Customer Reviews for

Eclipse

Average Rating 4.5
( 11290 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8769)

4 Star

(1491)

3 Star

(544)

2 Star

(205)

1 Star

(281)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

great

I just love all of Stephenie Meyer's books. As a fan I would recommend them. can't wait to read the next!!!!!

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

Summer Fluff and Poor Writing

I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. ...
I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. I flew through this series because the author's writing is mediocre at best. As a girl who once had a high school crush, I will admit I found myself sucked in by Edwards high school appeal, but Meyer's simplistic writing style quickly started to get on my nerves. How many times must we be reminded how cold Edward is? Can Bella be more small minded and whiney? Why do we have to suffer through 200 pages of fluff to actually get to the plot in each book? Once the plot is revealed the last third of the book is spent quickly resolving the issue and reminding us how cold, handsome, and mesmerizing Edward is how hot, hairy, and egotistical Jacob is and how co-dependent, whiney, and ackward Bella is. Please....If my fictional writing professor read these stories she would tell Meyer to refine her writing skills. I won't even go into the numerous holes in the story that even in a 'Vampire and Werewolf...I mean shape-shifter world' make no sense and run contradictory to her own plot writing. If anything, this book showed me that you don't have to be a great writer to be successful or to write a teenage Harlequin series.

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 11348 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 568
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I just love all of Stephenie Meyer's books. As a fan I would recommend them. can't wait to read the next!!!!!

    60 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful

    I loved reading this book! It is one of a kind and it has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    48 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    I loved and loved reading this wonderful book! It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours. Stephenie Meyer is a fantastic writer.

    42 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    Shocked That I Couldn't Put It Down

    I resisted reading this series for so long. I couldn't imagine a "teenage vampire" book would hold much interest for me. Boy was I wrong! I read the series straight through in 2 weeks and loved it! The courtship between Edward and Bella is pure,tender and romantic. Edward is chivlarous, intelligent and protective and Bella is sweet, stubborn and selfless. Jacob and the rest of the supporting characters add variety and some humor to the already fascinating story line. The love story created by Stephanie Meyer reminded me of some of the classics I have read over and over.
    I have never felt so attached to characters in an novel. I even found myself dreaming of them (it is ok to laugh at me I did too). For the first time ever I even went to the author's website and read everything about her and the story development. I am sad that she is not writing the series from Edward's perspective like she intended, but I do understand why she made that decision. I highly recommend this series even if you think a vampire/werewolf book sounds corny.

    40 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    Summer Fluff and Poor Writing

    I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. I flew through this series because the author's writing is mediocre at best. As a girl who once had a high school crush, I will admit I found myself sucked in by Edwards high school appeal, but Meyer's simplistic writing style quickly started to get on my nerves. How many times must we be reminded how cold Edward is? Can Bella be more small minded and whiney? Why do we have to suffer through 200 pages of fluff to actually get to the plot in each book? Once the plot is revealed the last third of the book is spent quickly resolving the issue and reminding us how cold, handsome, and mesmerizing Edward is how hot, hairy, and egotistical Jacob is and how co-dependent, whiney, and ackward Bella is. Please....If my fictional writing professor read these stories she would tell Meyer to refine her writing skills. I won't even go into the numerous holes in the story that even in a 'Vampire and Werewolf...I mean shape-shifter world' make no sense and run contradictory to her own plot writing. If anything, this book showed me that you don't have to be a great writer to be successful or to write a teenage Harlequin series.

    35 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    The Brilliance Continues...

    After reading the first 3 books I am still obsessed- Still In love and still wanting more. I have read the 3 in less than 4 days and determined to have the 4th read before the movie. I have my sister and mother starting the first and they agree how wonderful the series is. I cannot wait to continue on to the 4th.<BR/>This book in particular is way better than they last but still not as good as the first. You continue to fall in love with Edward and more so than ever you relate to Bella. Her emotional torment over being selfish or selfless and wrong vs. right and even her being torn about love- is truly something you can relate too as a human. <BR/>Jacob my least favorite of the characters is very instrumental but so is the rest of the Cullens and most importantly Edward. There is the intensity of forbidden love and fear of past enemies.<BR/>Eclipse is amazing and was a joy to read. I cannot wait for Breaking Dawn!

    26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Love this book!!!!!!!!

    Very addicting. I can tell what the ribon on the cover means but i wont tel u! Bella shud not have ben mad at edward in movie. I hope u agre. I LUV EDWARD!!

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    IN LOVE!!!!!"

    I absoutly love all the twilight books! I cant put them down!!!

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Eclipse Review

    Possibly my favorite book in the Twilight series, this book kept me up many nights and on the edge of my seat at every page! Character developments deepen here, and we learn more about other principle characters and their backstories. The reader stays firmly implanted in both the werewolf and vampire worlds as they ally themselves toward a common goal. The threat of bad vamp Victoria and her newborns were especially terrifying! The love triangle in the series reaches it's apex here with resultant complications. My heart took quite a ride during this book, and not one page dissapointed.

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    One of the best books!!!

    I can reread thia book over and over again!!!!! (:

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Eclipse

    If you have read Twilight and New Moon, I don't think anyone who loves Twilight can stop there. When I read Twilight, I couldn't just stop. I bought the whole series. Eclipse is the exciting sequel to New Moon and the third book in the twilight saga. This book is very exciting and those who have read the first two will love it, especially those who love suspense, the supernatural, romance, and fighting.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Omg

    I totally love this series.
    Hope this book is good





    Click"yes" if you agree with me plz

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    A Great book to say the least

    This is probably the best book in the series.I haven't read breaking Dawn yet.This book realy captures Bellas and Edwards feeling about eachother, while also showing Jacobs and Bellas feelings to eachother. It also shows Bellas resolve about becoming a vampire.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is amzing! I recommend it to everyone!!!!!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Best book ever!!!!!!!

    This is the best book that i have ever read!!! And let me tell you. Ive read about 150 books in the past six months. And just to let you know thats alot of books. Still I just love it soooo much!!!!!!! You dont want to put it down its so good! Thats about the only way that i can describe how good of a book it is.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Ruining Lierature

    It took me a month to read, and I read books twice the size in half the time. I honestly dont see how people like these books! The storyline is weak, and Bella... I can't even begin to explain. By the time I finished the book, I quite literally wanted to gouge my eyes out with a spork. This series is ruining literature.. Enough said

    10 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    great one

    poor jacob i really feel pity for his broken heart. love edward. book has so much more details than the movie!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Forgetable to the max!

    The only thing I remember about this book is that... (takes a while to remember) something bout the werewolves, oh sorry, shape shifters surrounding the house to protect Bella. And another part that I'm thinking SMeyer ment to be terrifying yet it was comical in a pathetic way. It was when there was a hand or leg I don't remember and it was crawling towards Bella. I found that so... I can't even think of it. This book was horrible and I will never read it again and I don't recommend it.

    10 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Most amazing book!

    This is the third book of the twilight saga. You don't have to read the first two books for everything to make sense the author sneaks in past knowledge to help you understand, but I do recommend reading the first two first. This book has everything from teenage drama to supernatural creators like vampires and werewolves. Bella who is the main character goes through romantic struggles with Edward who is a vampire, and Jake who is a werewolf. Both boys hate each other and compete to win Bella's love. Both boys start to work out their differences, and work together when Bella's life got in danger.

    Meyer themed each of her books to a specific book or play. Eclipse was themed after Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte. She brings up that book many times, and quotes it several times as well. The genre is Teen fiction thriller romance. The book got that genre because all the main characters are teenagers, it is not based on a true story, a lot of suspense, and is a love story.

    If you are one of those people that base which book you read of the cover, let me explain it to you. The cover is not very exciting, and makes the look boring with no action. There is meaning behind it, and it is just not some random ribbon. The broken ribbon represents choice, as in the book Bella must choose between Edward or Jacob. Also the author stated the ribbon represents the idea that Bella is unable to completely break away from her human life. Don't judge this book by its cover.

    If you don't like love stories then this book is not for you. The whole book is full of romantic struggles with Bella choosing Jake or Edward. Both boys are fictitious with (more popular) Edward a vampire, and (less popular) Jake a werewolf. I am not a big fan of the authors writing, and I don't like Bella's personality through out the book especially when she is depressed. If you can look over that it is a really good book, with a great story line, and other great characters.

    The characters in this book are one of things that make this a really good book. Stephenie Meyer thought of twilight in a dream and many of her characters came from the dream or people she knows. You have three groups of people the humans, vampires, and werewolves. The humans are Bella's family and friends the most common one is her dad. Vampires are Bella's boyfriend Edward, and his family The Cullen's. His family has my favorite character Alice, because she brings a lot of humor in the book and gives me a good laugh. Lastly the Werewolves, mainly Jake, and the pack of wolves he is with. The villain of the book is a female vampire who threatens Bella's life. When this happens it caused the vampires, and werewolves work together to achieve victory.

    In conclusion it was a very good book with more action then meets the cover. There are some great characters that make the book even more exciting. The book shows the presence of teenage love as an inhuman force. It shows that even if you hate someone real bad you are willing to work out your differences to help someone you care about. There are several principals in the book that can refer to you in your life. With so many different types of characters there is always one you fall in love with. It is a worth reading series.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great book!

    Amazing books and amazing movies! You get to see everyone in action, Victoria, Riley, The Cullens, Werewolves and the Volturi! Who come back to see Bella still as a human... what will they do? Read the book! :D

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 11348 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 568