Customer Reviews for

Eclipse

Average Rating 4.5
( 11265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8746)

4 Star

(1489)

3 Star

(544)

2 Star

(205)

1 Star

(281)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

great

I just love all of Stephenie Meyer's books. As a fan I would recommend them. can't wait to read the next!!!!!

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 119 people found this review helpful.

Summer Fluff and Poor Writing

I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. ...
I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. I flew through this series because the author's writing is mediocre at best. As a girl who once had a high school crush, I will admit I found myself sucked in by Edwards high school appeal, but Meyer's simplistic writing style quickly started to get on my nerves. How many times must we be reminded how cold Edward is? Can Bella be more small minded and whiney? Why do we have to suffer through 200 pages of fluff to actually get to the plot in each book? Once the plot is revealed the last third of the book is spent quickly resolving the issue and reminding us how cold, handsome, and mesmerizing Edward is how hot, hairy, and egotistical Jacob is and how co-dependent, whiney, and ackward Bella is. Please....If my fictional writing professor read these stories she would tell Meyer to refine her writing skills. I won't even go into the numerous holes in the story that even in a 'Vampire and Werewolf...I mean shape-shifter world' make no sense and run contradictory to her own plot writing. If anything, this book showed me that you don't have to be a great writer to be successful or to write a teenage Harlequin series.

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 544 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Finally read them

    I really enjoyed the first two books. While this one was good, I did not feel it was as good as the first two. It was a little slow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LONG!!!!

    Long long just too long. It took me forever to finish it I was so bored. Worst of them all if you ask me. It was horrifingly, unexplainibly, and painfully long! I can't even remember what I did and didn't like about it. Lets just say when I put it down I started sing hallelujah! And was like FINALLY!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    This is the best book of the Twilight series. Due to Jacob's lar

    This is the best book of the Twilight series. Due to Jacob's larger role in the story, the book is good in some parts. But like the other three books of the Twilight series, Eclipse will make you want to throw something at a wall. But Stephenie Meyer must be doing something right if she can cause a reader to have so much emotion about a book that they get so incredibly frustrated with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Better Than New Moon But Not as Good as Twilight.

    Eclipse was a lot better than New Moon plot-wise, but I wish the whole Bella x Edward x Jacob didn't exist. This is just about me, personally, but I hate love triangles. I know other people do, too. I don't believe a person can LOVE two people in the same time. Crush, be attracted to... yes. But not love. Some books manage to make it in a way I don't mind the love triangle that much. Unfortunately, Eclipse is not one of these cases. Considering the Twilight Saga deals with the supposedly ultimate love between Edward and Bella, it's even more aggravating that Meyer chose to push this series into a love triangle. How can you expect us to believe, as we did in Twilight, that these two truly have the purest and deepest love, if Bella herself doesn't seem so sure of that? In fact, she's so unsure she falls for another guy. I didn't stomach this well, to say the least. I also found Bella's behavior infuriating; for someone who basically gave up living the moment Edward was out of her life, she is very... fickle. Also, this book just emphasizes how useless Bella is - the only thing she's good for is... bait?! I wish she was stronger, more meaningful. As for Edward... I still love the guy--hard to erase the major crush I got on him the first book, despite everything he had done since--but he, too, could afford to be more headstrong. I mean, his girl kinda cheats on him and he's as calm about it as can be - because he 'brought it on himself'. I mean, yes - he did. But, dude, show some emotion about it! With all me saying that, Eclipse still had one of my most favorite scenes in the whole book and I did enjoy this book. Upon closer inspection, this book did have many things I disliked, but I enjoyed reading it regardless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Great!!!!!! BY: Spot Look for my reviews on your books!

    It was very good. But I put it down half way through the book and didnt pick it back up tell several mounths later. But I finished it and over all LOVED IT!!!!!!!! I think there is about 50 to 100 pages that I had to push through. But I really recomend pushing through. Very good book! I think it is the slowest book, but still amazingly good.

    By: Spot
    If you want me to read a book just wright a review on any book I have too and say "Hey Spot read this......."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Fine

    I don't think that it was bad, nut it wasn't the best

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Eclipse

    Good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    It Continues The Story. It Lacked True Emotion.

    Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer was the third in an average story about love-sick vampires. Now, I believe in the Joss Whedon vampire more than the Stephanie Meyer vampire. I believe that when vampires go out in the sun, they burst into flames. NOT sparkle. Despite that opinion this series is an adequite love story. However, I would like Bella to have more emotion. Edward would do nything to protect her, and he loves her more than anything. Bella said at least twice in the book, that she does NOT love him with all of her heart. She also said that one of the things that bothered her was getting married right out of high school, but she wanted to be changed into a vampire right out of high school. Is there really a difference? I had trouble understanding the plot many times during this book. However, I do want to read the next book. I would like to see how Meyer ends this love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The action was excellent, and the book was pretty good, but...

    This book started off pretty good, and it made you excited when it talked about Victoria coming and all that stuff, and I enjoyed the fight in the snow, but after the resolution, I still had about 80 pages to go... Now, the saga is great, but Stephenie Meyer needs to compress her stories a little bit, because it was torture for me to read what felt like soooo many pages after the resolution. You have to read every book in the series, but I was not happy with how uncompressed it was, and I find it boring for the book to drag on so extremely after the climax has already resolved. Good read, but too dragging... :/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    Ok for pleasure reading...

    This series if extremely predictable. That said, if you know what you are getting yourself into are ok with it, you should really enjoy it. The authors writing style is a bit annoying and repetitive...but considering the target audience it is probably right on track as far as intellect. I am not saying that as a 21 yr old woman I did not enjoy Eclipse because what girl is not a sucker for a good love story? I actually am anxious to get my hands on Breaking Dawn (and so is my husband lol), but if you are expecting something other than a teeny bopper romance/suspense storyline then you will be sorely disappointed. Overall, a refreshing read...helps get your mind off of the more important troubles in life...if only for four short novels. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Wow

    They are so awsome! Twilight could not get bet er than this! WOW!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Eclipse

    I think it was a okay one. I would have to say that it wasnt my favortie out of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Read this for real

    I luv this bk but people need to stay nice to each others opinions. Just because u dont like thi book doesnt mean ur bes friend agrees w u! I luv this book but someone should come on here and delete all of the mean rude or silly coments. Grow up people!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    When I finished ECLIPSE, I felt empty inside, like I was a seash

    When I finished ECLIPSE, I felt empty inside, like I was a seashell sitting on the beach, trying to become one with the waves. Sure, I had been entertained by the story itself and by the surrounding beachcombers, pedestrians, and dogs playing on the shoreline, or in this case, the vampires and werewolves and otherwise normal individuals who constitute the pages of Stephenie Meyer’s tale. But I felt less than fulfilled as I flipped the pages at a furious, breakneck pace.

    It’s hard for me to explain the dichotomy because I don’t really understand it myself. The pace of the novel never really slows, but at the same time there’s not a whole lot that has happened in ECLIPSE or the two previous installments. Again, I really have no doubt that there is talent at work here: talent at world invention, character creation, and a unique approach to a rather traditional storyline. This novel, like the others, is filled with a certain amount of promise. But at the same time, this promise seems to go unfulfilled.

    But do I want to keep reading? Absolutely. However, I do think the empty feeling will continue all the way to the end. And it’s hard not to feel a bit disappointed by this result. So the dance continues Stephenie Meyer, as I both admire and loathe you in equal parts, and if I ever figure out the answer to my dichotomy dilemma, I will have solved one of the great mysteries of the universe.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    I had to read this, but it's my least favorite in the series.

    I had to read this, but it's my least favorite in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Enjoyed books 1 & 2 better

    The story line was ok but didn't really grasp my attention

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Team edward!!!!!!!!!!!

    Amazing bokk read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    2nd Favorite

    This is my second favorite in the series. I like how Team Edward and Team Jacob come together!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Its ok

    I just give it a 3/5 cuz im mad at bella for picking esward than jacob. Idc if u r a vampire lover but realy just get over it omfg! Get a grip bella! I rather fall in love with a guy that had a heart than a cold rock!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    A good book

    Eclipse is a romance story by Stephenie Meyer. It is about clumsy teenager Bella Swan and handsome vampire Edward Cullen. I liked this book because even though it's mainly a romance novel, there was also some action. Bella and her friend Jacob Black have a fight and she discovers his secret. Then a cult of savage, bloodthirsty vampires, try to kill Bella. Edward and all the other Cullens will do whatever it takes to preserve Bella's life, and with a little help, they do. Edward has the final battle with Victoria, the red-head, who has her sights set on killing Bella. Other than that the books kind of sappy. Bella tries to convince Edward to have a baby with her; but he won't unless she agrees to marry him. She also tries to get him to change her into a vampire. I mean it's like saying, 'I love you, please bite my neck.' It's REALLY romantic! It's a very good book but if you're not into romance I wouldn't read this. There's no blood, guts, or gore, just a lot of sappy romantic stuff like a lot of kissing, and some deep, soulful gazes. None of this could ever really happen I mean he's a vampire!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 544 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28