Customer Reviews for

Eclipse (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 11267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8748)

4 Star

(1489)

3 Star

(544)

2 Star

(205)

1 Star

(281)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

great

I just love all of Stephenie Meyer's books. As a fan I would recommend them. can't wait to read the next!!!!!

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 119 people found this review helpful.

Summer Fluff and Poor Writing

I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. ...
I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. I flew through this series because the author's writing is mediocre at best. As a girl who once had a high school crush, I will admit I found myself sucked in by Edwards high school appeal, but Meyer's simplistic writing style quickly started to get on my nerves. How many times must we be reminded how cold Edward is? Can Bella be more small minded and whiney? Why do we have to suffer through 200 pages of fluff to actually get to the plot in each book? Once the plot is revealed the last third of the book is spent quickly resolving the issue and reminding us how cold, handsome, and mesmerizing Edward is how hot, hairy, and egotistical Jacob is and how co-dependent, whiney, and ackward Bella is. Please....If my fictional writing professor read these stories she would tell Meyer to refine her writing skills. I won't even go into the numerous holes in the story that even in a 'Vampire and Werewolf...I mean shape-shifter world' make no sense and run contradictory to her own plot writing. If anything, this book showed me that you don't have to be a great writer to be successful or to write a teenage Harlequin series.

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 11325 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 567
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Most amazing book!

    This is the third book of the twilight saga. You don't have to read the first two books for everything to make sense the author sneaks in past knowledge to help you understand, but I do recommend reading the first two first. This book has everything from teenage drama to supernatural creators like vampires and werewolves. Bella who is the main character goes through romantic struggles with Edward who is a vampire, and Jake who is a werewolf. Both boys hate each other and compete to win Bella's love. Both boys start to work out their differences, and work together when Bella's life got in danger.

    Meyer themed each of her books to a specific book or play. Eclipse was themed after Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte. She brings up that book many times, and quotes it several times as well. The genre is Teen fiction thriller romance. The book got that genre because all the main characters are teenagers, it is not based on a true story, a lot of suspense, and is a love story.

    If you are one of those people that base which book you read of the cover, let me explain it to you. The cover is not very exciting, and makes the look boring with no action. There is meaning behind it, and it is just not some random ribbon. The broken ribbon represents choice, as in the book Bella must choose between Edward or Jacob. Also the author stated the ribbon represents the idea that Bella is unable to completely break away from her human life. Don't judge this book by its cover.

    If you don't like love stories then this book is not for you. The whole book is full of romantic struggles with Bella choosing Jake or Edward. Both boys are fictitious with (more popular) Edward a vampire, and (less popular) Jake a werewolf. I am not a big fan of the authors writing, and I don't like Bella's personality through out the book especially when she is depressed. If you can look over that it is a really good book, with a great story line, and other great characters.

    The characters in this book are one of things that make this a really good book. Stephenie Meyer thought of twilight in a dream and many of her characters came from the dream or people she knows. You have three groups of people the humans, vampires, and werewolves. The humans are Bella's family and friends the most common one is her dad. Vampires are Bella's boyfriend Edward, and his family The Cullen's. His family has my favorite character Alice, because she brings a lot of humor in the book and gives me a good laugh. Lastly the Werewolves, mainly Jake, and the pack of wolves he is with. The villain of the book is a female vampire who threatens Bella's life. When this happens it caused the vampires, and werewolves work together to achieve victory.

    In conclusion it was a very good book with more action then meets the cover. There are some great characters that make the book even more exciting. The book shows the presence of teenage love as an inhuman force. It shows that even if you hate someone real bad you are willing to work out your differences to help someone you care about. There are several principals in the book that can refer to you in your life. With so many different types of characters there is always one you fall in love with. It is a worth reading series.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Edward

    Edward is sexy i got special edition lf eclipse watchin it now(: (: :)

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    The book that ties all the others together. The most importent in the twilight seares

    Without this book, the others would be piontles. In this book you really get to see the cullens and the wolfs at there best... and worst. Before you could only gas at the intencedy of the little love triangle, now you get the full pictur. I love this book but rekimend the you read it before you see the moovie. It will change the hole expeirince

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    :)

    IM ON TEAM EDWARD!!!!!!!!!! TEAM EDWARD FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Eclipse

    Best Series Ever!!!!!! <3

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Eclipse was a fantastic book! (the whole series was sleeping-till midnight-with-a-headache-not-wanting-to-let-go-of-the-book great!)I totally recommend it to anyone young or old... boy or girl! this is a book for anyone who loves fantasy (vampire-wise,) romance, and most importantly.......(DRUM ROLL...) a thriller book that makes you even to forget breathing... thinking what will happen next??

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    I am so on team Edward!!!! I love his book because it was so well writen and the series is one of the best ones that i have ever read!!!! You all have to read it!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Love books

    Team Edward! I am not a wolf fan

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    To much readin :P

    I read this book so many times it avtually fell into three diffrent peices!!! Itss deffinitally my favorite!! Lovin ihtt

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Eclipes

    Bell swan has to choose her famliy and her best friend or the love of her life and her new vampire family what would u do settle for your bff and not change or change for perfection and a new family

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Great

    Wonderful horror drama anf romance should make more books about edward and bella im in love with their romance wish i was in the books and movie :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    MY FRIEND SAYS ITS GOOD

    I cant wait to read this book! My friend says its the best book of the four! I just finnished new moon and Im waiting for this book. TEAM EDWARD ALL THE WAY! ANY OTHERS ON MY SIDE!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Eclipse: For Twilight Fans Only

    If you're thinking of reading this book, you've probably read Twilight and New Moon already, so you know what you're in for in terms of Meyer's cringe-worthy characterizations and writing. I do think each book in the series is worse than the last though, and in this case what stands out to me is how Edward and Jacob both show aspects of an abusive domestic partner, with Edward growing even more controlling than in the first two books. I think what I find particularly disappointing in this book, and the series in general, is how little Bella grows through the events of the book and the series, with no ambition in life other than to end it to be with Edward forever and taking no active role in facing the dangers that arise. For those who enjoy stories about paranormal creatures such as vampires, werewolves, and the interactions between them, there are far worthier books and series I'd recommend.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Parents beware, teen trauma in all it's horror...

    The Twilight series is a story of negative emotion, particularly self hatred, suicide and possessive romantic addiction with the carrier plot of reformed evil versus evil. The writing is mediocre.

    In Eclipse Bella can't decide who she wants more, the vampire or the werewolf, and obsesses about growing old as if 19 is the end of life as we know it. You begin to wonder why everyone's attention is focused on this morose child, perhaps a Meyer fantasy. Bella's mother is portrayed as a ditz and her father, a neanderthal. Granted some teens may appreciate that but do we really want to encourage rebellion?

    Parents beware, the fourth book is vampire sex from the first page to the very last. I do not recommend it because of this crass turn in a children's series. Interestingly, one of my teens likes the story and the other loathes it. The fourth book is not on their reading list.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    i just cant wait

    i loved twilight when i saw it it was just so realistic when a person says i just went to see a movie about vampires then you would never guess that that movie would turn out to be your fave movie i read twilight and loved it then read new moon in a week i am a person who doesnt like to read at all and i cant put theese books down!!!!!!!! now that i saw the movie everything seems so realistic P.S. Edward Cullen is so so so so so so so so so so CUTE

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    1of the BEST books i ever read

    I think the whole Twilight saga is one of the best series I have ever read in my whole life si far. How could it get better?( I am sooo team EDWARD;p)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring!

    This book is so boring! I cant even get through the fifth chapter! My frineds didnt like it either! who agrees?

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    Its a must read!

    It¿s a must read! <BR/> Eclipse is just one of the four books in Stephanie Meyer¿s exciting and fantasizing Twilight Saga series. In the third young adult sequel there is even more Bella and Edward that you could imagine! There are more close calls between Bella¿s life and the vampires that she encounters. And the relationship between Jacob Black and Bella gets closer. Now that you are about to read the third book in the series you should understand how the Cullen family works. But now you get to read and find out exactly how they came to be the vampires that they are. This book is one of my favorites, and if you are in love with the whole series like I am, well you are going to love Eclipse. This book is full of fast-paced scenes, action, and the romance that we love. What could get any better than Edward, Bella, Jacob, and the Cullens all at the same time and an even closer relationship? But I know the question that is probably running through your heads right now; will Bella¿s wish for Edward forever come true this time? Well I guess you are just going to have to read Eclipse to find out!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    IT SUCKS.

    this book sucks. I can't believe all the rave reviews its getting.<BR/>Its horribly written, the characters (except Jacob) are made of cardboard from the deadness they have inside; no personality whatsoever. Meh.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Unforgettable Book

    In my opinion, I think Eclipse is the best book out of the whole series because it has more action, more drama, and it has a lot of things to discuss about. Bella and Edwards love is even stronger than ever, but Jacob, Edwards' natural enemy, interferes with their love affairs when he confesses something that Bella nor Edward will forget. Even though there is more the one person hunting for Bella's life, Edward and Jacob are willing to protect her for as long as they can. Written in very thoughtful and emotional moods, this book is a great read for anyone who loves mystery, romance, and fantasies.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 11325 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 567