Customer Reviews for

Ecstasy (Shadowdwellers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Ecstasy by Jacquelyn Frank

Fans of Jacquelyn Frank can rest easy. She's followed up her 'Nightwalker' series with the 'Shadowdwellers', and the first novel "Ecstasy" is a winner for me. The first series introduced her creation of an Earth inhabited by paranormal creatures and focused on the bat...
Fans of Jacquelyn Frank can rest easy. She's followed up her 'Nightwalker' series with the 'Shadowdwellers', and the first novel "Ecstasy" is a winner for me. The first series introduced her creation of an Earth inhabited by paranormal creatures and focused on the battle of what humans call Demons. This series shifts the focus to another race. A race that exists both in and between Realscape and Shadowscape. Two different, yet co-existing realities that can and do affect each other and the creatures living in either.

When Ashla suddenly finds herself in a world that's totally empty of any living creatures, she's pretty freaked. After all, once she's gorged herself on the never-ending feasts, shopped for free in all the best stores Manhattan has to offer, fulfilled her curiosity by seeing anything, anywhere she wants, all the while spoiling herself in the lap of luxury that is the Plaza hotel...what's left? So when she's surprised by the sudden appearance of two men fighting, with swords no less, she's pretty sure she really is insane. But after the deadly battle when one lies dying, she can't help but heal him...and that act will change her life forever.

Trace is truly shocked when he realizes the creature who healed him is not a Ghost or a Fade, but a real human. For one who has lived as long as he, her existence would have been enough of a puzzle, but when she heals him from a mortal wound, he finds himself drawn to her...even though he knows any bond between human and Shadowdweller should be impossible, and is certainly forbidden.

Very different. I don't confuse Frank's stories with any other writers and considering how much I read, that's a real compliment. Her universe is complex and filled with diverse races, each with a rich culture and history that unfold as her series progresses. Having said that, I now must resign myself to wait for the next installment, "Rapture", scheduled for publication in July 09...SIX whole months!

posted by jjmachshev on January 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

No kresley cole

Too hard to get into, skipped page after page just to find actual dialogue, anyone who has read immortals after dark series knows what great writing laugh out loud, curl your toes knock em dead heroines are. This was not

posted by marshaK on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ecstasy by Jacquelyn Frank

    Fans of Jacquelyn Frank can rest easy. She's followed up her 'Nightwalker' series with the 'Shadowdwellers', and the first novel "Ecstasy" is a winner for me. The first series introduced her creation of an Earth inhabited by paranormal creatures and focused on the battle of what humans call Demons. This series shifts the focus to another race. A race that exists both in and between Realscape and Shadowscape. Two different, yet co-existing realities that can and do affect each other and the creatures living in either. <BR/><BR/>When Ashla suddenly finds herself in a world that's totally empty of any living creatures, she's pretty freaked. After all, once she's gorged herself on the never-ending feasts, shopped for free in all the best stores Manhattan has to offer, fulfilled her curiosity by seeing anything, anywhere she wants, all the while spoiling herself in the lap of luxury that is the Plaza hotel...what's left? So when she's surprised by the sudden appearance of two men fighting, with swords no less, she's pretty sure she really is insane. But after the deadly battle when one lies dying, she can't help but heal him...and that act will change her life forever.<BR/><BR/>Trace is truly shocked when he realizes the creature who healed him is not a Ghost or a Fade, but a real human. For one who has lived as long as he, her existence would have been enough of a puzzle, but when she heals him from a mortal wound, he finds himself drawn to her...even though he knows any bond between human and Shadowdweller should be impossible, and is certainly forbidden.<BR/><BR/>Very different. I don't confuse Frank's stories with any other writers and considering how much I read, that's a real compliment. Her universe is complex and filled with diverse races, each with a rich culture and history that unfold as her series progresses. Having said that, I now must resign myself to wait for the next installment, "Rapture", scheduled for publication in July 09...SIX whole months!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The audience will be in ECSTASY with this superb thriller and look forward to more light and dark Shadowdweller entries

    Ashla Townsend has been in a New York devoid of people and light with no idea how she got there or what happened to the sun. She is overjoyed to see another person, but her euphoria turns to abject fear when another man arrives trying to kill the first person. Both men are shocked that Ashla can see them because only Shadowdwellers are able to see one another. Trace kills Baylor, but is mortally injured; Ashla saves his life using her healing hands.<BR/><BR/>Trace assumes that Ashla must be one of the Lost, a wraith whose body is in a coma in Realscape. As a Shadowdweller Trace cannot cope with any form of light, but to remain only in the shadows typically leads to madness. Trace is further stunned that he has feelings for Ashla as she is the first woman in a dozen years he trusts,. He escorts Ashla to his people, but neither is safe there even though the clan wars ended with the Chancellors solidifying their power; some rebels want the peace broken with Ashla and Trace being perfect targets. She risks her life to heal Trace even while a traitor plots to kill both of them.<BR/><BR/>With her Demon series over, Jacquelyn Frank begins a new romantic urban fantasy saga that fans of the author will find radically different and refreshing. Readers will love this strong provocative and evocative tale that digs deep into the Shadowdweller society. Trace is honorable and yet caring about his people with an ironic emphasis on punishing rule-breakers. The sub-genre audience will be in ECSTASY with this superb thriller and look forward to more light and dark Shadowdweller entries.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you need something new and refreshing to read with a lot of sexy romance, this is the BOOK! I bought the series after my first one!

    Great Series!! The Shadowdweller are all a great read. Sexy love scenes takes this series to a whole new level.I couldn't put it down!

    The Nightwalker Series are great reads too! Get both Series.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My first Romance Book

    I loved this book this is the first "romance," i have read. Im not one for romance but just imagine I brought the whole series including the nightwalkers. I am awaiting the mistral stories. Trace is all the man someone could ever want and Ashla is the antidote to his problem make way for the new Romeo and Juliet. It also fed my hunger for the epic type movies. My imagination was stretched to its limits god how I wish to be a member of the shadowdweller race. The plot was one I did not expect when I began readig and I thought I wouldn't finish, all it took was a couple of sentences and I was hooked. My friends all talk about these books, have read the books more than once, and try to put faces to the characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cant Wait for the next ONE

    I read the Nitewalker series a few months ago, but because of the ratings ECSTACY got I was reluctant with this one. But while I was at a local bookstore I picked it up just to read a few pages while I was waiting for a friend. I literally couldnt stop reading it. I ended up purchasing the book and read it through the nite. It was great. It coinsides with the Nitewalker series so it wasnt difficult to get into at all. I believe J.F captures the characters emotions just right without the boring stuff you sometimes find with other books. It did keep me guessing as to what would happen and I am left with wanting more! I cant wait for the next book to come out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ecstasy

    It was good and i love how its different from alot of other books

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Heartfelt

    I truly loved reading this book. Since I discovered this book, I completed it and read all the other books in the series. I truly hope that there will be others in the series. I plan to read them again because they are extra-ordinary and they kept me up all night because I couldn't put them down. Thank God I'm retired because if I had to read them at work, I probably would have been suspended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    No kresley cole

    Too hard to get into, skipped page after page just to find actual dialogue, anyone who has read immortals after dark series knows what great writing laugh out loud, curl your toes knock em dead heroines are. This was not

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It Was Good

    It was good... I've like this author since I read her series The Nightwalkers... but I will say this... the Nightwalker series is better... I like the plots better and characters... and the series just caught my attention more than this one does... don't get me wrong... it was good and I liked it... it's just not one of the better ones... I'm reading Rapture right now and I will say that Ecstacy is better... but I'm only 80 something pages into it so I got awhile to go... but I would read it... it is a good book and it is entertaining...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    great

    very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    You need to read this!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I normally read vampire related books. So this is a great series to start with. I look forward to the other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Something Different

    Found this book something new for a change - the supernatural factor is much different than those of my favorite authors. This is definiately a very good read and makes you want to read the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    Frank's Nightwalker series was truly awesome. It's a rare find w

    Frank's Nightwalker series was truly awesome. It's a rare find when you can actually be drawn into a book, and she
    has the ability to do just that. However, this first book in the Shadowdweller series is below par and her writing ability. The first 130 pages simply stink! If you're looking for a sleeping sedative in a non-prescription form; the first 130 pages will do the trick. I read the entire Nightwalker series in less than 2 weeks and it took 17 days to read Ectasy..shame. After that-yes, it was good and the other remaining books in this series is very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Awesome book!

    Once you open the book you can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Good read for the most part!

    Ecstasy was a good read. I didn't give it four or five stars because it was a little hard to follow, couldn't tell who was talking or refrencing to. Had too reread few parts of the book to figure out who was thinking/talking.
    But I must say it still was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Good Start

    I liked the start to this series, though I was disappointed with how Ms. Frank just kind of threw it together in the end. Ecstasy is an interesting story, but her other series is much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Good Book

    I enjoyed this book, but I was hoping it be more like Nightwalker series. I lost interest in the story. Seems like it just dragged on. Still hopeful for the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Could not put it down

    This series fed the greedy reader in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    A very captivating series

    Once I read this book, I had to read the others in the series. Frank has created some interesting worlds. The book keeps your attention to the end and makes you want to buy the remainder in the series to see what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    OK. Hope the other ones are better....

    I was a bit disappointed with this one. Loved the two main characters--but boy, the sub-plot etc--that was as exciting as watching grass grow.
    I was pleased to see Gideon though. (he is one of my favs from the Nightdwellers series)

    I am going to read the entire series, but again, I do hope the others are better than this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12