Customer Reviews for

Ecotopia

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    $11.99 for the Nook version? Seriously?

    I'm interested in the book, but if I'm going to fork out hard back dough, I need to receive more than some digital bits. This is NOT a criticism of this book, but rather general disappointment regarding the price of many digital books. The publisher's cost drops dramatically to send a tiny computer file, so why isn't the price commensurate with it? Guess I have to wait for the "paperback" version for Nook, whatever that means.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Not so great

    The only reason i finished this entire book was in the hopes that i hadnt wasted $14 and a few hours of my life. Dull, would be the only way to describe it. Thankfully it was only about 200 pages but it felt more like 600. Its to bad because the story line sounded good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Thematically its a very interesting, and perhaps was a groundbra

    Thematically its a very interesting, and perhaps was a groundbraking, book. It tells you a lot about life in the early 70's more than anything. The writing is not great, and the structure is a litany of what the author sees as the ills of 70's US society. He tickes them off in every chapter. But overall it does make you think about what it would take to make the changeover from the current society based on expansion of markets to one of sustaiability.
    My major criticism is that he sort of takes for granted that everyone is middle-class, well educated and open to decreasing their standard of living, as they realize the old standard was higher than necessary. But while he mentions Blacks and Latinos, does not really address how working class people would react to this. He does not mention how some of the less "glamourous" jobs, that every society needs to get done, will be taken care of.
    Its only 180 pages, so I would recommend it for its novel theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    A Novel for Our Times

    This was a fun read at 18 years of age. It is a richer and more relevant read these many decades later. Highly recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Early Sustainability Literature

    (Read this book for my Environmental Literature class) I was pleased to read a novel that I probably would have never found on my own. I got through it fairly quickly, but was disappointed to find that the sexual themes interested me most in comparison to any of the others. My major criticism is that this book clearly has an environmental agenda, which could explain why my mind resisted getting stolen by it.

    At the same time, I like what Callenbach did. The alternating between Weston's official reports and personal journal writing made the text credible. I also like that Callenbach did not just fabricate many of the features of Ecotopia--he based it on the science and cultural discussions going on at the time (1970s I believe). In a way, it seems Ecotopia is a novel that reflects the 1970 cultural mind, especially that of hippiedom--so it's nice to see a text that can legitimately bring the reader back in time (as opposed to a more artificial time-travelling through novels that incorporate historical fiction). I knew I was getting the real deal.

    Certainly, Callenbach does create a certain Utopia that is pretty realistic, though I don't think many people would be willing to make the sacrifices Ecotopians do. Nevertheless, readers can discern that we should use Ecotopia as a model for future sustainability movements, though adjusting them as we see fit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    Changed my life!

    Since taking a Utopian Literature class, where I was introduced to Ernest Callenbach's 'Ecotopia' my life has changed. I have bought 6 copies, including one Audio book; have used this book as a theme for a potential presentation to the Society for Utopian Studies; corresponded with Ernest about being a key-note speaker for a Utopian conference; and, persuaded/influenced dozens of friends to read, and practice the philosophy contained in, this brilliant work. READ IT! Meditate on the 'message'; it will also Change your life!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2001

    amazing picture of an environmentally friendly society

    from first page to last, callenbaugh leaves you spellbound. a book to make you think, what would it be like if ecotopia was formed? would life be as good there as it seems in the book? fantastic, picture of sustainable living

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1