. Anyway, I¿m really looking forward to seeing how all this turns out. Stephenie Meyer is so flipping awesome, I wish I had half the talent she does. Like J.K Rowling she has instilled a love for reading in so many young children, and for that she should be greatly commended. TEAM JACOB!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Eclipse

    GOD I LOVE THESE BOOKS!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Come on!

    Omg, why is everyone so obsessed w/ edward. He's so annoying! (Refering back to the first book) If a guy is sitting on ur bed watching u sleep, dont go make out w/ him! That's just common sense! I personally am a Jacob fan because he's sweet and cares about her feelings(more than edward anyway). Anyway, this book was great, and is definatly good for someone who wants to find themselves lost in a book. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    I love you edward where ever you are I love you with all my hear

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Must read!

    Third book in a beautifully romantic series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 11329 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 567