Customer Reviews for

Economics in One Lesson: The Shortest and Surest Way to Understand Basic Economics

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Factual Understanding of How an Economy Truly Works

I have an undergraduate degree in economics and highly recommend this book. Despite it having been written more than 60 years ago its wisdom is timeless, and describes the actual functions of market systems vs command economies. Upon completion of this book you will hav...
I have an undergraduate degree in economics and highly recommend this book. Despite it having been written more than 60 years ago its wisdom is timeless, and describes the actual functions of market systems vs command economies. Upon completion of this book you will have a better understanding of economics than do our national leaders. Hazlitt informs his readers of both the short term and long term consequences of most forms of political manipulation of the market. Pay attention to the inflation chapter, as Hazlitt, in the final paragraph, correctly predicted our current financial situation.......60 years ago! If only more people understood the danger of the Fed and other market interventions.

posted by TomFop on January 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

tough

Hazlitt is tough. No he is not difficult. There are no real jargon. He is a master of argumentaion. It doesn't matter what his idealogy is. (He is a hard core classic econ.) AFter reading this, you will be able to argue economics whatever way you want to. I was surprise...
Hazlitt is tough. No he is not difficult. There are no real jargon. He is a master of argumentaion. It doesn't matter what his idealogy is. (He is a hard core classic econ.) AFter reading this, you will be able to argue economics whatever way you want to. I was surprised by myself. I aquired enough vocab and fucion of econ to do some arguing on my own. Yes, this is my first book on the subject. And I may be naive. But worth the buck.

posted by Anonymous on April 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    A Factual Understanding of How an Economy Truly Works

    I have an undergraduate degree in economics and highly recommend this book. Despite it having been written more than 60 years ago its wisdom is timeless, and describes the actual functions of market systems vs command economies. Upon completion of this book you will have a better understanding of economics than do our national leaders. Hazlitt informs his readers of both the short term and long term consequences of most forms of political manipulation of the market. Pay attention to the inflation chapter, as Hazlitt, in the final paragraph, correctly predicted our current financial situation.......60 years ago! If only more people understood the danger of the Fed and other market interventions.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    Hazlitt uses the example of the 'broken-window' fallacy to critique economic arguments made by people who haven't really thought about what they are saying. The book is great, although a more precise title might have been 'Common Fallacies of Economics.' The main theme of the book is to look at the effects of economic policies not on select groups, but on the whole, and to look at both short-term and long-term consequences.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read for today

    an answer for todays big govt control of the free market and why the solutions offered by big govt always fail and end up needing MORE CONTROL FROM GOVT. also explains the way proponents of big govt forces the discussion away from facts and to feelings and insults to both opponents and the public. (IE. YOU'RE too STUPID to understand economics!) read this to help understand your future and how the past predictions are coming true. it was originally written in 1946 and is more relevant today than ever.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    This book is relevant today

    This book, as the title shows, is purely written about basic economics and basic economic principles that have been developed since Frederic Bastiat. Its good for those that haven't ever taken an economics class since it requires no prior knowledge of economics (to some degree, I would recommend it only for people in High School +). Plus, the book is very revealing. It walks through every failed economic policy, or sophism, he has seen that is in use and explains why they are wrong, along with examples. A good read, and I highly recommend it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    tough

    Hazlitt is tough. No he is not difficult. There are no real jargon. He is a master of argumentaion. It doesn't matter what his idealogy is. (He is a hard core classic econ.) AFter reading this, you will be able to argue economics whatever way you want to. I was surprised by myself. I aquired enough vocab and fucion of econ to do some arguing on my own. Yes, this is my first book on the subject. And I may be naive. But worth the buck.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    One-sided, illogical.

    If you want to learn about economics strictly from the Austrian school of thought, read this. If you want to learn about economics, read something less biased. Or at least something that wasn't written in 1946. This guy thinks he has "debunked" John Maynard Keynes but he really hasn't. To read this book you'd think that liberals were out there, waiting to break windows in order to waste your tax dollars. Instead of representing Keynes' argument accurately, Hazlitt makes broad generalizations that mislead. If you're serious about the subject, read something less bias.

    4 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If You Vote, Buy this Book

    Those who want to vote should be familiar with the economic repercussions of public policy. That in mind, I believe all who wish to vote should, as soon as possible, acquire a copy of this book.

    Hazlitt's writing isn't always the clearest, but his logic is impeccable.

    This is THE single most important book I recommend to everyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Simple Straight Common Sense

    When the economic affairs of the country and overseas are put into such straight forward simple to understand terms, the light bulbs will flash off. You will get the sense that, hey, they're right...when the federal government takes more money out of the private sector and places it into "projects" real inefficiencies and wage distortions are empirically evidenced. God forbid where we are in 2011. (This is not a new text written for these times, but you can see that the shoe still fits). Those that are not cognizant of history are doomed to repeat it.)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Enlightening!

    This book tells about the American economy and various economic policies and things that can happen within the economy. It is a great read and really opens your eyes to how much the government messes with the economy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Every economist G The m Every economist should be aware of this.

    Not so much a critique of Keynsian social engineering as it is a plea for more long-term consideration in public policies.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Those who want to vote should be familiar with the economic repe

    Those who want to vote should be familiar with the economic repercussions of public policy. That in mind, I believe all who wish to vote should, as soon as possible, acquire a copy of this book.

    Hazlitt's writing isn't always the clearest, but his logic is impeccable.

    This is THE single most important book I recommend to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3