BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Eclipse

Average Rating 4.5
( 11278 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8758)

4 Star

(1490)

3 Star

(544)

2 Star

(205)

1 Star

(281)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

great

I just love all of Stephenie Meyer's books. As a fan I would recommend them. can't wait to read the next!!!!!

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

Summer Fluff and Poor Writing

I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. ...
I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. I flew through this series because the author's writing is mediocre at best. As a girl who once had a high school crush, I will admit I found myself sucked in by Edwards high school appeal, but Meyer's simplistic writing style quickly started to get on my nerves. How many times must we be reminded how cold Edward is? Can Bella be more small minded and whiney? Why do we have to suffer through 200 pages of fluff to actually get to the plot in each book? Once the plot is revealed the last third of the book is spent quickly resolving the issue and reminding us how cold, handsome, and mesmerizing Edward is how hot, hairy, and egotistical Jacob is and how co-dependent, whiney, and ackward Bella is. Please....If my fictional writing professor read these stories she would tell Meyer to refine her writing skills. I won't even go into the numerous holes in the story that even in a 'Vampire and Werewolf...I mean shape-shifter world' make no sense and run contradictory to her own plot writing. If anything, this book showed me that you don't have to be a great writer to be successful or to write a teenage Harlequin series.

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 281 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    Let me set you straight...

    Ok so a book review is the constructive critisism of literature. I can say whatever I want. It's MY OPINION. I'm not a "h8r". Well, actually, I am. Yes, I did read all of them. They still suck. Read Harry Potter instead.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    EDITED!! Don't wast your money!! Go with Kindle!!

    I bought the first two books and was VERY disappointed to find that the book had been edited!!! Twilight which runs 544 pages was only roughly 260! New Moon which is 608 was only 326!! Didn't bother buying anymore after I realized! What's the point if they're taking out half the book!! I even sent an email to customer service a week and a half ago and still haven't gotten a response!! SO VERY ANNOYED!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    wow

    one day my cat hopped on my computer. the random stuff she typed had more depth than this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst Books Ever

    This series of books was the worst I have ever read. The main character is a wishy washy woman who is controlled by every man in her life. Her being reckless is jumping off a freaking cliff into the ocean! The story was horribly written, and a quote from the author, "I don't think when I write, I just write". Well, we can all tell. Would never recommend this book, or series of books, to anyone ever. I bought a copy just to tear it up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    NOT GOOD! I DO NOT RECOMMEND FOR YOUNG ADULTS!!!!

    I really liked the first book in the series. It introduced the characters very well, I love Bella's character (other than her sexual promiscuity) and Edward sounds God-like. The 2nd and 3rd books really were not that good. They were really slow and SHOULD have been condensed into 1/3 of the pages that they were. I could have lived without the whole Jacob saga. and Bella is WAY too over-dramatic about losing Edward. seriously hundreds of pages of her pining. Enough is enough!!!! Also the 4th book leaves you hanging in relation to Jacob. Anyway, I almost put the series down for good. I am a finisher and just had to get to the end though - which I'm glad I did! The 4th book is freaking AWESOME!!! It's fast-paced with great romance and love (some of the sexual scenes were too much though... especially for a younger audience).

    It appalls me that these books are for "young adults." It upsets me that the heroine of the book, Bella, is constantly throwing herself sexually at Edward, and HE is the one to want to wait until marriage. Come on... there are lots of moral women out there. It's sad that Stephanie Meyer didn't create a more moral character that our teenage girls could look up to. I am not going to let my teenagers read these books just for that reason. I think the whole series was way too over-hyped. I'm not sure if I'll ever read them again, but if I do I will just quickly skim the 2nd and 3rd book.

    I have recently found an author that does portray moral upright values that I want in my daughters. I highly recommend these books to young adult/teenagers but really anyone at any age would love them. #1 Where the Wind Sings #2 Witch Way - both of these are by Robyn M. Schow.

    Gwen Owens - Grand Rapids, Michigan

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    i HATE it

    This book is horribly written it is a typical vampire romance novel and you already know the ending. Just skip it.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Stop the madness

    QUIT USING THIS AS A CHATROOM! THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE A PLACE WHERE YOU WRITE REVIEWS AND COMMENTS ABOUT BOOKS!! NOT TO TELL US ABOUT YOUR PERSONAL LIVES!! UGH! STOP IT, PLEASE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Leaflight

    All is welcome and she nods understandliy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    AngelPaw

    Should l wait?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    An Honest Twilight Review

    I was curious about this series because all my friends were reading it. I'm an avid reader, and I read the entire series once, thinking it was ok. It was not until l read it again did l discover that this series is BAD. In the first book, Twilight, most of the book is pointless until the end. Also, l noticed Edward only likes Bella because he can't access her mind and because her blood smells better than anyone else's. If she was a regular human being he wouldn't have noticed her at all. And all she seems to do is praise his "beautiful, warm honey eyes" and "sculpted, Adonis-like body." This is not love, this is plain lust. He likes her smell, she likes his looks. The second book was even worse. Edward leaves, and Bella mopes around and wallows in self-pity, showing how weak she is. She tries to jump off a cliff and kill herself just because Edward left her! The entire book was Bella whining about how terribly sad she is and her having hallucinations of Edward's voice and face. She takes advantage of Jacob. It sends out a message through the media to the young girls this book is directed to that women can't stand up or even live without a man. It's sick. The third book is a lot of talking and Bella having nightmares about a red-eyed baby, until the end, where there's a battle scene that lasts one page. The last book, Breaking Dawn, is as bad as the rest. Edward and Bella have a stereotypical wedding then go to a tropical island, where they have unprotected sex and concieve Renesme. The auther discourages abortion, makes Bella's baby eat its way out of her, and fill most of the book with Jacob talking to other werewolves in his mind. The writing is poor and the story is cheesy, like a vampire soap opera. The plot is shallow and the characters pathetic. Stephanie Meyer uses the word "Perfect" too much. Perfect vampires with not one flaw. They can run super fast, their skin is perfect, they are physically pretty, they are talented at everything, they are super strong, they are wealthy, they live forever. Is there one imperfection? No. This is not the message we should be giving to teenage girls. The teenage years are awkward. Most teen girls feel imperfect: too fat, too pimply, they don't like their face, or their hair. This book just adds salt to the wound. All girls wish they were as "perfect" as the female vampires. They want white skin, a skinny body, they want to live forever. If you are a person going here to see if the reviews are good for this book and see this one, don't buy it. So many people here say, "Oh yeah Twilights amaaaaazing!" But it's not. Everyone who likes it is stupid. I would even say it's not a real book. It's the poorest piece of literature i've ever read. No matter what anyone says, don't read it. Here's a list of other books you can read that are better:<br>
    Harry Potter<br>
    Artemis Fowl<br>
    Lord of the Rings<br>
    Brave Story<br>
    The Hunger Games<br>
    Most of them has a female main character who is tough and unshallow, such as Meena, Katniss Everdeen, or Hermione Granger. Please take my advice and don't read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Worst book ever....

    I hated it so will you...try harry potter

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    LegendHeart and HeatFur

    LegendHeart~ She flicks her tail, hiting the dirt with her paws<p>
    HeatFur~ He licks his golden pelt, looking around boredly.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    The girl with the e diaries tells lies

    She said that she was just at church on may 26. Wierdly her next post was posted the same day where she claimed to have kissed a boythe same day on a picnic bench at school. Then her and her boyfriend go to prom two days later. Wouldnt the prom tickets have been sold out by then

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    More word-vomit and fluff.  Still not worth reading. Mad there i

    More word-vomit and fluff. 
    Still not worth reading.
    Mad there is still no real depth to any of the characters.
    Not worth the hype or the money. 

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Sex

    Im so HOOORNY GET IN BED NOOW

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    That was the WORST book i never finished. It was so dull and bor

    That was the WORST book i never finished. It was so dull and boring and repetetive. How much of the stupid indian wolf stories could one take before you really stop caring. Utter frustration avoid this just think the first two books are all that exist. Forget this and im not bothering with the fourth

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Answer to question

    Because no intelligent people read these books.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    WARNING

    If you are reading this book you are probably inflicted with lonelylittlegirlwithnolifeitis. Stop reading this and get a life.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Question.

    Why arnet there more one star reviews?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Nom nom nom nom nom

    BLLLLLLLLAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 281 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 15