Customer Reviews for

Eclipse

Average Rating 4.5
( 11304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8778)

4 Star

(1494)

3 Star

(545)

2 Star

(204)

1 Star

(283)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

great

I just love all of Stephenie Meyer's books. As a fan I would recommend them. can't wait to read the next!!!!!

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 121 people found this review helpful.

Summer Fluff and Poor Writing

I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. ...
I picked up this book as a graduate student wanting some summer 'fluff' following my internship and before starting thesis work. I read all four books within a two week period. No, these two weeks didn't fly by because I was amazed by the book and couldn't put it down. I flew through this series because the author's writing is mediocre at best. As a girl who once had a high school crush, I will admit I found myself sucked in by Edwards high school appeal, but Meyer's simplistic writing style quickly started to get on my nerves. How many times must we be reminded how cold Edward is? Can Bella be more small minded and whiney? Why do we have to suffer through 200 pages of fluff to actually get to the plot in each book? Once the plot is revealed the last third of the book is spent quickly resolving the issue and reminding us how cold, handsome, and mesmerizing Edward is how hot, hairy, and egotistical Jacob is and how co-dependent, whiney, and ackward Bella is. Please....If my fictional writing professor read these stories she would tell Meyer to refine her writing skills. I won't even go into the numerous holes in the story that even in a 'Vampire and Werewolf...I mean shape-shifter world' make no sense and run contradictory to her own plot writing. If anything, this book showed me that you don't have to be a great writer to be successful or to write a teenage Harlequin series.

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1494 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 75
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Love this book!!!!!!!!

    Very addicting. I can tell what the ribon on the cover means but i wont tel u! Bella shud not have ben mad at edward in movie. I hope u agre. I LUV EDWARD!!

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    The book that ties all the others together. The most importent in the twilight seares

    Without this book, the others would be piontles. In this book you really get to see the cullens and the wolfs at there best... and worst. Before you could only gas at the intencedy of the little love triangle, now you get the full pictur. I love this book but rekimend the you read it before you see the moovie. It will change the hole expeirince

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Very good story line. Keeps you on your toes. The back and for

    Very good story line. Keeps you on your toes. The back and forth with Edward and Jacob is classic.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Read this

    This third edition to Twilight is way better than the first two. If Meyer had started with this one,it would be a lot more interesting. It had me from page one and had a whole lot more to it than twilight and new moon. Way better plot than Twilight and New Moon, i especially liked how the vampires and werewolves teamed up to fight Victoria. This book is definitly the best in the Twilight series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Must read!

    Third book in a beautifully romantic series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Better

    This book was definitely better than the first 2 plot-wise, but the characters actions are definitely still absurd at points. Bella still seems so weak in this book to the point of actually making me angry. And Edward and Jacob are as controlling as ever. However, unlike the first 2, this book does a nice job linking the diferent characters and showing what motivates each one of them and bringing their past lives/experiences to life. While still extremely predictable, this is the first book in which the plot is actually interesting and makes you want to continue reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    It was good

    It was a good book i read it in summer of 2010and i was in the 4th grade...Very good book love it!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Wonderful book!!!

    Lots of action and suspense. Good book. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good read. I would also recommend you read the first 2 books too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The most exciting book in the series

    ECLIPSE is truly the climax of Stephenie Meyer's four-part TWILIGHT SAGA. As the paranormal love triangle reaches its cresendo, Bella must make her final, crucial choice between Jacob and the natural life he represents or Edward and the unknown. The two vivid heroes are both impossibly loveable, and Bella has some tantalizing scenes with each. Team lines are reinforced amongst readers at the same time that they (temporarily) dissolve in Meyer's fictional world. The ancient enemies must come together in a tenuous treaty to protect the mere mortal girl at the heart of the series - no mean feat, considering the wild and bloodthirsty enemies they face.

    When the tension finally comes to a head and the novel's mysteries coalesce into a horrifying realization, an unexpected twist produces some of the best action scenes in the series, which will leave readers on the edge of their seats, hearts pounding. While ECLIPSE still has its over-the-top sappy moments, they are counteracted more than ever by the twisting and turning plotline of revenge and romance. The dark and captivating histories of several of the saga's most inscrutable characters are recounted over the course of the novel and give depth to previously misunderstood characters, who may not be as menacing as they seem. The way Meyer's characters see themselves is often quite distinct from the way they appear to the rest of the world, and these complex psychologies reinforce the character-centric writing style that drives the series and makes Meyer's tale of paranormal teen romance so surprisingly engrossing. The captivating cliffhanger at the end of ECLIPSE will send readers rushing to the bookstore to find out what shocking surprises Meyer still has up her sleeve in the final installment of Bella and Edward's fateful tale, BREAKING DAWN.

    ~Review from thebookishtype[dot]blogspot[dot]com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    A review of Eclipse by Kaden Whaley

    Introduction: All Twilight fans rest easy now for the third installment of the franchise has arrived. This book was written by Stephenie Meyer, the same author who wrote Twilight and New Moon also Breaking Dawn. This book is a prime example of what can happen when you hand over a franchise to a competent author who has love for there work. Description and summary of main points: When numerous mysterious murders takes place in Seattle, Edward suspects they might have been committed by a group of newly born vampires, who are incapable of controlling themselves. Bella wants to see Jacob her Ware wolf friend. He tells Edward about it. Meanwhile Alice has a vision in which Victoria comes back to the town for revenge for James death. James was Victoria's lover killed by Edward. Edward worries about bellas safety, but she assures him that she will be safe with Jacob. Victoria and her army are defeated. Bella has to choose between Edward and Jacob. She tells Jacob that she loves him but she also admits that she loves Edward more. Evaluation: Most of the book is really good. This book is a mix with romance science fiction and action. In comparison to other book this is the book I would read. This is the third book of the saga. You should watch the movies to, you will really understand the book if you watch. Conclusion: In conclusion this book is romantic, science fiction, and really good in action. You will have to read it to get hooked on to it. I would read the whole series. Start off with twilight, it is the first book. Eclipse is the best one out of all of them though. Your final review: Well first of all I told you that eclipse is the best book of the series. This book is really romantic and if you love action read this book! You will love this saga because it is really exciting

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    Oh no not Seattle. So I remembered getting all excited (at the

    Oh no not Seattle.

    So I remembered getting all excited (at the time I was a fan alright) for the next book to come out. It was nice to be a part of time, you know?

    So finally I got the book, and begun to read.

    Even back then I recalled, getting annoyed at the supposed love triangle, annoyed at this and that, thinking, its freaking obvious who she'll "choose." And lo and behold....anyway, through this whole thing, I felt sorry for Jacob. You really want the guy to be happy.

    But with his character in this, I was thinking, if he was switched with someone else or something. He didn't even seem to act like himself. So many moments where I face palmed or went, "What?"

    And the ending, the ending...UGH! And don't get me started on the "last" book. OMG!!!! I'm questioning what did I ever like in this books.

    Yeah the 4 rating is more for again, nostalgia but still. At least something happened in this one. This is a weird series with each book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    BookWorm

    I am in LUUUUUUUUVVVVVV with these series! I have them all ,( paperback ) , so i thought i could recommend this to others like me! U might not belive me but the movies SUCK !!! the books however, leave a really nice mark. I saw one movie before i read it and thought she was a whore. When i read the books i thoughther a legend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    Great series. I read it just to find out why the kids liked it s

    Great series. I read it just to find out why the kids liked it so much. The vampires in this world are interestingly different. I enjoyed the book versions much better than the movies. One thing that annoys me about this particular e-book (the others have been fixed): the old cover shows in my library on my Nook, then the new one, which is advertised, appears when you open it. It would be nice if they would fix this one, too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Totally on team edward!!

    Edward is way better then jacob thats for sure. He isn't so possesive. Edward is a little possesive but not as much a jacob!!!!!!!!!and edward can control himself and he's a vampire

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    The guys book of the series.

    This book was action packed. Just as addicting as the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Eclipse

    Very exciting book. Will keep you reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Pulling for Jacob....

    I have seen this movie and was always pulling for Edward. Now having read the books and realizing the things that Bella feels, I wish that Jacob would win in the end! The books have been way better than the movies and I totally LOVE the movies :) Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Up and Down Book

    This book is my third fav Twilight book(1st is Twilight, 2nd is Breaking Dawn, 4th is New Moon) and it's really good. Sometimes it drags a little, but this is the book whre Bella FINALLY understands everything she'll sacfrice if she becomes immortal. Bella has to choose between Edward and Jacob while Victoria reappears, more badass than ever with a few new friends and leaving Seattle a murder zone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    Eclipse

    Eclipse is the third book to the irresistible Twilight Saga. I think it is a good continuation, although I don¿t believe it is better than the first book. The third book takes place mostly in the little town of Forks. Bella is still so happy that her Edward has come back for her and that he promises that he will never leave her again. But as everything seems to be getting back to normal, terror strikes again. After Bella has discovered a few things have gone missing from her room, she tells Alice and they soon realize that Bella is being followed again. Whoever the person is that is trying to get Bella is also responsible for over twenty deaths that are happening in Seattle. Edward and his family have to learn and prepare for the fight of their life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    My sun and moon align for Stephenie Meyer's book ECLIPSE!!!!!!!!

    This third novel of Stephenie Meyer's Twilight series will take you on a ride of your life. High School graduation is looming for Bella...and Edward (even though he has graduated numerous times from numerous schools). You know what that means..ending her human life and changing into an immortal vampire, just like the Cullens so she can be with Edward for eternity. This way when she is uncontrollably thirsting for human blood they say she is away at "college". She has found herself caught in a love triangle with Jacob Black and Edward. We now know that Jacob is a wolf. And history tells us that wolves and vampires are the utmost of enemies. So Bella struggles to keep her romantic relationship with Edward while keeping in touch with her best friend, Jacob. And Jacob and Edward struggle not to rip each other's throat out. Bella learns more about the Cullens and how each one became a vampire. She gets closer and closer with each family member. Danger for the life of Bella Swan is not missing from this book. Victoria still lives to seek revenge on Bella. She plans to kill Edward's love (Bella), because he murdered her lover (James). A mass of killings are taking place in Seattle, and the Cullens have a hunch who might be the culprits. They are worried the Volturi might step in and intervene. They are also worried about this intervention because Bella is still human, and in the second book New Moon, she was told that the next time they see her, if she values her life, she better be a vampire since humans are not supposed to know about vampires. As danger gets closer and closer to Forks, Washington, unnatural things start to happen. You will see a weird relationship form between the wolves and the Cullens in this book. For the world's greatest enemies to come together like that means something bigger than themselves is going on. Forgetting their pride, they fight together to save the lives of innocent humans. The book ends with a life changing announcement! Good for teens, especially girls. But boys would enjoy as well!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1494 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 75