BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Eclipse

Average Rating 4.5
( 11280 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8760)

4 Star

(1490)

3 Star

(544)

2 Star

(205)

1 Star

(281)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

great

I just love all of Stephenie Meyer's books. As a fan I would recommend them. can't wait to read the next!!!!!

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

Summer Fluff and Poor Writing

I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. ...
I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. I flew through this series because the author's writing is mediocre at best. As a girl who once had a high school crush, I will admit I found myself sucked in by Edwards high school appeal, but Meyer's simplistic writing style quickly started to get on my nerves. How many times must we be reminded how cold Edward is? Can Bella be more small minded and whiney? Why do we have to suffer through 200 pages of fluff to actually get to the plot in each book? Once the plot is revealed the last third of the book is spent quickly resolving the issue and reminding us how cold, handsome, and mesmerizing Edward is how hot, hairy, and egotistical Jacob is and how co-dependent, whiney, and ackward Bella is. Please....If my fictional writing professor read these stories she would tell Meyer to refine her writing skills. I won't even go into the numerous holes in the story that even in a 'Vampire and Werewolf...I mean shape-shifter world' make no sense and run contradictory to her own plot writing. If anything, this book showed me that you don't have to be a great writer to be successful or to write a teenage Harlequin series.

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 205 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fair

    After reading Twilight,New Moon and now Eclipse again the writer continues a story that for vampires is a little unblievable. Her writing has a lot holes in it concerning them, but the humor is wonderful I must admit. Again vampires are not cold or made of stone and if you make this one into a movie it would be hard to believe and the director will have a hard time I believe coming across on screen. Again good luck guys.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    upset with characters

    I have to say that I loved the first two books but was disappointed by Eclipse. I hated the character development( or lack of). Bella is NOT a good roll model for teenagers. At 18 you don't know what you want and should not be giving up anything for any boy(human, werewolf or vampire). She is full of self loathing and doubt. One thing that really bothered me was how the Cullens treated Bella. Edward never clued Bella in on anything that was happening unless she happened to find out on her own. Alice in my opinion is a horrible friend. First with the guilt trips about the wedding and then going along with Edward's plan to kidnap her everytime he's hunting just to "keep he safe"! She's in just as much danger with vampires as she is with the wolves, maybe even more.
    The thing that bothered me the most was Jacob. I loved Jacob so much in the second book that i wished they would get together but in this novel he turns into Jekyll and Hyde! The love scenes with Bella and Jacob were almost abusive and Bella kept going back to him.
    I don't feel anyone, wolf or vampire, had any respect for Bella, including herself. Not a good roll model.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    Frustrating Disappointment

    Okay, so I read Twilight, and despite a slow beginning, I fell in love with Edward - as did every other reader as he is the entire reason this series has spawned such a massive following. I read New Dawn and spent the first 3/4 of the book yelling, "Where is Edward?" and really just trying to plug through it until he made his reappearance. Which he did, so I was geared up to read Eclipse...and was gravely diappointed.<BR/><BR/>Meyer spent 500 pages of book 1 getting us to fall in love with Edward and then spent 500 pages of book 2 showing us how miserable Bella's life is without him. Book 2 was also supposed to give us a new male hero - in Jacob. But sadly this was never really done. I was left not liking Jacob as he has no defining qualities and not understand at all why Bella was so drawn and attached to him. Well, whatever, because at the end of Book 2, Edward comes back so I felt there was no need for Jacob anymore. He's a transitory character at best and really just not likeable.<BR/><BR/>But no...Book 3 is all about selfish, spoiled, whiny, ungrateful Bella forcing Edward to let her see Jacob and just INSISTING that she just HAS to see him as well. Why? What's the big deal over this guy? He's rude and selfish and cocky and just overall irritating. And Edward's back! So what the heck are you risking that relationship for - especially for someone so unlikeable as Jacob?<BR/><BR/>And, of course, Edward being the most perfect specimen EVER, is understanding of it and gives Bella her way, as always. Which is irritating because Bella doesn't deserve someone like him.<BR/><BR/>The book had 3 major flaws: 1) It's impossible to like Bella, she's just infuriating. 2) It's impossible to understand her complete and utter fixation on Jacob. And 3) It's impossible to like Jacob. So it makes the book impossible to enjoy.<BR/><BR/>I was left feeling frustrated and hating everyone in the book - including Edward for settling for someone such as Bella. I won't be wasting time reading Breaking Dawn. The writer did a horrible job creating her heroine and then an even worse one developing her. Bravo to Meyer for creating such a romantic dreamboat as Edward, but the rest - ugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    Dissapointed

    Having read most of Ann Rice's books, I experienced how the Vampire books got from good and erotic to verbose and boring. Ms. Stephanie Meyer is unfortunately the later version of Ms. Rice. I believe that the audience Ms. Meyer is witting for is high school girls, which might explain her poor performance. Bella and Edward's story can be summarized in two paragraphs. A very insecure girl moves to Forks in Washington State escaping her mother who recently remarried, to live with her father, the town sheriff. She meets a very awkward boy, Edward and slowly fall for him. She finally guesses that he is a vampire, and their relationship grows until Edward places Bella in great danger. After a few chasing around, Bella is saved by her boyfriend. How Ms. Meyer got almost 500 pages to tell us this I could not explain. Her style is nothing like Ms Rice's, the eroticism does not work--again I think because of the audience she is trying to reach. I read the book in two days and was greatly disappointed. I hope she does better in the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    a little disappointed

    I have to say that while Eclipse was a very good book, it dissappointed me greatly. Bella to me seems like a bit of a hypocrite in the story and I have gone from disliking Jacob to hating him. Bella seems very fickle in the book about who she loves and she acts jealous towards Edward and girls that love him she is sneaking off with Jacob. I feel like she is twotiming Edward in the story and he sits there with a smile and lets it happen. I don't know I was just disappointed. Bella's character was ruined for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    very....romantic

    This story really lacked 'action' and all the great energy Meyer put in Twilight. I mean come on, stop kissing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have read all of the books so far and they just keep getting worse. The main character Bella is so lame and Wimpy, Edward and the other vampires are like invincible. Its just dumb and so very predictable! I just cant stand Bella's character she annoys the heck out of me. She is always soooo predictable!!!BOARING!Don't start reading this series!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    Good, but depressing

    I'm absolutely obsessed with the first book the love story beween Bella and Edward is enough to make every female reader beyond envious of what she has with him. But the second and third book just depressed me. Jacob got involved and everything became more complex making me doubt whether Bella and Edward would get that happy ending I wanted. I just think Meyers sort of ruined this perfect thing that the story had going for it. Eclipse was a good book, but it lacked the main reason I read it for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2007

    Why do others rave about this book? It's not that good!!

    Book one of this series (Twilight) was good, but subsequent books have not lived up to it. There is no tension in this book. Yes, a book about vampires and werewolves and there is no suspense. The characters are flat. It's hard to find Victoria all that menacing when she's barely mentioned. Edward is so underdeveloped -- he is really just plain boring by this point. Jacob is the only 'believable' character. The writing really stinks - it reads like a glorified romance novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Dismal. Very dismal.

    forgive me, if i may be wrong, but i loved twilight and new moon, just not this one. from a great romance, to just typical soap opera drama, this book bore me quite a bit. and bella if you're out there, stop being such a slut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    What a let down!

    Twilight was so good, yet Eclipse was so disappointing. The love triangle was so over played and Bella was annoying. Most objectionable was Jacob's forcefulness with kissing Bella and Edward's controlling, over protectiveness. Seriously, even if they are 'monsters' they should show a little respect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    What?

    I'm sorry, but this book did not stand up to the other two at all. It took me a long time to read it because it bored me. It lagged on, and got confusing. I think Eclipse was the weakest out of the series so far. It wasn't the worse book I've read but it wasn't by far the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Enormaously Disappointing

    Only about twenty percent of this book was worth reading. Chapters 7, 11, 13, and 24 were very entertaining. The scenes depicting the love triangle between Bella, Edward, and Jacob play out like a bad soap opera, painfully ridiculous. And as I see it Bella has no redeeming qualities- why are these guys wanting her so bad anyway? She is hugely self-centered, needy, and whiney. I feel bad for the guy that does end up with her, but this book has ruined the series for me so I won¿t be there to find out who that poor fellow is. I think this book does young girls a huge disservice as to what their expectations of a boyfriend/ husband should be not to mention what is acceptable or desirable behavior from a girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    Eclipse leaves you feeling....Eh...

    Twilight and New Moon are hard books to top. The follow up Eclipse, shows just that. Our herione Bella, has gone from a sensible mature teenager, to a whiny, clingy kid. I think people who liked Bella before will have a sort of aversion to her now. Her character becomes just frusturating throught the book. Edward Cullen becomes this overprotective prat, and Jacob truns into this spoiled brat. You become disapointed by the two boys. The plot is very predictable and dragged out and nothing of great importance happens within the story. Not to say there were not good parts. Both Jasper and Rosalie's pasts were just the emotional and revealing depth the book needed, but lacked. Fans of the books proabably will enjoy it but it is definetly the worst book in the series. Let's hope book Four wraps everything up nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    Ugh.

    I was a huge fan of Twilight and New Moon, and my friends and I couldn't wait for Eclipse to come out. We hit Barnes and Noble the day of the release, read it in days, and I have to say, I was thoroughly disappointed. It was predictable, very boring, and didn't have much of a plot. I had a hard time disliking a book after the first two were so good, but it just got steadily worse. I ended up disliking Bella and not really caring for Edward, who didn't have much of a personality in this book and just got boring. I was sad to see such a good series go down the drain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    This book was a huge disappointment.

    First of all, I loved Twilight and New Moon. I couldn't put it down, literally I spent the whole day reading it. When I heard that Eclpise was coming out I spazzed and I just had to ge tthe book which I did, and now I regret it. I really wish I could refund this book. At first I liked Bella, but in this third book her liking someone else just really threw me off. I felt that every one was out of charcter especially the whiney and complainey Bella, that could have pratically anything in the world and she still wants more. She already loves Edward, but she decide to love someone else, and Edward literally just stood there like nothing was going on. Also the story was not realistic at all for a vampire novel and ANYTHING could happen in a vampire novel. The plot was ok at first then it got really frustrating. I expected an epic battle towards the end of the story but it ended in one chapter, the author was building up the up to the climax, but there was none. I would still read it since you already the first two books but don't but it borrow it from a friend. I hope she does better in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    What was she thinking?!

    I loved Twilight! New Moon was good, it made me cry, in the good way. Eclipse... made me cringe. I didn't know what to really expect but this was not it. It dragged on, it lacked continuation with personalities, and Bella was just a little too lusty for my own liking. And I completely love romance novels! I had to shake my head at this because it was just too ridiculous. Bella was so naive and clingy and after everything we've learned about her, it just doesn't work. I will be getting the next book because I have to see how the story goes on, I'm too invested in it to stop, but I'm not excited about its release, not like I was for this one, and that didn't turn out well, obviously. I really hope the next one can Eclipse the bad feelings I have for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2007

    Eclipse

    I have been waiting for this book to come out since the second one ended, but when i finally read it, i wished i hadnt wasted eighteen bucks on it. The whole book just talks about the legends behind all of the pasts of the people in the book. Bella is way too dramatic and takes Edward and Jacob for granted. And she whines way too much for her own good. Try again, Miss Meyer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I enjoyed this book until maybe half way through, and really thought it was living up to its series potential. Afterward, I thought the love triangle was completely unnecessary and it ruined the whole idea of true love I thought that Stephenie Meyer was trying to convey in the previous two books in the series. Overall I wanted more, I didn't think that enough issues were resolved and I hated the epilogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2007

    i hope book 4 is better

    I had high expectations for this book it was a big let down. However twilight is one of my favorite books i can read it over and over again. I felt as if Meyer was holding back on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 205 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11